Endorsed by Which?

ESK Decorating Contractors Ltd

4.8

68 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - –
  • Monday –
  • Tuesday –
  • Wednesday –
  • Thursday –
  • Friday –
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

ESK is a local family run business trading since 1993.

We offer fully detailed free quotations along with free sample tester pots and wallpaper books to allow you to chose your decoration scheme in the comfort of your own home.

For your peace of mind you can take confidence in the knowledge that, as a company, ESK carry full PL insurance, our staff are fully qualified (City & Guilds/NVQ) and CRB checked.

Along with our WHICH Trusted Traders accreditation we are also proud to have accreditation to the MK Council Trading Standards "Buy With Confidence" scheme.

Here is an example of one of our customer testimonials recently received..

Mr & Mrs Hughes from Hanslope said "To Steve and all the men who worked so hard to make our bungalow look so nice. We have had many comments on how wonderful and such a good job you made; we entirely agree. Many thanks to you all."

Our company motto is "Experience and Quality service you can rely on". We are certain you won't be disappointed.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Painting contractors
    • Interior decorating
  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Property refurbishment contractors

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
68 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.9
Value
4.7
Sort by
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK repainted our upstairs and downstairs hall as well as the bannister to a very high standard. They were courteous and polite and was particularly impressed that they tidied up each evening before leaving for the day. The work was completed within the time given and the price was as quoted.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 10/10/2023 , work completed 04/10/2023
Professional quality decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used ESK to paint the exterior of our rendered house and external woodwork. Steve arranged for third parties to meet him on site to determine scaffolding and machinery costs in order to provide a comprehensive and detailed quote. Steve’s team were all very courteous, tidy and polite and completed the job to a very high standard, carrying out great repair work to existing woodwork where needed. The job was completed within the predicted timescales and Steve was very diligent in ensuring the work was quality checked regularly. We received regular updates throughout the works and the Steve was professional and friendly at all times. The site was left in a clean state and we would not hesitate to recommend to others.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 03/10/2023 , work completed 27/09/2023
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used ESK some years ago and had no hesitation in making use of their services again recently. ESK painted our front door and garage door, meter boxes and entrance porch. The work was done on time and on budget as quoted. The front door involved much preparation work; all done neatly & all the old paint scrapings cleaned up. It all worked out without any hassle from the time that Steve quoted and helped us with the paint colour & product to the end. The paint product that Steve used last time has lasted well. I have no doubt this will be the case again now.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 05/08/2023 , work completed 18/07/2023
Excellent quality decorators!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK decorated my hall, living and dining rooms. The standard of work, from the original meeting with Steve to discuss the project, to their final clear-up at the end of the work was excellent. The staff on site were respectful and kept the place clean, tidy, making sure everything was vacuumed at the end of each day. The work was completed quickly - I had painting a wallpapering done - and both were finished to a very high standard. I’d have no problem recommending ESK to anyone.
Alan in Milton Keynes Posted on 31/07/2023 , work completed 21/07/2023
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am very happy with the service provided by ESK Decorating Contractors Ltd. The quote supplied by Steve was detailed and accurate. Good communication to get the job booked in around the weather. The job was started, and finished as agreed. The job has been completed to a high standard and clean.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 31/07/2023 , work completed 21/07/2023
Exterior House Painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to deal with, quoted promptly. Quoted and organised well in advance due to me being overseas, but started and finished on schedule and for agreed price. Kept me informed by email of when something might have been more costly, and additional quote given, which was then not needed. May not have been the cheapest, but I needed reliability and I was very happy with the service and result.
Customer in Northamptonshire Posted on 25/05/2023 , work completed 19/05/2023
Restored timbers etc. of conservatory, patio door and a window
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Restoration to former glory on 100 year old small house of a timber conservatory, patio doors and a window. Modern in outlook - repair to high standard rather than demolish and replace with synthetic (expensive) replacements and clearly enjoyed doing the job. Adam handled this formerly sad looking part of house in a style the late householder would have tried. He explained as he went, worked when weather permitted and when after completion a window got stuck returned and carefully corrected. Solid work - looks good, too. Thank you.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 23/11/2022 , work completed 19/11/2022
House Cladding brought back from the brink
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The wood cladding on my house was in desperate need, of serious renovation, the team from ESK did a fantastic professional job, achieving a finish that was well beyond my expectation. The guys were extremely courteous, and kept us informed all the way through the 5-6 days they were with us. I would have no hesitation in recommending ESK to my friends and family. Dave G
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 14/09/2022 , work completed 08/09/2022
sealing external brickwork
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK applied sealant to our external brickwork. As always, they turned up on time and did a very professional and efficient job. Communications with ESK are always excellent and the team are very accommodating if difficulties arise at our end that require us to reschedule.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 12/07/2022 , work completed 05/07/2022
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, considerate, tidy and diligent work. Quality was excellent. I would recommend to anyone
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 10/05/2022 , work completed 10/05/2022
ESK Decorating Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, reliable, considerate, careful and clean. Undertook internal decoration. Excellent work - very pleased would highly recommend
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 31/01/2022 , work completed 14/01/2022
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sitting room and cloakroom decorated. Excellent service throughout the process from quote to completion (including liaison with our carpet fitter), which meant everything ran smoothly. Thoroughly professional but friendly service. An unexpected problem was encountered with the the preparation of surface to be papered and rectified (this did mean time taken slightly ran over the estimated time, but we were kept informed throughout). A very difficult match in the wallpaper we had chosen was identified and hung with no visible joins. The team were punctual, polite and highly skilled working cleanly and cheerfully.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 10/12/2021 , work completed 02/12/2021
Friendly and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The hall and landing space was finished to a high standard by friendly and efficient decorators, with excellent communication skills from the quotation to finalising the payment. Will definitely use again.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 25/11/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
Professional and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Renovations and painting very thorough and professional. Final cost as per competitive quotation. Workmen very approachable at all times. No hesitation in recommending ESK.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 12/08/2021 , work completed 29/07/2021
Excellent external decoration and repairs
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK's friendly and proficient team repainted all the external woodwork, and organised repairs and replacement of the tudor boarding. The work was carried out efficiently, when the weather permitted, completed to a high standard, and to the agreed budget. Communication was good throughout the two week period the work took to complete especially as the weather was not always conducive to painting exterior woodwork. I would have no hesitation in using ESK again.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 26/07/2021 , work completed 17/07/2021
An excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK had previously decorated the exterior frames and cladding at the back of our house to a high standard so we were happy to ask them to re-decorate a bathroom and install some tiles. We were very pleased with the finished work which was completed quickly and thoroughly.
Paul in Milton Keynes Posted on 14/06/2021 , work completed 12/05/2021
Good and reliable work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK completed an outside painting job on our house. They were very professional, very reliable, and did an excellent job.
Marion in Milton Keynes Posted on 09/06/2021 , work completed 09/06/2021
Would definitely use again and highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and friendly team (both in office and onsite decorators). Repairs and redecorating to my house front façade, frames around door and windows was as agreed, on time and carried out to a high standard. Would definitely use again and recommend.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 07/06/2021 , work completed 27/03/2021
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Steve very quick to respond to the request for a quote. Adam and Andy very professional in painting and wallpapering my lounge, daily left everything clean and tidy, they were punctual and their standard of work was very good and be very happy to recommend ESK.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 21/05/2021
Very Happy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When your place needs a makeover do not delay, you can't do better than choose ESK!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/05/2021 , work completed 10/03/2021
Good Work in Bad Weather
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK have maintained the exterior of our north-facing property since 2004. This time, it was Adam who did a great job. If rain postponed his arrival, he would let us know when he would arrive, he did an extra piece of painting to make the colour and appearance consistent, and at the end, he did brushing, wiping, spraying to make the finish look really immaculate. The boss rang to check that we were pleased with the work, which we were.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 18/05/2021 , work completed 27/03/2021
Reliable, honest and good to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK carried out a complete external redecoration of my house in 2013 and again in October 2020. Work has been done to a high standard by friendly professionals who were efficient in their work programme. The process of estimation and then carrying out of the work was dependable and friendly. ESK have also carried out an external decoration for a friend of mine to the same high standard.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 29/10/2020 , work completed 17/10/2020
Painting and decorating of rooms in house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A team of 2/3 arrived on time and continued to do so throughout the whole operation. They were tidy, courteous and got on with the job. The work involved complete decoration throughout the house, painting, stripping back wallpaper, making good the plaster, caulking, wallpaper hanging etc, in the lounge, dining room, stairs, landing and 4 bedrooms, along with an emergency plastering & painting of kitchen ceiling and painting of outside render of house. They moved furniture and replaced it. Even ensuring we could sleep in our own bed at the end of the day when decorating that particular bedroom! All was completed to a high standard with attention to detail and regular communication with myself. The bother of purchasing paints and wallpaper was taken care of by ESK; all I had to do was choose my wallpaper and colour scheme. It all came in on schedule and budget. Nothing was too much for this team. I have to say I am not easily impressed but I was with Steve and his team. The office staff were also helpful, efficient and friendly. The telephone was always answered! They are not the cheapest but, they are not the most expensive. Great value for money.Even the cats liked them! I will be using them again.
Customer in Milton Keynes Posted on 26/09/2019 , work completed 16/09/2019
Reliable decorator.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used them before and will use them again.
P G, Buckinghamshire Posted on 11/06/2019 , work completed 11/06/2019
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
External painting. Completed on time to a high standard and with friendly and courteous staff.
Philip, Buckinghamshire Posted on 06/06/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A job well done by a conscientious and pleasant tradesmen. The cost was high but I think it was good value for money.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/05/2019 , work completed 22/05/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good explanation of what was to be done in advance. Work done on schedule to a high standard at agreed price.
P, Buckinghamshire Posted on 13/05/2019 , work completed 13/05/2019
Very professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK were very professional from start to finish. Excellent workmanship. I have no hesitation in recommending ESK to potential customers.
A, Buckinghamshire Posted on 02/08/2018 , work completed 02/08/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with work. Always left everything tidy. Good friendly workers.
V, Buckinghamshire Posted on 12/07/2018 , work completed 12/07/2018
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were really pleased with the job, which was completed to our satisfaction and in the timescale quoted. Would recommend.
Thomas, Buckinghamshire Posted on 09/07/2018 , work completed 09/07/2018
Very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful staff from start to finish.
S, Buckinghamshire Posted on 29/05/2018 , work completed 29/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK completed the job by working the Sat & Sun, due to the job falling behind as a result of a colleague being unwell. Kitchen & addition room were completed at a later date.
Myra, Buckinghamshire Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this firm to decorate the exterior of my house. The decorator, Lee, did an excellent job. He kept me informed when weather caused slight delays. I am very satisfied with the results.
C, Buckinghamshire Posted on 24/05/2018 , work completed 24/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job, nice people.
M, Buckinghamshire Posted on 14/12/2017 , work completed 14/12/2017
Outstanding Professionals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK is the best company we have found through this website. Their crew is on time, courteous and professional and leave our house tidy and clean. We have had them decorate both the interior and exterior of our house. The staining they did on our timber cladding looks like new after two years. People have rung our bell to ask who painted our house!
E, Buckinghamshire Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did an excellent job. The workmen were punctual, polite, carried out the work to a very high standard and were very professional. They kept me informed at all times when they met a problem, explaining how they would overcome it and the cost. I would definitely use them again and would recommend them. Very pleased with the work.
N, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/10/2017 , work completed 01/10/2017
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/09/2017 , work completed 26/09/2017
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a very good job done. Tidy and reliable workman and would recommend this company to friends & family.
B, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
Excellent painters and decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thorough and professional job. Friendly and tidy workmen. Excellent overall and I can heartily recommend them.
Susan, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
Rooms & Staircase painted.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always on time, polite, work done to a high standard. Highly recommended.
C, Buckinghamshire Posted on 30/06/2017 , work completed 30/06/2017
Clean and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used ESK previously and have recommended them to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/04/2017 , work completed 18/04/2017
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We suffered a water escape from the loft and ESK were our choice of company to put the rooms back to their original state. They were polite, punctual and did a great job. Very pleased with all the guys we met.
G, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/04/2017 , work completed 01/04/2017
Great company.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great experience right from the start. Both Steve and Lee are very professional and meticulous in their work. Lee did a great job, and we are really pleased with the result. Will back you for more work soon!
R, Buckinghamshire Posted on 07/02/2017 , work completed 07/02/2017
Work OK, punctuality disappointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our painter had transport problems so arrived at variable times. He also had a dislocated shoulder and other family problems so was very late one day and didn't show on another. He was asked to do a last minute job just up the road from us which meant work at our house stopped and started so he could go there. We were not consulted on this. We had to point out surfaces he had missed because we felt he wasn't able to do our job in a considered manner. The work was completed properly and more or less to time but we were never confident of what was going to happen the following day. We also had to ask for the bill.
robert.booth Posted on 17/12/2016 , work completed 17/12/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional service and quality workmanship.
J, Buckinghamshire Posted on 10/10/2016 , work completed 10/10/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable, excellent work.
Sharan, Buckinghamshire Posted on 15/08/2016 , work completed 15/08/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional.
H, Buckinghamshire Posted on 05/08/2016 , work completed 05/08/2016
Acceptable work done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was pleased with the work done painting my exterior windows. The door, I asked for wood stain, but they used plain. I wasn't pleased that the painter walked indoors on the carpet in shoes or that he spilt paint on my carpet because he walked through the house with a tin of paint and not around. However, the painting was good.
Katie, Buckinghamshire Posted on 06/06/2016 , work completed 06/06/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good job - very satisfied.
John, Buckinghamshire Posted on 19/05/2016 , work completed 19/05/2016
A professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always professional, polite & tidy. Great results.
H, Buckinghamshire Posted on 11/04/2016 , work completed 11/04/2016
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job, good advice. Completed on time and to price quoted. Couldn't ask for more.
James, Buckinghamshire Posted on 29/02/2016 , work completed 29/02/2016
Excellent job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the external redecoration. Not the cheapest but a high quality result.
David, Buckinghamshire Posted on 08/02/2016 , work completed 08/02/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional.
Mike, Bedfordshire Posted on 08/02/2016 , work completed 08/02/2016
Fantastic workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK were very professional when carrying out our decorating work. Lee & Wayne were very hard working and the work done was perfect. They seemed to take pride in what they were doing. I will use ESK for future work.
Linda, Buckinghamshire Posted on 16/11/2015 , work completed 16/11/2015
Well done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial phone call (in desperation - we had been let down) through to completion, this company was excellent; comprehensive in assessment, thorough and reliable. The work was well carried out and to a high standard - a very professional approach in every respect. The service was what one always hopes for, but does not always receive! Excellent, all round.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service. Always arrived on time, were completed to a very high standard. Work area kept tidy. Excellent communication. Cannot fault them in any way and would not hesitate to recommend them.
Raymond, Northamptonshire Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
It looks fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was done with attention to detail, efficiently and very carefully, especially with view to the rest of the house, preventing dust penetration etc.
Ailsa, Bedfordshire Posted on 03/08/2015 , work completed 03/08/2015
Very good.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job on painting and wall paper. Friendly, polite, would use again.
J, Buckinghamshire Posted on 22/06/2015 , work completed 22/06/2015
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The decorator was very professional, tidy and the finished result was excellent
K, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/05/2015 , work completed 01/05/2015
Extremely impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely impressed, very professional, clean & tidy, well prepared job, brilliant, polite and would definitely recommend and use again - well done.
Sharon, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/03/2015 , work completed 01/03/2015
Professional and excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work ethic of Tony was excellent. He was very precise and skilful with his work. We would highly recommend him and ESK as they completed the work to our exact requirements. We had used Which Trusted Traders to find ESK which proved fully justified.
I, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/03/2015 , work completed 01/03/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time I have used ESK for decorating and have always been very pleased with the end product. Would definitely recommend.
K, Buckinghamshire Posted on 08/12/2014 , work completed 08/12/2014
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home decoration - tided up each day, individual operative visited to ensure we were happy with work. Very good finish.
Jayne, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/12/2014 , work completed 01/12/2014
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From initial contact to job completion, ESK were efficient, professional and pleasant to deal with. Finished job was of a very high standard. Would definitely use again.
Shirley, Buckinghamshire Posted on 10/10/2014 , work completed 10/10/2014
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
ESK did an excellent job, with great attention to detail. They were always professional & polite & helpful yet friendly at the same time. I would not hesitate to recommend them to my friends
M, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/09/2014 , work completed 01/09/2014
Well professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good time keeping. Well job done to my satisfaction. To be recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/09/2014 , work completed 01/09/2014
External decorations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An amazing service from start to finish. I would highly recommend ESK to friends & family
Emma, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/08/2014 , work completed 01/08/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service & attention to detail
L, Buckinghamshire Posted on 01/08/2014 , work completed 01/08/2014