We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

F Smith & Son (Croydon) Ltd

Profile thumb untitled
4.9

72 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

F. Smith & Son is a family run removal company that has been operating in South London since 1930.

We offer a personal and professional service within all sectors of the removal industry, with all our staff undergoing extensive training and CRB checks to give peace of mind that your goods are in safe hands. Every move no matter how large or small will have a foreman assigned, to sucessfully guide your move from beginning to end.

We offer a full range of Domestic and Commercial relocations within the UK and Worldwide.

Visit our website today for full details of all services offered.

www.fsmithandson.co.uk

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • International removals
    • Storage services
  • More Services

    • packing
    • materials
    • commercial services
    • crates

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
72 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a comparatively small move, literally 2 streets away and not a huge amount of stuff (lots of boxes and a few heavy items). Smiths provided us with a very detailed well tailored quote which aimed to keep it economical for us to use a removal service rather than a man and a van. Obviously it would have been a bit cheaper to hire a man and a van, but with a tight completion to do we wanted a professional outfit who we could rely on. On the day the service was fantastic. The two removers were punctual and professional. They worked really hard and were really friendly and fun to chat with which really helped take the stress off the day. I'm really glad we went with Smiths and will recommend them in the future.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/02/2019 , work completed 01/02/2019
The trader replied (on 07/03/2019)
Thanks for your valued feedback. We're glad that we could be of assistance to you. As you say, we're dearer than a man and van service, however, our charges are aimed at delivering excellent service levels. Glad that you experienced this. From the team at F Smith & Son
Best removal firm I've ever used.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After a horrible few months dealing with conveyance solicitors we were both at our limit with the stress we could handle. F Smith and Son in no way added to it. In fact it was a relief to deal with someone involved in the moving process who actually were professionals. A great bunch of young guys turned up with a cheerful positive attitude and just got on with it. Can't praise them enough really. Don't hesitate just use this company. G Murphy.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 31/01/2019
The trader replied (on 07/03/2019)
Mr Murphy, thanks so much for your kind words. F Smith & Son has worked in the industry for over 80 years now and we know how stressful it is for clients in the lead up to exchange of contracts. Our aim is to make the physical move as stress-free as possible and do it with a smile on our faces. Thanks for moving with F Smith & Son.
House packing and Removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent Company, with nothing too much trouble and a very personal as well as professional service, from the management, operatives and office staff. I had packers in for 2 days beforehand and on the day 3 staff were careful and swift in loading and unloading to where I wanted things. They also removed a number of items of furniture separately to my daughter's home in Farnham. I would highly recommend F Smith & Sons.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 29/01/2019
The trader replied (on 07/03/2019)
Thanks for your feedback. We're glad that the experience met your expectations, we certainly strive to get the balance between personal and professional just right. All the best in your new home. From the team at F Smith & Son.
First Class - Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From Steve coming out to estimate for a move from South Croydon to the Isle of Wight, the office with their help on booking the changing provisional moving dates, to the actual move which took three days, the service received was first class. First day packing up smaller items, second day packing up the larger items, loading the van and transporting down, and third day unloading and placing items in required positions - the service given by this family run firm was friendly, polite and extremely professional - as said, first class. The men involved in the packing were extremely quick and efficient and Ian and Martin were a joy to have working for us in what can be a stressful time. This is a firm that is not only recommended for their work but also for a price that was very fair and reasonable.
Customer in Isle of Wight Posted on 29/01/2019 , work completed 16/01/2019
The trader replied (on 07/03/2019)
Thanks for your feedback. The upheaval of distance moving can take its toll on clients, which is why we aim to do everything with a smile on our faces and reduce those stress levels. We're glad that you found our service to be first class, we place a big emphasis on the planning of the move and the team all pulling together to deliver a personal service. Thanks for moving with F Smith & Son.
Best removal company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A friendly and professional service from start to finish. From the quote to packing and moving my furniture, nothing was too much bother and all the stress taken off me. I’d recommend them to anyone in a heartbeat. Everyone I dealt with was courteous and helpful. Thank you
Customer in Greater London Posted on 04/01/2019 , work completed 21/12/2018
The trader replied (on 07/03/2019)
Thanks for your feedback. We're so glad that the move was completed in a manner that met with your expectations. It's so nice to complete a job and know that you've done everything that you can for the client. Thanks for moving with F Smith & Son, from the whole team.
A great job - lovely people to have around.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company was fantastic. I liked Steve, who came to estimate. He was professional and I had confidence that they would do a good job. Our move took three days. They packed a huge truck on day 1 which disappeared until day 3 and another huge truck took and delivered to the new house on day 2, the day of completion. The main two guys, Adrian and Lee were great. This firm is an established well-oiled machine who know what they are doing whilst retaining the family business approach. I would recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/12/2018 , work completed 06/12/2018
Smooth move from first contact to final delivery
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smiths came recommended by friends. Our experience backs up the recommendations. All contacts with directors, office staff, and removal staff was professional and pleasant. Our constantly changing completion date was dealt with without fuss. Packing on Saturday was done very methodically and efficiently. On Monday our possessions were moved into a huge van and stored expertly by a team of four professionals with about 100 years removal experience between them. On Tuesday the van arrived in good time. Local experience help was hired. A team of two unloaded the van and put the goods on the lift. Another team of two emptied the lift and moved our stuff into our new flat. By about 1pm we were shaking hands with everything moved in. No breakages. No losses.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 06/12/2018 , work completed 27/11/2018
The trader replied (on 07/03/2019)
Your feedback is gratefully received. Our team is certainly very experienced and with that comes a service that you can rely upon. Distance moves can be quite stressful, which is why we aim to take as much of that away. Thanks for the team at F Smith & Son.
Blinding service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first to last the service provided has been excellent. The team packed our stuff very quickly to enable us plenty of time to travel to Bury St Edmunds on 26th,and unpacked equally as efficiently this end. Thanks to them and to Lorraine in the office who was always helpful especially considering we were novices to the whole procedure.
Customer in Suffolk Posted on 28/11/2018 , work completed 27/11/2018
Hassle free move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Smiths came recommended by to friends. Changes to our completion date were coped with without a problem. Packing, collection and delivery were done professionally. Hope we never move again, but if we did we would use Smiths.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 27/11/2018 , work completed 27/11/2018
Good communication, smooth removal into and out of storage
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would highly recommend. F smith and son were great. They made the process of having to move into storage much less stressful. Communication was great and issues were very quickly dealt with and resolved. Very friendly staff. Thank you!
Meadow Posted on 13/11/2018 , work completed 13/11/2018