We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

D J Garage Services Ltd

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–12:00
  • Monday 07:30–17:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–17:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–17:00
  • Thursday 07:30–17:00
  • Friday 07:30–17:00
  • Saturday 07:30–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed
Profile thumb dj logo

4.9

69 Reviews

About

D J Garage Services is a family run establishment with over 50 years experience in providing servicing, repairs and MOTs for all makes and types of car.

To keep in tune with the modern vehicle we use the very latest diagnostic technology to ensure your vehicle is in the best possible care that D J Garage Services can provide.

Our reputation is based on honesty and dedication to customer satisfaction. We are always pleased to discuss any problems you may have with your vehicle. Our aim is to offer you, the customer, the very best prices in the area.

We are situated in Stanstead Abbotts close to the Railway Station. We can also offer a collection and delivery service at no extra cost, in the local vicinity or collect you and bring you down to the garage.

Should you wish to book your car in with us or just need advice give us a call on 01920 465431. We look forward to hearing from you.

What we do

  • Garage related services

  • Car repairs, servicing and MOTs

    • MOT testing stations
    • Brake and clutch replacement
    • Car air conditioning
    • Car radiator repairs
  • More Services

    • battery replacement
    • car servicing

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

4.9
69 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
MOT & Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second year I have used DJ Services and both times I have been extremely satisfied. Fast and efficient service. Very friendly staff. Time was taken to explain a detailed breakdown of worn that should be carried out before next years MOT. I will certainly be taking my car back as and when the work is required.
Customer in Hertfordshire08/02/2019
Mot and repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used DJ Garage Services for last five years,even though they moved premises,they had to move from where I live,but I didn’t want to use any other garage as they give a very personal and friendly service that I never experienced anywhere else. They offer a great service and I would recommend them to anyone.
Customer in Hertfordshire07/02/2019
DJ Garage Services - JAG XF MOT / Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful, friendly and efficient. Competitive price for M.o.T. test and annual service. Kept me informed of work required and progress during the day. Offered me a lift home when I took the car to their premises. Excellent all round. To be recommended to others. Really good value.
Customer in Hertfordshire04/02/2019
Car fixed yippee
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My other half took my car to get it right after he hit a kerb. We always experience great service from start to finish. The are very open and give sound advice on repair, cost and time scales. My car was fixed in a day he brought it in. I would certainly recommend this garage. All my cars go there. I am very happy with the service they provided, thank you.
Customer in Hertfordshire30/01/2019
The trader replied (on 05/02/2019)
We are always pleased to be able to get our customers 'out of trouble' as quickly as possible. Thank you so much for your lovely comments. :)
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Last summer my campervan over heated and lost a lot of water. Suspecting the head gasket had blown took poorly camper to the garage. They inspected, tested and identified the cause- the passenger seat sits over the engine bay and the seat had pressed on the radiator cap which opened it ! Hence the loss of water. Without condescending mechanic showed me the imprint of the radiator cap on the seat underneath. Could not believe it could be something so trivial. D J Garage was a great service identifying the cause and putting my mind at rest. Seat surely was fixed when got it home and van no longer over heating. Happy holidays to come. I would definitely recommend this garage. Thank you.
Customer in Hertfordshire30/01/2019
Quality work and a very friendly, helpful and efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
D J Garages have undertaken work to my cars over a number of years and have always provided an excellent service. On a couple of occasions it has been difficult to diagnose the problem with the car but the mechanics have always managed to sort it out. If I'm not sure how to deal with a problem, Chris will always take the time to talk it through with me and help me to arrive at a sensible decision. I have an old car which continues to be very reliable thanks to the good attention it gets a DJ's. I highly recommend this garage. Ashley Godfrey
Customer in Hertfordshire25/01/2019
MOT and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always an excellent service from Chris and his team. Nothing is ever too much trouble. We now take three family cars to Chris for annual service and MOTs as well as for anything else that may crop up in between.
Customer in Hertfordshire22/01/2019
The trader replied (on 01/02/2019)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review, look forward to seeing you soon. Best Wishes Chris and The Team :)
Puncture | flat tyre
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We woke up and found we had a flat tyre on our van, we called DJ Garage and straight away had the job booked in. The guys were fantastic, they came out to the van and took it to the Garage. From there they identified the issue & ordered us a new tyre that came within 24 hours. Brilliant service and reasonable prices! Would highly recommend
Customer in Hertfordshire10/01/2019
Why go anywhere else?
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I moved to Herts from Surrey in 1991, I needed a garage to service my car and my neighbour recommended DJ, who at that time were located in Crane Mead, Ware. Although I have changed my car several times since then, I have gone back to DJ for servicing and repairs. It was awkward to continue using them when they moved to their present location, a couple of years ago, and on one occasion I took my car to garage very close by in Ware. However, I did not find the customer care and respect that I found at DJ. Chris always treats me with understanding and does not patronise me, when I go in and say "the car doesn't sound right", or "it feels different". He and his mechanics, will find the problem, and fix it with the minimum of delay, always keeping me informed, and trying to keep the cost reasonable. I trust Chris, which is a very essential quality when you know little about the mechanics of a vehicle, and could easily be ripped off. Another member of Chris's team, is his wife Pippa who is professional, friendly and efficient, when answering the phone, and doing the admin for the garage. Darcy (the dog) is also a valued member of their team, greeting customers with a waggly tail! I would not hesitate to recommend DJ to anyone in this area.
Customer in Hertfordshire09/01/2019
The trader replied (on 10/01/2019)
Thank you so much for this very pleasing review. It was kind of you to take the trouble to write such warm words and always lovely to be appreciated for what you do. Best wishes Chris, Pippa, Darcey and The Team.
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used the services of D J Garages over a number of years and found them friendly, very aware of your problems and always come back with a sensible answer along with a high quality of work. Highly recommended to anyone.
Maurice, Hertfordshire04/01/2019
Cheerful and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wonderfully clean garage, good at telling you what needs doing and doing it. Competitive pricing - so much better than main dealer. Quick appointments. Widely used in our locality. Great to support local business.
Christine, Hertfordshire21/12/2018
Second Year service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and the team serviced our car which is still under warranty. Genuine Honda parts were used to maintain the main dealer warranty and I would have no hesitation in recommending DJ's. We have three vehicles, which all go there for servicing and repair and I cannot quibble with the cost when compared to the prices main dealers charge. I have always found them to be honest and they also employ a bit of ingenuity when its called for saving me £600 on a loose headlamp assembly (broken lugs) They managed to refix it securely so it passed its MOT without the need to dig deep. Well dones guys!
Customer in Hertfordshire19/12/2018
Helpful and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used on several occasions for service, tyre and battery replacement. Always efficient friendly service.
Customer in Hertfordshire18/12/2018
Very helpful and trustworthy car garage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and his team are a friendly and helpful local garage that always try to help, no matter how small the problem is. I have always found that I have got very good value for money and the work carried out is to a consistently high standard and I would definitely recommend them to others.
Customer in Hertfordshire08/12/2018
Prompt, courteous & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
50,000 service. Always prompt, courteous & reliable. Have used DJs for many years & have no hesitation in recommending them.
Christine, Hertfordshire05/11/2018
Good, prompt service and good customer care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked in for MOT and service and got a slot the next morning. The work was done quickly and I was kept informed about when the work would be completed and the necessity for extra work that was needed. Price was very reasonable.
Knight31/10/2018
Crank sensor correct diagnosis
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Broke down in London, called the AA and was given a fuel line/fuel pump diagnosis by them. Had the AA relay my car to DJ Garage Services on the Monday evening, and by Tuesday morning they had found out that this was a crank sensor problem and not fuel related. The new part was ordered, the work was carried out swiftly and the car was ready for collection by Wednesday lunchtime. As usual with this excellent garage,the customer service, communication and work carried out were fantastic.
Richard Chamberlain28/10/2018
Urgent Brake Pad replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My brakes started to grind on a Sunday afternoon, fearing doing damage to my disc's I phone DJ's at 08.20 on a Monday morning to see if they could help. They told me to bring the car in and they replaced them same day. I guess it was an easy job for them but their service and help was excellent. I have used them before on two other vehicles for service and MOT's. Both other cars are still in the family and we have no problems with them. Excellent service on all occasions I have used them.
KevinB22/10/2018
Great job/helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked for MOT only one week for 10am. Rung 3 days before after service light on my mini showed. Were helpful and added service so I could collect car at 1pm.
David, Hertfordshire08/10/2018
Reliable and do excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have been a customer for years and always satisfied with their excellent work.
William, Hertfordshire05/10/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended fast efficient service, I use them regularly.
Kenneth Albert, Hertfordshire25/09/2018
Super service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
D J Garage gives a 'super service' in all senses of the phrase.
Charles, Hertfordshire19/09/2018
Efficient and reasonable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Happy with service. MOT failed initially but repairs organised quickly and efficiently at a reasonable cost.
Lorraine, Hertfordshire17/09/2018
Honest and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I managed to book my car in here same day when my brakes started grinding- First impressions really matter and I felt immediatly at ease with the friendly office lady and her cute doggy to the helpful and honest mechanics - Nice to find a garage that you know wont over charge or recommend repairs to something not needed
Holly Spurgeon12/09/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Service. Always trustworthy. Going to him since 2005.
Melvyn, Hertfordshire05/09/2018
Reliable as always.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A excellent local garage with an owner and technicians who talk to you in an informed manner. I trust them implicitly.
Bud, Hertfordshire03/09/2018
High standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used DJ for car service and repairs over a number of years and found them to be extremely competent and reasonably priced. It's always good to be able to deal directly with the hands-on proprietor rather than a receptionist at a main dealer. I had my car serviced this week and as usual was very satisfied with their work. I've never had any problem recommending this company to family and friends.
Alan Thomas01/09/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Responded to problem urgently.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer01/09/2018
Regularly get the car mot & serviced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always excellent service, very reasonable & quick, staff in the garage & on the phone very helpful & pleasant. Would recommend them.
Dottie28/08/2018
Repair to wing mirror
Customer Service
Quality
Value
D J were approached after a much larger firm quoted an enormous amount & a 3 day turnaround. D J repaired within 2 hours and with a much more affordable rate. They were so friendly and efficient, well recommended.
Deborah, Hertfordshire24/08/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A gem of a place great service - all was honest and explain what has been done to you vehicle . Really honest people would recommend this garage to anyone. Value for money
Daniel 22/08/2018
Amazing as always!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called on Tuesday and my car was seen and fixed by midday Wednesday. I was called before work was due to check the price.
Charlotte, Hertfordshire22/08/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, professional and efficient service. They did exactly as asked and itemised all work requested, which was charged fairly and reasonably.
Robert, Hertfordshire22/08/2018
Efficient, knowledgeable, polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A clean, efficient garage. Always knowledgeable, polite and professional. I recommend this great service to others, as I have always received prompt, excellent help here. Staff are excellent.
Tina, Hertfordshire22/08/2018
Great service, friendly, excellent value.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found this garage by chance while looking for someone to replace a damaged tyre. After a quick phonecall, was round there within 10mins, to find the owner waiting for me. Very friendly with instant action ! Was fearing a large bill under the circumstances, but was far less than expected. Thoroughly recommended.
JohnED18/08/2018
1st class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been using D J Garage for nearly 20 years for the annual service and MOT for five different cars I have owned and also for some body work. D J Garage have always been reliable and their workmanship is 1st class. They are also very friendly and will "go the extra mile".
John, Hertfordshire17/08/2018
Usual excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used DJs for a number of years. They take care to listen to us and tackle the main work (service and MOT) and smaller jobs too. Always very pleased with work done and the customer service provided.
David, Hertfordshire14/08/2018
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gone back to using DJ after having car serviced by main dealer for a few years. Nice to be back, straight forward honest people to deal with, quick service, cost reasonable. Will definitely use again.
Hertfordsteve09/08/2018
Very professional and reassuring.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed new coils (suspension) very helpful and efficient. Happy to recheck car two days later when I thought I could hear the springs again. Very helpful and pleasant (Chris).
Susan, Hertfordshire09/08/2018
Helpful in the hols
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Due to go on holiday, the front brakes on the car were failing. The garage fixed the problem rather quickly and that meant that the vehicle was ready for the "off". Have used DJ for over 15 years. Always knowledgeable and give efficient service.
Jed, Hertfordshire09/08/2018
Always great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used DJ Garages for a few years now and they are brilliant. Always a fair price, keep you informed and I would highly recommend them - in fact I do!
Laura, Hertfordshire07/08/2018
Ace job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very accommodating service, quick and very professional. Set up and service.
Roy, Hertfordshire07/08/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have been using DJ to work on my car for many years. Always fitted me in quickly. Done work on time and well. Pleasure to use.
Gordon, Essex09/07/2018
D J Garage Services Ltd
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, took 1st car for a service at 8:30am ready by 11:30pm. Exchanged for second car service at 12:pm ready for collection by 4:pm. services & MOT's. Have used D.J for about 10 years never any problems.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer09/07/2018
Highly Recommend D J's
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have been using D J's for many years now and have always been consistently delighted with efficient and professional service. Chris and Ray are completely honest and trustworthy when dealing with our family cars. Therefore, highly recommend them.
Hedges03/07/2018
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & efficient.
Neville, Hertfordshire03/07/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
DJ have been looking after my cars for years. Never had any problems with their service. They are always there to help no matter how small the job is. Family business is best, you always see the same staff.
Angela, Hertfordshire28/06/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Explained problem with exhaust asking him only to repair it if car passed the rest of M.O.T. Thought he had to obtain part and repair later. In fact when he saw me had already obtained part and fitted it.
Brian, Hertfordshire28/06/2018
Professional and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A friendly, prompt and professional outfit. You believe you can trust the advise you are being given. Honest and not pushy.
James, Hertfordshire27/06/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I put my car in for service and as usual I received friendly, helpful and efficient service. I will remain a customer.
David, Hertfordshire27/06/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have absolutely no hesitation recommending D J Garage Services. An excellent job done in a professional manner. The work was done at the agreed time. Good value for money and trustworthy.
Sarah, Hertfordshire16/06/2018
Excellent#
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Suffice it to say, I drove the car some 66 miles from Fleet to Stanstead Abbots to receive the benefit of work by DJ Garage Services. Always thorough, well executed, expertly diagnosed, and returned after repair. Impeccably cleaned and polished and sweetly running. All this on a ROVER 23 years old!
Peter, Hampshire15/06/2018
Efficient, good, job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As always, D J Motors did what I wanted courteously, efficiently, promptly and in a friendly manner.
Robert, Hertfordshire14/06/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They went out of their way to save me considerable expense.
Robert, Hertfordshire13/06/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used DJ for about 3 years and have always found them polite, efficient and knowledgeable. Keep it up guys!
Janet, Hertfordshire12/06/2018
As always great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always great service. Highly recommend.
Steve, Middlesex09/06/2018
Brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service - helpful and reliable - competitive pricing.
Thomas, Hertfordshire04/06/2018
Totally trustworthy and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
DJ have looked after my Polo ever since I got it. I have always found them to be thoroughly reliable, trustworthy, courteous and efficient and their work is always reasonably priced.
Ellie, Hertfordshire01/06/2018
Very good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good! Done service and was ready when told it would be. Will use again next time.
Alan, Hertfordshire23/10/2017
Always reliable and honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been a customer for 20 years and they have always looked after me. I trust them fully to look after my cars over that time.
Kateg2813/05/2017
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
DJ's service is second to none. They are quick, reliable, competitively priced and all the staff are great! Would recommend to everyone, we as a family have used DJ's for over 25 years!
Kt14197612/05/2017
Amazing customer service and work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't recommend this garage enough, i have received excellent customer service. They updated me continuously throughout the day on the repairs. Genuine honest VERY reliable garage, i wouldn't go anywhere else now.
Sam Yates06/07/2016
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been with this trader for years, work has always been professional and to our satisfaction. We would not dream of using anywhere else and would highly recommend them
Pauline, Hertfordshire22/05/2015
Excellent, friendly service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have been using D J Garages for years - excellent. Have never felt unhappy, would recommend them without hesitation. Friendly, professional service.
Stella, Hertfordshire01/05/2015
Excellent with professionalism
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The diagnostic was accurate. The timing was good. The quote was accurate and the extra bit of good will is a nice touch and the courtesy shown is appreciated.
Lorraine, Hertfordshire30/04/2015
Friendly, reliable and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am a professional driver and it is of utmost importance that my vehicle is on the road as much as possible. D J Garages do this for me. Excellent diagnostics with a very quick turnaround on job times, they keep my business ticking over. I would advise anybody to use them for any work required on their vehicle.
Chris, Hertfordshire24/04/2015
Always a good and reliable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This month I had my car MOT and service done at this garage. This was, as always, a good and reliable service. They are honest and upfront regarding any problem they may come across. I shall be using them for many years to come and I would be happy to recommend!
nic123428/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They have serviced my cars for 25 years. They always find a slot available at short notice to sort out a problem. I have found them to be honest, knowledgeable and reliable.
requiem11/12/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent courteous service. Will not do unnecessary work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer07/05/2010