We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

David Sutton T/A D Sutton Roofing

Profile thumb img 1046
4.9

32 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

This business has not added a description yet.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Chimneys
    • Flat roofing
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Lead work
    • Roof and skylights
  • More Services

    • re-slates new roofs re-building stacks problem solving.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
32 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Re-pointing and venting of traditional chimney stacks.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having collected several quotes from different tradesmen, Dave showed a good knowledge of his craft and listened to our desired outcome in the job. Namely to keep the character of the house and fix the issues with the aging chimney stacks. This was achieved through re-pointing of the stacks and venting of unused chimneys. Dave was professional in his approach, meticulous in the detail of his work and very friendly to engage with. He kept a very tidy worksite and was very competitive in pricing for the job he was offering. I will have no hesitation to engage Dave for future work if the need arises or to recommend him to friends seeking his skills. Clean, efficient, professional and a pleasure to deal with.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 17/08/2021 , work completed 06/08/2021
An experienced trader with an eye for detail.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were extremely happy with the work carried out on our roof. Dave Sutton is very experienced and we were impressed with his attention to detail. Clearly, he takes a lot of pride in his work and was proactive in pointing out issues which went beyond his initial brief. The end result exceeded our expectations.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 04/03/2021 , work completed 11/12/2020
Damp in chimney
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Identified cause of damp as insufficient ventilation in chimney. Inserted extra airbricks and removed cap. Reasonable price, carried out work efficiently, and removed all debris.
Tim Parrott Posted on 22/10/2019 , work completed 17/10/2019
Excellent new roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New roof completed in difficult weather conditions. Job completed to budget with all work more than satisfactory - excellent. Very tidy work and kept work areas clean after each days work.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 25/09/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
First class job by first class roofer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needing a new roof I obtained 3 quotes one of which was from Dave Sutton -who had been recommended. Dave arrived on time, discussed work involved and agreed a start date. Work completed to my entire satisfaction. Site cleaned up at end of each working day and consideration given to neighbours. First class job by a first class roofer. Totally recommend Dave Sutton.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 23/08/2019 , work completed 25/07/2019
Excellent Roofer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having been let down by several roofers, and now very concerned about my leaking roof, I ‘ambushed’ Mr Sutton when he came to work on a neighbour’s property. He was prompt, reliable and efficient throughout. He did a temporary repair almost immediately, and gave me a fair and reasonable quote for a permanent fix that I accepted. This work was carried out the following week, and my roof is now watertight again. I have already recommended Mr Sutton to several others.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 07/03/2019 , work completed 12/02/2019
Problem Solved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave Sutton Roofing was recommended by a friend, so I asked Dave to come and have a look at an on-going problem with my roof. Dave came out and had a look and advised me what the problem was and what needed doing and before he left he made a temporary repair for me. He gave me a cost that I excepted and returned on the agreed time and date to do the repair. Before he left he made sure I was happy with the work and left the area of work clean and tidy. Completely satisfied with the Quality of his work. RS Thingwall.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 05/02/2019 , work completed 30/10/2018
Ongoing Problem Solved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sutton Roofing came recommended by a friend so I asked Dave to come out and have a look at an on-going problem with my roof, he immediately told me what the problem was and advised me what needed doing. Dave made a temporary repair before leaving and advised me of the cost to make a permanent repair. He returned on the agreed time and date to complete the repair, he did a very good job and made sure before he left that everywhere was clean and tidy and that I was happy with the work. Completely satisfied with the workmanship and quality of the work. RS Thingwall.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 05/02/2019 , work completed 30/10/2018
Quality work at a good price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After re-roofing my house, I'd recommend Dave Sutton for any roof work that you need doing. Straightforward, easy to understand, and competitive quote that was stuck to. All options (type of tiles, chimney repairs, fascias, gutters, etc.) discussed beforehand. Job completed to a high standard and tidied up properly afterwards. Follow up visit to check that all is well with the work done. Nothing was too much trouble for these hard working men. Highly recommended.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 07/12/2018 , work completed 01/09/2018
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David recently replaced a large flat roof covering my double garage and porch. This involved complete removal of the old felt and the old boards and their replacement with new ones. The job was completed in good time and the workmanship was excellent. I was especially pleased with the neat appearance of the edges and flashing. Dave was also very conscientious in ensuring no mess was left at the end of each day. Altogether a very professional service with which I was completely satisfied.
Paul Barnes Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
Very good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave came and looked at my roof some time ago. I had had a few roofers to look at it who all told me I needed a new roof which I doubted. When Dave came he agreed to repair the part that had been the problem. This proved to be more difficult than first thought as many years previously we had a sealant put inside. Dave dealt with it admirably and I haven't had a problem there since. I have used Dave for further repairs and always find him prompt, helpful and most of all efficient. I would most certainly recommend him .
betty lince Posted on 13/09/2018 , work completed 13/09/2018
Extremely Good - sorted problems
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David came to assist us with leaks to our roof that was only installed 7 years ago and had never been right. He made repeat visits - not charging us for all his time and transport as he really did care and wanted to sort it for us. He sourced (not easy) and replaced broken tiles and we know he is on hand if we need his expert help again.
Rosemary Murphy Posted on 10/09/2018 , work completed 10/09/2018
Leak sorted at last
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Saw how well Dave was doing with positive reviews, so we chose him to sort a long running problem with a leak in the garage. A number of other tried and failed. Dave got it right first time and very quick even though he was really busy. Thank you.
Bob1952 Posted on 25/10/2017 , work completed 25/10/2017
Reliable, professional and quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I got Dave's number off a neighbour. Phone call made, agreed a date to visit. Arrived when he should, job done, quality work and very professional. Knew exactly what they were talking about. Highly recommend. Will definitely use again.
Sheland Posted on 29/09/2017 , work completed 29/09/2017
Reliable and nice guy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Knew what he was doing, no fuss and just got on with the job in hand. Would definitely use him again and have recommended to others as well. Andrea
Andrea Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
Reliable and straightforward
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David came when he said he would, did the work well and did a proper job that fits the look of our house. His estimate was exactly what he charged. We would definitely use him again and would recommend him.
Alister Craig Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
Excellent Roofer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave has looked after the roofs of two of my houses for many years. He is an excellent tradesman, totally reliable and straightforward. He always uses his long experience to assess problems carefully and then rectify them. I would thoroughly recommend him.
Simon Taylor Posted on 10/08/2016 , work completed 10/08/2016
Honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used D Sutton Roofing for my roof. He's honest and tells you exactly what
Sam, Wallasy Posted on 11/03/2015 , work completed 11/03/2015
Happy to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David came round and diagnosed correctly a problem with the chimney. The chimney breast was wet. David put in a vent, hacked off the rendering, and replaced the chimney pots and haunching. David even painted it for me even though this is not his fault like his manner and communication is very good. Keeps you in the loop.
Posted on 01/12/2014 , work completed 01/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave has just finished a complete re-roof of my 1930's semi. He gave me a choice of two types of tile and a fair estimate. They completed the job in two weeks and cleared up nicely afterwards. Once the scaffolding was down he came back to check and repair a couple of minor problems. I have no hesitation in recommending him.
eliza-declutter Posted on 23/09/2014 , work completed 23/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
At short notice Mr Sutton visited the house, inspected the chimney stack, and described the work that was needed, and gave me a quote for the job. This I accepted and he came the next day. The job was quickly completed and paid for. They also ensured that where they had worked was cleaned and left tidy. I would not hesitate to use them again.
1frances Posted on 03/04/2014 , work completed 03/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr. Sutton seems very knowledgeable and experienced. He makes same day estimates. When we had heavy winds and rain, he came out very quickly to repair my roof and replace damaged and missing tiles. His work and work area are neat and tidy. His fees are very reasonable. He goes out of his way to help. I would not only use his services again, but would highly recommend him.
elleng Posted on 16/02/2014 , work completed 16/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave recently repaired my roof which was leaking around a chimney stack. He explained the problem clearly and gave me a reasonable estimate (confirmed using on-line estimators). Within 24 hours, he made a temporary watertight repair and returned within two weeks to complete the job, including fitting a new prefabricated back gutter and all lead soakers and flashings. He also re-bedded some hip tiles and made good defective edging. He gave me an assessment and reassuring advice about the general state of the roof. He was professional and tidy throughout. It looks an excellent job.
Geoffd1 Posted on 04/04/2012 , work completed 04/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Sutton has recently carried out some minor repairs to the roof and guttering. He turned up on time, communicated well and was generally very professional. He gave me advice on future maintenance. I think the job done is good value for money
eliza-declutter Posted on 09/03/2012 , work completed 09/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dave Sutton was one of three roofing contractors I contacted regarding the removal and replacement of the Arris hip tiles to the front elevation of our house. We had previously had problems with the hip tiles being blown off in stormy weather and other roofing contractors had simply replaced the missing tiles fixing them with only a sand/cement mix which was ineffective. Dave stripped off all the hip tiles and after cleaning, replaced them on a bedding of a sand/cement mix along with new nails. This work was carried out very professionally, taking into account current health and safety regulations. Gutters were cleaned and all debris removed from the site. We are very pleased with the end result and strongly recommend Dave for his roofing work.
Tanglewood1 Posted on 09/03/2012 , work completed 09/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the 15th to the 17th of August last year, Mr Sutton carried out moss removal and general repairs on my bungalow roof. This was a task that the majority of the roofing firms that I contacted either showed no real interest in doing or wanted to replace the entire roof. Mr Sutton diligently carried out all my required work including waste removal to my complete satisfaction. I would thoroughly recommend Mr Sutton for any roofing work of this nature.
Jimbur Posted on 10/02/2012 , work completed 10/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
David carried out a re-roof of the main back and front elevations of our large victorian terrace house in the summer of 2011. He gave us good, clear advice about material costs and the price of the whole job. He was polite, friendly, reliable and very professional. He advised on insulation and didnt try to point us in any particular direction on products. He was flexible when we added on extra bits to the job like installing flue liners and putting up a new aerial. The job was fairly priced and we are very pleased with the completed roof and the service.
criley100 Posted on 13/12/2011 , work completed 13/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He repaired our chimney stack and roof after storm damage, he gave excellent service atæa reasonable price.
AMC1 Posted on 26/05/2011 , work completed 26/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Selected Dave Sutton from the Which site to carry out repairs following storm damage - roof tiles and fascia work. Was very prompt, realistic, knowledgeable, reliable, helpful and carried out a good repair at an economic price. Is now in my address book for any future work.
PeterDee Posted on 21/02/2011 , work completed 21/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Dave Sutton for weather proofing and general repair to roof, chimney and gutters having read the other reviews on this site - he doesn't advertise and said he was unaware of being listed on Which? local. He completed the work within a day and came round whilst we were at work sooner than expected - thorough job and came in under quote.
Andy and Helen Posted on 13/11/2010 , work completed 13/11/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Previously had two local roofers in to repair my 84 year old mothers house.Both neglected to find the source of the leak.Dave Sutton immedistely found the problem and did a thorough ,inexpensive job and I would recommend him to anyone living on the Wirral.Very professional and courteous.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/08/2010 , work completed 03/08/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After he finished my flat roof he heard about a pensioner 3 doors down that been ribbed of for £8000 and he went and had a look. He repaired the mess the that they left, and would not charge the pensioner. So as you can see I will be using him again.
allabar Posted on 10/03/2010 , work completed 10/03/2010