We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

English, Barrett & Gray

Profile thumb ebg.pictureof us copy
4.9

44 Reviews

About

Whether you are looking to give your home a brand new look, or simply refresh what already exists, then you need look no further. The most reliable, experienced team of women are here to turn your vision into reality.

We cover most areas of London inside the M25.

Please call us to discuss the updates you want to your home.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
  • More Services

    • wallpapering
    • specialised paint finishes

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
44 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
English Barrett and Gray have just painted the outside of our house. It was quite a difficult job as it is high, we have 2 colours on windows and there was wood rot in places. Despite that it was all very painless. They kept in touch with us very well beforehand and arrived when they said they would. They were prompt in the mornings and there were often 4 people working. The whole job took only 2 weeks including replacing chunks of window frame. The team were a pleasure to have around and the work looks to be very well done. The price was very reasonable. We have no hesitation in recommending them and will hopefully use them again for internal work
valos Posted on 09/05/2017 , work completed 09/05/2017
Delighted with their work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and co decorated walls, ceilings and woodwork in our hall, landing, living room and dining room. They were very personable, trustworthy and professional. Their prep was meticulous, the finish flawless and they kept regularly in contact with us around estimated start/finish dates and where there were choices to be made about how something could be done. We were delighted with their work and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
stephenr Posted on 02/02/2017 , work completed 02/02/2017
Quality work and fantastic team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Emily and the team made a difficult complete redecoration process very simple. All parts of the process have been carried out at a consistent high professional level. On site it was a pleasure to have the team in our home. Great service, great team and most importantly great decorators. I value the reviews on Which? Trusted traders after I have been let down by other review sites. Therefore I feel it important to add to the reviews when relevant. I would highly recommend English, Barrett & Gray.
Happy Customer Posted on 21/09/2016 , work completed 21/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team have just finished decorating our stairs and hallway. They arrived promptly and always cleared up when they left. They were very professional and have left a beautifully decorated hall and stairs. Emily's wallpapering in particular was of a very high standard. Highly recommended.
Anonymous Posted on 01/04/2016 , work completed 01/04/2016
Another satisfied customer..
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Penny, Emily & Emma did an excellent job redecorating our dark and shabby 2 storey hallway in our Victorian house. They were not phased by the idiosyncrasies and surprises that the old building threw up: to our delight we even discovered a false hardboard ceiling hiding the original Victorian cornicing. They happily brought this back to life and the whole hallway is now a much brighter and welcoming space. We were really pleased with the quality of work, nothing was too much trouble and they were a real pleasure to have around. I hope to get them back again for more work in the future and I would not hesitate recommending them to others.
Jenny B. Posted on 20/02/2016 , work completed 20/02/2016
Redecoration, N London
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Redecorated hall & stairs, and kitchen. Careful work. Excellent result. Nice people to have around. Punctual. Clean & tidy every night. Provide good advice. Very knowledgeable. Properly trained. Stairs always a disruptive job, so they put four people on it to minimise nuisance.
David P Posted on 25/01/2016 , work completed 25/01/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed with the painting and decorating work in my kitchen. The standard is high and the painter was professional, punctual, tidy and very pleasant.
Mary, London Posted on 11/01/2016 , work completed 11/01/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job and a pleasure to work with. Always very tolerant of my changing requirements! Totally trustworthy and also looked after the house (and my cats) while I was away. Recommended.
Mike, London Posted on 09/11/2015 , work completed 09/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and the English Barrett & Gray team recently painted the front of our house, all areas of the hallway and staircase, our bathroom, a bedroom, our kitchen, downstairs toilet, sitting room, front door and even made time to paint a cabinet that was looking very tatty but now looks good as new! All the rooms they worked in have been transformed and look absolutely fantastic. Everyone in the team worked quickly but diligently and all their work areas were left clean and tidy every evening, so all you have to do after a busy day at work is come home and admire the progress they have made. Emily and Penny in particular are helpful and knowledgeable about colours and finishes. They worked with me to select the right materials to ensure the very best result. My partner and I couldn't be more delighted and we will definitely use English Barrett & Gray again in the future.
SamuelC Posted on 04/11/2015 , work completed 04/11/2015
Work Carried out Sept 2015
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team provided a first class service in painting our exterior woodwork and an interior wall. The estimate was timely and accurate. We were kept updated on the progress of work and consulted when issues were found with rot. Solutions were offered that met our requirements and were completed with skill and care. The whole team worked incredibly hard and were professional and friendly, even receiving parcels when we were out! Most importantly the quality of the work was first class and the house left tidy at the end of every day. Excellent value and we would certainly use Emily again and recommend her to our friends.
salonso01 Posted on 18/10/2015 , work completed 18/10/2015