Endorsed by Which?

Connect Electric (Bury) Ltd

5.0

48 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–18:00
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

Connect Electric is a small independent family run business based in Whitefield, serving the whole of the Manchester area.

We offer professional electrical services to residential and commercial customers alike. With an established 18 years experience we guarantee to deliver at competitive prices to suite all projects. We specialize in rewires, CCTV, Solar PV and Grant funded electric car chargers.

We are a full scope member of the National Association of Professional Inspectors and Testers - NAPIT for short and we are proud to bare the Governments Trust Mark sign of Local, trustworthy and reliable tradesmen.

We are fully qualified, conduct safe working practices and we are properly insured. All our work conforms to the latest wiring regulations BS 7671 18th edition, so you can be assured of a safe installation.

Looking to invest in Solar? As a Which? Trusted Trader you are safe in the knowledge we will deliver high standards every time.

Call or email today to discuss your requirements

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical testing services
    • Rewiring
    • Electrical repairs
  • Renewable energy

    • Solar panels
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • CCTV & video equipment
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
  • More Services

    • ev electric car charging port

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
48 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent at every step
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris is so knowledgeable and his ideas and solutions were so impressive. From initial presentation of ideas to installation the whole process was seamless and hassle free. We couldn’t be happier with the outcome. Savings have already been made and we can operate so much more efficiently. We would highly recommend Connect. Excellent service every step of the way.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 06/06/2024 , work completed 23/11/2023
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did a complete house rewire price was the most competitive of four others. We booked a four day break and left them to it. Pleasantly surprised when we returned first class job and very little disruption. Clean, concise, neat and everything clearly explained.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 07/05/2024 , work completed 29/04/2024
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris' team fitted an EV charger. We asked for some advice as we weren't sure what to order as it was our first electric vehicle and he gave a great recommendation and was clear on price and timeframe. The team were super polite and really quick and professional and we would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 01/02/2024 , work completed 24/01/2024
Professional & very competitive pricing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My solar panels with Tesla battery had stopped generating and storing power. My original solar installer no longer deals with domestic customers so I contacted Chris Barker from Connect electric who came round the same afternoon. He spoke to Solar Edge and a software update had the solar panels generating the same day. Connect electric are not registered with Tesla but Chris still contacted them and found that the Powerwall battery had failed under warranty. I then asked Chris to fit a new larger battery while waiting for Tesla to recycle their failed unit. The new battery was fitted and commissioned without any issues. The entire process from first contact to final commissioning took place within three weeks. The pricing was extremely competitive and their was no deviation from the original quoted price. This is an exceptional company, professional, fast, extremely responsive with courtesy shown by all members of the team. I have no hesitation in recommending Connect electric and will use them in future for any solar or other issues which may occur in my home.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 28/12/2023 , work completed 22/12/2023
Delighted with our Solar PV and Battery System
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a solar PV and battery installed by Connect Electric who are excellent. Chris Barker visited and produced a detailed proposal which met our requirements and was good value. Chris was always contactable, friendly, and very helpful throughout the whole process. Installation was totally trouble free with scaffolding put up and all installation work completed in one day. This is a very experienced team who know what they are doing and get on with the job. All were friendly, helpful and did a good tidy up on completion. Chris then commissioned the system and explained the apps that are used to manage and monitor it. Everything was done to the agreed schedule and budget. We are delighted with our new solar battery system and were lucky enough that our first two days in November were sunny and we powered the house on solar.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/11/2023 , work completed 09/11/2023
Efficient and responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Connect Electric quoted promptly and competitively for an appropriate Solar PV and storage solution. Installation was neat and all the details of notification, certification, building control and setting up the cloud account were attended to. Would not hesitate to recommend for any electrical work.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/06/2023 , work completed 31/05/2023
Superb Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team installed our solar panels and battery and we could not have been more impressed with the service. Chris is knowledgeable, fair and efficient. He responds to queries quickly and offered us a range of options to choose from. A 5-star service from beginning to end.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 09/04/2023 , work completed 30/03/2023
Installation completed in appalling weather
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team completed the installation of 11 PV panels on our roof, plus battery and all connections to our domestic circuits and the grid in just two days even though they were two very wet days. He explained everything thoroughly and the team were very respectful of our property. We were also impressed with the scaffolder that Chris uses. Chris completed all the paperwork for the local Building Control and Electricity Northwest, and for us it was a very straightforward process with no nasty surprises or costly extras. Now the work is finished Its great to put the kettle on and see no cost register on the smart meter. With a payback period of 5 to 8 years we feel that this is a well worthwhile investment.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 24/03/2023 , work completed 14/03/2023
Solar Inverter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Spoke to Chris and he came down straight away - within 5 mins he’d identified the problem and quoted me the same day. A few days later he was back to complete the work and did a fantastic job. I know solar panel maintenance is not something your average DIY Guy can do and so having an expert like Chris is invaluable. Will definitely use again and highly recommend.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/03/2023 , work completed 17/03/2023
Replacement inverter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My original inverter packed up. I contacted several companies only Connectelectric replied which they did in about 2 hours. I had a quote 24 hours later. Once the new inverter was delivered a fitting date was agreed 48 hrs later. Chris arrived on time and the job was completed speedily and efficiently. I would certainly use this company for any future electrical needs.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 18/03/2023 , work completed 17/03/2023
Quick response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When our PV system failed our original installer would not come out so we contacted Connect Electric as they were a Trusted Trader. They came out quickly, diagnosed the fault (inverter gone). They explained the options (just replace inverter or add battery storage) but were not at all pushy which is not my experience of solar companies. They did the work replacing the inverter the week after, very quick and efficient. There was an initial callout fee but that was knocked off the installation cost of the new inverter. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 10/03/2023 , work completed 08/03/2023
Battery storage install
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and the team were professional, courteous and knowledgeable. Everything was explained, and the installation was tidy and very quick with little disruption. Can't recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 17/02/2023 , work completed 17/02/2023
excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitting a Solar Battery. the work was completed in 5 hours and was excellent workmanship with the engineers taking care with my special needs, I am blind. all communications clear and precise.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 15/02/2023 , work completed 13/02/2023
Full Solar Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish the job was well explained and efficiently executed. Chris took time to discuss the various issues like the advantages of battery storage, the monitoring app etc. The installation took just over a day and the scaffolding was removed the next day. We were very happy with the result and we can observe the performance conveniently on the phone.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 02/12/2022 , work completed 02/12/2022
New solar inverter
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My previous solar developed a fault. Contacted a number of companies. Chris came on Sunday and sent a quote via email, which was the most competitive. He came and fitted, which only took him about ten minutes. Supplied all paperwork, and allowed me to pay with my credit card.
Shashi in Greater Manchester Posted on 30/03/2022 , work completed 21/03/2022
Professionalism at its best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am purchasing an electric car and wanted to have a home charger fitted. The car salespeople recommended Chris and I called him to arrange a meeting to discuss my requirements. He came to see me within a couple of days, supplied an estimate and turned up to do the work exactly at the agreed time. The charger was fitted with the minimum of fuss and I was delighted with the outcome. I would use Chris for any future work and highly recommend his services to anyone.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 08/02/2022 , work completed 07/02/2022
Chris was great and explained everything.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are about to take delivery of a EV, and needed a EV charger installing. We found Connect on Google and contacted him. He came round with days to give a quote, fully explained the process and what was needed. Within two weeks of the first call it had been installed, Chris communicated throughout and double check things. Great service, Thanks Chris.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 27/01/2022 , work completed 21/01/2022
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quick installation and efficient communication throughout. They also made it very hassle free as most of the paperwork was done by them.
Mark in Greater Manchester Posted on 18/01/2022 , work completed 06/01/2022
* SOLAR INVERTER PROBLEM
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We noticed that our old inverter was not performing. Connect Electric within minutes diagnosed/quoted and a week later rapidly fit a new inverter. Top class service. Many thanks.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 14/12/2021 , work completed 14/12/2021
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris recently renewed an 'Inverter' for my system which had stopped working. He was easy to contact, came and investigated the problem quickly. Quoted the repair and ordered and fitted the new part very promptly.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 17/11/2021 , work completed 15/11/2021
Solar Inverter problem
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On first contact, Chris was very helpful over the telephone when our solar panel meter tripped out. A simple reset solved the problem initially but the same problem happened a couple of days later and it became apparent there was an inverter problem. Chris arrived the next morning and reviewed the system. The inverter had failed completely. He was pleasant and helpful in explaining the problem and the solution and what was involved and his quote for a new inverter arrived that same evening. He ordered the new inverter and a couple of days later on receipt came along to fit it. Chris provided a good value, prompt and efficient service. What was perceived to possibly be a huge problem was dealt with in a competent, capable manner. The service was very satisfactory.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 03/02/2021 , work completed 01/02/2021
Easy from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris Barker at Connect Electric has made the process of having a charge point for our new EV Car a very easy process, he organised the paperwork form start to finish to gain the government grant to reduce the cost of the install, gave me three options of intelegent charge boxes and recomended one of then based on his experience. he did a pre inspection to our property to so he could give me an accurate quotation for the install. the two installers came well presented and wearing face masks to our property (Covid 19) they were very polite and asked me exactly where I would like the charge point on our wall. they did a clean installation and removed all the materials from the area, they then showed me how us use the charger and get the most out of it via the app, they made sure I was happy and 2 cups of coffee later job done and paid for. I will be using these guys again for our next house as well as for other electrical work we will probably need, I couldn't recommend Chris Barker and Connect Electric highly enough.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 19/12/2020 , work completed 17/12/2020
Spot on!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Connect Electric were recommended to us by a friend for our full house rewire and I am glad we took the recommendation. The pricing was fair, the communications were good and when work was booked in to start, it actually did. Chris has done a brilliant job of the rip out and replace, including fixing the less than ideal electrical feed that was done in the fairly newly built conservatory, running new feeds in for the range cooker, mains powered fire alarms, external lighting and so on. Chris was flexible with us on the rewire, we were having a kitchen installed but there was a delay in the kitchen delivery due to covid-19 we had to put that part of the job on hold until it was delivered, when the kitchen was finally in he came back and finished the install with no complaints. No request was too much trouble, from start to finish Chris was a complete professional and kept the considerable mess generated to a minimum, anyone whose had to have their house rewired will know this is a challenge!
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 15/07/2020 , work completed 14/07/2020
Efficient and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great quality and thorough job. They were flexible and helpful getting our rewire completed and completing certificates.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 01/07/2020 , work completed 14/06/2020
Fast response and a great job.
Chris gave me the best price and was a day to order the inverter and fitted the same day the unit arrived. System back up and running 5 star.
Andy - Customer in Lancashire Posted on 16/06/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very fast and efficient service. Price is reasonable. Good communication. Highly recommended. One happy customer.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 05/06/2020 , work completed 01/06/2020
Great work and fast response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After contacting Chris about a problem with our solar panel readings he came to house checked everything over and found the fault with in half an hour problem sorted up and running. Very professional from time of contact to end of job. Thanks Chris
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 02/06/2020 , work completed 02/06/2020
Replacement Inverter for solar panel array
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris was personable and knew his stuff. Professional, knowledgeable and prompt. Completed work from inspection of system to installation in the minimum timeframe. Work completed at reasonable cost. Will use again for any future electrical work and will recommend to friends.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 16/04/2020 , work completed 15/04/2020
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My Solar panels stopped producing electricity.Prompt service at reasonable cost, helpful and communicative.Recommended.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 29/03/2020 , work completed 27/03/2020
Excellent customer service, value and performance quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed my solar panel system to be removed and stored, to enable roofing replacement, then replaced over the new roof covering. My chosen roofing contractor could not do or arrange this. I located Chris via Which? Trusted Traders and he impressed from the outset. He returned my call promptly. He made sure he understood what I needed. He gave me substantial reassurance with his obvious knowledge and earlier experience of the work involved. He gave clear directions about site requirements necessary for the job.He gave me honest statements about availability and a good value quote. Both have been fully honoured. He undertook to liaise with the roofing contractor and managed this to mutual satisfaction at all key stages. Most importantly, his work has been excellent. He was punctual, presented well did his job promptly and properly and kept me informed of the relevant stages. I am pretty sure he will now be my first call/go-to electrician. Highest recommendation.
Customer in Greater Manchester Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 17/12/2019
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work carried out on new kitchen electrics. Good knowledge and explained various circuits and testing procedure. Follow up visit to drop off certificate. Many thanks to Chris and I would highly recommend "Connect Electric", would definitely use them again.
Ian, Lancashire Posted on 27/09/2019 , work completed 27/09/2019
Number 1 electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris is my number one go to electrician. He knows his stuff, is punctual and provides a high quality of workmanship. He is also very reasonably priced. I would not hesitate to recommend.
Richard Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 06/05/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/07/2019 , work completed 04/07/2019
Good work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am happy with the price and the speed the work was done. Happy the company accepted a cheque.
Malcolm H, Lancashire Posted on 20/06/2019 , work completed 20/06/2019
Bathroom light fitting replaced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. I contacted Connect Electric because my mother who lives in Bury needed the bathroom light replaced urgently. The work was done the same afternoon. Efficient and good value.
Jose Posted on 09/06/2019 , work completed 23/05/2019
Excellent, professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Connect Electric, in the person of Chris Barker, to fix solar panels to our property in Leigh, having experienced excellent service at a similar property in Little Hulton last year. From start to finish on both jobs Chris was completely professional and cheerful and, in the case of the Leigh property, helped us find a roofer to re-roof. I can thoroughly recommend him as a worker who does what he says, arrives on time, and does his very best to make everything as easy as possible for the customer.
Customer in Warwickshire Posted on 03/04/2019 , work completed 27/03/2019
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had our inverter replaced by Connect Electric. Good advise, excellent service and reasonable price. Kept us informed if he was to be late etc.
Pamela, Lancashire Posted on 19/04/2018 , work completed 19/04/2018
New electrics in extension and ethernet sockets
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team are fantastic…very trustworthy and reliable.Know exactly what they are doing and reasonable on price.Stick to what they agree.When a tradesman has the knowledge and experience to work quicker then he can afford to charge less which is where Chris shines.If you are looking for a reliable professional electrician then look no further. Worth waiting for.
bestadvice Posted on 10/12/2016 , work completed 10/12/2016
Professional and comprehensive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We use Connect whenever we have electric jobs to be done - always good advice, fast and comprehensive. Would definitely recommend them for any electric job big or small. Our latest was for a kitchen rewire but they have also done smaller jobs - always the same great service.
LauraF Posted on 26/08/2016 , work completed 26/08/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris installed an outdoor light, put in two new plug sockets and fixed my aerial as well as moving my tv onto a different wall. When you are looking for traders to do work they can take ages to get back to you if at all. Chris got back to me very quickly and carried out the work professionally and efficiently. I was really pleased with the quality of finish. I can only have good words to say about connect electric.
Maestro16 Posted on 24/08/2016 , work completed 24/08/2016
New customer who will certainly return!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first contact to completion of the job I was impressed by the professionalism and pleasant, polite approach which I encountered. Information was clear and the job was completed in record time. A reasonable charge for a fast, neat piece of work. Highly recommended.
2011-08-10 21:33:23.193 Posted on 24/08/2016 , work completed 24/08/2016
Professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team fully rewired our new home. They also fitted outside lights and an alarm system. They were professional in their work and completed the jobs in the agreed timescale. The price quoted for the work did not change. Fully recommended.
toasty Posted on 09/06/2016 , work completed 09/06/2016
Connect Electric Bury
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team were a pleasure to deal with and fitted out solar panels quickly and were very clean and tidy. The fittings are all secure and professionally fitted. I am impressed that Chris has a real and committed interest to alternative clean energy sources. He has integrity in this developing area. He is a decent bloke.
Paul Darnborough Posted on 03/05/2016 , work completed 03/05/2016
Installation of PV Solar Panel System
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris was a pleasure to deal with. The detailed quote was competitive and value for money. Communication was excellent, providing all relevant information and keeping us informed as he went along. They worked extremely hard in very challenging weather conditions and kept to their price. We just need some sunshine now!!
2011-06-23 20:15:44.763 Posted on 09/02/2016 , work completed 09/02/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Chris and his team a number of times, his work is always of the highest quality, often taking the time to make every effort to ensure the job is not just done well, but above expectations. I would highly recommend them
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/02/2016 , work completed 05/02/2016
New House Alarm & Lights
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I couldn't be more happy with the guys from Connect Electric. They fitted my new house alarm with no mess, no fuss and walked me the installation process so it was clear from the start. They also fitted my ceiling lights throughout the house and cleared each room after they were finished. Great service with a great price!
Stewart Posted on 30/01/2016 , work completed 30/01/2016
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
You get a quote and it doesnt change! I've used them for solar panlels, CCTV and outside lighting
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/10/2015 , work completed 26/10/2015
Connect Electric
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had solar panels installed on both our own and our Daughter & Son-in -law's houses by Chris and are all very pleased with the results and by the speed and ease of installation. Chris has also totally re-wired one house and done electrical work on the other. We were extremely satisfied with the work done and the cost was very competitive. We would not hesitate to recommend him and will certainly be using his company again.
CMR101184035 Posted on 01/02/2015 , work completed 01/02/2015
Competent efficient and thorough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Chris out, for the first time today. Himself and his colleague, John, were able to come round within a couple of hours and I was delighted with their work. Having an eight month old daughter, I was so thankful that they were able to diagnose and fix the problem so promptly. I found them to be extremely competent, highly efficient and friendly, all at an extremely competitive rate. I would highly recommend Connect Electric.
Carolyn Posted on 27/01/2015 , work completed 27/01/2015