We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Darren Hitchins T/A The Honest Builder

Profile thumb the honest builder

5.0

32 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday 08:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

The Honest Builder is a family business with over 30 years experience in the building trade.
The business was initially set up to provide a good service to local clients where they are put first.
Darren the business owner has extensive experience in all aspects of building worksbut specific interest in re-pointing, lime work, flint work, ground work and patios.
We work closely with the Lime Centre in Owslebury to obtain a like for like match for any lime work.
We are also happy to quote for various other building works and have relationships with Carpenters and Glaziers to supply an all round package for your conservatory.
When repointing your property we will provide the whole service including arranging any scaffolding needed and tarpaulin if required and clearing up on completion of the work.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Conservatories
  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
  • Landscape contractors

    • Hard landscaping
  • Patios and driveways

    • Patio installation and maintenance
    • Driveway installation and maintenance
  • More Services

    • lime re pointing
    • flint work

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
32 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Above and Beyond
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren repointed the south side of our cottage using traditional lime mortar, blending the colour well, he also did a great job of restoring some brickwork. Darren and Dan communicated well, were punctual, considerate, tidy and exceeded our expectations.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 10/12/2020
Repointing garden wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Darren to quote for the repointing of a large garden wall. He arrived at the appointed time and spent some time explaining the work he would recommend carrying out. Gladly the wall did not need totally rebuilding. At start date was agreed but had to be rescheduled due to the terrible weather at the beginning of November. Darren communicated this delay to us in good time so no plans were disrupted as a result. Darren and Dan were very clean, tidy, considerate and Covid aware which was comforting. When invoice time came, there were no surprises and I was more than happy with the service received.
Customer in Southampton Posted on 29/11/2020 , work completed 21/11/2020
Excellent thorough work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did some repointing work on our house using traditional lime mortar. He replaced several bricks using almost identical old bricks so they remain fully in keeping with the wall. The finished work looks great. I would be happy to use Darren again and would recommend him to friends.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 19/04/2020 , work completed 17/04/2020
Pointing of a listed building.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have a listed 1780 cottage. The Honest Builder was empathetic to this, knowledgable about lime mortar and blended the colour well. Great work. Great value. Went the extra mile.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 23/03/2020 , work completed 22/03/2020
Repointing house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This trader gave us a quick quote, was very professional and kept us informed when things would be happening Him and his colleagues did a wonderful job and kept mess to the minimum, clearing up after themselves at the end of each day Thoroughly recommended
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 12/03/2020 , work completed 11/03/2020
Excellent from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was invited to provide quotation for he replacement of a garden wall which had been damaged in a recent storm. He provide a quote extremely quickly at a competitive price. He started on time, worked extremely hard and offered constructive suggestions which improved the finished job. He was polite, timely and was excellent throughout. The result is a wall that is considerably better in construction and appearance than the one that was damaged. The work took just over two days and the the elapsed time from making initial contact to completion was one month. I will definitely use him again if I need a builder/bricklayer and would recommend him without reservation.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 09/03/2020 , work completed 09/03/2020
New patio laid and front garden path renovated
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren created a new patio area for me and renovated my front garden path. This involved removing the old paving, laying new stone paving with a brick edge, digging out the old path, putting down membrane on the path and covering it with new chippings. I'm extremely pleased with the work he and Dan have done. It has transformed my garden. Darren's work is excellent, as I know from previous jobs he's done for me. He's always very helpful and courteous, and makes sure to let me know how things are progressing. The work was done in the time frame he estimated and cost what he quoted.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 13/01/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
Bricking up an old fireplace
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a great job at short notice and even recommended a plasterer who was available the next week.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 11/01/2020 , work completed 10/01/2020
Groundworks and air-brick replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time Darren has done work for me and I can unhesitatingly recommend him. He is very expert at what he does and does not hang about on a job. The work was carried out to a very high standard and all spoil removed.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 16/12/2019
Flint / brick wall repointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a great job repointing a flint / brick wall for me. All mess was cleared after the work was completed and I am delighted with the end result.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 06/01/2020 , work completed 25/10/2019
Excellent flint wall repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a great repair job on our flint walls. He is highly skilled and experienced, and he manages client expectations with care. He and Dan worked well as a team, were punctual and courteous, and left the site tidy. I have no hesitation in recommending the Honest Builder.
John - Customer in Hampshire Posted on 15/10/2019 , work completed 17/09/2019
Polite and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work done quickly and efficiently. Repairs to brickwork around septic tank and repointing with lime mortar around old flint and brickwork with some brick replacement in old cottage
Neil P Posted on 29/08/2019 , work completed 27/08/2019
The trader replied (on 24/09/2019)
Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure to do the work for you.
Exceeded expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
1 year ago Darren and his team laid land drains under, and then replaced our drive. We were very happy with the quality, price and experience, despite the inevitable disruption caused by such a job. Subsequently, after prolonged or heavy rain, we noticed that water pooled at one point in the drive and drained very slowly. Darren regularly uses the lane on which we live, saw what was happening and approached us to say he wasn't happy with it and wanted to lay another land drain to solve the problem, at his expense. He completed the job last week. I cannot recommend him highly enough.
Neil Posted on 29/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
The trader replied (on 24/09/2019)
Thank you for your review. You are a valued regular customer We look forward to working with you again in the near future.
Great work, tidy and courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very please with the work replacing ours and our neighbours airbricks which had become damaged. They arrived on time, were friendly, did a great job and left everything tidy. Will definitely use again.
Sarah, Hampshire Posted on 24/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
Professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Worked carried out at Swanmore Methodist Church. Re-pointing was required to parts of the brickwork. Darren listened to our requirements, advised and did a professional job. Work was carried out during the school holidays as requested to minimise disruption to activities. The work area was left clean and tidy at the end of each working day.
Leslie, Hampshire Posted on 01/08/2019 , work completed 01/08/2019
The trader replied (on 24/09/2019)
It was a pleasure to do the work for you. Thank you for the positive review. We do work hard to minimise any disruption to our clients and make sure we get a good match with the lime mortar used. We do try accomodate any requests particularly when working on property that requires access by the general public.
Honest as the name
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work yet again. Concessions always, Leaves site Tidy and Clean. Nothing is too much. Would Highly Recommend. Thanks Again Darren.
Andy, Hampshire Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 25/07/2019
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had Darren carry out varied jobs and I would recommend him to anyone. Always on time, works solidly from start for finish. Clean and leaves everything clean and tidy.
Helen, Hampshire Posted on 07/06/2019 , work completed 07/06/2019
Fire break
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a first class job in building a fire break wall in my attic. He was totally prepared for the day of the build and left the area clean. Invoiced as per quote.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 25/05/2019
Reliable, courteous, good standard of work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brick and flint wall using lime. On budget and on schedule. Always communicated and prompt with telephone response.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 16/05/2019 , work completed 16/05/2019
Highly recommend this builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren fixed our patio, which was in awful condition. He did a fantastic job and we were delighted with the results. He is very reliable, friendly and good value. I will definitely use again.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 29/03/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019
Professional, efficient service with quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Paved front garden and built front steps. Prompt quote after initial meeting, suggested ways to cut costs/save money. Gave technical advice and guidance re choice of stonesand gave us a sample. Suggested wholesaler to see the paving stones on mass, so we could make a choice. Very thorough, worked solidly throughout the day, so pleased we'd like Darren to do back garden. Excellent all round, with attention to detail.
Sue, Hampshire Posted on 26/03/2019 , work completed 26/03/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Unable to fault any aspects of the job.
Michael, Hampshire Posted on 10/03/2019 , work completed 10/03/2019
Quality work, prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used previously for base of conservatory & this time to dig out, footings, build retaining wall, infill for drive, erect fencing surround & re-do footpath. Punctual, worked non-stop, clean & tidy site & left site tidy night as well as at the end of job. Can't fault & would highly recommend.
Anthea, Hampshire Posted on 01/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our 'problem' patio re- laid. Darren did a very professional job to a high standard. We are very pleased with the result. Darren takes pride in his work, and manages his time and his staff well. He kept us informed of progress, and dealt with an issues that arose without a fuss. He is technically very knowledgeable.
Wallbank Posted on 13/01/2019 , work completed 13/01/2019
Lime Mortar Re-pointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren undertook the re-pointing of the exterior elevations of our house and the clearance of one of the cavity walls. Darren provided helpful and clear advice relating to the work and kept us updated on progress throughout. Darren went out of his way to clear the working area at the end of each day including engaging with our neighbors. We are pleased with the end result and would have no hesitation in recommending Darren.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 08/01/2019 , work completed 12/10/2018
Helpful, punctual & tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Landscaping & brickwork for front garden. Had previously done some brickwork for us & was so impressed we used him again. I can't recommend him too highly. Helpful, punctual, tidy & liaised throughout the job. Kept us informed of each stage. Both Darren and his sidekick Dan worked so hard, hardly stopping. Cleaned up each day & kept to schedule. Reasonable price & would not hesitate to recommend this trader.
Mo, Hampshire Posted on 07/01/2019 , work completed 07/01/2019
First class job and service, great price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repair Victorian garden wall and sills to windows of flats
R Webb Posted on 12/12/2018 , work completed 12/12/2018
Friendly, hardworking, honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly professional. Well informed & experienced. Friendly, tidy, punctual. Excellent quality of work. Finished promptly (weather allowing). Left everything tidy & clean. Kept me informed even though I was in Canada.
Ingrid, Hampshire Posted on 07/12/2018 , work completed 07/12/2018
Groundwork and general building
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Darren a month ago on a Wednesday morning asking if he could repair or replace a broken manhole cover on my drive into which either me or my car was likely to fall into. He promised to have a look that afternoon. I returned from work on Thursday to find that the job had already been completed and I was the proud owner of a much more robust and correctly fitted manhole cover. Very fast, very efficient and extremely reasonable - I could not recommend the Honest Builder more highly.
Henry T Posted on 05/11/2018 , work completed 05/11/2018
Lift Infrastructure installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Removal of a brick wall and slope outside a church. Construction of a concrete lift platform to replace the slope. Removal and storage of railings. Adaptation of platform to meet installation changes. Reconstruction of wall following lift installation and reinstallation of railings.
Keith Fry, Which Reviewer Posted on 01/09/2018 , work completed 01/09/2018
Pleasant & dependable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this builder on three occasions and have always found him to be most helpful in discussing the work to be done. The work has always been completed on time and to a high standard, with the area cleaned and tidied at the completion. The price charged for these jobs has been reasonable.
Robert, Hampshire Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
Excellent honest builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren has completed several pieces of work on our property including rebuilding Flint boundary walls with new foundations. He has also completed maintenance work on walls chimney and roofing to Georgian house. His work is excellent and very high standard great cooperation with other tradespeople as needed honest trustworthy and efficient.
Ali Simon, Which Reviewer Posted on 01/06/2017 , work completed 01/06/2017