We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Cox and Sons Roofing

Profile thumb van photo

4.9

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:30–17:30
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Established in 1980, we are a completely family run business.
We mainly cover Waltham Forest and the surrounding East London and Essex areas.

Regretfully we are unable to accept enquires from landlords at this time.

What we do:
Whether you have a single broken slate or require a whole new roof we can provide the service you need.

Our services include but are not limited to:

Slating
Tiling
Guttering
Complete new roofs
Flat roofing
Roof light installations
Leadwork (including specialist welding)
Roof Reports/Assessments

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
    • Flat roofing
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Lead work
    • Roof and skylights
  • Chimney builders, liners and specialists

  • Drain clearance contractors

  • More Services

    • new roofs
    • pointing
    • slating and tiling
    • guttering clearance

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
27 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Consistently reliable and good quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this firm for over a decade to maintain our roof and guttering. They have done an excellent job and are a pleasant and friendly team to deal with. The prices are always fair and the work high quality.
Customer in Essex Posted on 13/04/2021 , work completed 01/04/2021
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dealt with a long-standing leak in roof. The work was as scheduled and on budget. We'd made a previous attempt to fix the problem with a different trader, and we'd also obtained several quotes - Cox's inspection, diagnosis and work was more thorough and comprehensive. We chose them for their approach, not the price, which was more than most (not all) of the quotes but we felt it was worth it. Alan and his family were very pleasant, helpful, altogether a pleasure to do business with. It hasn't rain since, but I'm optimistic that we won't see the problem again.
Ruth in Leytstone Posted on 13/04/2021 , work completed 07/04/2021
Friendly, efficient and trust-worthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They turned up promptly, worked efficiently, and kept me informed. I was lucky to have the quick repair done very quickly since they'd finished another job a day early. Good to have some-one that you can trust.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/01/2020 , work completed 17/01/2020
Fantastic new roof - thanks Alan and co
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and the guys fitted a new slate roof including a gable to the front of our house in Leytonstone. It also required additional supports to be fitted inside the roof. They were very friendly, had the work done in a week as predicted. The costs were as originally estimated and reasonable based on other quotes we received. I’m no expert but the roof looks very professionally done inside and out and Alan is clearly very experienced and does a good job. Communication ahead of the job was also good. Would highly recommend. Thanks Alan.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/11/2019 , work completed 08/11/2019
Fast, professional and pleasant to deal with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Provided a good quote for me on a range of work, and conducted a subset of that without issue, delivering this very quickly and without fuss. Followed up on my questions after the job done and provided assurance that work would be redone if needed (it wasn't). Nothing negative to say. First class.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/05/2019 , work completed 26/02/2019
As usual, cheery, efficient and value for money
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend the Cox family more highly. From initial enquiry (answered within 24 hours - even though it was over the weekend) to finished job was effortless and pain-free - would that all builders worked like this. The front guttering needed replacing and there was a leak from next door's oddly built extension that only happened when the wind and rain were from one particular direction . . . but a solution was proposed and carried out. We were told the job would take a day - and it did. They were incredibly neat and tidy. The final price was as quoted - and they cleaned out the back gutter while they were up there. I once made the mistake of using someone else. I never will again!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/04/2019 , work completed 15/04/2019
Great work. The family work together well and are friendly and explain everything
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cleared out debris from an old Victorian lead valley and made watertight and replaced broken tiles. Cleared gutters and blocked a hole where birds were entering and damaging the loft. Sealed the brick wall above my garage door with Cromopol fibreglass solution. This is the 6th time I have employed them over the past 20 years in my present and previous homes and I can highly recommend them. They provide before and after photos of the work done.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/03/2019 , work completed 27/03/2019
Excellent work - flat roof replaced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved into a house to discover that a flat roof on the first floor was leaking. Autumn was on its way, and the house needed to be watertight before winter. Within a day of making an enquiry, Alan Cox had visited, assessed the situation, and provided a quote. It was extremely reassuring to have a quotation which clearly listed each stage of the project, estimating time and cost. The job was booked, and work was scheduled for later in the following week. The team arrived as planned and, as extra crew were available, the job was completed ahead of schedule. Without extra charge, gutters were cleaned and some other minor tasks were done. Once the roofing team had finished, the removal of scaffolding was arranged and completed that same afternoon. Trustworthy and reliable, thoroughly recommended. Great value for a job well done.
Andrew & Fiona Lukas Posted on 07/11/2018 , work completed 07/11/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work carried out, clearing and mending gutters, valleys, replacing down pipes and putting back slipped tiles. The team were lovely, friendly and did a really professional job. Such a relief to have trustworthy, accurate estimates so I could budget the very reasonable cost.
S Lockley Posted on 21/10/2018 , work completed 21/10/2018
Great work removing and installing new roof to a Victorian house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and his family team provided a smooth stress free experience removing an old time expired roof and the installation of a spanking new one to a house in East London. They went out of their way to advise and problem solve other problems found when the roof was removed such as the need to repair walls and repoint. They demonstrated a professional approach built on years of experience and showed a high regard for health and safety. They were trustworthy and I felt completely comfortable in them accessing the house and they left the job site tidy. Alan provided sound advice about the future management of the roof. If you need roof work I could not recommend Cox and Sons and Daughter more highly.
Mike Patton Posted on 08/09/2018 , work completed 08/09/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removed tiled roof which was covering an extension at the back of the house, replaced tiles with a fabric roof and fitted a dome to allow natural light into the room below. All of the work has been done to a high standard. In addition, everything had to be carried through the house, there were no problems with dust or damage. Highly recommended!
Robinson Posted on 30/03/2018 , work completed 30/03/2018
Good Job !
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement and re fixing of fascia boards, guttering and downpipes on old Victorian terraced property. Nice family firm, Laura very helpful. They arranged a convenient time and worked around the needs of my 94 year old Dad, who lives there. Local people recommend them and I found them totally trustworthy - particularly important when they need to come through a vulnerable persons home. They seem very professional, knew their business and suggested cheaper ways of doing stuff as well as a couple of extras where the original tiles didn't overhang the roof sufficiently. I'm asking them to do some more work for me soon.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/03/2018 , work completed 05/03/2018
Tried and trusted trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had an ongoing problem with water leakage from our rear roof into the inside walls of our terraced property. Alan Cox and Sons removed a course of tiles and fitted a new support batten and eave tray to deflect any water ingress. The team arrived promptly and carried out the work professionally and have fixed the problem. I have used this excellent local company before and have found them a delight to deal with, have utmost trust in them identifying roof issues and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to troubleshoot and carry out any remedial works.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/02/2018 , work completed 09/02/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A great job done professionally and efficiently. Additionally they fixed piping which was broken, made sure the dog did not run out and did everything with a smile. Thanks very much
BFlats Posted on 21/09/2016 , work completed 21/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed some roof work done. Cox and sons gave me a reasonable quote and did a very good job. Will definitely use them again
chitrag Posted on 10/06/2016 , work completed 10/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Cox and sons if they would clean our gutters , only a small job but a necessary one . They came round within a few hours and carried out the work for a very fair price . Prompt , professional and very friendly . No hesitation in recommending them .
dabs1989 Posted on 24/11/2015 , work completed 24/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 young men came around to fix a leak in my roof. We decided that a lead flashing needed to be fitted. They carried out the work in good time and to a high standard, I was billed for the same as the reasonable quotation they had given me. I would not hesitate to recommend Cox and Sons, and will certainly use them again if I need any roofing work done.
Richard My Posted on 29/12/2014 , work completed 29/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Small flashing and tile repair promptly quoted for and then carried out within 24 hours, at a reasonable price. Turned up when they said would, and job done quickly and professionally. Would thoroughly recommend.
Eastender81 Posted on 30/07/2014 , work completed 30/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Alan to give us a quote for repairing some split tiles on the end of our kitchen extension, and for doing various other tidying-up jobs on the roof (fixing the odd broken tile, taking down an old television aerial boom, replacing some missing pointing). It took a little while to arrange a successful appointment for a quotation, and then a little while longer to fix a date for the work to be carried out, but the extra persistence paid off. Alan and his team turned up on time as agreed and finished the job by the early afternoon with a minimum of fuss. The repairs look good and were completed with care to preserve as many of the original tiles as possible. Given the variability of roofer's schedules caused by inclement weather, following up on a few e-mails was worth the quality of the final work.
Liz&Geoff Posted on 20/05/2014 , work completed 20/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked Alan Cox to provide me with a quote to clear out my gutters which were constantly leaking and damaging my front-door porch. I did have to wait a couple of appointments for a quote, but I was pleased with the comprehensiveness of the quote, complete with photos of the areas concerned, and some additional work he recommended. On the day, all tasks were completed in one morning, and and I was impressed that Alan was able to diagnose a long standing gutter fitting problem (missed by other roofers), and that he was able to do some additional remedial work on the roof for tiles which had slid from position. I would definitely recommend Cox & Sons for their high-quality work.
Ruisongxi Posted on 15/04/2014 , work completed 15/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After getting over the shock of needing a new roof, Alan and his sons did an amazing job through some difficult weather including the recent storm. Our back extension made it more complex especially for erecting the scaffolding. Nothing seemed a problem and they were clean and well organised. We were kept informed every step of what they were doing. It was like having friends doing the work. Really pleased. Have already recommended them. Many thanks.
Penny2208 Posted on 04/12/2013 , work completed 04/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Alan Cox a few days ago due to a missing tile on our roof; and similar problem on our neighbour's roof. He came the same day to survey the problems, and also quickly fixed both problems at an extremely reasonable price. He also checked the rest of our roofing; and unlike so many conman builders [which is the average member of the public's dread] did not diagnose any problems that don't exist [!] and in our case found the rest of the roofing fine. Excellent work, very reasonably priced, and totally trustworthy! Most strongly recommend!
Chris Goldsmith Posted on 20/10/2013 , work completed 20/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and his son have removed debris between the tiles and the underfelt and they have placed air vents. They checked carefully all the roof and replaced broken tiles. They are professional and did the work efficiently. I can recommend Alan Cox and sons
Mr Green 24 Posted on 21/06/2013 , work completed 21/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and his sons did a superb job on the roof of our two adjoining Georgian terraced houses. They expertly replaced the lead over a bay and the linked gutter. The work also involved stripping out a bottom course of tiles to the mansard roof, setting them aside for re-use, and fitting cover flashing in the joint parapet wall. Alan is very knowledgeable about modern and old roof architecture. We had suffered rainwater leaks for about three years. They were patched up but always returned after a while. Finally, we contacted Alan who confidently diagnosed the problems and resolved them. He takes pictures with his smartphone of any defects he finds on the roof so you can agree and be sure of what needs to be done. He also did excellent and necessary repair work on the front and rear gable end walls of the roof. This meant stripping out tiles and fitting aluminium soakers to each course. Because Alan does everything in a highly professional way, we cannot recommend him enough.
Probing Trevor Posted on 04/05/2013 , work completed 04/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were having continuous problems with a leaking valley, which previous roofers had failed to sort out. Alan gave a clear explanation of what he thought the problem was and what work was required. Alan & Sons took their time over the work and even showed me pictures of the work carried out. Excellent and courteous service.
karl1969 Posted on 08/10/2012 , work completed 08/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan Cox and his sons did a first class job on my aging roof at a reasonable price. At last I have found a tradesman I can trust and is easy to deal with.If you have problems with your roof he is your man.Well recommended
aneggies Posted on 17/07/2012 , work completed 17/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alan and his sons were easy to deal with: very prompt response in terms of visiting the site, quoting and responding to queries. The quote was reasonable compared to others and he actually carried out other minor jobs within that price once he had commenced. Job was done quickly and cleared up completely afterwards. Cannot recommend too highly.
liane Posted on 01/10/2010 , work completed 01/10/2010