Endorsed by Which?

The Honest Builder

5.0

48 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 08:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

The Honest Builder is a family business with over 30 years experience in the building trade.
The business was initially set up to provide a good service to local clients where they are put first.
Darren the business owner has extensive experience in all aspects of building worksbut specific interest in re-pointing, lime work, flint work, ground work and patios.
We work closely with the Lime Centre in Owslebury to obtain a like for like match for any lime work.
We are also happy to quote for various other building works and have relationships with Carpenters and Glaziers to supply an all round package for your conservatory.
When repointing your property we will provide the whole service including arranging any scaffolding needed and tarpaulin if required and clearing up on completion of the work.

https://www.facebook.com/thehonestbuilder/

Flint wall repairs and rebuilds
Repointing
Natural stone patios, Garden walls, landscaping and shed basing
All types of brickwork and knock throughs

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Conservatories
  • Landscape contractors

    • Hard landscaping
    • Drystone walling
    • Garden structures
    • Irrigation systems
    • Sheds and shed bases
    • Turfing
  • Patios and driveways

    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Driveway installation and maintenance
    • Driveway Installation
    • Natural stone surfacing
    • Patio Installation
  • Roofers

  • More Services

    • lime re pointing
    • flint work
    • chimneys

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
48 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Excellent repointing work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had several areas on the wall of my house and on the garden wall where the pointing had come out or was loose. Darren raked out the old crumbling pointing and repointed with lime mortar. He also removed some damaged bricks and replaced them. Darren did the work carefully and thoroughly, and was very helpful when I asked advice about painting the walls in future. I'm delighted with how the walls now look. He is highly knowledgeable at all aspects of brickwork and does excellent work. I have great confidence in the quality of his work.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 11/11/2022 , work completed 10/11/2022
Repointing of front of terraced house - recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we asked Darren to carry out the work (he repointed back of the property in 2020) and we would recommend. Work carried out as quoted.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 14/12/2021 , work completed 01/12/2021
First class job and very prompt too
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repair to chimney carried out at fairly short notice. Work done to excellent standard, as ever. Have used The Honest Builder many times and work is always first class and always reasonably priced.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 20/10/2021 , work completed 21/09/2021
Repoint the front of a Brick and Flint house with lime mortar
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The pointing was carried out promptly and completed quickly. Darren really is the honest builder, done to a very reasonable estimate and on schedule. The work was finished to a very high standard and the site was tidied up at the end of each day.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 26/09/2021 , work completed 05/09/2021
Great work, exceeded expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren and his team did a great job laying a patio in our back garden. He had great ideas to get the most out of the space. He was punctual, tidy and really did a quality job.
Neil in Hampshire Posted on 13/06/2021 , work completed 15/02/2021
New drive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job, and very useful ideas. Everything kept tidy. The work took the time I was advised and it was carried out continuously with no breaks. Very happy.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 10/03/2021 , work completed 20/02/2021
Above and Beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren repointed the south side of our cottage using traditional lime mortar, blending the colour well, he also did a great job of restoring some brickwork. Darren and Dan communicated well, were punctual, considerate, tidy and exceeded our expectations.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 10/12/2020
Repointing garden wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Darren to quote for the repointing of a large garden wall. He arrived at the appointed time and spent some time explaining the work he would recommend carrying out. Gladly the wall did not need totally rebuilding. At start date was agreed but had to be rescheduled due to the terrible weather at the beginning of November. Darren communicated this delay to us in good time so no plans were disrupted as a result. Darren and Dan were very clean, tidy, considerate and Covid aware which was comforting. When invoice time came, there were no surprises and I was more than happy with the service received.
Customer in Southampton Posted on 29/11/2020 , work completed 21/11/2020
Excellent thorough work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did some repointing work on our house using traditional lime mortar. He replaced several bricks using almost identical old bricks so they remain fully in keeping with the wall. The finished work looks great. I would be happy to use Darren again and would recommend him to friends.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 19/04/2020 , work completed 17/04/2020
Pointing of a listed building.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have a listed 1780 cottage. The Honest Builder was empathetic to this, knowledgable about lime mortar and blended the colour well. Great work. Great value. Went the extra mile.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 23/03/2020 , work completed 22/03/2020