We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Darren Hitchins T/A The Honest Builder

Profile thumb the honest builder

5.0

32 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 08:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

The Honest Builder is a family business with over 30 years experience in the building trade.
The business was initially set up to provide a good service to local clients where they are put first.
Darren the business owner has extensive experience in all aspects of building worksbut specific interest in re-pointing, lime work, flint work, ground work and patios.
We work closely with the Lime Centre in Owslebury to obtain a like for like match for any lime work.
We are also happy to quote for various other building works and have relationships with Carpenters and Glaziers to supply an all round package for your conservatory.
When repointing your property we will provide the whole service including arranging any scaffolding needed and tarpaulin if required and clearing up on completion of the work.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Conservatories
  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
  • Landscape contractors

    • Hard landscaping
  • Patios and driveways

    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Driveway installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • lime re pointing
    • flint work

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
32 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent flint wall repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a great repair job on our flint walls. He is highly skilled and experienced, and he manages client expectations with care. He and Dan worked well as a team, were punctual and courteous, and left the site tidy. I have no hesitation in recommending the Honest Builder.
John - Customer in Hampshire Posted on 15/10/2019 , work completed 17/09/2019
Polite and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work done quickly and efficiently. Repairs to brickwork around septic tank and repointing with lime mortar around old flint and brickwork with some brick replacement in old cottage
Neil P Posted on 29/08/2019 , work completed 27/08/2019
The trader replied (on 24/09/2019)
Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure to do the work for you.
Exceeded expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1 year ago Darren and his team laid land drains under, and then replaced our drive. We were very happy with the quality, price and experience, despite the inevitable disruption caused by such a job. Subsequently, after prolonged or heavy rain, we noticed that water pooled at one point in the drive and drained very slowly. Darren regularly uses the lane on which we live, saw what was happening and approached us to say he wasn't happy with it and wanted to lay another land drain to solve the problem, at his expense. He completed the job last week. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Neil Posted on 29/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
The trader replied (on 24/09/2019)
Thank you for your review. You are a valued regular customer We look forward to working with you again in the near future.
Great work, tidy and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very please with the work replacing ours and our neighbours airbricks which had become damaged. They arrived on time, were friendly, did a great job and left everything tidy. Will definitely use again.
Sarah, Hampshire Posted on 24/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
Professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked carried out at Swanmore Methodist Church. Re-pointing was required to parts of the brickwork. Darren listened to our requirements, advised and did a professional job. Work was carried out during the school holidays as requested to minimise disruption to activities. The work area was left clean and tidy at the end of each working day.
Leslie, Hampshire Posted on 01/08/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
The trader replied (on 24/09/2019)
It was a pleasure to do the work for you. Thank you for the positive review. We do work hard to minimise any disruption to our clients and make sure we get a good match with the lime mortar used. We do try accomodate any requests particularly when working on property that requires access by the general public.
Honest as the name
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work yet again. Concessions always, Leaves site Tidy and Clean. Nothing is too much. Would Highly Recommend. Thanks Again Darren.
Andy, Hampshire Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 25/07/2019
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had Darren carry out varied jobs and I would recommend him to anyone. Always on time, works solidly from start for finish. Clean and leaves everything clean and tidy.
Helen, Hampshire Posted on 07/06/2019 , work completed 07/06/2019
Fire break
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a first class job in building a fire break wall in my attic. He was totally prepared for the day of the build and left the area clean. Invoiced as per quote.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 25/05/2019
Reliable, courteous, good standard of work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brick and flint wall using lime. On budget and on schedule. Always communicated and prompt with telephone response.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/05/2019 , work completed 16/05/2019
Highly recommend this builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren fixed our patio, which was in awful condition. He did a fantastic job and we were delighted with the results. He is very reliable, friendly and good value. I will definitely use again.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 29/03/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019