We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

English, Barrett & Gray

Logo on white
Profile thumb ebg.pictureof us copy

4.9

41 Reviews

About

Whether you are looking to give your home a brand new look, or simply refresh what already exists, then you need look no further. The most reliable, experienced team of women are here to turn your vision into reality.

Please call us to discuss the updates you want to your home.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
  • More Services

    • wallpapering
    • specialised paint finishes

Customer reviews

4.9
41 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Impeccably high standards
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used English, Barrett & Gray for painting work on numerous occasions. Every time they've been charming, helpful, punctual, professional, efficient, and most importantly of all, produced work of the highest standard. Emily, Emma and the rest of the team are top professionals. They care about the results, they care about quality, they care about process, and they care about the client. At all times we have felt listened to and supported, and the room they have just completed has been transformed from tired and shabby to glowing and beautiful in mere days. I cannot praise Emily and her colleagues more highly, and have no intention of using anybody else.
Customer in Greater London28/05/2019
Excellent work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything went very smoothly in the complete redecoration of our small flat, from our first meeting with Emily to obtain a quote to the end of the job, which came in on time and on budget. We let Penny and her team in on Monday morning and then left them to it. We had complete confidence in leaving them with our keys. Emily kept in touch during the work, pointing out a problem with one ceiling but then having a "can-do" attitude to sorting it out. We couldn't recommend this team of pleasant and skilful women more highly.
Customer in Greater London09/04/2019
Superseded expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Five people turned up on day 1 to start preparing and painting a hall and landings, kitchen and bathroom. Starting with Emily's visit and estimate, I was impressed by the professionalism and organisation of the team. Considerate, friendly and very skilled was my impression. A beautiful job done to a high standard..even extractor fans falling off walls unexpectedly did nothing to phase them! Regular updates regarding progress followed and I was kept well-informed about the details of the job. This team comes highly recommended and I was not disappointed.
Customer in Greater London29/01/2019
It does not get better than this
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We left Emily with our keys, went away, and expected every room of our flat to be repainted and perfect on our return. We were not disappointed. Emily and her colleagues are highly reliable and highly skilled. Their work is to the highest standard. You can confidently put yourselves in their hands.
Customer in Greater London22/01/2019
We can't recommend this team enough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team redecorated nearly the entire interior of our house and were very adaptive and flexible - even when I changed my choice of paint at the last minute. They worked around a full house of people and were very accommodating. The work was done to an incredibly high standard and Emily and the rest of the team were very communicative throughout the entire process - we knew when they were planning to finish one room and start on the next. The work was completed within budget and Emily was happy to do a few extra things for us when we asked. Most notably, the team was lovely to have around the house. It's not always the most pleasant thing to share your house with other people for several weeks but they were fantastic to have in the house - cheerful, friendly, punctual and respectful. They also took care every evening to ensure that the house was swept and hoovered. I can't recommend this team enough - fantastic decorators and lovely to have around. They book far in advance but are absolutely worth the wait.
kmhlondon07/11/2018
High quality, well priced work, punctually delivered
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team of four redecorated the exterior, front and back, of the house. We had a ten month wait for them but it was 100% worth it. They were punctual, well-organised and friendly, and worked quietly and cheerfully to a very high standard. They stayed within the budget, kept us informed of developments, cleaned up as they went along and left the site spotless. We would recommend them unreservedly.
Bussell01/10/2018
Exterior decoration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily, Emma, Penny and the team did a terrific job decorating the outside of my rather neglected Victorian terrace. They stuck to their time estimate and budget, kept me fully informed of developments and work throughout. They turned up on time, tidied up after themselves and were a joy to have around. Most of all they did an excellent job. I would highly recommend.
Victoria Phillips29/09/2018
Full of praise for this team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team redecorated our three flights of hall and stairs, and our kitchen. They were considerate, efficient and highly skilled. They came on time, finished the job on schedule. They were very happy to make changes when we decided we didn't like the first colour we had chosen - "we want you to be happy with it". Highly recommended and a pleasure to deal with.
Tufnell Parkers26/09/2018
Excellent work would definitely recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team did fantastic work decorating the outside of my house. They were also reliable, helpful and always kept me informed about what was going on. I would definitely use them again
Drinkwater22/07/2018
Excellent work and a friendly professional team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team have done a fantastic job in redecorating the exterior of our house, including windows, doors and masonry. They worked hard and coped with the very hot temperatures during the last two weeks with good humor . They remained cheerful and professional and were good company to have around . They were very thorough and we are so pleased with the results . We would definitely use them again and can wholeheartedly recommend them .
Penelope Jones12/07/2018
WORTH WAITING FOR THIS WONDERFUL TEAM
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very impressed by Emily's experienced team of women decorators. Our late Victorian house (1890's) in Hampstead needed exterior redecoration front and back of windows, doors and gutters. The job was reasonably priced and was completed on schedule. Emily and the team are considerate, punctual, efficient and fun. Our property was swept clean at the end of each day and all rubbish was removed. We asked Emily to do a few extra small on site jobs and she was very willing to do them. We booked Emily in September 2017 for our job which began in June 2018. The team are very busy and Emily kept on touch with us to say when she would begin. She coordinated with a good scaffold company with whom she regularly works. We will definitely recommend the team to others and will use them for our future decorating needs.
Fricker27/06/2018
Polite, tidy and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Interior house decoration all rooms. I was very happy with the standard of work and time keeping. Emily kept me informed at all times when work work start and finish. She was also very helpful in choosing colour schemes. I am very pleased with the work and would highly recommend.
Timb38919/06/2018
Quality and reliability
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were looking for a team who we could trust to decorate the outside of our house and do a good job. Emily was quick to reply, prompt and totally open about expected costs and timings etc. There are cheaper people out there but they aren't reliable and don't do a very good job. She was a pleasure to deal with and the ladies on the team were professional and friendly. The house looks great. The job came in on time and to budget. Highly recommended.
Luigi C04/06/2018
Very thorough and excellent standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her colleagues did a fantastic job redecorating our hallway and front room. The work was quite involved and included stripping wood chip paper from the ceiling, removing dado rails, repairing cracks and knocks in walls and woodwork, repairing lining paper, then painting all the walls, ceiling and doors. All work was undertaken with great attention to detail, producing a very high quality finish. They were very friendly and helpful, and Emily kept me updated on progress throughout the work. They were also very clean and tidy, which made the whole process less painful than we had envisaged. I would thoroughly recommend them, and will definitely use them again in the future.
Michael R18/03/2018
A very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily English and her team painted my hall, landings and bedroom ceiling and did a very good job. They came on time, worked hard and left everything tidy. They were also cheerful, friendly and pleasant to have around.
Elizabeth, London03/01/2018
Professional + Excellent Standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, cleaned up any mess, no issues if something pointed out. Very professional and will be employing them again. This is a women's co-op and I can't say what a pleasure it was to have them around. Issues are discussed
Adrienne, London30/07/2017
Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The E.B.G. team are the most professional, in both the quality of their work and their attitude, of all the decorators I have employed over the 30 years that I have lived in my house. They decorated the outside, rear of my Victorian North London home. Where there were problems Emily quickly identified them, explained various options available for resolving them and efficiently carried out the one we decided upon, charging a fair price for any that were not anticipated in the original quote. They arrived, worked and completed the job according to schedule. They are easy to engage and work with and I would choose them for any future work
Robert B28/07/2017
Excellent Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
English Barrett and Gray have just painted the outside of our house. It was quite a difficult job as it is high, we have 2 colours on windows and there was wood rot in places. Despite that it was all very painless. They kept in touch with us very well beforehand and arrived when they said they would. They were prompt in the mornings and there were often 4 people working. The whole job took only 2 weeks including replacing chunks of window frame. The team were a pleasure to have around and the work looks to be very well done. The price was very reasonable. We have no hesitation in recommending them and will hopefully use them again for internal work
valos09/05/2017
Delighted with their work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and co decorated walls, ceilings and woodwork in our hall, landing, living room and dining room. They were very personable, trustworthy and professional. Their prep was meticulous, the finish flawless and they kept regularly in contact with us around estimated start/finish dates and where there were choices to be made about how something could be done. We were delighted with their work and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.
stephenr02/02/2017
Quality work and fantastic team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Emily and the team made a difficult complete redecoration process very simple. All parts of the process have been carried out at a consistent high professional level. On site it was a pleasure to have the team in our home. Great service, great team and most importantly great decorators. I value the reviews on Which? Trusted traders after I have been let down by other review sites. Therefore I feel it important to add to the reviews when relevant. I would highly recommend English, Barrett & Gray.
Happy Customer21/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team have just finished decorating our stairs and hallway. They arrived promptly and always cleared up when they left. They were very professional and have left a beautifully decorated hall and stairs. Emily's wallpapering in particular was of a very high standard. Highly recommended.
Anonymous01/04/2016
Another satisfied customer..
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Penny, Emily & Emma did an excellent job redecorating our dark and shabby 2 storey hallway in our Victorian house. They were not phased by the idiosyncrasies and surprises that the old building threw up: to our delight we even discovered a false hardboard ceiling hiding the original Victorian cornicing. They happily brought this back to life and the whole hallway is now a much brighter and welcoming space. We were really pleased with the quality of work, nothing was too much trouble and they were a real pleasure to have around. I hope to get them back again for more work in the future and I would not hesitate recommending them to others.
Jenny B.20/02/2016
Redecoration, N London
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Redecorated hall & stairs, and kitchen. Careful work. Excellent result. Nice people to have around. Punctual. Clean & tidy every night. Provide good advice. Very knowledgeable. Properly trained. Stairs always a disruptive job, so they put four people on it to minimise nuisance.
David P25/01/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very impressed with the painting and decorating work in my kitchen. The standard is high and the painter was professional, punctual, tidy and very pleasant.
Mary, London11/01/2016
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job and a pleasure to work with. Always very tolerant of my changing requirements! Totally trustworthy and also looked after the house (and my cats) while I was away. Recommended.
Mike, London09/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and the English Barrett & Gray team recently painted the front of our house, all areas of the hallway and staircase, our bathroom, a bedroom, our kitchen, downstairs toilet, sitting room, front door and even made time to paint a cabinet that was looking very tatty but now looks good as new! All the rooms they worked in have been transformed and look absolutely fantastic. Everyone in the team worked quickly but diligently and all their work areas were left clean and tidy every evening, so all you have to do after a busy day at work is come home and admire the progress they have made. Emily and Penny in particular are helpful and knowledgeable about colours and finishes. They worked with me to select the right materials to ensure the very best result. My partner and I couldn't be more delighted and we will definitely use English Barrett & Gray again in the future.
SamuelC04/11/2015
Work Carried out Sept 2015
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team provided a first class service in painting our exterior woodwork and an interior wall. The estimate was timely and accurate. We were kept updated on the progress of work and consulted when issues were found with rot. Solutions were offered that met our requirements and were completed with skill and care. The whole team worked incredibly hard and were professional and friendly, even receiving parcels when we were out! Most importantly the quality of the work was first class and the house left tidy at the end of every day. Excellent value and we would certainly use Emily again and recommend her to our friends.
salonso0118/10/2015
Meticulous & reliable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
English, Barrett & Gray were professional, reliable, punctual and hard working. They were meticulous and methodical in their work, as well as approachable, knowledgeable, and offered suggestions when necessary. Their costs are slightly higher, but this is offset by the above. Very highly recommend!
Simon, London06/08/2015
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily, Emma and Shereen carried out work on the outside of our house to a very high standard. They were professional, trustworthy and punctual. We were also kept updated of their work progress on regularly basis which was really helpful and reassuring. We would not hesitate to use their services again in the future.
Jason and Helen25/04/2015
Professional, skilled and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily, Emma and Penny provided an outstanding service at our flat in North London we would recommend them wholeheartedly. The quote given was accurate and they kept to time. We are extremely pleased with the work finish. Thank you very much!
Fayewatton 19/03/2015
An excellent experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Penny is a highly professional decorator. She works to a very high standard. The finish of my room is superb and she was a real pleasure to have in my home; tidy, helpful and considerate. She and Emily provide an excellent service and I'm happy to recommend them to my friends.
Jane, London09/03/2015
Absolutely thrilled
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend English, Barrett & Gray highly enough. Professional, courteous, extremely high standard of work and a pleasure to deal with. I will be getting them back to paint the rest of the house. Truly deserve the trusted trader mark.
Sara, London01/03/2015
Professional as ever
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yet again English, Barret and Gray have done an excellent job. Their work is meticulous and of a high standard. They work quickly and efficiently and have no problems in 'going the extra mile' if needed. I have used them often and will do so again.
Gill, London10/02/2015
Reliable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the work completed - I will definitely use them again - Thank you!
Natasha, Surrey10/01/2015
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team were very thorough throughout the job and left the house tidy. Lovely to have around and trustworthy.
Charlotte, London12/09/2014
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This decorating team have done work for me many times over the years. They are professional, punctual and a pleasure to have around.
C, London09/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Penny and Sherine did an excellent job painting a newly plastered wall, a new banister, new window and door frames. Their work is very accurate and of a high standard. Highly recommended.
Fenice21/04/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently used Emily and Penny to strip, re-line and pain my hall and kitchen. They were very professional. They gave full, clear quotes and came back to me promptly. They always arrived when they said they would, left the house spotless and did a great job on the painting and decorating. They came back without question to follow up on a couple of bits and pieces and finished the job perfectly. I'd recommend them with complete confidence and will be using them again.
Kate2927/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When getting quotes for the extensive redecoration projects we wanted done to the inside of our flat, the majority of decorators either quoted exorbitantly or were simply put off by our ideas (which included painting the entry stairs, painting horizontal stripes in a nursery and meticulously placing dozens of vinyl decals on a tall landing). Emily was not only genuinely enthusiastic about our plans - and was able to provide great creative advice on how to bring these to life - but her prices were extremely clear and reasonable. Her and her team were a pleasure to have working around the flat and they finished each dayÍs work by leaving the home in a suitable overnight condition. Emily went above the call of duty on several occasions, including searching for the best paints and returning numerously to the flat in order to fit our schedule, which included welcoming a newborn. In hindsight, the projects we got done required a lot of painstaking hard work, attention to detail and patience - Emily proved to be a true professional both in skills and in attitude. She took real pride in her work and this conscientiousness has clearly paid off; the decoration has made a vast improvement to our flat. We were lucky to find her and will certainly use her again and are happy to recommend her without reservation.
wstuwilson12/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I could not be happier with Emily and her team. They did a fantastic job, exceeding my expectations.
Mark P19/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emily and her team provided a first-rate service. They kept us fully informed throughout the work and pay great attention to detail. They cleaned up every evening. Excellent value for money. We would wholeheartedly recommend them to others.
Which? Watcher04/02/2012