We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

D L Wood Drain Services

Profile thumb 22.09.17 032

5.0

46 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–18:00
  • Monday 07:30–18:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–18:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–18:00
  • Thursday 07:30–18:00
  • Friday 07:30–18:00
  • Saturday 07:30–18:00
  • Sunday 07:30–18:00

About

We offer a domestic and commercial drain unblocking and cleaning service and offer fixed rates for domestic customers.

We unblock the following;
Main drains and manholes.
Gulleys.
Kitchen sinks.
Hand Basins.
Baths.
Showers.
Washing machine wastepipes.

High pressure water jetting

What we do

  • Drain clearance contractors

    • Drain and sewer services
  • More Services

    • drain unblocking
    • drain cleaning

Customer reviews

5.0
46 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Polite, friendly, efficient and hard working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren came to clear an outside drain of ours that had overflowed. He was polite and friendly, on time and the van and equipment he used looked well maintained. He worked hard, efficiently and was creative with achieving a resolution to our drain issue. He gave good advice. I will definitely been using him again if we have drain issues and wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 06/01/2020
Slow running kitchen drain, problem identified as main drain
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was fantastic. Prompt, polite and knowledgeable. Identified the problem and a gave me the number for Thames Water and advice on calling them. He charges £70 for a call out but refused payment even though he was here for nearly 30 minutes identifying the problem. I will be holding on to his information and would have no hesitation calling him again or recommending him to all my friends.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 20/12/2018 , work completed 20/12/2018
Excellent drain clearing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Trader turned up early (suited me), did the business, explained problems, advised on future prevention. Polite, efficient, fair price, delighted.
Gerard, Middlesex Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
very happy to recommend Darren Wood - he came today and cleared out a bathroom sink waste blockage; and ensured all pipes were clear. Really efficient, friendly and helpful. Would definitely use again!
sideshowbaz Posted on 25/04/2017 , work completed 25/04/2017
Excellent professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren arrived promptly at the agreed time and set to work to clear a blocked drain without delay. There was a difficulty because of a right angle bend along the drain length but he worked quickly and efficiently, and made very sure that all was clear before being satisfied with his efforts. The job was finishing at just under an hour and I was very pleased to hand over £70, the sum he had quoted over the phone when first I had made contact. I should add that his rig was clean and tidy and I found him pleasant and courteous - I can't recommend him too highly.
ethiopiahils Posted on 30/03/2017 , work completed 30/03/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren gave me an estimated time of arrival and arrived on time. He quoted me 70 pounds for unblocking my drain and stuck to that quote even though the job had taken him longer than anticipated (nearly 2 hours) due to the way the drains were installed in my house. He was very professional and persistent and refused to leave until I was happy that the blockage had been fully removed. He then cleaned up after him. I was very pleased with his work.
jm51 Posted on 02/03/2017 , work completed 02/03/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren gave me an estimated time of arrival and was on time. He quoted me £70 to unblock my bathroom sink/bath drain and stuck to that quote despite the fact that the job was more difficult than he thought (due to the design of my house) and took nearly 2 hours. He refused to leave until I was happy the water was draining freely and then cleaned up. I was very pleased with his work.
Jeremy, Surrey Posted on 27/02/2017 , work completed 27/02/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was polite and courteous, gave me a half hour warning call and then cleared a blocked toilet within minutes of arrival. He then stayed and cleaned my loo for me and checked that it was clean running. For a fixed fee of £70 I was very impressed. I meant to also say he arrived within the pre-agreed time frame. Very happy customer.
A Greater London Resident Posted on 31/01/2017 , work completed 31/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'd had a partially blocked toilet since before Christmas (still functioning but despite my efforts obviously not clearing. I rang Darren's number on Tuesday 24 January and got his answering machine. He rang me back that evening and arranged to come the following day at a time that suited me. He arrived very punctually and cleared the blockage, without using his pressure hose, in about 20 minutes. He then spent a further 10 minutes or so making quite sure the toilet was flushing properly and the blockage had gone. He had quoted for the job on the 'phone, and I thought his charge reasonable (nothing's cheap in London!). I would definitely recommend him and would use him again if necessary.
Maureen, Kingston Posted on 26/01/2017 , work completed 26/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I phoned Darren his ansaphone message stated he would phone back usually within an hour and he did. He then gave a clear reasonable quote for the work and an estimated time of arrival the same morning. He arrived at the time given, correctly identified the cause of the blocked drain and what needed to be done to clear it. He had a power hose on his van that very efficiently cleared the blockage. He then made sure the drain was fully flushed and clean before he left. Darren was professional and polite and we would definitely call him again. We were very relieved to have the blockage dealt with so quickly and efficiently and at a reasonable cost. Would definitely recommend.
ghen Posted on 12/07/2016 , work completed 12/07/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was professional, courteous and carried out the work (blocked kitchen drain) in a no-nonsense fashion. Highly recommend him to others and would definitely use him again.
Patricia, Surrey Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Darren's telephone number on Good Friday fully expecting to get a Voicemail response. He answered the telephone himself and was fully prepared to come out that day. Thankfully the blocked drain was not that urgent and we waited until the following Tuesday after the Easter holiday. He arrived punctually, dealt with the problem quickly, was courteous and efficient and charged me the agreed sum of ??65. Recommend.
Maureen Kearney Posted on 04/04/2016 , work completed 04/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Darren and he efficiently dealt with my call and we set a time for him to come - I had inherited two blocked inspection pits from the previous house owner, we only moved in a few days before. He duly arrived on time and quietly and efficiently cleared both the pits and gave me advice about keeping them clear. A good outcome of a smelly occurrence.
Lapswater Posted on 21/03/2016 , work completed 21/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm a school caretaker, I had a blocked drain with water backing up. Called Darren he replied promptly and we arranged for him to visit the school at 7am on the Monday morning. He was on time, quickly identified the problem and cleared the blockage. Would definitely recommend and use again and all done for a fixed price.
travisisadog Posted on 14/03/2016 , work completed 14/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren is excellent. I've used him twice now. I have found him very prompt - the second time he turned up about an hour after I called him. The work was done to a high standard which basically means he did it successfully without fuss and cleaned up after. His rates are clear and very reasonable too. I recommend him without hesitation.
Phaustin Posted on 11/02/2016 , work completed 11/02/2016
Very thorough - fixed the problem and more
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very thorough. Fixed the problem, checked and cleared another blockage (caused by leaves) and asked about possible causes as this had happened before. If I hadn't known why this has happened before, I think he would have investigated further. As it is, he has advised that part of our problem is an unusually long run between drain covers.
sylvia.ellis Posted on 28/11/2015 , work completed 28/11/2015
A speedy and courteous service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thankfully for me, Darren was able to get to me within an hour of my making initial contact. He very quickly resolved the problem (a blocked drain), checked the incoming pipes thoroughly, and cleaned up after himself. He was prompt and friendly and courteous throughout, and I believe his stated prices (as given on his website) are very reasonable. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
1791460 Posted on 14/09/2015 , work completed 14/09/2015
Blocked Drain
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would have absolutely no problem recommending Darren. Incredibly quick response to my call, courteous, thorough and charged true to (upfront) quote - so no hidden surprises.
JayneMc Posted on 24/04/2015 , work completed 24/04/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren returned my email promptly even though it was not an emergency. He came and fixed the problem within four hours of my initial enquiry. He was clear about cost of drain clearance which is fixed price
AHC Posted on 15/12/2014 , work completed 15/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Full marks for prompt friendly service and fair price.
mbb Posted on 10/11/2014 , work completed 10/11/2014
A true professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren came out on Saturday to clear a very badly blocked drain away to our kitchen sink. He power jetted the drain from the manhole and cleared the blockage - and he made sure it was completely clear before leaving. A true professional.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/11/2014 , work completed 07/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren is The Man! An outside drain was blocked and i emailed yesterday and he rang today and was with me within the hour of the phone call. He identified the problems- some builders had put their work concrete etc in our drains and he had to chisel it out first and then flushed it and monitored the flushing for 20 minutes and all was working fine. Trusty,affable,reliable i found him.
jahils Posted on 07/10/2014 , work completed 07/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent. I sent a text message about our blocked drain on the Spring bank holiday Monday and received a reply by return. Mr Wood arrived first thing the following day, used water jetting to clear blockage then used camera to identify problem, a collapsed main drain pipe underneath our driveway!
brilliant Posted on 04/06/2014 , work completed 04/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My 4" dia kitchen drainpipe was clogged with hardened fat etc. Darren quoted ÔøΩ65 and arrived within the hour, jetted out a bucketful of the stuff and left it clean as a whistle. Knows his job, very professional, will use him again and highly recommend him.
puck Posted on 31/05/2014 , work completed 31/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very concerned about a blocked drain, but when I rang up I was immediately given a price and this was adhered to. Within 2 hours of calling, the drain was clear and I had checked it. I was very impressed by the professionalism and service I received at a very reasonable cost compared to many others.
Wiltshire girl Posted on 17/03/2014 , work completed 17/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can recommend Darren's service. I rang him late morning about a drains blockage. He came within a couple of hours, sorted it out, gave me advice and I paid him at the agreed price. Perfect job and a thoroughly professional person. I would definitely use him again.
duncangaskell Posted on 16/03/2014 , work completed 16/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. There was nothing unexpected about this visit: Darren was upfront about the charges when I called, was able to agree to my suggested arrival time, arrived exactly at that time, was friendly, drank my bad cup of tea without complaint, was courteous to the neighbour when asked to move his van, fixed the problem with the blocked drain with the minimum of fuss, and charged the ÔøΩ65 that was agreed on the phone. A good service all round.
Legionbleu Posted on 29/12/2013 , work completed 29/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. Punctual, honest and reliable. Will definitely use again
Justyna Posted on 12/12/2013 , work completed 12/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren arrived within 2 hours of my call to him. Cleared my kitchen drain very quickly with no fuss. No call out charge and extremely reasonable charge for the job which was ó65. Highly recommended.
RobinlPratt Posted on 01/07/2013 , work completed 01/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren came round within an hour on a Sunday of the bank holiday weekend. Sorted out blocked drain with minimal fuss. Very reasonable call out charge in the circumstances. Highly recommended.
sushiuk Posted on 05/05/2013 , work completed 05/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called when our drain from the sink to the outside blocked, and we could not clear it by the usual means. This firm is fantastic, gave us a 3 hour time frame and arrived well within the time. Cleared the drain and the charge was very reasonable. Also he is a very pleasant person. Would highly recommend.
sallykirton Posted on 05/04/2013 , work completed 05/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren came straight round the next morning to art out my Darin which was blocked with kitchen fat. He did this really quickly and checked and cleaned all the way t the road. He charged me £65 which I thought was reasonable. I would happily recommend him.
boudicca Posted on 24/03/2013 , work completed 24/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren came on time, did a great job and solved our smelly drains! He inspected all the interior plumbing to ensure that his diagnosis was correct. Great service and good value.
jass13 Posted on 03/12/2012 , work completed 03/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sent weekend email, shortly had a call back, and able to fix appointment for early next working day. High pressure hose restored decent performance to overflowing rainwater drain, and while running more water through as a check Darren confirmed it was not connected to sewer system (so likely to be a soakaway). All done within an hour. Happy to recommend.
mottainai Posted on 18/11/2012 , work completed 18/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was in trouble with blocked drain & toilet as main drain serves 4 houses and manhole covers are on my garden - so something had to be done & quickly. I found him through Which? and he was local. He came within the hour & soon trouble had been sorted. I would like to think anybody else with these problems would have help at hand. I was relieved and happy when it was sorted.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/10/2012 , work completed 22/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came earlier than advised and promptly. Cleared drains with minimum of fuss and mess. Polite and courteous. Recommended.
Dansan Posted on 03/10/2012 , work completed 03/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. Reasonable price quoted on phone, arrived in Kingston asap same day. Dealt efficiently with severely blocked drain; ensured all completely clear and cleaned the surrounding area. Darren is friendly and helpful, even identified location of additional manhole which had been paved over.
no no nanette Posted on 02/10/2012 , work completed 02/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Darren 18/06/12 and within less than 24hrs he was at the door at the time arranged. A thoroughly personal and genuine sole trader. Superb value great job, sorted in less than an hour... Cost was superb. No dodgy "Chemicals required" as many of the large firms seem to try and "Sell". I will be using Darren again. Highly recommend this firm.
bigkg Posted on 19/06/2012 , work completed 19/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren arrived early and identified the problem quickly. I had thought it was the outlet pipe from my utility room, but in fact there were roots blocking the main drain. He cleared the blockage quickly and advised me on how to stop it from happening again. He kept to the quote he had given me over the phone. I had not bothered to check for prices from other companies as the price he quoted seemed fair.
margaret.a1 Posted on 06/12/2011 , work completed 06/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren Wood arrived on time and cleared the downpipe as requested. While he was checking the drain he realized that we had a further and much bigger problem (our soakaway was completely blocked) which required attention. He recommended an associate who he asked to come and investigate. Darren continued to check on the additional problem with us and within a few days, the problem was resolved. We were very pleased with the way Darren handled the whole situation and would not hesitate to use him again or to recommend him to others (as we already have).
apburrows Posted on 11/09/2011 , work completed 11/09/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called first thing in the morning and I was given a precise time for the work to commence and Mr Wood arrived exactly on time. He carried out the work quickly and to the price quoted. He was also friendly and extremely polite. I would recommend him without reservation.
Saddler1 Posted on 30/07/2011 , work completed 30/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly and helpful on the phone. Arrived within 30 minutes to clear a badly blocked drain. Professional and courteous. Unblocked and checked all drains. Charged exactly what he had quoted on the phone. Cannot be recommended highly enough.
macrotech Posted on 19/07/2011 , work completed 19/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
External drain unblocked. Darren was prompt and punctual. Drain unblocked quickly and tested. Darren was pleasant also. Would use again.
Clubby Posted on 28/06/2011 , work completed 28/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren arrive as discussed and was very polite and professional. He cleared the blocked sewer and cleared away a some "sewage" that was left by a previous drainage company. He also charged less than he quoted for. Highly recommended.
Andrew, Basingstoke Posted on 29/03/2011 , work completed 29/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Wood arrived on time, within 2 hours of my initial call. Quickly found and cleared the blockage in a main drain shared with three neighbours. Checked manholes on neighbours' property, made sure that the drain flowed freely, washed out the manholes, and left the site clean and tidy. Very reasonable price, as per quotation. Courteous, helpful and efficient. Highly recommended.
desperatedan Posted on 10/02/2011 , work completed 10/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Wood provided a 'next day' service for our relatively non-emergency problem, which proved to be the result of a blocked main drain on a neighbours property. He was courteous, on time and tackled the problem efficiently, liaising with the neighbour concerned in a friendly manner. He solved the problem in good time at very reasonable charge; less than we had expected.
Penjon Posted on 19/01/2010 , work completed 19/01/2010