We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Damp Surveys Ltd

Profile thumb which damp survey
5.0

86 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Time out until October to renovate a property damaged by the previous owner's inappropriate damp proofing treatment.

From October '22 book https://dampsurveys.com/booking-request/
See example report on form. Cost of surveys and report is £400. Phone answered 10AM to 12Midday.

Independent surveyor, RICS qualified Expert Witness and Damp and Timber surveyor through PCA + ISSE and SPAB.....Surveys take about 1 - 1.5hour.

Rising damp guarantee; full service with report and fee repayment if we find rising damp.

Rising damp is from groundwater. Groundwater is pumped out below tube lines - therefore virtually impossible in London.

Rising damp is misdiagnosed as:
1. vested interest from rising damp contractors,
2. it can be hard to identifying the root cause of damp,
3. applying slurry to treat rising damp hides damp for a while. However there is a risk of ROT or MOULD.

See Which report;
https://www.which.co.uk/news/2011/12/damp-proofing-companies-exposed-in-which-investigation-274087

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Woodworm treatment
    • Timber treatment services
    • Injection damp courses
    • Condensation and humidification control
  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
86 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Clear and helpful advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a damp patch coming through from a rotten door sill that appeared mid-way through the sale of my flat, and wanted an independent survey (having heard bad things about free surveys associated with damp-proofing companies). Simon was excellent: during his visit he explained very clearly the extent of my damp problem (which turned out to be quite minor) and advised on exactly what work I needed to ask for from my local repairmen. The final report was also very clear and comprehensive. I would definitely use him again for any damp issues in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/10/2019 , work completed 02/10/2019
Great professionalism and curtesy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As requested, my review will be in Italian. È con grande piacere che inserisco il mio commento sul servizio che abbiamo ricevuto dal sig Hichens. La sua perizia è stata condotta con grande competenza e professionalità. A questo vanno aggiunte la cortesia e la disponibilità del sig Hichens, pronto a dare risposte e ulteriori chiarimenti. Siamo rimasti molto soddisfatti.
Maria in Greater London Posted on 09/10/2019 , work completed 19/07/2005
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon was extremely thorough. His assessment was clear and in contrast to free survey's by specialist companies looking for work, his recommendations were cost effective and aimed at solving the root issues. He was busy which meant he took a little time to reply at times, but this didn't impact my appreciation for the work he did.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/10/2019 , work completed 20/09/2019
The trader replied (on 11/10/2019)
Thank you so much for your business and giving me the opportunity to solve your damp problems. I'm very sorry about being slow at replying to emails. I'm inundated, but I do eventually reply to all my emails, at least by the weekend, when I have time to focus. I work around the clock trying to resolve damaged caused by damp proofing companies. Yesterday I surveyed four properties, each one had had damp proofing treatment for rising damp, none of which addressed the root cause of dampness. One was considering spending £30,000 on hacking their walls down (again), and replacing the failed damp proofing slurry. But if it didn't work first time..... And think of the disruption and damage to a beautiful Victorian building (see what the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings say; off spab.org.uk). I charge a fixed fee and offer a money back guarantee. The benefits of using an independent surveyor (not profiting from over engineered recommendations) is: a) £30,000 saving, b) disruption and damaged to building, c) finally solving the damp. But I’m stretched, so please bear with me, I will try to help. Be persistent, especially if I can save you from a large bill, damage and disruption from ineffective rising damp treatment. Simon
damp survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had some damp issues in my leasehold basement flat which I wanted an opinion on having had major disruption from a previous leak 2.5yrs ago. Since then I have been anxious (probably overly anxious) about signs of any damp. Simon was punctual (arrived early), was polite and very professional. He was extremely thorough - much more so than a surveyor I had employed previously. He climbed through windows and up onto a parapet to fully investigate the damp issues. He offered simple solutions to the problems identified and even changed the fan operating time on the extractor fans in my bathrooms to better deal with condensation. Whilst Simon came to me via a structural engineering company, the survey was very competitively priced compared with a company I had used previously. I would definitely use Simon again and recommend him to anyone seeking a thorough damp survey.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/10/2019 , work completed 02/10/2019
Amazing - informative, polite and effective. Peace of mind provided!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I couldn't be happier with the service which Simon Hichens provided. Having recently purchased our first property knowing for well there was a case of damp in some of the walls we were incredibly nervous about cost and the further implications of this. Following a multitude of quotes from damp companies all of which were adamant our house was suffering from a case of Rising Damp (which would have cost us a reasonable sum in remedial work, ranging from £1000 - £5400) we turned to dampsurveys.com to get an independent and accurate representation of what we would need to do. Simon was incredibly polite and explained everything he was doing at each step. Using a selection of different equipment and techniques he was quick to point out he didn't believe it was rising damp and provided evidence why (explained further in the detailed document following the survey). Each area was inspected thoroughly and suggestions were offered throughout as to how we could improve the situation. We couldn't be happier with the service offered and would highly recommend any home owner panicking about damp to use Simon and Dampsurveys.com first. The money spent was worth every penny and in the future if we were to move contacting them for their services would be at the top of our agenda.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/09/2019 , work completed 03/09/2019
Damp survey report
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend Simon enough. He is extremely professional, thorough and knowledgeable on all matters relating to damp. Overall a fantastic service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
First-class service & recommendations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon came round to address a case of lower-ground floor damp. He was able to fit our appointment in at short notice and, upon arrival, proceeded to spend 2-hours reviewing the property from top to bottom, focusing on the lower-ground floor issue while also providing recommendations around the house. Using his array of gadgets Simon left no stone unturned. Upon completion, we received a rich-in-detail final report outlining clear recommendations. Simon’s upfront fee means he provides agnostic feedback with no hidden agenda, we couldn't recommend him enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/08/2019 , work completed 31/07/2019
Every homeowners worst nightmare
Customer Service
Quality
Value
To a long-term North American owner of a flat in London to be told I had rising damp is probably the equivalent of being told you have a malignancy by a health professional! Not to worry - Simon to the rescue with his doctors bag full of instruments and sample bottles A fully two hours later I was relieved to know that there was no rising damp but had a host of simple remedies to the damp and mould in my flat. Simon was considerate, polite and thorough. He even went to the neighbours and had a scan of their flat! The icing on the cake was a coherent explanation of Brexit. And oh if he would fix that too!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/08/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
We cannot recommend Simon enough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a full structural survey carried out on a house we were buying which stated we needed to spend over £15,000 in damp proofing courses due to rising damp. We asked Simon for a second opinion. He swiftly located the cause of the damp to a leaking pipe in the basement which was repaired by a local plumber for under £200. He also wrote an extensive report which clearly stated how to dry out the walls, what we would need for this and time frames. The report incorporated the rest of the house and made clear recommendations for improving ventilation, as well as drawing our attention to areas which may need some attention in the future. He is a very qualified professional (Chemist, Damp Surveyor...the list goes on) who is down to earth, trustworthy and offered clear guidance throughout. He went above and beyond to help us within a short time frame and took time out of his evening to explain it all over the phone. He also confirmed we do not have rising damp and so damp proofing courses would be unnecessary. We have and will continue to recommend him to anyone who needs help with damp issues.
Hannah, Greater London Posted on 21/07/2019 , work completed 03/06/2019
Just what we needed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our flat buyer's survey indicated a possible damp problem. Simon talked me through the possible problems and procedures, did the survey and gave a very quick and careful report which enabled us to decide that any damp problem was minor and not worth holding up the purchase. He took the time to be sure we fully understood our options.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 07/07/2019 , work completed 04/06/2019