We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Durashield Windows

Profile thumb durashield symphony
4.9

35 Reviews

About

Durashield Windows have been installing high security pvcu double glazed frames for nearly twenty years.

We are a family owned business and have a very friendly and welcoming showroom in Bearsden G61 2HH.

We have many installations in Bearsden, Milngavie, Jordanhill, Broomhill, Strathblane, Scotstoun, Killearn, Thornwood, Lenzie, Bishopbriggs, Ralston, Kelvindale, North Kelvinside, Hyndland, Blanefield, Balfron, Milton of Campsie, Hardgate, Partick, Balloch and Helensburgh.

We also specialise in fitting pvcu sliding sash windows.

We can encapsulate original stained glass into new sealed units which are then fitted into pvcu frames - looks absolutely incredible.

Something else we are installing a lot of just now is coloured pvcu frames particularly black, cream and grey - very contemporary.

Very popular just now is our beautiful range of composite doors,

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • Glaziers

    • Sash windows
    • Stained glass
    • Double glazed units
    • Double glazing installation
    • Aluminium Windows
    • UPVC Windows
  • Doors

    • Bi-fold doors
    • Patio doors
    • Fire doors
    • Composite doors
    • Front door
    • ​Aluminium doors
    • UPVC doors
    • French doors
  • More Services

    • high security locking mechanism
    • noise reduction glass

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
35 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When you read a web-site opening statement like "professional, reputable, family owned and no pushy salespeople", you are naturally suspicious that it's all just too good to be true! Well not in the case of Durashield Windows! We first visited John, the owner, in his Bearsden showroom and then had him round for a chat in the house. He talked us through various options and pros and cons and was friendly and helpful at every step along the way. We felt a fair price was agreed (bearing in mind that, as with most things, you get what you pay for) and the installation took place about 4 weeks later. The fitters were terrific - respectful, polite and friendly. Despite short winter days and some wind and rain, they installed our 9 windows and 2 doors in 2 days! Everything was finished and tidied up to a high standard. It was comforting to hear that Company and fitters had worked together for between 10-15 years! So I would make an unconditional recommendation! Look no further!
Dav1e Posted on 07/12/2015 , work completed 07/12/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish - a fantastic job. Worker very professional & tidy, hardly anything to do afterwards except hang the curtains!
Barbara, Lanarkshire Posted on 30/01/2015 , work completed 30/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although we used Durashield to replace all the windows in our top-floor tenement flat back in August 2011, I've waited the last eighteen months before writing this review to ensure the durability and quality of the product. We were visited by John, the son of the family business, who came round and offered a no-nonense quote. He was very friendly and, unlike some other double-glazing companies, there was no hard-sell what so ever. The quote was very competitive and after visiting the show-room in Bearsden (again no hard-sell or pushy sales-people) we were very impressed with the quality of windows and decided to go ahead. The windows were fitted less than two weeks later over a two day period. The window fitters turned up exactly when they promised to, worked hard and cleaned up as they went along. Tenement windows can be very tall and heavy (ours are six foot from top to bottom) but they were installed with a minimum of fuss. I've heard horror stories of mess and debris left behind so was very surprised to see how much care and attention the team took into cleaning up. So, eighteen months later, we're still delighted with the windows. We've noticed a dramatic improvement in keeping the warmth in, our heating bill has dropped by 20% and the windows look fantastic. We had one small niggle that needed rectifying soon after installation (something that often occurs when fitting heavy, large windows in tenements), but Durashield came and fixed it on the very same day. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Durashield and would definitely use them again.
christopherson Posted on 26/04/2013 , work completed 26/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having arranged to have a new kitchen and bathroom fitted, we decided to have our double glazing renewed before the work commenced. The start date was fixed for the kitchen etc. so we wanted the double glazing done soonest! Having read the reports on Which Local we decided to visit Durashield at Bearsden. Liked what we saw and arranged a visit from John the son of this family business . John showed us the various options and, after a relaxed discussion ( no hard sell ), we agreed to have the work done but explained our urgency . Eight days after our visit to Bearsden our double glazing was fitted over two days. The window fitters turned up on time each day, worked hard and cleaned up leaving no mess. We were very pleased with the finished job.The windows and doors look great and have been admired by friends and neighbours. The house is much warmer and quieter and we have no hesitation in recommending Durashield to Which members. E. Jones, Erskine.
erskine lad Posted on 12/03/2012 , work completed 12/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I waited a few months until I posted this review so that the initial rush of excitement had abated. It still hasn't! I get pleasure every day opening and looking through my new windows. I got 9 windows with internal wooden sills and surrounds and two composite doors, and a great deal of satisfaction from knowing I chose the best company around to do the work. Mr Johnstone really doesn't put pressure on you, and his team are worth their weight in gold for being professional, punctual, courteous and tidy. Ok, not the cheapest perhaps, but worth every penny for this quality.
Mrs J Williams Posted on 16/08/2011 , work completed 16/08/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted with our new windows from Durashield. Mr Johnstone came to the house and gave excellent advice on window styles and the windows were fitted a week later. No hassle, no pressurised sales pitch, just a very professional job from a very professional company.
Magz13 Posted on 23/07/2011 , work completed 23/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Another perfect installation from Durashield. This is the third time the family have used Durashield to install windows in different properties in the past 2 years. I am delighted with the results. I would like to recommend Mr Johnstone's family business in Bearsden for their conscientious attitude and thank their window measuring and installation team for their precision work. - William Currie, Milngavie, Glasgow.
openmind777 Posted on 14/06/2011 , work completed 14/06/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The firm provided an accurate estimate without haggling and the installation was done tidily and efficiently.
Rodney Mortimer Posted on 10/05/2011 , work completed 10/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quality of Material, Quality of Workmanship - reliable and responsive. A small local family owned firm with real interest in earning a good name in local area.
watchhill Posted on 10/05/2011 , work completed 10/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We got double glazing installed in November 2009, and were delighted with both the pre sales service and the installation itself. The work was completed in one day, with minimal disruption to us. All rubble was cleared. The windows themselves (and internal timber finishes) are of a high quality. Three sets of friends have since had Durashield installed windows.
David8242 Posted on 07/01/2011 , work completed 07/01/2011