We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Electric James

Profile thumb electricjames logo square

5.0

53 Reviews

About

Electric James is a fully qualified 17th edition and Part P Electrician in NW2, London.

I provide a reliable, friendly and highly-recommended service (see below). More recommendations available on my website.

You can call me for domestic or commercial electrical services in North London.

I work to the UK national safety standard (BS 7671) and will give you a safety certificate to confirm that my work has been designed, inspected and tested in line with that standard.

I am a NAPIT Approved contractor and offer free quotes.

Reasonable prices - Reliable service - High-quality work

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical testing services
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations

Customer reviews

5.0
53 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent and Practical Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I invited James to come and fit a replacement ceiling lamp, having used James a month earlier to fix a faulty time switch controlling the staircase lighting in our in the communal building. I have a modern-style Italian made standing lamp at my desk and a couple of days before James' visit, the lamp stopped working and it continued to fail with a replacement bulb. Having fitted the ceiling light, I asked James if he could check the standing lamp and he quickly identified the fault as being with its small 12V transformer, not the bulb. The transformer was fitted in a small transparent box and given its small size, James at first thought that I would have to try and find a replacement part from Italy. However he then went to his van and brought up a 12V transformer which at first appeared to be slightly too large to fit in the box, but by clever adjustment and realigning the wiring, he was able to get it to fit. The lamp then worked perfectly (with the old bulb). This repair illustrated not only James knowledge as an electrician but also his practical skills to solve a problem. All the work was carried out in a very clean and tidy manner. James will be my first port of call for electrical problems in future and I would not hesitate to recommend him to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/09/2019 , work completed 02/09/2019
Clean, fast and precise
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James did the jobs I needed quickly and with extreme care, also, at a very reasonable price! He came very early in the morning to accommodate my work needs, which is not common. I definitely would recommend!
Sonja Posted on 13/06/2019 , work completed 13/06/2019
Brilliant yet again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I've used James and I can't praise him highly enough. He responds well to emails, arrives on time and is clean and tidy. But in addition, he is a pleasure to have around, thoughtful about noise and disruption and also always sensible with advice and explanations. A credit to his profession.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/03/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019
Excellent work once again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used James several times before and always enthusiastically recommend him to friends. He is always punctual, knowledgeable, quick, tidy and lovely to chat to. His most recent visit was to fix some lamps, which he did with his customary efficiency. We wouldn't use anyone else.
Philippa H Posted on 31/10/2018 , work completed 31/10/2018
Excellent work, 3rd time used
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just used James for the third time. This was only a small job, selecting and fitting two outside LED lights. We arranged a visit for him to look at the job, we discussed and agreed what we wanted him to do, we arranged the appointment. James was 5 minutes early, so, perfectly punctual, and carried out the job swiftly and efficiently. He is extremely easy to talk to on a personal level. Complete satisfaction 3 times out of 3.
David F Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
Knowledgeable, reliable and honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used James to install some new light fittings, change some plug sockets and advise on a flickering light problem. He came promptly and punctually, and his work was very neat and efficient, cheerfully making good mess left by previous contractors. His attention to detail is spot on, and he has a very pleasant and friendly manner. Would recommend him to anyone.
robertmarsden Posted on 02/03/2017 , work completed 02/03/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked James to fix various halogen spotlights for me that were all failing for unknown reasons. He called round first to see what was needed and to give an estimate, then came back with the necessary parts a week later. He was quick and efficient and actually completed the job in the shorter time estimated, so it didn't cost me as much as I thought it would. He was also courteous, cheerful and happily explained to me what he'd done, plus he took great care to protect furniture, carpet etc. with a dust sheet in every area he worked. I'll definitely use him again.
T Anderson Posted on 08/12/2016 , work completed 08/12/2016
Continued Excellence
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used James for a third time to fix a fault in our bathroom. Again he turned up on time. He raced through the job and managed to fix our light fitting so we did not need to pay for a new one, which we thought was likely. Cheerful as ever. Left the place clean and tidy. Excellent service.
Martin C Posted on 08/10/2016 , work completed 08/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So amazing. James fitted our 90yr old neighbour in ASAP as they were very worried not having any power. His knowledge and workmanship is 100%. We will definitely be using James from now on. Thank you.
1247388 Posted on 17/09/2016 , work completed 17/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came punctually to diagnose the cause of the lights not working in the bedroom. He identified the problem and made the repair within the hour. Will definitely use him again.
bramptonhead7 Posted on 20/08/2016 , work completed 20/08/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I consulted James about my old fuse boxes with 'wire' fuses.With advice etc,I now have modern 'trip' fuses-supplied and fitted by James.All done in a professional and tidy fashion.
Glenister Posted on 28/06/2016 , work completed 28/06/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came to our house to wire up a new extractor fan and an immersion heater. James was most knowledgeable and did an excellent job. The wiring for the extractor fan chased into the plaster work and neatly finished with new plaster . He was careful to clean up after he had completed the work. The price of the work was reasonable. It was a pleasure to have had James to do the work. He is highly recommended. His invoicing was also prompt and professional.
whichillumdavis Posted on 29/05/2016 , work completed 29/05/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came to replace a broken outdoor security light. As usual he was on time and efficient. He returned later to make sure it was working properly and made no charge for this. This is our third time we have used him - would highly recommend him and always go to him first for any electrical work.
shuffle Posted on 10/04/2016 , work completed 10/04/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had James O'Neill replace our kitchen lighting on the 19th of January 2016. We found him to be prompt efficient and knowledgeable in his work. He took less time than originally scheduled to do the work and he cleaned up the work on finishing. I would recommend him to anyone who needs electrical work done well at a reasonable price.
ROGER1 Posted on 26/01/2016 , work completed 26/01/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Many thanks to Which? Local. We used the services of James to add extra sockets, check light connections, refit outside sensor as well as check fire alarms. We fixed a date and James called the previous day to check we were still expecting him. He arrived on time; proceeded with the work. I offered to vacuum but he insisted HE did it as it was all part of the job. He was courteous and polite and did a great job. I would certainly recommend him - I already have.
PatriciaTeahan Posted on 20/12/2015 , work completed 20/12/2015
Fantastic service on all fronts...
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called James for a small fix job and found his service so good that I called him back for a much larger project. He was prompt, considerate, informative, efficient, professional, good value & courteous. Highly recommended. Tom, Holland Park
thasler Posted on 26/11/2015 , work completed 26/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James did a first class job checking the circuits and wiring, and correcting minor faults. He also rewired the lounge replacing around six sockets. Very helpful and would definitely use him again.
bogsworth Posted on 17/11/2015 , work completed 17/11/2015
Thanks for the recommendation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James confirmed appointment before he came, arrived on time. Efficient. Advised me how to save money. Friendly personality but not over familiar. Would highly recommend. Will definitely be using him again.
2011-06-15 21:24:54.187 Posted on 02/09/2015 , work completed 02/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used James for a second time after great service in the past. We needed him to check our electrics in the bathroom. He came within 24 hours, bang on time and fixed the problem. Cheerful and full of advice. Highly recommended!
Whichsearching Posted on 08/08/2015 , work completed 08/08/2015
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used James for a second time after great service in the past. We needed him to check our electrics in the bathroom. He came within 24 hours, bang on time and fixed the problem. Cheerful and full of advice. Highly recommended!
Site User Posted on 08/08/2015 , work completed 08/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came to replace a bulb fitting for us and move a door buzzer to a new location. He was friendly and efficient and arrived on time and completed the jobs without fuss. The second time we have used him - we would highly recommend him.
shuffle Posted on 01/08/2015 , work completed 01/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used James 3 times now for adding some power sockets and TV (HDMI) cabling, and also some earth bonding for gas meters. He is always polite and friendly, returns my calls, and does a great job. I couldn't recommend him more highly.
ASC1 Posted on 14/07/2015 , work completed 14/07/2015
Cheerful reliable service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, reasonable prices and James stayed cheerful even when the ladder disappeared from underneath him!
Islington Posted on 05/05/2015 , work completed 05/05/2015
Strongly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Left a message and James called back within a few hours. Booked appointment for 2 days later and arrived exactly on time. Resolved the issue (disconnected wires in the loft!) efficiently and quickly. James has a lovely manner, excellent customer service and respectful of the home he visits. I cannot recommend him highly enough and his number is now a permanent entry in my phone!
Peedee Posted on 01/05/2015 , work completed 01/05/2015
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic! We had a list of smallish jobs we needed doing - multiple light fittings, extractor fan replacement. I emailed James and he got back to me despite being abroad on holiday. We agreed a day the following week and he turned up on time. His pricing structure was clear and he absolutely raced through the jobs to ensure I paid as little as possible. He wouldn't even accept a cup of tea! Brilliant advice and came with me to pick fittings from Wickes across the road. Courteous, polite, clean and tidy. So good I gave him a tip. James is firmly in my address book now for any future jobs. Can't recommend him enough from this experience.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 26/04/2015 , work completed 26/04/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electric James gave excellent service. He arrived exactly on time, worked quickly and competently, cleaned up carefully afterwards, and was friendly and helpful throughout. When I said to him I wish I'd got a plumber like you, he even gave me the name of a plumber!.
malcolm2011 Posted on 20/10/2014 , work completed 20/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I again asked James for help.He turned up within 90 minutes.Solved the problem which was minor.Polite and friendly.Charges reasonable.I highly recommend him. Wael
wael Posted on 16/09/2014 , work completed 16/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a wiring check and certification for insurance purposes. I had an estimate by a reputable company, but James did the work for a fraction of their estimate, and provided the certificate. He was punctual, tidy, efficient and always did exactly what he said he would do, including finding a thoughtful solution to a tricky wiring fault left by the bungler who originally wired my flat. James was great, could not have been better.
RHCassen Posted on 18/08/2014 , work completed 18/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James completed an Electrical Installation Conditions Report. I trust his advice and appreciate dealing with someone who follows up on phone calls, arrives on time for appointments and delivers on the promise of high-quality work. I will certainly be using him again.
Carmen B Posted on 28/07/2014 , work completed 28/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came to my parents home to move a plug for the cooker and fix the ventilator, he was polite, prompt (always returning my calls, as I am based outside of London).very competent. My mother said he was excellent. Thank you James
fadhias Posted on 02/07/2014 , work completed 02/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have just used James for a very tricky issue with the lighting system in the garden. He came twice and in both occasion he was on time. Also the communication with James was great and I highly recommend him to anyone because a. he is on time b. very polite c. reasonable price d. trustworthy e. he is experienced certainly knows what he is doing. No wonder he has a 5 star rating by everyone so highly recommended by me as well.
Tszigeti Posted on 05/06/2014 , work completed 05/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James replaced and upgraded several very old sockets and moved a number of others. He did the work thoroughly, efficiently and tested everything before leaving. He was clean and tidy, exceptionally well mannered and friendly without being intrusive. He was also exceptionally good value. I thoroughly recommend him.
matrixman Posted on 20/05/2014 , work completed 20/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy indeed with the service and the quiet and pleasant manner of James. He worked for 4-5 hours not even stopping for a tea or coffee; he installed a very large and heavy pendant brass lamp to a high ceiling; replaced at least half a dozen LEDs; put up a ceiling light in a bedroom and new plugs and points for bedside lights; went out and bought various things needed to put right all kinds of electric things - and finally charged extremely reasonably. In fact every good thing said about him in other reviews is true.
zulu Posted on 07/04/2014 , work completed 07/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted James in early November 2013 to fix my bathroom extractor fan at one of my properties. He was punctual and very efficient at mending the problem. I therefore used him again 2 weeks later to check and rectify an issue with a light switch in another property. Once again he was very helpful and although there was no major problems he replaced the switch at no extra cost to myself. On both occasions I was not at the properties and my tenants let him carry out his duties. James is extremely professional, reliable and polite. He is very efficient and I would highly recommend him.
deven12345 Posted on 29/11/2013 , work completed 29/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electric James has worked for me on three different occasions, including replacing a built in oven which entailed altering the size of the opening in the cupboard. He has always been completely reliable, punctual, efficient and obliging as well as a pleasure while working. I have no hesitation in recommending his work.
MarianGideon Posted on 27/11/2013 , work completed 27/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
james was prompt, efficient, inexpensive and pleasant.Diagnosed and corrected fault when other electricians had failed to do so.
wael Posted on 13/08/2013 , work completed 13/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James came to my flat in May to first quote for, then replace a faulty bathroom ceiling fan. On both occasions he arrived early and waited; he was very good-natured about the porters not letting him into the building for ages; and did a good job too. I felt as if I was working with a friend. would definitely recommend him.
4constantine Posted on 24/07/2013 , work completed 24/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed an electrician to fix a broken fan at our tenants flat. It is always nerve wracking as you are relying totally on other people to oversee the work, until its complete. James was great in keeping me informed as it progressed - providing a detailed quote, letting me know when the part needed had arrived, and when it was complete. Highly recommended.
AlisonMor Posted on 13/07/2013 , work completed 13/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James was extremely efficient and helpful when I needed a small job done - replacing a chandelier with a new one I had bought. He also spent a long time locating an electrical fault that had been caused by a different company who were doing some refurbishments, and provided me with a report for them.
Taylor333 Posted on 03/07/2013 , work completed 03/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James installed an outdoor wall lantern for me, was going to do it myself but the wiring was on a spur and looked too complicated i.e. too many wires. He arrived at the agreed time and asked if he should remove his shoes on entering, a nice touch. A first class job at a very reasonable cost, he is a nice guy who knows his stuff, highly recommended
keiththompson Posted on 22/05/2013 , work completed 22/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful, conscientious,
sheila Banks Posted on 22/05/2013 , work completed 22/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James did a great job for me. Friendly, quick to respond and knew what he was doing. Reasonably priced too.
ruhemann Posted on 14/05/2013 , work completed 14/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James responded quickly, was very reasonably priced, installed two Dyson hand driers just as we wanted and was very friendly and helpful. A delight to work with; we'd use him again.
alanneverett Posted on 23/04/2013 , work completed 23/04/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted James to identify the problems caused by the tripping of electricity in the house. He investigated and checked all wiring for safe functioning. He pin pointed the fault and was able to restore the faulty socket and the electricity in the garden and shed, as well. I found James reliable, accommodating with our busy work schedule and very pleasant. I would use his services again
B Nurchi Posted on 30/03/2013 , work completed 30/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted 'Electric James' after seeing him reviewed on this site. He was super - came to install an oven - punctual, polite, efficient and competent. Will definitely use him again.
jsk101 Posted on 26/03/2013 , work completed 26/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Pleasant, efficient and competent
CREDHEAD Posted on 01/03/2013 , work completed 01/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used James twice. He is a very competant electrician, he turned up on time - even slightly early - on both occasions, he is cheerful, friendly, cooperative and not expensive. I would recommend him at any time.
Pangloss Posted on 24/02/2013 , work completed 24/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electric James came to fix sockets and ceiling rose. Helpful and efficient and I strongly recommend him
203182 Posted on 25/08/2012 , work completed 25/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending James who recently carried out some work for me. He fixed a problem and fitted a new light. He arrived promptly, was very pleasant and the cost was very reasonable. I would definately use his services again.
janetlp Posted on 19/06/2012 , work completed 19/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A great experience, James came out same day to give me a free quotation which was the most reasonable I received and was able to complete the job the next day. Very satisfied.
rlloyd1 Posted on 19/06/2012 , work completed 19/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found James via Which Local. The reviews were very good and he is the closest to where I live (NW6). I phoned on Friday; he came on Monday at 8:45 am. He is personable, knowledgeable and very, very nice. I was impressed with his reliability, friendliness and expertness.
profsr, London Posted on 12/03/2012 , work completed 12/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James was prompt, efficient, very competent and pleasant. Good rates and I would most certainly use again - and recommend to friends.
alnorton Posted on 06/03/2012 , work completed 06/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just like his card says, a good honest reliable electrician. We got several quotes to install an outside security light, and James was the best. He arrived when he said he would, had brought all the necessary supplies (detailed and included in his quote) and equipment, and finished the got with very little mess or disruption to us. He was polite, friendly and even took the time to help us set the light up after he installed it, saving us fiddling around with it and several trips up and down the ladder. With a toddler in the house, he made sure not to leave tools or materials lying around, and even made an extra effort to be quiet while she was having her nap. I would not hesitate in recommending James, and will certainly use him again in future.
julianmiezitis Posted on 18/01/2012 , work completed 18/01/2012