We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Edward Payne & Co Ltd

Profile thumb logo

4.8

17 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:30–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:30–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:30–17:30
  • Thursday 08:30–17:30
  • Friday 08:30–17:30
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

At Edward Payne & Co Tree Specialists, it is our good reputation which acts as our greatest marketing tool. Whether for residential or commercial clients, we are constantly meeting and exceeding expectations, whilst offering our services at extremely competitive rates. Based in Wandsworth, SW London, we are happy to take on work across the London region and into the home counties.

The company was established by Edward Payne in 2005. Initially Edward did the tree surgery himself, although now it is carried out by six trusted members of staff who form two teams, whilst Edward has taken a purely managerial role. All climbing staff are NPTC qualified and tree work is carried out to BS3998, the British Standard for professional arboriculture.

What we do

  • Tree surgeons

    • Stump grinding
    • Tree reductions
    • Tree thinning
    • Tree removal
    • Tree planting

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
17 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
Professional and good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Inherited a very overgrown and poorly maintained apple tree at our new house. The estimator was able to look at the tree and advise on works required, and best time for work to take place. On the day we were given a courtesy call on arrivial time, then works took place quickly and efficiency. At each stage I was told what works were being done, how tit would affec tthe tree, and when it would need looking at again. All cleaning up was done quickly leaving the garden in good condition. Was very impressed with the work and will have them back for future pruning.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 05/02/2021 , work completed 04/02/2021
Fantastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team came to our flat to remove one tree and trim 2 trees. They were really nice and did all the work very professionally and quickly. They cleared absolutely everything, so the garden was left looking impeccable. The admin team of Edward Payne & Co was also really great. They sent me a really detailed quote, were very communicative and friendly. I will definitely request their services again!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/10/2019 , work completed 21/10/2019
Outstandingly Good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team arrived on time and worked efficiently and quickly. They were gone within the hour after cleaning extremely well. Not a twiglet left behind. I am using them again.
James, London Posted on 28/02/2019 , work completed 28/02/2019
Professional and trouble free
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for many years and they are professional, courteous and good at their job. And they sweep up behind them. As for price, they quote before the work is carried out and I have never known them to charge a different price after doing the work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/11/2018 , work completed 12/11/2018
Professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great communication throughout with honest advice about best options for cutting down one large tree and maintaining others. Provided an incredibly competitive quote compared to other local firms for the calibre of their work. Would definitely recommend and will be our 'go to' for future works.
Tim Burrell Posted on 22/10/2017 , work completed 22/10/2017
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good precise quote and competitive price.Work carried out quickly and efficiently. Would use again.
westonbrowne Posted on 07/10/2016 , work completed 07/10/2016
Good job at a fair price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team from Edward Payne reduced and trimmed three trees for me. They did a good job. There was a bit of confusion between Edward and his team concerning whether wire could be cut from my apple tree or whether that would cause more damage. However, this was resolved and everything else went smoothly. The cost was also the lowest of the three quotes I obtained. The team was polite and friendly and cleaned up well after themselves.
1475318 Posted on 18/02/2016 , work completed 18/02/2016
Great work on 3 trees in my garden
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team that came out to prune three trees in my garden were very courteous. They got the job done efficiently and were very tidy about it. All branches removed from the premises. Recommended trader.
shunt12 Posted on 12/02/2016 , work completed 12/02/2016
We would absolutely recommend Edward Payne to anyo
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would like to thank the men who undertook the recent pruning in our garden. Not only was the work done exactly to our requirements but the men worked quickly and tidily. The huge amount of cuttings/logs were all removed and the lawn was even raked to remove any small branches and twigs.
ClaytonW Posted on 09/02/2015 , work completed 09/02/2015
Thank you very much for your services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Your assistants were incredibly polite and good listeners to my special requests. They worked hard and were very professional and charming too! Many thanks
helengregory Posted on 26/01/2015 , work completed 26/01/2015
A great job, thank you very much.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We returned from holiday to be delighted with the tree work carried out. It is always a worry having work done when you are away, I am delighted to say that the work exceeded our expectations and we are very pleased with what was done. Not only were all the works carried out to an excellent standard, all the cut tree branches had been expertly removed without any damage to our significant shrubs and fencing which were under the site. There was also no mess or sign of the work having taken place.
Which? Trusted Trader User Posted on 29/07/2014 , work completed 29/07/2014
Professional, extremely quick and responsive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edward Payne has done a fantastic job with the trees in our garden. He was thoroughly professional, extremely quick and responsive, and goes about his work in a manner which is very sympathetic to the needs of his customer and the landscapes he works with. We will certainly use Edward Payne again and highly recommend Edward Payne & Co Ltd to others :)
janetsrider123 Posted on 22/07/2014 , work completed 22/07/2014
Thank you, If only all companies were so efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you very much for helping get the stress of that wretched tree stump out of my garden (and my life!). I have been so impressed from beginning to end with your company, from the instant response to my email, to receiving the quote and fixing a date. Your team of three turned up on time yesterday morning, politely refused to be side-tracked by a cup of tea or coffee - If only all companies were so reassuringly efficient, reliable and reasonably priced life would be so much easier!
ghumming123 Posted on 22/07/2014 , work completed 22/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called about four of the Tree Surgeons that came up on my Which Local list. Some had silly turnarounds & a lot did not even call back!! Ed came and did a thorough quote in writing, with a detailed breakdown of what was to be done so when the guys showed to do the work, they knew what to do. Reasonable value, good job and they cleaned up as much as they could, would use again.
Wortley Posted on 20/09/2013 , work completed 20/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Felled garden tree overhanging street in conservation area, cheapest of three quotes, included submitting paperwork to council for permission, Fast, polite and tidy sevice.
cant seem to find a screen name Posted on 15/04/2009 , work completed 15/04/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Edward was punctual. He gave a clear estimate for trimming overgrown damson trees that had broken branches because of heavy fruit (Summer 2008). His two workmen who came to do the work were business-like and efficient. They brought a wood chipping machine and cleared up well after the work. Earlier this year they also removed very ugly and overgrown leylandii hedging from the neighbour's garden. She was happy with the work too.
zailec Posted on 18/02/2009 , work completed 18/02/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job involved having 2 large trees reduced by 40-50% and other maintenance done in the garden. Reasonable cost, very tidy job. Highly recommend. We also required council permission as we live in a conservation area, Edward took care of all paper work at no extra charge!!
njonckheer Posted on 09/10/2007 , work completed 09/10/2007