We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

DWS Electrical Services

Profile thumb dws electrical services new
5.0

25 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Domestic and Commercial Electrician

I'm an NICEIC qualified domestic electrical contractor, based in Houghton le Spring.

I deal with my customers directly because my reputation relies upon delivering a professional, cost affective and dependable service.

All types of domestic and commercial electrical work undertaken including rewires, consumer units, testing, upgrades, fault finding and general maintenance.

Please do not hesitate to get in touch with any questions, I look forward to hearing from you.

I am also a keen cyclist when I get the time. I mainly enjoy mountain biking but also have a road and cyclocross bike. Although most of my spare time is spent with my young family and when possible I combine the both.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Rewiring
    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
  • More Services

    • consumer unit changes
    • security lighting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
25 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Great work and friendly, reliable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed external socket, 3 fire alarms and the door bell. Provided advice on the best choice and location for the alarms. Work done as agreed, on schedule and budget despite a "helping hand" from a 4 month old puppy. Fully recommend.
Customer in County Durham Posted on 05/07/2021 , work completed 23/06/2021
Top rate electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repaired fault on circuit board. Couldn't ask for more - restores your faith in British workmanship. High level of knowledge and competence and an all round very nice chap too! Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this person - look no further.
Customer in Tyne and Wear Posted on 18/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
First rate electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren fitted new bathroom lights, replaced external light on the drive and rewired new switches in the hall. He was on time and very professional. Took his time and delivered a really good job. Would recommend him and will certainly use him for future work.
Customer in County Durham Posted on 05/01/2021 , work completed 05/01/2021
Reliable and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our property needed a full re-wire and in total we had 4 electricians come out and quote for this job. We decided to go for Darren as his quote was the best value for money and we were impressed by his attention to detail, the suggestions he made and how he listened to our requests. Darren always worked neatly and was considerate checking in with us when he needed to turn the power off. We had several other trades people on the job, all whom he communicated well with. He always showed up when he said he would and we never had to chase him up. We have no hesitation recommending Darren to anyone.
Customer in Tyne and Wear Posted on 10/12/2020 , work completed 13/03/2020
The trader replied (on 11/12/2020)
Thank you for your review. Glad you are happy with my service.
Excellent Service and Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a partial rewire, he provided a great service and was really helpful, friendly and very reliable. The quote was reasonable and he answered all my questions (and there were a lot) really well, explaining everything. I would have no hesitation in recommending him and will definitely use him in the future when I need any more electrical work doing.
Customer in County Durham Posted on 05/12/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
The trader replied (on 11/12/2020)
Thank you for your review. Glad you are happy with the work.
Professional, efficient, knowledgeable, reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What work did they do? - I contacted DWS to resolve a bundle of issues during the visit, including a blown fuse, repair of several light fittings & sockets, and some snagging issues from the previous electrician. Was it done to the agreed schedule and budget? - Absolutely. The pricing structure was clear, there were no surprises, and Darren's fee was excellent value indeed. It was easy to make the appmt, Darren attended at the agreed time, and worked efficiently and thoroughly. Communication was refreshingly clear and professional throughout the process. What made the trader stand out? Over and above resolving the electrical issues, Darren was helpful and professional, explained what he was doing, and willingly gave really helpful and considered responses/suggestions to my questions about current and future electrical work needed in the property. He gave valuable advice in relation to wiring of our current solar inverter, and also put me in contact with an electrical boiler engineer able to repair our (unusual) electric boiler. I am relieved to have found an electrician who inspires confidence, and I will certainly contact Darren again for help resolving future electrical issues.
Customer in Tyne and Wear Posted on 10/11/2020 , work completed 05/11/2020
Very good, reliable work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
came to give a quote shortly after our initial contact, provided the quote promptly and on acceptance of the quote arranged an early date that was suitable for us. arrived promptly on the day of the work. Worked efficiently without fuss and without mess. explained exactly what he was doing and then performed the work to a high standard. When the invoice followed, it was for the exact amount of the quote... no unforeseen extras etc and was entirely reasonable. I will be using his services again.
Customer in County Durham Posted on 28/01/2020 , work completed 22/01/2020
The trader replied (on 29/01/2020)
Thank you for your review.
Excellent, meticulous work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time Darren has done work for me. Last time he installed 2 large distribution boxes and checked all the circuits. This time he ran armored cabling to the garage and installed additional sockets and security lights. Darren issues detailed estimates, carried out the work meticulously at a convenient time and costs are as stated in the estimate. All installation certificates are forwarded with the invoice. He enjoys a challenge and has solved all the electrical problems my old house has presented. An excellent electrician.
Customer in County Durham Posted on 03/01/2020 , work completed 10/12/2019
Excellent electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren installed a new fuse box for us. He did an excellent job and we were very impressed with his knowledge and professionalism, from the initial contact to the final paperwork. He was very friendly and helpful and we cannot recommend him highly enough.
Lesley Posted on 25/07/2019 , work completed 22/07/2019
Reliable electrician
Fantastic service given by DWS Electrical Services, very professional, hard working, all works are done to the highest quality would highly recommend him to anyone Quote and invoice were reasonable to the amount of work needed to be done
Customer in County Durham Posted on 16/07/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent service at a good price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren is very clear and up front about his charges (which are very reasonable), and does a good job. I will definitely use him again for any electrical work.
Customer in Tyne and Wear Posted on 11/07/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Add wiring and wall plug for installation of Dish Washer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time we have hired Daren and DWS Electrical Services to complete work for us. Daren has re-routed / re-located an existing unused wall socket, to connect our washing machine. He also installed a new wall socket and associated wiring for connection of a new Dish Washer. He also tested the sockets, and the main switchboard for us. Daren was on time, discussed and explained clearly all the things to consider for the job, and provided the optimum solution to the problem, involving the least damage possible to the property. All work was completed within budget of original quotation. Overall, he left the house very tidy. What impressed me both times I have worked with Daren was that he is very approachable and polite, and listens to the customer's questions, explaining the choices he makes. I would recommend DWS Electrical Services and Daren to anyone, without any reservation.
Customer in Tyne and Wear Posted on 11/05/2019 , work completed 12/03/2019
The trader replied (on 19/06/2019)
Thank you for the feedback.
Excellent service and no hassle
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren turned up when he said he would and fitted some complicated light fittings for us - at a very fair price. What more could you want from an electrician!
Customer in County Durham Posted on 08/03/2019 , work completed 11/02/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren has done 2 small jobs for me and charged a fair price. On both occasions he came when he said he would, his work was of the highest quality and he left no mess! I have no hesitation in recommending him.
Anonymous Posted on 18/04/2018 , work completed 18/04/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was recomended by a friend and came to our house to quote for a full house rewire. Darren listened to what our requirements were, giving helpful advice on how to improve the electrical circuits in our home. From first meeting Darren he was helpful, curtious and professional Darren replaced the distribution board along with all of the electrical circuits in our home and installed a home local area network. Darren worked professionally to a very high standard, was very knowledgeable in all that he did, cleaned and tidied up after each day and left us fully confident in the job he had completed. Darren worked until early hours of the morning to ensure that the job was completed before the Christmas Break which in our opinion, well exceeded our expectations. We are in the process of a major house renovation, and skilled professional trades people are proving very difficult to find. I would highly recommend Darren to all..
Stephen Posted on 13/02/2018 , work completed 13/02/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work completed very efficiently. Very good ideas for completion of work.
Dawn, Tyne and Wear Posted on 02/10/2017 , work completed 02/10/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time Darren has done work for us. As previously he was very professional and efficient. I would recommend him to others.
Mary, Tyne and Wear Posted on 24/08/2017 , work completed 24/08/2017
Highly recommended & very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was recommended by my friend who had had a lot of electrical work done. We needed lights & sockets in the loft we are converting. He worked out the best way to do this & completed the work to a very high standard & even cleaned up after. He is very pleasant, knowledgeable,competent & cracks on to get the job done right from the initial consultation throughout the work & testing afterward to the final relevant paperwork. We would have no hesitation to recommend him to anyone needing electrical work done & would call him if we needed any further work doing.
Twinnymummy Posted on 14/08/2017 , work completed 14/08/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren did a very thorough job and gave me lots of helpful advice. He was very careful and tidy. Nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend, thank you!
Jayne, Newcastle Posted on 18/07/2017 , work completed 18/07/2017
Professional and Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was extremely professional and knowledgable throughout the fixing of my electrical issue. Service was friendly and efficient. I will not hesitate to use DWS in the future.
Emporium Posted on 21/06/2017 , work completed 21/06/2017
Thorough, meticulous and extremely neat and tidy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren was most helpful and informative and left us in no doubt that whatever he would do or had done was to the highest standard and nothing was a bother to him. We can highly recommend him for his professional knowledge and capabilities. Everything tidied and left clean after each visit. No hesitation in employing his skills again when necessary.
Michael Posted on 31/05/2017 , work completed 31/05/2017
The trader replied (on 21/06/2017)
Thank you Michael. It was a pleasure to work for you.
Extremely high standard of work. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren came highly recommended and certainly exceeded our expectations. He replaced our out of date fuse board, replaced light fittings with LED's, installed a 4 camera CCTV home security system and installed a landing light and completed all the appropriate certification for the work. Darren is extremely knowledgeable and seeks to find the best solution for a houses electrical needs. He was able to visit us and listened to what we wanted and he showed us alternatives which actually turned out to be better for us. His work rate is without question and he is ultra tidy when he works. He offered solutions to our excess cables which had been under a rug for years and literally made them invisible! Darren is very helpful and seeks to give the best cosmetic finish on his work. We have found ourselves an extremely reliable, qualified and knowledgeable electrician who we will continue to use and will recommended to others without hesitation.
CarolineP Posted on 25/05/2017 , work completed 25/05/2017
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Darren changed the light fittings in our front room and kitchen and even stayed around to help us put some curtain poles up as well. Great service and have recommended to friends and family. Hes currently working his way through my parents house changing light fittings and switches. Highly recommended!
Jamie H Posted on 17/03/2017 , work completed 17/03/2017
Fantastic Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Darren on a number of occasions and each time he has delivered as promised. He provides excellent customer service and I would recommend him to anyone.
Michael - County Durham Posted on 13/03/2017 , work completed 13/03/2017
Excellent Service would recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend service and workmanship excellent. Very pleasant and competent. Gave good advice and does exactly what promised in timescales agreed.
Hetton Group Practice Posted on 13/03/2017 , work completed 13/03/2017
Brilliant job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had previously fitted a new circuit board for me. Had done a brilliant job so had no hesitation asking him to fit smoke alarms. Very professional. Would not hesitate to contact him for any further electrical work.
Carole, County Durham Posted on 07/02/2017 , work completed 07/02/2017