We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

F Smith & Son (Croydon) Ltd

Profile thumb untitled
4.9

77 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

What makes our traders different?

Removals is an industry that Which? Trusted Traders has a strong focus on reducing consumer detriment in, due to the nature of it's work / audience of customers. Which? Trusted Traders carries out due diligence on all our endorsed businesses, and we want our consumers to continue to make the right choices about the companies they choose to carry out jobs, especially with removal businesses. We have a useful article to let you know exactly what you can expect from our traders, find it under the 'advice' section of our website. Did you know Which? Trusted Traders work with a number of competent persons schemes to help raise standards within the home improvement and motoring sectors. For more information please check out our relationships page.

About

F. Smith & Son is a family run removal company that has been operating in South London since 1930.

We offer a personal and professional service within all sectors of the removal industry, with all our staff undergoing extensive training and CRB checks to give peace of mind that your goods are in safe hands. Every move no matter how large or small will have a foreman assigned, to sucessfully guide your move from beginning to end.

We offer a full range of Domestic and Commercial relocations within the UK and Worldwide.

Visit our website today for full details of all services offered.

www.fsmithandson.co.uk

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • International removals
    • Storage services
  • More Services

    • packing
    • materials
    • commercial services
    • crates

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
77 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having never used a removal company before, we decided to obtain 3 quotes. F J Smith was the first and from the word go I had decided this was the one! Steve came to give us a quote, he was extremely polite, courteous and very professional, explained the whole process and put our minds at rest. The quote was fair and competitive. All communications with the whole team before during and after the move were excellent and any queries resolved. Chris and Aiden came on the first day to pack, again very personable, professional, efficient and hard working. The day of the move could not have gone smoother, they arrived with 3 other members of the team to continue and finish packing and loading who were also great. On arrival at our new home, whilst waiting for us to arrive, socialised with the neighbours with tea and biscuits and then proceeded to unpack, put certain things where we needed them and left the boxes in the appropriate rooms. No damage done, our new carpets were protected, again all very polite, professional and hard working. They left us in our lovely new home, happy and contented. We would just like to say Chris managed the team and the whole move very well. We also appreciated the telephone call the following to check it had all gone to plan and by the way we found our box containing washing powder etc, as expected!! We have no hesitation in recommending F J Smith and Son for any further movers out there. Once again a very big thank you to you all.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 24/01/2020 , work completed 08/01/2020
Packing and moving
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and the team did an excellent job for us packing and moving us from Alexandra Road to Temple Road. The packing on the day before was super efficient and most of the packing and loading of the boxes and furniture completed in one day which we found impressive. The guys all turned up on time both days, early in fact on the first day, and again were efficient in moving the remainder of our belongs the morning of the move. They exceeded our expectations throughout by having us in the new house midday on the Thursday. This included stopping off at a storage lock up to pick up additional belongings. Throughout the process the guys were good humoured, professional and had a great attitude - nothing was too much trouble. I would have no hesitation in recommending F Smith and Son to others. I have experienced many moving companies over the years and they are the best in terms of service, value and efficiency.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/11/2019 , work completed 07/11/2019
Delivery of furniture
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very happy with the way this trader delivered my furniture and goods which had been in storage. The men were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. They put back together everything that needed to be and placed them where I indicated The work was completed quickly, efficiently and beyond my expectations.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/10/2019 , work completed 16/10/2019
Excellent, professional removal.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used F Smith & Sons for our removal and they were nothing but helpful and professional even to the last point when we were struggling to get access to the new home. Can’t recommend them highly enough, very please with the service.
Customer in Kent Posted on 18/10/2019 , work completed 17/10/2019
Excellent, Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service provided by Ian, Barry and Dylan meant that our house move was stress free (unlike other moves in the past). They arrived on time equipped with everything to ensure that both the property and our belongings (blankets for furniture, hanging rails, a few extra boxes) were protected throughout. Working with both care and speed, we were settled in our new property by mid afternoon. A really nice bunch of guys too who are professional movers with lots of experience. Thanks again to Ian for reassembling what is quite possibly the most awkward bed ever made. Highly recommended!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/09/2019 , work completed 19/09/2019
Fantastic company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can not recommend highly enough this brilliant company. From the moment they came to quote to the day our furniture came back from storage. The service has been first class. I can not fault them in any way.
Philip, Greater London Posted on 23/08/2019 , work completed 21/08/2019
A touch disappointed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used this company for a recent move. They were more expensive than other options but I was impressed with their representative who came over to provide the initial quote - specifically the level of attention and consideration they would employ. On the day the movers arrives promptly and were friendly and professional. I noticed that they were not employing everything I had been told they would - such as wrapping chest of drawers to keep drawers from opening - but trusted in their experience. After the move had been completed I noticed a few scratches here and there but, as I had forgotten to take pictures before the move, couldn't confirm it was as a result of the move. There was also a large crack in a window in my old property but again, I couldn't prove it was as a result of movers. The one thing I have contacted the company about is a missing plant. It went on the truck but never arrived at my new home. I have emailed several times and had only one response which was to question if it had actually been part of the move, when I confirmed it had I had no other response. It may seem a small thing but the plant had sentimental value and the fact the company has failed to even acknowledge my email let alone provide any form of apology is appalling. Would I recommend them? They were professional but I don't think they care as much about you as a customer and your belongings as they lead you to believe. For that reason, I would find it hard to use them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/08/2019 , work completed 05/08/2019
Moving made easy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the moment that I contacted F Smith & Son I felt in safe hands. I initially spoke with Steve who was friendly but, perhaps, more importantly, assured and professional. We were able to quickly schedule a time when he would visit and assess what would be required to move my furniture from my flat to my home. Very quickly thereafter I received a very competitive quote, which I was more than happy to accept. On the day of the move I was immediately put at ease by the knowledgeable team of three removers. The furniture was carefully taken out of the flat, down two flights of stairs, with the minimum of fuss. In no time all was packed up and we were ready to move. When we got to the house the team were extremely polite and helpful, taking each item to each particular room as requested. Part of the removal included the dismantling and reassembly of beds, which was done quickly and in a more than competent manner. The whole process was carried out in accordance with the agreed schedule for the sum quoted. What can often be an extremely stressful occasion was made pleasant and hassle free by all at F Smith & Son. Should the need arise, I will certainly be using F Smith & son again, and recommending them to all my friends.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/08/2019 , work completed 05/08/2019
Removals and storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently used F Smith & Son for our move from London to Bath. It is the second time they have moved us, and in between we’ve used their storage facilities. They are well priced, easy to communicate with and when it comes to the movers, they are brilliant - very considerate, hard working people.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 20/07/2019 , work completed 12/07/2019
Professional packing service & removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would like to thank everyone at F Smith & Son for the personal service provided for our house move from 4th to 6th July. Special thanks to Lorraine for great customer service and to the packing and removal crews Ian, Barry, Adrian, Michael and Connor. The team provided a personal and friendly service as well as being completely professional at all times. Nothing was too much trouble and they liaised with us throughout the move, particularly on any logistical problems that arose with movement and placement of furniture and packing boxes. We would not hesitate to recommend F Smith & Son to others looking for a first class packing and removal service.
Customer Posted on 15/07/2019 , work completed 06/07/2019