We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

EMS Stairlifts

Profile thumb logo which2
4.9

71 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

EMS was founded in 1988 and is one of the oldest and most established independent stairlift, through floor lift short rise lift and modular ramp distributors in the UK.

Our factory trained engineering team are available to carry out service and maintenance work on all types of disabled lifting equipment and we maintain a 24/7 emergency call out service.

Our Stairlift Centre in Baldock Hertfordshire is the only one of its type in the UK. It allows those seeking advice to see and try a wide range of stairlifts, through floor lifts and other equipment.
We supply new, reconditioned and rental straight stairlifts (from stock) and our wide range of curved stairlifts ensures that we can accommodate any staircase, including spiral and outside staircases.

Our range of domestic through floor lifts and short rise platform lifts up to 3 metres are all fully compliant with BS and European standards, as are our range of modular ramps platforms and step systems. These are also compliant with building regulations.

What we do

  • Disability and mobility

    • Access ramps - indoor and outdoor
    • Stairlifts
    • Home adaptations
    • Disabled Lifts
    • Rise and recline chairs
    • Stairlift Engineers
    • Step Lifts
    • Through Floor Lifts
  • More Services

    • 24hr service and repair

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
71 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Fitted stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our stairlift fitted today for my 93 year old mother in law. She is absolutely delighted that she will now be able to get up and downstairs so much easier. Alex the fitter was very professional and polite. He left everything so tidy and clean. He also spent time explaining how the lift worked and spent time talking to mum. Would highly recommend this company.
Jocelyne in Essex Posted on 31/08/2021 , work completed 31/08/2021
Excellent company thoroughly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cannot recommend this company highly enough. My elderly neighbour needed a stairlift and I contacted 3 different companies for quotes. EMS were local, extremely knowledgeable and had a showroom where my neighbour could try the stairlifts out. EMS were thorough in their survey and very competitive on price. My neighbour had to go into hospital and EMS arranged to fit the stairlift so it was ready for his return. The installers were polite, courteous and professional. They did an excellent job and cleared up before they left. The whole process from contacting the company to quotation to fitting was excellent.
Carol in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/06/2021 , work completed 23/06/2021
The trader replied (on 30/07/2021)
Hi Carol, Thank you for the fantastic review. We are really happy that we have met your expectations. Regards, Matt
Excellent Emergency Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am a full-time wheelchair user and rely on my Wessex through floor lift - bought from, installed & maintained by EMS lifts - to carry me in my wheelchair from the living room up into my bedroom at night.. (Having this lift improves my quality of living enormously, as it would have been a retrograde step to turn one of the two downstairs rooms into my bedroom & exclude me from access to 50% of the house)! At 10pm yesterday, ready to make my way to bed, I discovered my lift control was unable to bring the lift down from upstairs! A quick call to EMS 24/7 Service resulted in the Engineer's prompt arrival, the fault located and expertly rectified. The Engineer worked well within Covid-19 safety guidelines, wearing a mask & cleaning the lift inside and wherever the repair had necessitated his touching. I was extremely grateful for his expertise and for the out of hours service provided by your company. Five stars have been gladly awarded for this excellent service. Very many thanks to EMS Lifts and their Engineer! You have my complete confidence every time and one couldn't ask for better than that!
Ann in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/03/2021 , work completed 22/03/2021
The trader replied (on 31/03/2021)
Hello Ann, It's always nice to receive positive feedback. Thank you. Regards, Matt
excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thanks to EMS Lifts and Richard's meticulous measuring I have a fantastic chair lift that has changed my life. The care and attention that was taken to install this excellent piece of engineering, coping smoothly with five bends, was of the highest order. Thank you, David
David in Essex Posted on 25/03/2021 , work completed 18/11/2020
The trader replied (on 31/03/2021)
Hello David, Thank you for the kind words. I'll be sure to let all concerned know of your appreciation. Regards, Matt
Prompt and quality service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can’t recommend EMS highly enough. They came round to my house within 24 hours to take an initial look at the stairs and gave me a quote on the spot. I needed them to move quickly which they were willing and able to do. They then kept me updated when they said they would and worked hard to get me an early installation. I particularly liked that the first person I spoke to at EMS was the same person came round who I then had contact with throughout the process. And not a hint of a call centre or any form-filling before you spoke to someone about what you actually wanted. Thank you EMS!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 27/01/2021 , work completed 25/01/2021
Professional and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My mum needed a stairlift and after a lot of research and a couple of quotes we chose EMS. Richard Lord was very thorough and very accommodating in juggling the setup in order for my mum to keep her original handrail up the stairs which made her happy. He arrived during the pandemic wearing a face mask and sanitiser in order to carry out the measurements and discussions were held in the garden so as to adhere to social distancing guidelines. The stairlift was ready in the exact time quoted and then Alex was very helpful and knowledgeable during the installation process. I would highly recommend this company as they made the whole process very simple. Well done and thank you to everyone at EMS. Mum my loves her stairlift.
Customer in Essex Posted on 05/10/2020 , work completed 05/10/2020
Installation of Stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband was having trouble mounting the stairs and was subsequently taken into hospital for investigation. I considered a Stairlift would be the solution so contacted EMS. Their friendly General Sales Manager visited the next day, explained everything, and gave me a quote which I subsequently accepted. The lift was installed 3 days later. The engineer was a good conscientious worker, friendly and explained the mechanics to me very clearly. I am very satisfied with the service provided from beginning to end and am very happy that I chose EMS. Their prompt service enabled my husband to return home in the knowledge that the stairs were no longer a problem. Thank you EMS.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 27/05/2020 , work completed 18/05/2020
Excellent service and product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
EMS provided a chairlift for my in laws and were fantastic. Very professional no nonsense approach from sales to delivery. Very friendly and understanding staff and we could not be happier. Prices are very competitive and the whole thing was done on time and budget.
Bart, Essex Posted on 19/02/2020 , work completed 23/01/2020
Wonderful service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Salesman came to see us Friday - I then ordered stair lift on Monday which was fitted on Wednesday (Salesman to final fitting 5 days). Everyone I dealt with at the company was very friendly and pleasant, and the stair lift is brilliant - fitted to a very high standard. I would recommend EMS to anyone thinking of buying a stair lift and it was such a pleasure not having any high pressure sales pitch, just given a quote and advised to think about it or to visit the showroom if we wanted to. Excellent service from start to finish.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 30/10/2019 , work completed 30/10/2019
Highly recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had brilliant service from EMS Stairlifts from start to finish; Steve, who came to measure up at the outset, to Ian, who came to fit the stairlift. Everything about the stairlift was explained thoroughly, and Ian made sure I was fully competent with it before he left. I have no hesitation in recommending EMS to anybody else: I cannot praise them highly enough. Thank you so much to Steve, Ian, and the rest of the team.
Lesley, Grantham. October 2019. Posted on 06/10/2019 , work completed 03/10/2019
Courteous
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of a stair lift. Done completely as agreed. The installer was on time, courteous and cleaned and tidied when finished. Explained thoroughly the way in which the stair lift worked.
Keith, Bedfordshire Posted on 02/04/2019 , work completed 02/04/2019
excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had cause to complain because of a delay in the installation date, but this was handled immediately upon reflection to EMS and managed very well there after. If it was not for this issue the experience was otherwise excellent.
Charalambos, London Posted on 29/03/2019 , work completed 29/03/2019
Extremely professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed the stairlift fitting urgently. EMS responded quickly to our call and fitted in the same week! everyone at EMS is extremely professional.
Judy, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 24/01/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted my stairlift, very satisfied.
Raymond, Essex Posted on 21/01/2019 , work completed 21/01/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent personal service. Very quick setup of chair.
Jill, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with workmanship and professionalism of the workers who installed the stairlift. He attended on time and explained the working of the stairlift fully.
Ronald, Hertfordshire Posted on 11/01/2019 , work completed 11/01/2019
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time. They were very professional at installation, excellent. Customer service skills outstanding. Helpful and polite.
Michael, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/01/2019 , work completed 09/01/2019
Excellent, friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A really pleasant, friendly service. Very professional, excellent quality of work and very clear explanation of how to use the stairlift.
Raymond, Hertfordshire Posted on 20/11/2018 , work completed 20/11/2018
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the installation, took less time that thought. Engineer - polite and knowledgeable.
William, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/11/2018 , work completed 05/11/2018
Professional, reliable, excellent service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having paid a deposit for a stairlift with another company, we were let down three times on installation dates. We had a site visit from EMS then on a recommendation. Within three days the lift was ordered, installed and at a cheaper price! Excellent personal service from Matt and Kim prior to installation. This was then backed up by further excellent service by Paul on installation. Definitely a win-win for us! Thank you, EMS.
Evelyn, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/10/2018 , work completed 04/10/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
10/10.
Grace, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/09/2018 , work completed 29/09/2018
Excellent advice & work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lift fitted less than 2 weeks after initial enquiry. Very pleased with advice and the way the work was carried out.
Bruce, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/08/2018 , work completed 08/08/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended.
George, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/07/2018 , work completed 16/07/2018
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My stairlift was fitted by a first class fitter who did a clean and first class job.
John, Essex Posted on 11/07/2018 , work completed 11/07/2018
Friendly service & good workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recommended by a reliable source, they did not disappoint. Very friendly & helpful throughout. The CEO of this family-run business handled a couple of small contractual queries personally. Conscientious & did a good neat job. When gap opened to offer an early installation date it was offered as they knew the need was great. Have not experienced after-sales service yet so can't comment on that - but optimistic!
Alexandra, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/06/2018 , work completed 29/06/2018
Fantastic experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company were supportive and honest with us. The whole fitting start to finish took 10 days. Matt was great came to our home and measured and as mum was still in hospital was happy to visit her to complete all the details. The whole experience was easy. Everyone was so helpful.
Lorna, Hertfordshire Posted on 22/06/2018 , work completed 22/06/2018
A no hassle job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The least disruptive item I have ever had fitted. A friend recommended EMS I am so glad they did.
Peter, Cambridgeshire Posted on 08/06/2018 , work completed 08/06/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the service we have received, everything was on the time and date promised and the house was left clean. The engineer was friendly and explained how the lift worked and the work was finished in the time I was told it would take.
Ruth, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
A very good company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A friendly, polite and efficient company from top to bottom. The installation engineer arrived early and worked through until the job was completed. He cleaned up fully and gave very clear instructions on the use of the stair lift.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/04/2018 , work completed 13/04/2018
Very satisfying company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gave one confidence in making an expensive decision about at the start you know nothing. They had patience and didn't pressurise you. Their products were very great and a good range about which they explained and demonstrated in detail. Their staff and installers were very kind and excellent as was the stair lift they installed.
Donald, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/04/2018 , work completed 12/04/2018
Perfect job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, clean, tidy, polite, caring & quality job.
David, Bedfordshire Posted on 05/04/2018 , work completed 05/04/2018
Perfect job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time, clean, tidy, polite, caring & quality job.
David, Bedfordshire Posted on 05/04/2018 , work completed 05/04/2018
Great job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work carried out, very tidy and cleaned up after himself, I would highly recommend this company.
Pauline, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/03/2018 , work completed 27/03/2018
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
EMS were so very quick. All done within 4-5 working days. Mum is so pleased that she can back 'up' to her bed. Thank you EMS.
Mary, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/03/2018 , work completed 26/03/2018
Excellent job, well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was very prompt and very professional, friendly and knew what he was doing. Could not fault him in any department. Recommend him to all.
Alan, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/03/2018 , work completed 23/03/2018
Yes, Very Good, No Problem
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with all the services that we received from E.M.S. Stairlifts. The engineer was 1st class and very polite and helpful.
Doreen, Bedfordshire Posted on 12/03/2018 , work completed 12/03/2018
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From surveyors visit and discussion to installation this has proved a highly satisfactory job. Excellent product installed by two very competent young men.
Christopher, Cambridgeshire Posted on 08/03/2018 , work completed 08/03/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A job carried out in a professional manner.
John, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
Stairlift
Customer Service
Quality
Value
EMS provided a first class service from initial demonstration to fitting to an agreed schedule very pleased.
Trefor, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/02/2018 , work completed 16/02/2018
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
EMS turned up right on time and fitted the stairlift with no mess, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending them for their fast efficient service.
Isobel, Bedfordshire Posted on 15/02/2018 , work completed 15/02/2018
Well pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional, polite informed and clean.
Alan, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/02/2018 , work completed 08/02/2018
Prompt & Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned Saturday, met salesman Monday. Fitted Tuesday morning. Impressed.
Donald, Hertfordshire Posted on 06/02/2018 , work completed 06/02/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick, efficient installation. Pleasant, helpful engineer, Thrilled with stairlift - neat and not too intrusive.
Ronald S, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quick from ordering to fitting, very pleased with the service.
Barbara, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/12/2017 , work completed 12/12/2017
My review.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/12/2017 , work completed 04/12/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt tidy worker very nice person.
Leslie, Hertfordshire Posted on 03/12/2017 , work completed 03/12/2017
Excellent Job and Very Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional job with good information, excellent advice and very neat and tidy finish. Highly recommended.
David, Bedfordshire Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overall very good, on time, hard working and helpful. Installation left clean and tidy. Rubbish removed, thank you.
Edward, Hertfordshire Posted on 24/11/2017 , work completed 24/11/2017
Courteous and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The engineer called to inform me when he would arrive. He was courteous and polite on arrival. He explained what he was going to do and approx how long it would take. The engineer gave a professional service. I am happy to give my recommendation.
Sheila, London Posted on 23/11/2017 , work completed 23/11/2017
Great tidy job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nice presentation and work carried out by 2 polite chaps. Well worth the membership of which trusted traders
John, Cambridgeshire Posted on 17/11/2017 , work completed 17/11/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The engineer was very friendly, professional and explained the running of the stair lift.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/11/2017 , work completed 09/11/2017
Fantastic work done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service was fantastic from start to finish. The representative was very professional and the fitter was really good and made sure was understood how it all works.
Christopher, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/10/2017 , work completed 27/10/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A good well carried out job. No problems at all.
Georgina, Hertfordshire Posted on 11/10/2017 , work completed 11/10/2017
Couldn't be better
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They installed a stair lift for my mum. They were wonderful, helpful, informative and efficient. The lift arrived within the estimated arrival time and all the arrangements they made about payment and installation went exactly as planned. I highly recommend them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/10/2017 , work completed 06/10/2017
Professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service again by this company. Engineer was helpful and tidy.
Ron, Bedfordshire Posted on 06/10/2017 , work completed 06/10/2017
Brilliant, prompt, professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very pleasant engineer & efficient in every way. Explained the system carefully to my husband.
Helen, Hertfordshire Posted on 03/10/2017 , work completed 03/10/2017
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional
Rosa, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/09/2017 , work completed 25/09/2017
Outstanding work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have no hesitation in recommending EMS to anyone in need of a stairlift. Very professional in all areas.
Jacqueline, Essex Posted on 06/09/2017 , work completed 06/09/2017
Fast and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with our stairlift and the service received from EMS. Alex came to install the stairlift and worked quickly and efficiently. He was very friendly and helpful.
Mrs Carrington Posted on 30/08/2017 , work completed 30/08/2017
Efficient professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with our newly installed stair lift. Great service from start to finish.
Victor Posted on 21/08/2017 , work completed 21/08/2017
V. v. good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So far very very good.
Conway, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/08/2017 , work completed 19/08/2017
Better than expected.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Alex turned up promptly and worked quickly and quietly. After a couple of hours he asked me to have a trial run and told me about safety and operation. The whole experience was much better than expected and enables me to stay in my home.
Sally, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/07/2017 , work completed 04/07/2017
Prompt & efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We appreciate the efforts to install stairlift as early as possible. Installation efficiently programmed and engineered.
Alexander, Bedfordshire Posted on 28/06/2017 , work completed 28/06/2017
Well satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and efficient service.
Elizabeth, Hertfordshire Posted on 23/05/2017 , work completed 23/05/2017
100% recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After having a fairly hard sell from one national company, we got EMS around. Matt turned up an didn't try and push a sale at all. He simply gave us his opinion on what would be best for us and quoted a price. He then said give us a call if you want to proceed. No follow-up sales call at all. We did proceed and within five weeks Paul the fitter arrived. He worked quickly and thoroughly, and left the house very clear. Highly recommend.
G, Hertfordshire Posted on 19/05/2017 , work completed 19/05/2017
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first time the representative came to visit all was done very professionally. The worker who fitted the lift was polite & did an excellent job.
Brian, Hertfordshire Posted on 10/02/2017 , work completed 10/02/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. Fast efficient service.
Jean, Buckinghamshire Posted on 30/11/2016 , work completed 30/11/2016
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did a lovely job installing a standard stair lift in our house - we are very pleased with the result and it has made our lives a lot easier
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/09/2016 , work completed 28/09/2016
Helpful staff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They installed a stairlift for me and I have been very happy with the work completed. There have been no issues since its installation and it's all working perfectly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/09/2016 , work completed 22/09/2016
Delighted with the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
EMS Lifts installed a stairlift for me that went straight to my bedroom. I was absolutely delighted with the work that they completed and it has completely changed my life for the better.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/06/2016 , work completed 22/06/2016
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
EMS Lifts installed a curved stairlift for me in my property.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/01/2016 , work completed 13/01/2016