Endorsed by Which?

Cowley Electrical Contractors Limited

5.0

54 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–17:00
  • Sunday 09:00–17:00

Why you can trust this trader

After undergoing rigorous assessment to become endorsed, every Which? Trusted Trader agrees to our Code of Conduct. This gives consumers the reassurance that they have the best possible protection and adds an extra layer of security to ensure best practices and procedures are followed. Which? fully investigates any breaches and will take any necessary action to ensure consumer protection.

About

We started off working for bespoke bathroom companies installing l.e.d lighting and bringing the property owners electrical installation up to current regulations, , And installing Heating controls for British Gas, we quickly grew and started taking on rewires and new build installations . We now able to confidently take on all jobs large or small.
In the last 5 years we became qualified to install solar pv.
We now firmly believe in renewable energy ,and seek to help our customers make a informed decision about renewables and energy efficient lighting.
We are NICEIC APPROVED INSTALLERS as well as NICEIC DOMESTIC INSTALLERS . and members of the ECA .

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical repairs
    • Electrical testing services
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • Renewable energy

    • Air source heat pumps
    • Ground source heat pumps
    • Home energy analysis
    • Solar panels
    • Solar water heating
  • Lighting contractors

    • LED lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • More Services

    • solar pv
    • rewiring
    • fuse boards

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
54 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Very good contractors
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This has been the second time that I have used Neil Cowley and his team and on both occasions their work has been excellent. Everything from the initial contact and assessing the work, through the quote process and then scheduling the task is very professional. I have no hesitation in recommending them for any electrical work.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 13/04/2024 , work completed 06/03/2024
Electrical review and installation works
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowley performed a site survey recommending important improvements. They quoted for and were awarded the works. They were very good at planning on the work schedule and flexible with payment terms before and after. Their engineer was punctual, polite and professional throughout 4 days on site. They added value above the scope of work too when they were able to respond to existing and new situations on site as they occurred. Most importantly they didn’t have to wait for things to go wrong or respond to quality snags or complaints because they were so competent in electrical work and had a planning/preventative risk mindset. This made the whole experience in our home safe and with hardly any disruption which was excellent. Cowley have an enterprising business approach and you can tell are customer focused, seek to set high standards and also seek to continually improve.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 12/01/2024 , work completed 18/12/2023
Punctual and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neil arrived just when he said he would to remedy some faults detected on his previous thorough electrical inspection. He was friendly, professional and very tidy. I would not hesitate to recommend Cowley Electrical.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 22/12/2023 , work completed 15/12/2023
Tidy work with the minimum of fuss
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We’ve used Neil Crowley several times during 2023 and always been delighted with the outcome. On the latest occasion Neil himself did the work replacing an extractor fan in the bathroom with the minimum amount of fuss. Whatever the work involved they are always prompt and very tidy - no dirty footprints or excessive clearing up after. They seem competitively priced and I always recommend to my friends and family.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 30/11/2023 , work completed 24/10/2023
Emergency call out
With flood water an inch from the front door and no electricity supply, my daughter and young grandchildren arriving in a few hours, I was delighted to see Cowley Electrics who isolated the electricity fault and re-connected our supply. We were able to use our pump and had a warm house for our guests. Prompt, personable service on a day when flooding was causing havoc everywhere.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 26/10/2023 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent service from original communication to completion of work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The task included a one day inspection followed by a further four days of work. Liam the electrician was prompt, informative, thorough and efficient. Each day he cleaned and tidied up putting any furniture that he had moved, back in place, before he left. Although Liam had to work in every room he was not intrusive. He was easy to talk to, polite, understanding and kind. Liam is a highly professional electrician who works to a very high standard. I would not hesitate to contact Cowley Electrical Contractors again if needed and I would certainly recommend them to others. Glenys Carrick (aged 85) near Cirencester Gloucestershire.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 07/08/2023 , work completed 27/07/2023
Efficient & timely
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Cowley Electrical very responsive and helpful, always getting back to me when they said they would. They sorted out the electrical fault in my wet room despite it being something of a mystery. The engineer was friendly and understanding. I will definitely call upon their services again.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 02/07/2023 , work completed 20/06/2023
Professional and punctual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowley arranged to replace seven ceiling alarms throughout the house with modern ones, wired in. They also replaced an extraction fan. Excellent job, completed at the time agreed. Good communicators re quotes and arrangements.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 20/04/2023 , work completed 30/03/2023
Friendly professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Cowley Electrical for years as we like to use local trades. This time we had an external double electrical socket installed. They are rather ugly things so I didn’t want it installed in a place where I would constantly view it from the patio, Liam looked at the options we had, he made sure I was happy before he started and did a very efficient and tidy job. Neatly tucked in a corner. Really friendly, punctual and tidy. We had a text with an ETA which was bang on time. Would highly recommend
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 15/04/2023 , work completed 22/03/2023
Follow up work on electrical inspection
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased with the Cowleys engineer. He carried out the original inspection and returned over 4 days to complete the remedial work. He was polite, friendly, unobtrusive and helpful. He always took time to listen to our thoughts and to explain things clearly. He was even able to fix a minor issue relating to the hot water tank.
Customer in Posted on 25/02/2023 , work completed 02/02/2023
Reliable, on time and on budget
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used the company a couple of times and will do so again as they are friendly, reliable and professional.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 27/01/2023 , work completed 24/01/2023
Punctual, thorough and on budget
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Several tasks - external security light, heater timer replacement, over-stairwell pendant replacement, new LED battens in garage and in kitchen - all carefully and satisfactorily accomplished. A trader I recommend.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 15/01/2023 , work completed 25/11/2022
100% Satisfaction
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used Cowley Electrical before so when we needed a replacement outdoor light and a few other minor jobs there was only one choice for us. Liam was punctual, friendly and very tidy. We are extremely satisfied with the work done and would certainly use Cowley Electrical again. We also would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 04/11/2022 , work completed 10/10/2022
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very professional service both in terms of providing a quote, and the work which was done (the installation of two light fittings). I would definitely use their services again.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 10/10/2022 , work completed 29/09/2022
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The gentleman that came was friendly and treated my property with respect, work was completed efficiently and satisfactorily. Very happy with the results.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 18/06/2022 , work completed 26/05/2022
Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recently had a number of minor electrical works undertaken by Liam at Cowley Electrical. Wow, what fantastic service. I have never written a review before but I was so impressed, I felt I had to put finger to keyboard! Efficient, clean, friendly and professional service; would definitely use again.
Donna in Wiltshire Posted on 08/03/2022 , work completed 18/02/2022
Great service from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We haven’t used Crowley Electrical before but they were highly recommended on our village Facebook page. Their service has been excellent, right from the communication about coming out for the quote (including a text to say they were running on time) through the work itself. If only all tradespeople would communicate this way!
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 05/03/2022 , work completed 25/02/2022
Excellent work done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work included the provision of additional sockets throughout the house, the rectification of faults in light switches and wall lights, the installation of ceiling spots in the kitchen and as a feature in the lounge and a shaver point in the bathroom. Estimates for the work were received promptly and a date set in good time. The worker was thorough and very attentive to our requirements and the need to work in a way such as not to cause inconvenience. He was efficient, polite and careful but worked professionally and with commitment. He was also very careful to tidy the minimal dust or debris created by his work. The invoiced payment was exactly as predicted by the company. We would thoroughly recommend Cowley Electrical as our customer experience was commendable.E
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 03/11/2021 , work completed 19/10/2021
EICR report
Customer Service
Quality
Value
quick, thorough, excellent would happily recommend to others..........................................
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 01/11/2021 , work completed 29/10/2021
Very good throughout the full process from the response to our initial phone call, estimate, execution and billing.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We received the estimate very quickly after the estimating visit during which everything was discussed and explained in a clear and comprehensive way. The work was carried out by a young electrician called Liam who was professional, efficient and courteous throughout. Very satisfactory.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 06/09/2021 , work completed 02/09/2021
Outside lighting in the garden
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have previously used Cowley Electrical to install power and lighting to our summerhouse, and were very pleased with the work done . Over a number of years we have used solar lighting in the garden to highlight a number of features e.g arches and pergola, but in the main have been disappointed with the result. We decided this year to run more underground cables to the features we needed illuminating, and on the advice of Neil Cowley install low voltage LED lights. The lights were installed by Liam, who was very polite and kept us informed throughout the day as to how the job was progressing. In order to finish the work in one day Liam worked on until about 19.00, and did a very professional job, being extremely neat and tidy. We are very pleased with the end result.
Eric in Wiltshire Posted on 17/06/2021 , work completed 07/06/2021
remedial work following report
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Remedial work was undertaken by Liam over 5 days. We have not received the certification and invoice yet but Liam carried out the work very efficiently and is always fastidious in what he does and how he leaves the completed job. Everything was explained to us as he went along and it was a pleasure to have Liam here to carry out this work. We certainly recommend Cowley electrical to anyone wanting a professional and efficient service.
Robin in Wiltshire Posted on 16/06/2021 , work completed 10/06/2021
First class work in every respect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Liam of Cowley Electrical was superb. He completed all the work efficiently and to a very high standard. Liam was incredibly polite, professional in what he did, required nothing from me and was fastidious about tidying up. End product superb and he even plugged all the leads back into the television etc after he finished. Could not recommend more highly. Just superb.
Vyvyan in Wiltshire Posted on 12/06/2021 , work completed 09/06/2021
Excellent work done on time and on price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Around Easter 2021 our house outside lights packed up and as soon as Lockdown permitted we decided to have them updated. We asked local electrical contractor Cowley, who advertise locally, to visit and give a quote. Proprietor Neil Cowley visited a few days later and made a thorough inspection of the site and work involved. This comprised: making safe and removing existing system and replacing with completely new system of lights at various points around the outside of the house - some controlled by PIR, others by wireless switching. Also replacing sealed lights in bathroom ceiling. Estimate received on-line that day was very competitive and promised a quick start and finish. Queries were promptly responded to and estimate agreed in a few days. A technician (Liam McGlen) arrived in a few days and started work immediately, after checking exactly what was required at every stage. Work completed in two days. We were very impressed with the efficiency of Mr Cowley’s organisation and also of Mr McGlen, who was invariably polite and considerate, and made sure at every stage that he was doing what we wanted him to. On 27 May, invoice arrived along with electrical certification. It has been a pleasure working with Cowley Electrical and we will not hesitate to ask them for help should we need electrical work in future.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 28/05/2021 , work completed 19/05/2021
Testing of Electrical Circuits
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Liam completed this testing on 27th April 2021 as agreed. He spent a full day carrying out the tests and we await the written confirmation of the results. Everything was left in a clean and tidy state, with furniture etc. returned to its original position. We are impressed with his efficient working and politeness.
Robin in Wiltshire Posted on 06/05/2021 , work completed 27/04/2021
Wiring Inspection and rewiring kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Liam called as arranged on 26th April 2021. He completed the refitting of kitchen lights that day as promised. The work was carried out in an efficient manner and he left it all neat and tidy. He also installed a double outside socket. All work was carried out to our complete satisfaction.
Robin in Wiltshire Posted on 06/05/2021 , work completed 26/04/2021
Reliable professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A really great attitude to customer service and also completing work to a really high standard. Why go elsewhere?
Tony in Wiltshire Posted on 18/04/2021 , work completed 06/04/2021
Fast Tidy Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had several small jobs including checking the electrical safety of a dishwasher, replacing all the ceiling spotlights in one room, repairing and moving an electrical heater plug socket, and fitting a new double plug socket on a decorated wall. All the work was completed quickly and tidily in a half day.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 23/02/2021 , work completed 16/02/2021
Efficient, very able and excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The lighting circuit in our stables failed. The circuit covers two loose boxes, a shed and tool shed. Neil Cowley had to work his way round the circuit to identify the fault. He was most thorough and efficient. Having found the problem, he repaired the errant light allowing the stables to be lit again. I have the utmost confidence that he is a very proficient tradesman. Additionally he obeys all the Covid rules. He merits five stars - I would happily use him again and recommend him to other users.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 11/02/2021 , work completed 21/01/2021
Very good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowley Electrical Contractors did a job recently for my 98 year old Mum. They were prompt, professional and friendly and left everything clean and tidy. Mum was delighted with the service provided by them.
Di in Cheltenham Posted on 10/02/2021 , work completed 03/02/2021
Great job and good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowley Electrical recently did a few jobs for us and we were very impressed with their efficiency, workmanship and professionalism. They worked in a covid secure manner throughout the day and all the work was completed as per their quote within a few hours. Everything was left neat and tidy and we've wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
Michelle in Wiltshire Posted on 03/12/2020 , work completed 17/11/2020
Small job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although it was just a small repair job and investigation of a faulty electric heater the service was prompt and professional. I would recommend Cowley Electrical and would 100% use them again.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 03/12/2020 , work completed 30/11/2020
Replace night storage heater.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neil arrived and got straight to work. Very clean and tidy. Heaters removed and replaced with no bother and very patient with explaining how controls worked. Nice friendly guy. I would use this company again and recommend it.
Lin, Wiltshire Posted on 04/02/2020 , work completed 04/02/2020
Quick and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Only a small repair job but done quickly and efficiently Polite service and tidied up afterwards I have not used Crowley before but will definitely do so again and have recommended them to others already.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 25/11/2019 , work completed 22/11/2019
Renewing bedroom light switch
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem with the light switch in our bedroom not working. I called Cowley Electrical to ask them to rectify this problem. Michael advised me of the price and sent me a quotation. I accepted this and we booked a date for the work to be done. The appointment was fixed for 8.00 am and Liam, the electrician arrived within a few minutes of this time. He was very polite and fitted a new switch very quickly. I was completely satisfied with the work. He also advised me on another electrical problem. Thanks to Cowley Electrical for their good work.
Chris, Wiltshire Posted on 29/07/2019 , work completed 22/07/2019
Efficient and tidy work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have struggled to find reliable trustworthy electricians in the past, so I decided to try Cowley who were advertising in our local village magazine. Initial contact with them was both easy and very efficient. They visited us within a couple of days to provide a competitive quotation for the work (replacement of an external switch, and provision of extra external sockets), and, after accepting the quote, we agreed a date for the work. Just prior to the date, they sent an email as a reminder and confirmation of the work. Neil arrived promptly on the agreed date, and the work was completed quickly, efficiently, and tidily. I would certainly use Cowley again and highly recommend them.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 07/07/2019 , work completed 04/07/2019
Efficient, pleasant & courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
22 downlight fittings, discovered by chance to be incorrectly installed by a previous unknown electrician. Safety advice given & the work was to install correct junction boxes. Work completed efficiently by very pleasant & courteous person.
Patricia, Wiltshire Posted on 17/06/2019 , work completed 17/06/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. From the friendly initial contact to Neil coming out & completing the work, everything was easy & friendly. Impressed with the quality of work & advice given. Glad to have found this company
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 15/06/2019 , work completed 11/06/2019
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neil did exactly as he said he would. Arriving on time,carrying out the work efficiently, with a friendly manner, and attention to detail. We asked if he would fit a couple of wall lights that we had purchased (not in the original quote) and he did so without asking for additional payment. I would have no hesitation in recommending Cowley Electrical Contractors,and I intend to use them again in the future.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 26/05/2019 , work completed 15/05/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neil was very efficient and friendly, I would have know hesitation in recommending him to all my friends and family, and will be asking him back to do more electrical work in my kitchen.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 20/04/2019 , work completed 10/04/2019
Replacement of bathroom extractor fan assy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having found Cowley in a local trade directory and read reviews I decided to go ahead and get a quote. (My former electrician had retired) From the start and by using the internet and email the process was easy and productive. The quote was acceptable and a date arranged without a problem. The work was carried out to what I consider a high standard and no inconvenience to us. I will use Cowley again if necessary.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 05/04/2019 , work completed 02/04/2019
Efficient and excellent value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced broken lights indoors and out and tested suspect oven. All work completed in good time at the agreed price and everything left tidy and clean. I would happily recommend Cowley for any electrical works you need.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 14/03/2019 , work completed 11/03/2019
Very happy with the service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Neil replaced two light fittings for us . We knew in advance exactly what the cost would be, and had a text to give us 15 minutes warning of his arrival at our home. He was pleasant, courteous and efficient and did exactly what we had agreed in a very competent manner - you know you have a good tradesman when he brings his own vacuum cleaner in with his toolbox ! Payment was able to be made electronically and we had recipts and guarantees before he went off to his next job. We would be very happy to have Niel working for us again and will be recommending him to friends in the area.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 19/02/2019 , work completed 12/02/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and very satisfied with work.
Catherine, Wiltshire Posted on 18/02/2019 , work completed 18/02/2019
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Cowley arrived as arranged and on time after being contacted by Corgi Homeplan with whom I have a service and repair contract. He located the fault and restored power to the circuit. He was very professional & a pleasant person to deal with. I would certainly call on him again in the future for any electrical work.
W, Wiltshire Posted on 06/02/2019 , work completed 06/02/2019
Recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Discussed problem in advance in order to bring along correct parts. Arrived promptly. Very polite & efficient. Diagnosed & fixed the faults in under 2 hours & tidied up afterwards. Clear pricing schedule.
Mark, Wiltshire Posted on 31/01/2019 , work completed 31/01/2019
Modern approach.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Use of internet for quote, contract and appointment was outstanding. Electrical technician was on time, speedy and safe. Task was replacing six outlets by the gang.
Peter, Wiltshire Posted on 06/01/2019 , work completed 06/01/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As kind, helpful and efficient person as one could wish to have doing a job for you. Work was done cleanly and efficiently well within the time scheduled.
Mary Clare, Wiltshire Posted on 20/11/2018 , work completed 20/11/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pleasant and professional did a good job and will use again and recommend.
Christopher, Wiltshire Posted on 24/10/2018 , work completed 24/10/2018
Professional, efficient, most helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arriving for new gas boiler. Installation of instruments/controller.
Kenneth, Wiltshire Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
Prompt, professional and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent and responsive service. The job was a small one but was done within a week of initial contact - excellent. The electrician was polite, helpful and thorough.
Peter, Wiltshire Posted on 21/06/2018 , work completed 21/06/2018
Professional service, excellent results.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We employed Cowley Electrical to rectify, replace and renew our whole building's electrics after a flood. The service has been first class, with work carried out with great professionalism and to the highest standards. They have been very flexible and helped us to get back on feet quickly and safely. From installing a temporary supply whilst we dried out, to testing and replacing damaged equipment, Cowley Electrical have worked hard and kept us updated with the progress along the way. We have used Cowley Electrical before and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to friends and family.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/04/2018 , work completed 18/04/2018
Friendly professional electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cowley Electrical fitted a kitchen hob and kitchen spotlights. We are very pleased with the work carried out by Neil. He was friendly and professional and we would definitely use Cowley Electrical again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/03/2018 , work completed 15/03/2018
Professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full rewire of new kitchen including replacement of consumer unit and splitting of lighting circuit. Friendly service, clean, and discussed a range of options and approaches before work commenced. When I fed back on change/minor issue quickly addressed with no fuss.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
Good Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable came when he said he would , new electrics in refitted kitchen nothing was too much trouble, slight problem with under cabinet lights not Cowley Electricals fault it was a problem with the transformer supplied with the lighting.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 31/08/2017 , work completed 31/08/2017