We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

D J Meara Heating & Plumbing Ltd

Profile thumb 7afedc64 d29c 4e00 97c6 39fbd189a116

5.0

36 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:30–18:00
  • Thursday 08:30–18:00
  • Friday 08:30–18:00
  • Saturday 08:30–16:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Proud to be a business built on quality workmanship, customer service, and reliability.

Chartered Institute of Plumbing and Heating Engineers - Registered Heating Professional.

Engineering Council - Registered Engineering Technician.

Gas Safe Register - Fully Accredited / Registered in all Domestic Gas Appliances.

City & Guilds - Domestic Heating Design, Installation, Service.

City & Guilds - Domestic Heating Energy Efficiency (England & Wales).

Vaillant Boiler Manufacturers - Accredited Installer.

Visit the website to view current customers thoughts, on the service received.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Gas cooker installation
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Gas installers

  • More Services

    • hot water cylinders cold water storage tanks thermal store

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
36 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have recently had a Vaillant boiler installed along with thermostats added to radiators and a power flush carried out. From the initial very detailed quote right through the installation process you always get 100% from Dan and his team. They have installed an en-suite, a downstairs loo and now replaced the boiler for us. During the whole replacement process Kyle explained what was happening, any problems that arose and suggestions as to deal with them. When working late into the day to 'finish off' everything was always left clean and tidy. We would highly recommend them and would definately use them again.
Customer in Thorpe Bay Posted on 17/02/2021 , work completed 29/01/2021
New Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great care, attention to detail and customer service throughout the whole job. Kyle is a really friendly and assured guy - gave great advice and listened to our needs. The new boiler is great, the nest thermostat is easy to use and we are thoroughly happy with the job.
Customer in Southend-on-Sea Posted on 20/01/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Very professional, and arrived on the dot as promised!
Had thermostatic valves fitted to radiators, new Vailant boiler and a power flush, all carried out with very little disruption, certainly no mess after completion, very courteous and polite,very competitive price.visited next day to confirm all working satisfactory. Both Kyle and Joe excellent ambassadors for their company, highly recommend this firm.
A S. Posted on 14/09/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
En suite refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having seen Dan's work elsewhere, we had no hesitation in using him to completely refit two en suite bathrooms for us. Never had such clean and tidy workmen, happily left them all day with a key. Courteous, polite and fabulous work quality. They utilise other very skilled craftspeople for tiling, silicone etc, cannot fault any of their work. Highly recommended.
Customer in Essex Posted on 04/09/2019 , work completed 30/08/2019
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, on time, put clean dustsheet down, also very polite and considerate.
Janet, Essex Posted on 16/07/2019 , work completed 16/07/2019
A first class heating and plumbing company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had several heating and plumbing jobs carried out by Dan Meara, most recently a replacement kitchen sink mixer tap. I have always received an excellent professional service and knowledgeable advice. Dan and his colleague Kyle arrive at the agreed time and work with much care and attention, making sure that the house decorations and floorcovering are protected. Before they leave they ensure that everything is working properly and that there are no leaks. I really appreciate their 'can do' approach and would have no hesitation recommending them for plumbing and heating works.
Customer in Essex Posted on 21/11/2018 , work completed 16/11/2018
highly professional and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a yearly service and repairs by the boiler manufacturer we were still concerned about continuing leaks. We asked Dan to have a look at it because we had been very pleased with the way he had installed a new shower a few days earlier. He found the boiler to be unsafe and instead of having substantial repairs being done we opted for a new boiler. I cannot speak too highly of the quality of Dan's work. A great deal of new piping was required apart from installing the boiler. It was a pleasure to see such a skilled craftsman at work. Everything was done to mitigate any inconvenience and keep mess to a minimum. Dust sheets covered the floors from the front door to where work was taking place. The result was a much more efficient heating system. We were so pleased with Dan's work that we asked him to install a new mains water tank and this was also done remarkably efficiently. The fact that we asked him to do three jobs in a short space of time says everything about the confidence we have in him. In addition to all this he and his co-worker Kyle is a very pleasant young man
harvey m Posted on 09/05/2018 , work completed 09/05/2018
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a replacement WC toilet pan fitted and a new small cloakroom washbasin installed. The communications re. ordering/delivery of the items, by e-mail, was prompt and informative. The appointment to undertake the work was agreed by e-mail in a timely manner. The work itself was efficient and neatly done. The operative, Kyle, was polite, respectful and helpful, in particular regarding the explanation of the various options in approach. very satisfied with the all-round service.
Dawkins Posted on 01/05/2018 , work completed 01/05/2018
Excellent Work - Reliable Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend Dan Meara Heating and plumbing. Our boiler had been condemned by British Gas and Dan gave us a quote for a new replacement which was fair. After accepting the job Dan set about getting us booked in as soon as he could. He is punctual and quietly gets on doing the work in a highly professional manner. His work is excellent and he makes sure that he works leaving no mess behind. If you are looking for someone you can trust and rely on then Dan is that person, he has great feedback and now I can see why. Thanks Dan you did a great job.
MichaelLH Posted on 30/01/2018 , work completed 30/01/2018
Very happy with work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Firstly Dan provided a very reasonable quote for the replacement of our boiler. He was also very helpful checking the water and gas pressures, to ensure we could go with the boiler we were looking at. This is something other plumbers who quoted did not do. On the day to fit the boiler, he arrived punctually and along with Kyle they both proceeded to do a great job changing our boiler, power-washing the central heating system and fitting new thermostatic valves on all the radiators. Both were very polite and helpful when dealing with my queries and working as best they could around the sleep patterns of my two young babies. Given the time to the power flush was an unknown, the job could have rolled on into a second day, which would have been my worst fear, not having heating overnight for my babies, thankfully though it did seem to take some hours, Dan remained here until everything was finished and the new system tested and ready to go that evening. He worked over 12 hours on site and we are grateful for this push to get it all sorted in one day. In all, very happy with Dan's well priced, and professional service. I am very glad I have now found a reliable plumber who I will be using for all my needs in future.
Ingram Posted on 26/10/2017 , work completed 26/10/2017
Can't recommend enough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, courteous, clean and tidy, as you'd expect, I was given a very competitive quote for replacing a macerator, so paid the deposit and booked a very timely appointment. On checking the old macerator, it turned out that it could be fixed - for a fraction of the original quote. The only charge was for a one hour call out - and the rest of the deposit was refunded the same day. I can't recommend this company enough - they turn up when they say they will, discuss all options, give honest quotes, and only do the work that's actually needed.
Lindsay Rutland Posted on 25/09/2017 , work completed 25/09/2017
Brilliant, very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan & the team were amazing. Very tidy & clean. The most amazing job done.
Janet C, Essex Posted on 12/05/2017 , work completed 12/05/2017
Extremely efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really can't fault! Job carried out efficiently, professionally and in an extremely pleasant manner. Also very tidy and friendly.
Keith, Essex Posted on 26/01/2017 , work completed 26/01/2017
Very professional and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having decided to change my heating and hot water system to one requiring a combination boiler, I looked on the Which Trusted Traders web-site and found Dan. I have not been disappointed. The project involved replacing the boiler, disposing of the old one, installing new pipes and replacing old radiators, as well the installation of a Water Softening Unit. All the work was carried out with the least possible disruption to myself, and with consultation at every point as to the best places for the pipes and the new radiators. Dan explained very patiently how the new system would work, talking me through it more than once! The work was finished within the time scale agreed, the only problem being ... and it was not their fault ... that the Water softening unit that had been delivered was faulty. They came within an hour of the new one being delivered to complete the job. I have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone who would like a good job well done. And I nearly forgot ... they cleared up and left everywhere clean and tidy each day. You would hardly know that anyone had been working there. Thank you for an excellent job well done.
bellcanto Posted on 14/10/2016 , work completed 14/10/2016
Extremely satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan fitted a new boiler system at very short notice as the old one was completely dead. He gave very good professional advice when he came for the quotation. The work carried out was to a very high standard (shame to cover up the neat pipe work!) and he was neat and tidy, leaving no mess behind. The electrician he used to complete the installation was equally prompt, tidy and courteous. The house is now alive with hot water and freshly flushed radiators - bring on winter! Very pleased now that we have a plumber we can call on to any work too difficult for me. Would definitely recommend Dan's services.
Ashingdon Jack Posted on 18/09/2016 , work completed 18/09/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended, fast efficient service. Greatly impressed with care of installation and expertise. Delighted with the end result. Will certainly use him again and have no hesitation in recommending.
Joan, Essex Posted on 05/09/2016 , work completed 05/09/2016
excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you are looking for a reliable and professional gas / plumber then look no further. My experience found both ,Dan and Kyle to be polite ,reliable and proficient. It is refreshing to call on a trusted trader and have confidence to leave them to the task in hand. i will be keeping this tel number for future, as i am very pleased. {stephen, Maldon road}
Engineer Posted on 23/05/2016 , work completed 23/05/2016
Excellent service and workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan came to replace my boiler and to install a mains pressure hot water system. He came highly recommended and I have no hesitation in recommending him myself. He was reliable, trustworthy, methodical and a very clean worker. He explained what the job entailed and then walked me through the instructions on how to operate my central heating system via my smart phone. This has been a 'Five Star' First Class service and I am already planning to use Dan again.
sITE uSER Posted on 20/04/2016 , work completed 20/04/2016
Thoroughly efficient service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan Meara attended on time and gave an impressive service at reasonable cost. Thoroughly recommended.
Chris, Essex Posted on 13/11/2015 , work completed 13/11/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I will certainly be using this trader again. He came already highly recommended and I have no hesitation in recommending him myself. Reliable, trustworthy, methodical and a clean worker. Very helpful in explaining what the job entailed and the instructions on how to operate my central heating system. 'Five star' First Class service
Debra, Essex Posted on 15/10/2015 , work completed 15/10/2015
First class job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
D J Meara Heating & Plumbing Ltd were used to install a new central heating boiler, and to replace the lounge radiator. I found the company to be extremely knowledgeable and competent. They arrived on time and worked efficiently and safely. The resulting job was first class. I shall be using them again in the future.
George, Essex Posted on 05/10/2015 , work completed 05/10/2015
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, within the time slot they gave me. Polite, efficient, clean.
Tracey, Essex Posted on 14/09/2015 , work completed 14/09/2015
Delighted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am delighted to have been recommended Dan. He is neat, knowledgeable and very patient when explaining anything. For both plumbing and work on a gas appliance, I can find no fault in his work. I will certainly be using him again. I am most impressed.
Jenny, Essex Posted on 06/08/2015 , work completed 06/08/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I do not like disruption or having work done in the house and kept putting off the boiler replacement. However I have nothing but praise for Mr Meara from our initial meeting to the finished job. Disruption was keep to a minimum, carpets and floors were covered as soon as He arrived and everything was cleaned up before He left each evening. In terms of the actual workmanship, the paperwork is extremely neat, the boiler was fitted into a very precise space with careful consideration and the flushing/bleeding of the entire system carried out efficiently without intrusion. The job was started and finished on time and the entire process flowed very smoothly.
Coral, Essex Posted on 31/07/2015 , work completed 31/07/2015
Will be using in future
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had DJ Meara at my house for just over a week to complete several plumbing jobs including installing a new boiler in a different location to the previous one. Dan completed all jobs to an excellent standard and explained what was required thoroughly.
Sam123 Posted on 11/07/2015 , work completed 11/07/2015
Knowledgeable, Proficient, Courteous, Good Value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
DJ Meara is our 'go to' boiler, CH and gas engineer, both for new installations (new Boiler, new rads, new pump, new HW cylinder, power flush of existing pipes, etc, etc) and since then for maintenance of our inset gas fire as well. Very knowledgeable with great attention to detail. For our original boiler install he asked many more questions than others who quoted, and his quotation was more comprehensive and tailored to our needs. When maintaining our inset gas fire he identified and resolved an issue of concern. Extremely pleased with the work that has been done.
marsweb Posted on 08/06/2015 , work completed 08/06/2015
Comments as left
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always exactly on time. Very clean work all areas protected. Very knowledgeable. Very pleasant to work with. Recommend him, any time.
Russell, Essex Posted on 22/04/2015 , work completed 22/04/2015
Would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable plumber, always knows exactly what the problem is and how to fix it. Never leaves any mess, and above all a really nice guy.
Joanne, Essex Posted on 20/04/2015 , work completed 20/04/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Dan several times. He always does a good job. He is always on time. He leaves no mess and explains what he is doing. He is a real professional.
Graham, Essex Posted on 10/04/2015 , work completed 10/04/2015
Recommended wholeheartedly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan Meara is a very knowledgeable, expert 'gentleman' plumber who gives excellent customer service politely with integrity and honesty. I have used his services several times in the last couple of years including today when he replaced my programmer. Previously when he fitted a new cloakroom I had no hesitation in leaving him with my front door keys. He is reliable and does a brilliant job each time. We know we can rely on him to help us if there is a plumbing problem or emergency which is very reassuring.
Porter Posted on 07/04/2015 , work completed 07/04/2015
Taps replaced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was a second job for Dan, as he had previously replaced a toilet. Dan was prompt and completed the quite tricky job (very ancient, corroded 50 year old taps ) with care. He kindly sourced the new taps and took away the old ones. When I made enquiries originally, Dan got back to me quickly and always replied thoughtfully to my queries. He seems knowledgeable about his subject, is very polite and has been a real find, through "Which local".
CMR401119091 Posted on 20/03/2015 , work completed 20/03/2015
Brilliant tradesmen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, trustworthy, efficient & tidy. Would recommend to others.
Anita, Essex Posted on 18/03/2015 , work completed 18/03/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader was able to fix our central heating problems that others could not. He is not only a master of his trade, but also a skilled craftsman, and excellent communicator, clean and tidy and a pleasant and educated person. His prices are fair and value for money. As far as I am concerned he is a superlative engineer and plumber.
Janet, Essex Posted on 11/03/2015 , work completed 11/03/2015
What a find
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I came across the business via ratedpeople and what a find. Within 2 days an estimate arrived detailing everything I needed to make a decision to go ahead with my new boiler. His quality excellent, minimal distribution to the household. Very clean worker. Also recommended him to my daughters. Overall a really nice guy and he is informed he is waiting for his new baby to arrive.
John123 Posted on 05/03/2015 , work completed 05/03/2015
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had Darren several times. Now knows his job well he is efficient reliable and pleasant.
Robert, Essex Posted on 25/02/2015 , work completed 25/02/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan was prompt to respond to my queries and dealt with business efficiently. He replaced an older, lower toilet, which he sourced for me, sending me details and pictures by email. He explained what he was doing, during the refit, and left the bathroom dust-free afterwards, as well as protecting any other areas from the dirt. Recommended.
P J M, Essex Posted on 23/02/2015 , work completed 23/02/2015
Totally Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
D.J.Meara thoroughly professional, explains what is required & does it. This is the second time D.J.Meara has done work for me & I am more impressed with each visit. To date he had diagnosed & rectified a heating problem, repaired heat exchanger, fitted a magnet, flushed out system & serviced boiler, he plumbed 2xtoilets. Honest efficient, I would & have recommended him to others, a top professional, clean & tidy, discusses all options & costs.
Paul, Essex Posted on 18/02/2015 , work completed 18/02/2015