We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Damp Surveys Ltd

Profile thumb which damp survey
5.0

86 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Book https://dampsurveys.com/booking-request/
See example report on form. Cost of surveys and report is £400. Phone answered 10AM to 12Midday.

Independent surveyor, RICS qualified Expert Witness and Damp and Timber surveyor through PCA + ISSE and SPAB.....Surveys take about 1 - 1.5hour.

Rising damp guarantee; full service with report and fee repayment if we find rising damp.

Rising damp is from groundwater. Groundwater is pumped out below tube lines - therefore virtually impossible in London.

Rising damp is misdiagnosed as:
1. vested interest from rising damp contractors,
2. it can be hard to identifying the root cause of damp,
3. applying slurry to treat rising damp hides damp for a while. However there is a risk of ROT or MOULD.

See Which report;
https://www.which.co.uk/news/2011/12/damp-proofing-companies-exposed-in-which-investigation-274087

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Woodworm treatment
    • Timber treatment services
    • Injection damp courses
    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
86 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Great work
Simon’s survey saved us a lot of time and money. Previously we had three quotes from damp proofering firms each of who said that our damp problem would be solved if they injected damp proof courses and tanked the walls (at considerable expense). Simon, who was punctual and provided a comprehensive report, told us that the problems were not caused by rising or penetrating damp but by condensation and the solution was simply to dry out the wall and in future make sure the property was adequately ventilated Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/01/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Damp and Timber Survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A few high damp meter readings were recorded in a homebuyers survey on the property we were trying to sell. As a result, the buyer instructed a damp proofing company, TAPCO, to carry out a damp and timber survey. TAPCO stated that the property suffered from rising damp and a high risk of dry rot, and as a consequence approximately £5,000 worth of work was required. Naturally sceptical of the findings, we wanted a second opinion from an independant specialist with no vested interest in specifying remedial works. We contacted Simon and within 48 hours he had carried out an extensive survey of the property, providing helpful verbal advice and a detailed explanation as he went. The property suffered from nothing more than a condensation issue, which a few quick fixes and less than £650 would resolve. A full report followed the very next morning as he was aware we were in a time sensitive position. Without doubt we would not hesitate to recommend Simon for all your damp and timber surveying needs. Prompt, friendly, reliable and clearly an expert in his field.
Amalia in Surrey Posted on 05/12/2019 , work completed 04/12/2019
A truly nice person thats very passionate and knowledgeable regarding his profession.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon came by way of a recommendation which is usually a good start and he certainly didn’t disappoint. Everything that I have read on previous reviews I concur with. He arrived on time, was extremely thorough and didn’t leave any stone unturned to ensure his findings on the cause of both the dampness and condensation of my mothers property was thoroughly investigated. He is going to send a detailed report on the next steps we should take and said he is more than willing to return in 6 months time if the problem still exists once the his recommendations have been carried out. That as far as I’m concerned shows he is very confident in his assessment. I also have absolutely no hesitation in recommending him. You won’t be disappointed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/11/2019 , work completed 29/11/2019
Amazing job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was absolutely fantastic. Tapco homedry quoted me £2000 to fix our mould issue (not including the cost of their initial survey). Simon only charged me for the initial survey and advised I could fix the problem myself... saving me £2000! Simon doesn’t do any building work (so you know aren’t being ripped off), however he did do a lot more than I was expecting, fixing small snags throughout the flat. Thanks so much for your help and I know people won’t be disappointed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/11/2019 , work completed 13/11/2019
Very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Simon to be courteous, thorough and professional in his work. The survey was promptly undertaken with immediate feedback by telephone followed by a comprehensive written and illustrated report. Simon has reassured me in proceeding with the purchase of a ground one bed floor flat.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/11/2019 , work completed 20/11/2019
Good communicator, professional & honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My own experience with Simon has been very positive. Importantly for me and my property he stuck honorably both to his quote for his survey and the tasks and survey objectives that he was prepared undertake for that said quote ! ! This meant that I did not feel I was being locked into a cycle of spiraling costs for the actual survey phase itself (ie: this comment refers to Simon's survey work, his findings, his report and his recommendations and not to the cost of the actual remedial work itself which is a separate matter). I felt his survey investigation was impartial. He identified various problem (s), identified the potential source (s) of those problem (s) and suggested appropriate remedial work relevant to the problem (s) identified. This was all presented in what I felt was a professional report format. In availing of his services I myself found him to be a good communicator, professional, honest, clear and concise. For myself, I did not feel at any stage that he was trying to pitch a particular product or service to me and I did not feel that he was affiliated with any given vested interest as regards his work at my property. His approach to his survey at my property was an huge help as it can be traumatizing for a property owner to discover a problem (s) especially if they are not from a trades or construction background and feel overwhelmed by the situation. The clarity and guidance that Simon provided was hugely helpful to me.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/11/2019 , work completed 14/04/2019
Professional, meticulous and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was able to complete are survey at short notice. He was very professional and would readily answer questions throughout his inspection and provided practical solutions for tackling common condensation damp. His report was clear and easily understood. Would highly recommend him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/10/2019 , work completed 22/10/2019
Trustworthy and easy to understand
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was great. I think the best thing about him is, unlike other surveyors, he has no vested interest in any works that may get carried out as a result of his survey. He gave me lots of very clear, well thought out advice. Plus, the work recommended will cost me hundreds of pounds, not thousands like my previous survey (this company carries out the work themselves, so were quick to pile on the charges).
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/10/2019 , work completed 01/10/2019
Excellent, comprehensive damp survey.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon carried out a damp survey for us on a commercial property which had damp issues. His work was of the highest standard. The survey was very helpful indeed for us when we faced a challenging scenario. He was quick, accurate, conscientious, very knowledgeable, completely professional, and brilliant at explaining issues to someone without experience of the problem. He charges extremely reasonable rates. I highly recommend Damp Surveys Ltd.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/10/2019 , work completed 10/06/2019
Damp survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My homebuyers report indicated there might be some damp in the property that I am currently purchasing so I had Simon do a damp survey on it. Simon was very prompt and responsive. He produced a clear report and explained the process to me very well, would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/10/2019 , work completed 08/10/2019