We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Drain Catt Homecare Drain Services

Profile thumb photo
5.0

49 Reviews

About

About Drain Catt (Homecare Drain Services) BBC Featured Business

I, the owner and operator Ken Cattanach and have an honours degree in engineering and worked as a Plant and Building Services engineer on piped services, drain and sewer associated works with London Transport for many years. My associate and cousin is Dean (a human mole) who has been installing and repairing drains, cesspit, sewer pump installations for over 20 years. We act as a team but keep our businesses as sole traders separate, this keeps down our overheads and allows us NOT to charge Vat a great saving to our domestic clients. Visit www.DrainCatt.com

What we do

  • Drain clearance contractors

    • Drain and sewer services
    • CCTV drain surveys
    • Emergency drain clearance service
    • Drain installation
    • Septic tank installation and repairs
  • Plumbers

  • Pest control

  • More Services

    • rats
    • blocked drains

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
49 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent service, professional and reasonable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken is very pleasant and an absolute professional, he cleared multiple blockages fast, then continued to conduct a CCTV inspection which revealed issues causing the regular blockages. He also made sound recommendations on how to solve the issue. To top this up, his rates are extremely reasonable especially compared to some cowboy traders in this field.
Liad in Greater London Posted on 15/10/2021 , work completed 15/10/2021
Problem solved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had multiple concerns with drains and infestations of black fly. Mr Cattanach visited promptly, made careful observations and identified a series of interlocking faults. It is reassuring to have a real expert take a problem in hand.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/06/2021 , work completed 28/06/2021
Professional Service at Reasonable Rates
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We initially had a problem with an overflowing open drain from our bathroom, this worsened substantially and involved leaking sewage from a closed drain. Ken came the day after I phoned him and he quickly diagnosed the problem – a broken pipe cap that had fallen across the entrance to the waste pipe. He removed the cap and jetted the blockage solving the sewage problem, the main problem. Unfortunately the open bathroom drain still overflowed after he left as Ken thought it would also have been cleared by the work he’d done but he came back and sorted it out satisfactorily. Ken was very professional, hard-working and knowledgeable and his charges were very reasonable. Would definitely recommend.
Sheena in Greater London Posted on 15/06/2021 , work completed 28/05/2021
Efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a blocked drain outside that resisted all my own DIY attempts. Called Ken @ Drain Catt yesterday night, and he came around today as agreed. He fixed the problem in a jiffy, gave me advice on something else he noticed on the property, and then charged me his advertised standard fee. Good old-fashioned competent, honest, and friendly service.
Ulrich in Greater London Posted on 01/06/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
Fast and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken was friendly, quick and reliable when unblocking my gutter drain which was clogged up with mud and debris. Happy with the work and came over the same day I had called.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/07/2020 , work completed 14/07/2020
Very quick and efficient!
I called Ken as been having problems with a blocked drain for over a couple of weeks and tried my best to clear it without joy. Called Ken at 10am today and he was round within an hour and a half. He checked all drains, cleared the blockage and all done with no mess and at a very reasonable price. Would use him again with no hesitation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/05/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Cattanach unblocked a difficult drain for me, resulting from a rogue tenant. He is friendly and hard working and reasonably priced. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/12/2019 , work completed 19/12/2019
Quick and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called at 11.00 in the morning due to a blocked sewer that was causing a back up and a grim looking, very full inspection chamber. He was with my by mid afternoon and sorted out the blockage very quickly.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/06/2019 , work completed 15/06/2019
Drain clearance
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable, friendly and competent. Very trustworthy and dealt with the problem quickly and reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend him.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/01/2019 , work completed 03/01/2019
Prompt, effient and good price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken responded quickly and arrived promptly. He efficiently cleared the blockage form the sink and then from a blocked downpipe on the 4th floor just below the roof. The work was a reasonable price and Ken was polite and analysed the problems effectively.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/04/2017 , work completed 01/04/2017
Great worker
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken was just what we needed for our drain problem. Came on the same day, jetted blocked surface water gully (scale issue), gave advice for future. Very easy to communicate with and a sound operator. First in line if we need drains dealt with in future.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 17/02/2017 , work completed 17/02/2017
Solved Rat Problem others Couldn't
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Ken before for a blockage, but now had a rat problem. Had 3 other pest controllers to rid rats all charged but no end to problem. It took Ken (recognising him from his Tv appearance) just one visit to discover that rats were coming from an old drain that the builders had left uncapped when we had extension built several years ago, Drain Catt his drain company sealed off the drain and problem solved within a week. The combined cost was very reasonable considering what the other companies had the cheek to charge without even solving the problem. Thanks Ken
Hel-lo Posted on 27/11/2016 , work completed 27/11/2016
Helpful and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Cattanach tried many different methods to clear an old blocked drain which had not been in use for many years. As we suspected he concluded it was probably a structural block/collapse and so he advised on some simple remedial work to bypass it. He also spent a lot of time helping us find the inspection chamber which had been lost under soil for many years. I would certainly recommend him.
hugh1971 Posted on 17/08/2016 , work completed 17/08/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having a 100 year old house with manholes buried 2 feet underground I was worried that it was going to be difficult to clear the blockage that was affecting all drains in the house. Ken turned up promptly, and threaded the pressure jetting tube round through one buried manhole. He swiftly had the drain pipe clear and everything running freely. The charge was very fair for the work involved. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend using this service.
nottheusualtoday Posted on 11/01/2016 , work completed 11/01/2016
Christmas Crisis
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken arrived very promptly on Christmas Eve and saved the day! I had no dishwasher and a houseful of guests. He returned on 27th December to complete the task. Would thoroughly recommend him. He was quick, clean and tidy and VERY reasonably priced.
Sarah Posted on 27/12/2015 , work completed 27/12/2015
Help came quickly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived quickly to help our predicament no toilet, efficient & polite & charged a very reasonable price.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/11/2015 , work completed 09/11/2015
Excellent contractor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I engaged Ken on the basis of the excellent reviews and would endorse all that has been written. Professional and courteous
2011-08-12 20:44:22.557 Posted on 30/09/2015 , work completed 30/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a blocked drain to the sewer. Ken turned up exactly at the time he would, was polite, and carried out the work with great knowledge and effectiveness, resolving the problem quickly, and ensuring everything was now fine before leaving. Very reasonable price. I have absolutely no problem in recommending to others.
idc40 Posted on 05/09/2015 , work completed 05/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, good communication, knowledgeable, polite and effective .... basically all we need from a local tradesman. No problem recommending Ken.
Nik Nak Posted on 12/06/2015 , work completed 12/06/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had problems with our drain gulley being blocked and over flowing. We needed to get it fixed asap as it was not pleasant. I called Ken and we discussed the issue and he said he could do the job without me being at home the very same day. And he did. I got back from work and everything was sorted - and clean and tidy. I thought the price he charged was reasonable and even gave him a tip because I was so impressed with the service. I thoroughly recommend Ken.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/04/2015 , work completed 26/04/2015
Good service - good price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Traffic all round Barnet bad that day but Ken kept us informed of estimated time of arrival. Very efficient and charged less than quoted as job easier!
David, Middlesex Posted on 16/12/2014 , work completed 16/12/2014
Beyond the call of duty
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just opening the door to a party of 6 guest for cards & supper when I discovered our toilet was blocked. Ken was just sitting down for his own supper, but he put his food to one side and was with us in 10 minutes. 15 minutes later the blockage was gone.
Marcus, London Posted on 23/11/2014 , work completed 23/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken did a great job clearing our kitchen drain blockage. He arrived on time and got everything sorted in a relatively short space of time. Would recommend his services.
michael_richard Posted on 11/11/2014 , work completed 11/11/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken arrived to assess my blocked drain problem just over an hour after I first contacted him. He dealt with it there and then and charged what was a reasonable price for the job (having told me what it would cost before he started the work). I'm very pleased with the service provided.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 05/11/2014 , work completed 05/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken was easy to reach on the phone and rang back when he said he would - already a great thing for a trader! He turned up on time and was hugely helpful, taking the time to fully analyse our problem. He even rang up later and left us a message, having further diagnosed the issue. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone.
laurenmh Posted on 03/11/2014 , work completed 03/11/2014
Excellent service, top trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ken was easy to reach on the phone and rang back when he said he would - already a great thing for a trader! He turned up on time and was hugely helpful, taking the time to fully analyse our problem. He even rang up later and left us a message, having further diagnosed the issue. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone.
2011-08-09 20:15:06.133 Posted on 03/11/2014 , work completed 03/11/2014
Brilliant - prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nice cheerful and polite lad - was a deep manhole. Worked well and charged per estimate, very reasonable
Richard, Hertfordshire Posted on 03/09/2014 , work completed 03/09/2014
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased that he came out on Saturday morning at a moment's notice to see to our blocked drains. Highly recommend him - nothing to much trouble.
Anthony, London Posted on 30/08/2014 , work completed 30/08/2014
Good service - reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Ken sat afternoon came as appointed, carried out work and a bit more good service and price.
B, London Posted on 09/08/2014 , work completed 09/08/2014
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dee Cee Upholstery recovered & provided new cushions for my Ercol Lounger. The work was excellent, as was the assistance with selecting the fabric, the transportation of the lounger & the finished product. I would highly recommend Dee Cee
Nadine, Hampshire Posted on 06/08/2014 , work completed 06/08/2014
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys came on the day I called at the right time. Dyno Rod were going to take 3 days! Polite, helpful, sorted the problem immediately. Very happy with what I got and paid for. Thoroughly recommend them.
Jase58 Posted on 10/05/2014 , work completed 10/05/2014
Rodent infestation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had a problem with rats in our house since moving in over 4 years ago. Have spent a fortune on pest control companies and local council BUT rat problem still existed. Ken from Homecare was recommended to me and it took Ken about 10 mins to sum up situation and pointed towards the existing extension covering a possible uncapped abandoned drain. He CCTV'd surveyed the drain which showed his suspicions to be right. He has sealed off drain; problem solved. Wished I had used Ken from start.
CathGood Posted on 09/03/2014 , work completed 09/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As others have said arrived within time promised (half an hour). quick efficient service. Price as agreed on phone before hand. Would definitely use again.
sadleman Posted on 24/12/2013 , work completed 24/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Arrived exactly when promised, carried out the work with the greatest efficiency, courtesy and friendliness, explaining the problems and the solution. And rates amazingly reasonable. Would highly recommend this service
FrancesXC Posted on 14/05/2013 , work completed 14/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived at short notice during time-window given for acute drainage problem. Able to resolve it with some expertise and gave reasonable (but not excessively cheap estimate). However you get what you pay for and very good value for efficiency with which a longstanding outflow block was cleared. Highly recommended. Dr F Anwar
farrah anwar Posted on 27/03/2013 , work completed 27/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Drain Catt last Sunday afternoon to clear a blocked outside drain. He came out within in about 45 minutes of being called and checked the external drains, which he advised were clear and in good order, as well as clearing the blocked one which had lots of gunky stuff in it. So far, no further problems, and I was very grateful to get someone out so quickly on a rainy Sunday. The call out charge for Sunday was £100. I would recommend Drain Catt.
CharlotteS Posted on 13/01/2013 , work completed 13/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a blockage between the bathroom drain and the sewer. It was some time before we noticed it, and the blocked water, combined with the rain, produced filthy standing water in the outside passage. We called Drain Catt on New Year's eve; he came in the late afternoon; and working in the dark, the filthy water and the rain, he had the blockage dispersed and the passage free of water in half an hour - and for a very reasonable price. we would certainly call him again.
E. Jackson Posted on 03/01/2013 , work completed 03/01/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service! Phoned at 6.45 pm expecting him to have closed for the day. He came immediately and cleared my kitchen drain within ten minutes! Very reasonable charge and very pleasant man.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/11/2012 , work completed 29/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chose Drain Catt on basis of previous reviews and was not disappointed. Had repeated blockages over past two years. He took 2 and a half hours to remove seveal items blocking the drain which had clearly been there for some time and made reasonable charge. One company had cleared it with a jet, charged a lot and not removed any debris.
hojo Posted on 08/10/2012 , work completed 08/10/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service and a life saver. Drain Catt was recommended to me by Abacus to deal with suspected escape of rats from drains into my house. Abacus discovered that the rats had tunnelled out of a cracked drain pulling earth and debris into drain causing a blockage as well. Drain Catt cleared blockage and repaired drain without any digging and all for a reasonable cost. We no longer have any related problems.
SwiftAl Posted on 21/09/2012 , work completed 21/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sent a text this morning, they replied within one hour and came out as promised between 14:00 and 15:00 today. Blocked waste pipe was quickly cleared and the cost (for C London on a Saturday and no advance notice) was reasonable and within their estimate.
DarkPuss Posted on 11/08/2012 , work completed 11/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On the basis of the good comments, called Mr Cattanach on Bank Holiday Monday. Immediately told me of £20 extra charge - very reasonable - for call out that day. Arrived within an hour. Prompt, professional, thorough, efficient, courteous and reasonably priced. Said he'd price match anyone cheaper. No hesitation in recommending him.
sucker2 Posted on 08/05/2012 , work completed 08/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our main drain was unblocked quickly and without fuss, at reasonable cost.
)))))))))))))) Posted on 03/04/2012 , work completed 03/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our drains had a major blockage which could not be cleared with the usual rodding so called Drain Catt on the basis of the previous reviews shown here. We were not disappointed - the gentleman was most courteous and professional. Was able to come over within an hour of first calling and very quickly solved the problem. Highly recommended.
L.C. Posted on 09/02/2012 , work completed 09/02/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Blocked drains - used based on previous reviews. Arrived when promised, jetted, plunged and cleared blocks, completed in about an hour. Price charged was price quoted. Would be happy to use again.
HendonDavid Posted on 22/10/2011 , work completed 22/10/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called up to explain we had a problem with a smelly main sewage outlet in our front garden and to ask if he could come out to take a look and advise what maintenance work was required. Mr Drain Catt (sorry I don't know his name!) said it would be best if I take the lid off and have a look to see what was down there before he comes out to take a look. When hubbie took the lid off, we realised the sewage outlet was fine - just the lid was old and rusted and letting the smells out. With his excellent advice, Mr Drain Catt saved us his own call out charge!
Michelle S Posted on 16/06/2011 , work completed 16/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Effortless transaction. Job completed on time, minimal fuss, fair price. Can't ask for anything more.
rkw Posted on 02/06/2011 , work completed 02/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called on a Saturday afternoon and was with us within 2 hours. Needed an upstairs loo unblocking. He quote depending on the amount of work involved. Turned out to be a tricky job which wasn't easy to resolve. He did resolve it. Wore over shoes covers to protect carpets etc. Would be happy to recommend and use again. Also does pest work.
mornington Posted on 12/03/2011 , work completed 12/03/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We called Drain Catt (now AA Homecare) based upon the previous Which? Local user's recommendation. Our outside drain with the outlet from our kitchen sink and dishwasher was overflowing with water so obviously something was blocked. We had checked to be sure that it wasn't just debris on top of the drain, but it wasn't. The drain was definitely blocked. Anyway, we called him in the AM & he said he could come over at 3ish PM. He arrived when he said he would & sorted out our drain within half an hour - it just required plunging under the manhole cover drain further down the garden. Realistically, it was something we could have done ourselves, but we weren't aware that was the solution. We'd happily use him again. In addition to drain work (unblocking, jetting, CCTV surveys, RATS, etc.) he also does Pest Control and Carpetcare (Carpet/Upholstery cleaning; Scotchguard application). So, if we ever have a need for those other things, we'll probably give him a ring!
John & Diana, Finchley (London) Posted on 24/02/2011 , work completed 24/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cannot fault his service speed and efficiency. He was straight forward in pricing the potential work. Good value compared to others I phoned.
salman Posted on 15/01/2011 , work completed 15/01/2011