Endorsed by Which?

CJ Dodgson - Electrician

5.0

46 Reviews

About

I am a fully qualified domestic Part P registered (NICEIC) electrician and have many years of experience within the trade. I undertake all domestic electrical work in Lancaster, Gastang and the surrounding areas.

I pride myself on my professional and friendly service and understand that safety is the number one priority in everything I do.

I am able to carry out any electrical work safely and professionally with the minimum disruption to your home. To arrange a free on-site quotation or simply get some advice from a qualified electrician, whatever your needs from a simple light fitting to a whole rewire, please call me or visit my contact page.

Chris Dodgson

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Smart Homes

    • Security
  • Telephone Engineer

    • Ethernet Cabling
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • LED lighting
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
46 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Electrician par excellence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris has done all our electrical work for several years, after being recommended by my sister-in-law. He is smart, well-educated, experienced, pleasant & excellent at his job. He thinks on his feet & is very versatile. Over the years he has helped us convert most of our lighting (both indoor & outside security lighting) to LCD, set up recessed lighting inside display cabinets, resited heavy ceiling lamps, checked all our wiring integrity (including the attic), installed brass effect switches through our 25-year old house & updated our smoke alarms. He even managed to sort out a problem with an old plastic light fitting which had hardened with age. He always turns up as arranged, his work is always completed professionally & his charges are always very fair. None of his work has ever gone wrong. When 3 LED recessed lights he installed failed within 3 years, he reclaimed the new lightbulbs directly from the manufacturer on our behalf, as they had failed inside the warranty period.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 01/02/2024 , work completed 26/01/2024
First Class Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very glad to have found Chris Dodgson from his advert in a local trade magazine. Very easy to deal with and provides an excellent service. Quick to respond to messages and we had great, reliable communications throughout. Timekeeping also excellent. The two jobs we needed completing have both been done to our complete satisfaction and we are very satisfied. We would not hesitate to use Chris again for any future work and would certainly recommend him highly.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 25/01/2024 , work completed 08/01/2024
Good Tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had not used Chris before but contacted him via the Trusted Trader scheme. We were very happy with his work and friendly attitude. The work was completed on time and to a high standard. We will be using him again for any future work and have no hesitation in recommending him to others.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 01/01/2024 , work completed 18/12/2023
Great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a new bathroom extractor fan fitted and contacted CJ Dodgson after reading the positive reviews. I was prepared to wait a couple of months for an appointment as this confirmed how busy he was. Mr Dodgson arrived promptly, he was friendly, worked quickly and efficiently and left everything clean and tidy. This was all done at a very reasonable cost. I can highly recommend his services.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 01/01/2024 , work completed 01/12/2023
Electrical work and certification
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very professional and efficient service. Excellent lines of communication, with high standards of work. I would most definitely use this electrician again and recommend to friends.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 25/10/2023 , work completed 01/08/2023
Excellent work at excellent value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We bought a house to rent out and Chris completely rewired it for us. We have used him several times before and will definitely continue to use him. A great Electrician. Provides invaluable advice as well as doing a great job. Good communicator who manages to “slot you in”. I am usually reluctant to give 5 stars, but in this case, it is totally warranted.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 03/10/2023 , work completed 02/10/2023
smoke and heat detectors replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris replaced all the smoke and heat detectors in my house as the ones previously fitted by someone else were defective. He listened to the problems I was facing and made good suggestions about how to solve them. I was happy with the price for the new detectors he suggested. He was good at communicating prior to coming to fit the detectors and arrived punctually. He was quick and efficient which was very helpful as I was working from home that day. Additionally, he took away all the waste products. Overall, I was very happy with his work. Chris is very personable and I would definitely recommend him and his work.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 29/09/2023 , work completed 08/09/2023
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris is very personable and works hard to make sure you're completely happy with his work. We very much recommend him.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 27/09/2023 , work completed 26/09/2023
Perfect and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would recommend this service. If you want a honest, reliable and professional service I couldn’t have found a better electrician. Polite and personable but professional and methodical in his approach. Daily time keeping was as agreed and he was more than willing to accommodate any extra work when necessary. A definite 10 out of 10. Fully recommend
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 05/09/2023 , work completed 17/08/2023
Professional, efficient, informative, courteous, excellent value.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of main fusebox system, with surge protection. At the initial visit, a full appraisal of the requirements was made and quote indication was given, and a date fixed for carrying out the work. The work was carried out efficiently, with full circuit checks for all appliances. After completion of the work, on the pre arranged date, the site was left totally clean and all packaging and waste removed. Issue of certification of compliance was promptly supplied, and the actual invoice was marginally lower than the quote. We highly recommend C J Dodgson for all the electrical requirements that you may have.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 09/08/2023 , work completed 05/07/2023
Excellent Emergency Assistance
I had a sudden electrical outage at 5.30pm. I phoned Chris who suggested I WhatsApp him photos of my fuse box. On receipt of the photos he was immediately able to advise me how to rectify the problem, talking me through the process. I was incredibly impressed with his response - he was kind, professional, patient and inspired confidence. I would highly recommend his services.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 18/07/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
CJ Dodgson
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Rewiring undertaken at property, done to agreed schedule and budget/written quotation. Very helpful from the outset with good communication on timings etc. Left the property very tidy with little remedial work. Job very well done.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 16/05/2023 , work completed 03/04/2023
Outdoor electrical installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris disconnected the electricity from an old wooden shed whilst maintaining the supply to an outdoor workshop. He then installed a new supply to a new plastic shed including a light and a double socket inside, and a double socket on the outside. Throughout the work Chris suggested ways to overcome any problems encountered ensuring our needs were met. Chris did what he said he would do, when he said he would do it at a fair price.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 12/05/2023 , work completed 10/05/2023
Fabulous service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work, as always. Helpful, knowledgeable and informative. Left area clean and tidy. Would highly recommend. Happy, polite. What more can I say?
Judith in Lancashire Posted on 04/02/2023 , work completed 31/01/2023
Spotlight repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using Chris to do all our electrical work for several years now and the most recent job was to assess an issue we'd been having off and on with a bathroom spotlight. Not the biggest job in the world but as always Chris arrived when he said he would, discovered the issue and fixed it. He clearly explains what the issues are, what options could be taken and considers what is best cost wise for the customer. We have always found Chris very honest and reliable, he arrives when he says he will, his quotes are fair and accurate, the quality of his work is great and he is always polite and respectful. We couldn't fault Chris and that is why we continue to go to him whenever we need an electrician.
Ian in Lancashire Posted on 11/01/2023 , work completed 11/01/2023
Good work and customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work entailed installing light fittings, smoke detectors, new sockets and switches, and a ceiling fan. Christopher did the work at the time agreed. He was reliable and helpful throughout. His work is neat and he cleans up well afterwards. He was happy to respond to my requests, for example changing a fan which was more powerful than I wanted.
Graham in Lancashire Posted on 08/01/2023 , work completed 16/12/2022
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Asked Chris to disconnect a cooker from my late parents' house which I am clearing. He went over and above, did the job without me being in attendance (classed as vulnerable and shielding) offered to remove the cooker and in the event further helped by disposing of an old dishwasher. Will certainly use Chris again.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 01/12/2022 , work completed 16/11/2022
Excellent electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really knows what he's doing and is extremely reliable. Was very helpful and offered excellent advice.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 27/10/2022 , work completed 20/10/2022
Quality, value for money, reliable, trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used C.J Dodgson for some complicated electrical work in our very old house. The job required a some detective work on his part, that I feel other workers would not bothered with or would not have the professional experience to work out. He was polite and friendly, but professional. He came at the time arranged and explained to us exactly what he had done to correct the fault. He cleared up all debris at the job site. The cost of the work was very reasonable. He was a down to earth guy to took time to bother to say hello to our puppy and give her some attention when she pestered him. I would highly recommend this electrician.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 23/05/2022 , work completed 20/05/2022
Good service done at the agreed time.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
CJ Dodgson re-instated the power supply to an outbuilding, replaced the main fuse box and replaced downlights and an outside light. He arrived at the day and time agreed and completed the work with a minimum of disruption. He proved competent, punctual and easy to contact. I would not hesitate to recommend him for electrical work.
Tim in Lancashire Posted on 19/12/2021 , work completed 17/12/2021
Fabulous electrician!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of additional sockets, external socket, and safe electrical supply to garage. Christopher did fantastic, neat and tidy work, moving around the house in a systematic manner. Extremely helpful regarding the standard of the previous electrical supply to the garage. I'm so pleased with all the work Christopher did - all to schedule and to quote. No hesitation in recommending him to anyone looking for a first-class electrician. Thank you, Christopher
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 22/11/2021 , work completed 01/11/2021
Prompt and Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris called round on the same day that we contacted him to assess the work to be done. Not long to wait until the job was completed. Very satisfied with the work and service.
Constance in Lancashire Posted on 05/10/2021 , work completed 01/10/2021
Efficient and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris has carried out several small electrical jobs for me and I would highly recommend him. He is courteous and very reliable.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 05/10/2021 , work completed 28/09/2021
Wouldn't use anyone else
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used Chris many times over a number of years now, and he's always the first person we call when we need an electrician. He most recently completed a full rewire of our kitchen-diner, to a very high standard - and has now sorted most of our downstairs living space, with the rest to follow when we get ourselves ready. He's knowledgeable, personable, reliable, punctual, highly skilled and all at a very fair price. I could go on, but I don't want it to go to his head 🙂. In summary: I have no hesitation at all in recommending Chris for any electrical work.
Nat in Lancashire Posted on 20/05/2021 , work completed 14/05/2021
New light fitting and house alarm check
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris was very busy but was able to do the work promptly. He discussed the settings on the security light carefully and set it up accordingly. The actual fitting was done so that all the wiring was hidden from view (still not sure how he achieved this. The alarm work became more involved that we originally thought but this was not a problem and the job was completed to my total satisfaction. A good job at a reasonable price and everywhere left clean and tidy.
Les in Lancashire Posted on 29/03/2021 , work completed 15/03/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris is a very friendly and helpful electrician who I would highly recommend. He carried out a consumer unit change and added new circuits throughout the house. The electrical works were carried out over an 18 month period as we had x2 extensions built. Throughout this period Chris was very flexible and worked around the delays we had. His work is carried out to a very high standard, and I will certainly be in touch with him again if required. Thank you
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 28/03/2021 , work completed 06/03/2021
Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The electrical work was completed satisfactorily at the time and date stated. Very pleased with the work.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 22/11/2020 , work completed 13/11/2020
Efficient, considerate and great communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Christopher impressed straight away, taking the time to talk through the work on his initial visit, providing clear options in his quotation and answering queries fully. When he came to do the work he was efficient and considerate, and tidied up well afterwards. We live in an old house and part of the work involved testing the system. Christopher did a great job of detecting the source of the issues he identified, taking the time to be sure before carrying out work to resolve them and keeping us up to date throughout the process. We also appreciated that he flexed his diary to enable him to stay longer and fix as much as he could on the day. Unsurprisingly, his diary is busy so we’ll have to wait a little while for him to come and sort out the remaining minor issues; but the quality of his work means we are more than happy to do so.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 27/10/2020 , work completed 16/10/2020
On time and on budget
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good work - no problems with adapting to minor changes of plan. Very tidy. No concerns. Highly recommended. Will use again.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 15/02/2020 , work completed 11/12/2019
Reliable and straightforward
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris did a great job, replacing ancient fuse box, lights/ fitting new sockets/outside lights. Kept me informed at all times. Very neat work and left everything tidy. Would definitely recommend him.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 30/01/2020 , work completed 05/12/2019
Good job, on time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris did a great job installing a bathroom extractor. On time, on budget, very neat job and everywhere was spotless afterward.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 22/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
Installation of: 1 - A new consumer unit. 2 - Installation of a ring camera floodlight. 3 - Installation of under soffit lighting.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris has carried to the 3 jobs above on my house over several years. He is everything you want when employing people working on your property. A tidy worker who gives good helpful advice, uses quality components, turns up on time and carries out quality, qualified work at a very reasonable price and provides you with the appropriate certificates that you need. He is always busy and you might have to wait but good tradesmen are worth waiting for.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 11/01/2020 , work completed 03/01/2020
Very impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can’t rate Chris highly enough. He is friendly, reliable and very skilled and knowledgeable. I have used Chris several times over the past few years and his service has been consistently good. He solved a serious electrical problem for me when I had a complete power cut one evening in winter last year. He came out again on Monday to check for a possible electrical problem and was happy to carry out an extra electrical job while he was here. His pricing is very fair too.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 11/01/2020 , work completed 07/01/2020
Very attentive tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Chris for a couple of small jobs; installing and removing light fittings. The latest time he managed to fit us into his day fairly last minute. He's always friendly, punctual and responsive to messages and his prices are reasonable. We're moving house at the moment but if there is any required electrical work at the new one, we'll definitely be in touch with Chris. Thanks Chris!
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 29/11/2019 , work completed 26/11/2019
Reliable, professional and honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris came recommended to us, he was punctual, polite and had integrity. He offered us choices for the work we wanted with reasons behind all options so we could make an informed decision. We felt we could trust him. Throughout the work which lasted most of the day he kept us informed of progress. We were really pleased with the work he did and can highly recommend him.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 16/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
Fantastic electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris did a fantastic job for us. We have just completed a renovation on our house and had to get a complete re-wiring as part of that. The work was done to a high standard and always completed on time, making things flow a low smoother for us. He also went above and beyond to help us out when things didn't go our way - for example, when we accidentally dropped a brick on our fuse board! He was also significantly cheaper than all other quotes we received from other traders. Would recommend to all!
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 27/10/2019 , work completed 18/10/2019
Electrical work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are really pleased with the work carried out by Chris. He provided excellent advice. The work was completed on time to an excellent standard. Both Chris and Eric are totally reliable, friendly and provide great service.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 08/09/2019 , work completed 06/09/2019
Efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Chris a number of times now to do work on domestic properties that I own and rent out and I can recommend him highly. His work is of a high standard, he is well organised and turns up on time which is always welcome.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 28/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
The best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very punctual. Chris was at our house promptly at 8 am to start the job. Our CCTV was installed with no disruption to us at all and very professionally . We would highly recommend Chris and will definitely get in touch with him whenever we need any electrical work done. Very happy customers thank you so much .
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 18/08/2019 , work completed 14/08/2019
Friendly, professional, reasonably priced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Christopher gave us a prompt and accurate quote for a small job, was able to fit us in at very short notice, and did the work quickly and safely. Plus he was very friendly and explained exactly what he would do. Couldn't be happier!
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 18/07/2019 , work completed 11/07/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are happy to recommend Chris - he did a very professional job, came on time and always explained the options at every stage. His work is neat, and he always clears up properly after finishing.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 17/02/2019 , work completed 07/02/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Chris about some electrical work earlier this year. He got back to me promptly and following an inspection of the job required, he gave me a quote which I accepted. The work was done to a very high standard and I found Chris to be polite, knowledgeable and highly professional. I would have no hesitation in recommending Chris, which I have done to friends since.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 10/02/2018
Excellent job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Being new, ee hired Chris on recommendation from our neighbours and we were not let down. Chris is reliable, honest, friendly and very hard working. His work is thorough, professional, tidy and reasonable in price. We can not recommend him enough!
Sabrennan Posted on 10/10/2018 , work completed 10/10/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris rewired our house. He was very professional and quoted a competitive price. The work was completed to a high standard with disruption minimised. We were especially pleased with the way Chris consulted with us at each stage to ensure the work was meeting our needs. Would definitely use again and highly recommend.
Sue Crutchley Posted on 03/04/2018 , work completed 03/04/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have found Christopher to be professional, reliable, friendly and trustworthy and would not hesitate in recommending him.
Ian & Debbie Kirk Posted on 21/02/2017 , work completed 21/02/2017
Wonderful Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Christopher Dodgson has done all the electrical work in our house ever since we moved to Lancaster. This includes checking, fitting and putting in new lines, light fixtures, power points, etc. Whenever there is a problem, he has handled it in a most efficient and professional manner. No job has been too small for him and he has always gone to the bottom of a problem and given us the best of advice. He is warm, friendly, sincere and honest and we recommend him very highly.
Vasavi Posted on 29/01/2017 , work completed 29/01/2017
Reliable and competent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Christopher gave me a quote. He did the job well and on time for a reasonable price. I would definitely recommend him to friends and family.
Redirene Posted on 08/01/2017 , work completed 08/01/2017