We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Farthings Plumbing & Heating Limited

Profile thumb companylogo

4.6

178 Reviews

About

Farthings Plumbing and Heating Ltd. The Farthing Family has been serving Leicestershire since 1964.

Farthings time served qualified engineers are highly skilled and experienced in providing a plumbing and heating service that is 2nd to none taking the time to ensure a quality job every time.

Farthings are gas safe registered and Worcester BOSCH accredited installers.

Farthings offer free quotations on installation and servicing of boilers, central heating systems, solar heating and other energy efficient systems. All our gas and central heating specialists are qualified professionals who work solely for Farthings Plumbing and Heating. Our trained proffessionals make sure every job is done to the highest standard and that the location of work is clean and tidy after completion.

We are combination boiler specialists and offer boiler servicing and maintenance contracts along with a fault finding service.

What we do

  • Plumbers

  • Kitchen fitters

  • Bathroom fitters

  • More Services

    • tiling
    • plastering
    • carpentry
    • plumbing
    • heating
    • gas
    • fires

Customer reviews

4.6
178 reviews
Customer Service
4.7
Quality
4.7
Value
4.5
Sort by
Excellent service from design to completion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had used Farthings on a number of occasions but the last time was to refit our downstairs cloakroom. Farthings came and measured up and produced a plan which was perfect for the room. Once we had agreed to the plan the work was scheduled and completed without a hitch to a very good standard. Their showroom was a great source of inspiration as it contained lots of examples which made the choice of materials so much easier than trying to choose them online or from a catalogue. What was most pleasing is that the whole job was completed by the same person with no hanging around for different trades to complete specific aspects of the fit. The fitter was really good and did a lovely job from start to finish and kept us updated all through the fitting out. Would highly recommend Farthings and indeed we have further work which needs attention and we shan't be looking anywhere else.
Customer in Leicestershire Posted on 18/09/2020 , work completed 02/09/2020
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
During the installation of Worcester Bosch boiler and insuring work, 4 men attended. All were equally efficient to have working during this Covid period. Polite & helpful.
Felicity, Leicestershire Posted on 14/07/2020 , work completed 29/06/2020
Good job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings supplied and fitted a new bathroom for us 3 years ago. The service from start to finish was first class. Unfortunately, due to a leak from the loo the vanity units were damaged with water ingress. On the day of the leak after a phone call Farthings sent a plumber within the hour who identified the problem and made the loo safe. Due to the lock down they were not able to effect a repair but as soon as the lockdown was lifted they were able to order the parts and complete a full repair in 2 weeks. Pretty impressive given the circumstances. The bathroom now looks like new again. Excellent workmanship and very tidy workmen who respect your property. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Leicestershire Posted on 20/05/2020 , work completed 18/05/2020
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on due date/on time. Carried out work/every detail explained. Cleaned up after them. Was polite/courteous. Explained running of boiler also if we had a problem to contact company asap.
Lawrence, Leicestershire Posted on 09/03/2020 , work completed 09/03/2020
First class job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My combi boiler fitted by Ryan from Farthings is brilliant. The workman ship is first class, would recommend to anyone.
Gillian, Leicestershire Posted on 25/02/2020 , work completed 25/02/2020
Excellent work from Farthings.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of Worcester Boiler at a good price. Completely satisfied with all my dealings with the company & from the initial consultation to the initial installation by a highly qualified skilled plumber. Top marks are deserved.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 10/12/2019 , work completed 10/12/2019
Very Good Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with job and care was taken with carpets and cleaning up each day. It was a bathroom refit done by Farthings Station Road, Glenfield Leicester. Would definitely recommend.
Pam, Leicestershire Posted on 28/10/2019 , work completed 28/10/2019
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work.
Margaret, Leicestershire Posted on 14/10/2019 , work completed 14/10/2019
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class job. Brilliant workmanship of a very high standard. Would highly recommend.
Geoff, Leicestershire Posted on 09/09/2019 , work completed 09/09/2019
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent workmanship and customer service from the whole team.
G, Warwickshire Posted on 26/08/2019 , work completed 26/08/2019
Excellent and thorough job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have done numerous jobs for me, each done in a professional, quality manner. No hesitation in recommending them to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/08/2019 , work completed 21/08/2019
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, efficient service.
Susan, Leicestershire Posted on 09/08/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
Kitchen transformed into shower room/toilet/utility
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Big job. Lots of plumbing (new boiler), electrics (underfloor heating), brickwork, new windows and door, plastering, flooring, tiling etc. etc. etc. Very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and adaptable. Hard working and basically good at what they do. We're very pleased with the results and would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Leicestershire Posted on 17/07/2019 , work completed 04/07/2019
Professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings installed a new central heating boiler. They were on time, knowledgeable, clean & tidy, considerate, efficient from start to finish. A really professional company.
Paul, Leicestershire Posted on 26/06/2019 , work completed 26/06/2019
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good professional finish.
Paul, Leicestershire Posted on 24/06/2019 , work completed 24/06/2019
Not a great experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Farthings plumbers because the people that owned the house before me had some Farthings literature so I decided to call. The job was to fit a kitchen sink. The representative arrived and I showed him the sink which we took out of the box and he advised it would be no more than £80 + VAT which I thought was reasonable for providing a labour only service and gave him the go ahead The fitter arrived, did the job in 3 hours or so and left. A few days later, I received an invoice for £218.70. I called Farthings 4 times and someone said they'd get back to me but never did. I then eventually did get a call and the lady on the phone said she would send me a revised invoice. I received this and this was £188.70, a reduction because the fitter was waiting for materials or something. I have now written back disputing this and asking for a revised bill of £80 + vat. The letter that I received had no apology at all which was disappointing considering the time I have spent dealing with this. The sink was fitted adequately, however the fitter did forget to switch the tap isolator to the on position and I had to call him from the van, just as he was leaving to sort this out which he did. Furthermore, the blanking disc on the sink was not tightened properly and this is something I had to do myself.
Customer in Leicester Posted on 12/06/2019 , work completed 20/04/2019
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company's tradesmen were prompt, courteous & worked well. Gave helpful information before leaving. Cleaned up thoroughly when the installations were completed. Would certainly recommend them.
Hubert, Leicestershire Posted on 11/06/2019 , work completed 11/06/2019
Reliable and helpful - good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A reliable company who delivers what they say. They complete the work in the time it takes to do a good job - not in the shortest time possible. Able to ask questions, they explained the new boiler etc. well and took time to set it up and show how the controls worked etc.
Mel, Leicestershire Posted on 21/05/2019 , work completed 21/05/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent in every way.
Sheila, Leicestershire Posted on 07/05/2019 , work completed 07/05/2019
Excellent all round job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Farthings (again) for a boiler change. Turned up on time and did the job without fuss or hassle. Employs excellent tradesman. Quote was competitive. An efficient organisation, would use again.
Peter, Leicestershire Posted on 09/04/2019 , work completed 09/04/2019
Excellent workmanship and result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had the complete bathroom replaced. The work was carried out exactly as (and when) agreed to a very high standard and by a very pleasant team of workmen.
Andrew, Leicestershire Posted on 01/04/2019 , work completed 01/04/2019
First class work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A month long project undertaking professionally, on time, on budget with no defects.
Raymond, Leicestershire Posted on 11/03/2019 , work completed 11/03/2019
New shower and bathroom flooring
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Overall, the work was carried out very professionally and the finished job looks great. With hindsight, we would have liked greater clarity prior to the start of the work on what was entailed and how it would be done. We were disappointed with the company's initial response when the new shower did not work correctly and it was another week before this was resolved.
Customer in Leicestershire Posted on 04/02/2019 , work completed 31/01/2019
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings fitted a new Boiler and an emersion tank. They came on time and invoiced me for no more than was agreed. They were able to send 2-3 work persons to complete the work and take time to explain how they worked. Everyone was helpful and polite. When I 'thought' something may have gone wrong, a representative called in within the hour.
Jackie, Leicestershire Posted on 08/01/2019 , work completed 08/01/2019
Prompt time & professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company are very impressive and they are very helpful and they gave the right advice for the right boiler to be fitted. The boiler fitted is a Worcester Bosch 29 CDI. They are very professional and satisfactory job done in time. I personally can recommend anybody to go to this company.
Mohanlal, Leicestershire Posted on 17/12/2018 , work completed 17/12/2018
Requirements met
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Old (15 years) Worcester Bosch Greenstar kept faulting out. Cost of parts required against new boiler. Decided new - ordered 13/12 delivered 14/12 & fitted efficiently. Tuesday smell of gas - leak in pipe. Fitter rectified but failed to switch gas back on. Phone call directed how to regain gas supply! Screwdrivers required! Fingers crossed all ok with new boiler.
Richard, Leicestershire Posted on 14/12/2018 , work completed 14/12/2018
Brilliant!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came on time. New boiler fitted in one day, despite having to run piping further than expected. Polite, cleaned up, came back as explained.
Jane, Leicestershire Posted on 12/12/2018 , work completed 12/12/2018
New CH Boiler/Replacement of radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a new boiler installed end of August 2018 on an existing heating system. All went very well, good price, efficiently installed. Make sure you hide your toilet rolls and kitchen towels because the engineers aren't equipped with cleaning materials. A week after a radiator started leaking (due to age) and the nightmare began! They were supposed to send a written quote, when it didn't arrive I asked for verbal prices and was given them without VAT, and no mention that VAT was excluded. They also charge full manufacturers recommended retail prices for parts, when radiators can be bought at any plumbers merchant for almost half the price, including VAT. They also charged labour while the engineer waited for a second radiator to be delivered to my property. Invoice was £100 more than I expected. I complained, and after 2 months it was still not fully resolved to my satisfaction. They ignore letters and e-mails until chased by phone. It appears they give a good price for the boiler and then hammer you for any subsequent repairs. Finally resolved to my satisfaction on 14/11/18 after contacting Which Trusted Traders for assistance. I have used them on previous occasions without problem.
Customer in Leicestershire Posted on 28/11/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Igloo to hot house new boiler fitted.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company is not only excellent, the workforce is superb, they go out of their way to ensure customer satisfaction with minimum fuss and maximum satisfaction and professional workmanship.
John, Leicestershire Posted on 23/11/2018 , work completed 23/11/2018
Boiler repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After waiting over two weeks for plumbers to come round to fix our boiler but never turning up or contacting us i finally went to this company. The girls in the office were very friendly and helpful and said they would try to fit us in for the following Friday. True to their word, Wayne phoned before 9am on the Friday morning to check we were in as he was 10mins away. After checking the problem he had to phone around for a new PC Board. Whilst waiting, he went on another job. Not long after he phoned to say he had sourced the part and quoted a price. After the go ahead he returned later to repair the boiler. Polite, friendly and helpful. Thank you Wayne. Know were to come next time for reliable service.
J E Jarman Posted on 02/11/2018 , work completed 02/11/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Farthing on several occasions now and can state they provide an excellent service. We would have no hesitation in recommending this company.
Bruce, Leicestershire Posted on 15/10/2018 , work completed 15/10/2018
Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quality work, professional staff, excellent customer care.
Steve, Leicestershire Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings were prompt, polite, professional and completed the work quickly, with no mess! I will definitely use them again.
Claire, Leicestershire Posted on 24/09/2018 , work completed 24/09/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Farthings Ltd above average. The way they carried out all aspects of our new heating system and the respect for our house was very satisfactory.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 10/09/2018 , work completed 10/09/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am fully satisfied with the work by Farthings.
Narendra, Leicestershire Posted on 15/08/2018 , work completed 15/08/2018
Helpful & Friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My wife & I visited the showrooms & picked all the items we needed for the new bathroom & shower in one go.This saved a great deal of trouble & travel.The fitter ( Carl) could not have been more helpful,what with the weather being so so hot during the two weeks he was stripping out & fitting the complete bathroom & shower. The fact that Farthings fetch the rubbish each evening is , in my view a big plus. The standard of work was not an issue & Carl was ready each day to check with my "wife" if every thing was OK. I would be happy to recommend Farthings to anybody.
Colin Wagg Posted on 07/08/2018 , work completed 07/08/2018
Another great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've now used Farthings 3 times and they are my go to Plumbers. Fast. Reliable. Tidy. They do what they say they'll do.
Suzanne Posted on 10/07/2018 , work completed 10/07/2018
Very efficient, tidy and on budget
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings fitted a completely new boiler in less than 2 days. Very tidy, very little mess, even dust. All pipework looks secure and re-balanced the system so that parts of the underfloor heating network that hadn't worked for a while, now work! Couldn't be happier.
Adrian Duncan Posted on 27/06/2018 , work completed 27/06/2018
Better than the big boys.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted our bath taking out and a shower fitting together with wall cladding. The national firms that advertise heavily gave us horrendous quotes. Farthings quoted us less than half and included a vanity unit and a new higher lavatory and tiling. The fitter explained everything as he did the job and also replaced a faulty cockstop. No fuss, no bother, excellent.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
Brilliant, prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team liaised very well with me(the customer). Worked hard & were efficient.
Eileen, Leicestershire Posted on 18/06/2018 , work completed 18/06/2018
Job completed on time at agreed price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler replaced with minimum disruption. Very neat and tidy by courteous staff.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/05/2018 , work completed 29/05/2018
Boiler Installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was so impressed with Farthings, my boiler broke down they came out and installed a new boiler the next day as I had no heating or hot water, I am so impressed with the service from installation to customer service, thanks and I will recommend you to my friends and family
estelle Posted on 22/02/2018 , work completed 22/02/2018
Professional and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with the job quality and level of the service received. Quote was produced quickly, they turned up as planned, very clean and tidy in their work. A couple of issues cropped up which they had sorted out before we mentioned them. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Would recommend.
Janet, Leicestershire Posted on 19/02/2018 , work completed 19/02/2018
Amazing job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly professional, efficient with work carried out quickly and to a high standard. Would recommend to others.
Rebecca, Leicestershire Posted on 15/02/2018 , work completed 15/02/2018
Good job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job completed within the day. Pleasant lads. Worked quickly, quietly, and cleaned up well as they went along.
Andrew, Leicestershire Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I use this company for my boiler service which is why I choose them to refit my kitchen. Another solid and satisfactory piece of work.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 02/01/2018 , work completed 02/01/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job. Prompt and professional.
Mary, Leicestershire Posted on 19/10/2017 , work completed 19/10/2017
Efficient Friendly Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First used farthings to service our boiler when a previous plumber had let us down. Farthings are always fast and efficient and we have always been satisfied with their work.
Sue, Leicestershire Posted on 02/10/2017 , work completed 02/10/2017
Prompt and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt assessment of the leaking boiler. Good discussion of the options - replaced the part of a new boiler. Pleased with the installation.
Nicola, Leicestershire Posted on 22/09/2017 , work completed 22/09/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installation of replacement heating system
Carl, Leicestershire Posted on 18/09/2017 , work completed 18/09/2017
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Recent refurbishment of shower room. Really pleased with the result. Work carried out on time. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/09/2017 , work completed 12/09/2017
Professional, Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings fitted a new combi boiler for me. I got a first class professional job done and I am satisfied with it. Wayne the plumber was a brilliant plumber and very polite.
Dennis, Leicestershire Posted on 04/09/2017 , work completed 04/09/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant job
Keith, Leicestershire Posted on 29/08/2017 , work completed 29/08/2017
professional, quality work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, from site visit, competitive quote and then professional quality work at installation and commissioning of a new boiler.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 21/08/2017 , work completed 21/08/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the first meeting with the sales consultant to the engineer install, I found the company to be totally professional and knowledgeable. Highly recommended.
Anthony, Bedfordshire Posted on 14/08/2017 , work completed 14/08/2017
Reservations!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Several instances of delays due to non-delivery of materials resulted in work lasting longer than scheduled (frustrating!). Finished work was good, very satisfied!
Roger, Leicestershire Posted on 08/08/2017 , work completed 08/08/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Old boiler removed, new boiler installed - excellent work all round.
Marian, Leicestershire Posted on 01/08/2017 , work completed 01/08/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings installed a new heating system at our office in Braughton Astley. From quoting to final running of the heating system the company was friendly and professional. The guys who worked on the job were clean & tidy in their work and the piping was neat and straight. Good job.
Angela, Leicestershire Posted on 18/07/2017 , work completed 18/07/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, well mannered and tidy. Professionals carrying out a professional job.
Gillian, Leicestershire Posted on 17/07/2017 , work completed 17/07/2017
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant professional job done. Arrived when stated, undertaken in time given. No question unanswered
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/05/2017 , work completed 11/05/2017
Excellent Service always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Farthings for a variety of jobs e.g. central heating, tiling, installations etc. and have always found them to be totally reliable. Quality of workmanship always high and prices always good value.
Chris, Hertfordshire Posted on 08/05/2017 , work completed 08/05/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and efficient service, job well done, would recommend and use again.
Marion, Leicestershire Posted on 02/05/2017 , work completed 02/05/2017
Satisfactory job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job was done to my satisfaction. Did what they said they were going to do. Clean job, no mess.
Susan, Leicestershire Posted on 26/04/2017 , work completed 26/04/2017
All excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First rate work by dedicated and efficient tradespeople. Exactly as I requested. Definitely recommend to others.
Helen, Leicestershire Posted on 24/04/2017 , work completed 24/04/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly and clean & tidy. Well done.
Dorothy, Leicestershire Posted on 24/04/2017 , work completed 24/04/2017
Wet Room Conversion
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did a fantastic job converting our old bathroom into a fully functional wet room. The tradesmen were friendly,polite and cleaned up after themselves every day. Couldn't fault their work and would have no hesitation using them again or recommending them.
whichdoctor Posted on 08/04/2017 , work completed 08/04/2017
Excellent workmanship & management
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once the trader's quote was accepted, the company scheduled the work promptly. Work was of a high standard and solutions to problems were overcome swiftly & satisfactorily.
Melvyn, Leicestershire Posted on 03/04/2017 , work completed 03/04/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent.
Norman, Leicestershire Posted on 24/03/2017 , work completed 24/03/2017
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient service. Good & pleasant workmen. Clean & tidy.
Kathleen, Leicestershire Posted on 17/03/2017 , work completed 17/03/2017
A neat, professional installation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased. A neat, professional installation, done by a clean working tradesman.
Ian, Leicestershire Posted on 13/03/2017 , work completed 13/03/2017
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick to attend to problems, very efficient and seemingly well-organised.
Ronald, Leicestershire Posted on 07/03/2017 , work completed 07/03/2017
Boiler Reapir
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came to check on my faulty boiler before returning later in the day, to carry our the required maintenance at a fair price. Friendly to communicate with and efficient in their practice from my experience. Would certainly return to them with any future requirements.
SM1932 Posted on 21/02/2017 , work completed 21/02/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Farthings a satisfactory business and the flowers received afterwards were a lovely surprise.
Thelma, Leicestershire Posted on 21/02/2017 , work completed 21/02/2017
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good, installation of condensing boiler & pipe work. (Farthings of Leicester). Complete flushing and chemical fill. Gas and Co2 checked out.
Christopher, Leicestershire Posted on 09/02/2017 , work completed 09/02/2017
Bathroom refit - excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We chose Farthings to refit our bathroom based on customer reviews and were very impressed with their service from the initial contact to completion of the job. They arrived at the appointed time and provided a detailed, itemised quotation at a reasonable price; they were helpful in choosing furniture and sanitary ware and liased with our tile suppliers. The fitters arrived promptly every day and worked in a highly professional way, tidying up every evening; nothing was too much trouble for them; any issues were dealt with and resolved practically without fuss. The job was completed on time and we now have a lovely new bathroom, a quality finish. Farthings also provided a detailed, itemised invoice in line with their original quotation and then sent flowers by way of thanks! All in all an excellent company to work with and we would definitely use them again.
Robmet Posted on 02/02/2017 , work completed 02/02/2017
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quality of work was excellent. The bathroom looks great and functions well. Tradesman was skilled, efficient and polite. Overall, very satisfied.
Harry, Leicestershire Posted on 30/01/2017 , work completed 30/01/2017
Very reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
East to get in touch with. Someone always answers the phone. Came when they said they would. Arrived promptly. Job completed in a short time.
Michael, Leicestershire Posted on 06/01/2017 , work completed 06/01/2017
Good job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job done by Farthing. Arrived on time, fitted main boiler in day and tested & paper work helpful with invoice and payment.
Michael, Leicestershire Posted on 05/01/2017 , work completed 05/01/2017
Excellent swift service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our old back boiler began to leak early in December. Within a day an engineer called to assess the situation. By 21st of the month a new boiler was fitted. All work was carried out swiftly and with a minimum of disruption or mess. All of the staff were highly professional and competent.
Paul, Leicestershire Posted on 21/12/2016 , work completed 21/12/2016
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was let down by another company. I contacted Farthing Plumbing & Heating and they came the next day at lunch time at the time arranged. He assessed the job and emailed me the quote by 8am the next day. I accepted on the condition that the job was done as soon as possible due to my wife's disability. Work was arranged for Tuesday morning and would take 1 and a half days to complete. The engineer came at 8.30, the old boiler was removed and the new one installed and was up and running by 1.30 that day, which is very good in my book. His engineer then carried on with various other jobs, such as flushing out radiators etc. and by lunchtime the next day, the boiler was commissioned and the other jobs completed. I was very pleased with the outcome and to top it all, a lovely bouquet of flowers arrived for my wife on Saturday morning with a card saying with compliments from all the team at Farthing (what more can I say). I shall be giving Farthing the service contract in the new year, then I will have peace of mind that the job will be done right.
Kenneth, Leicestershire Posted on 13/12/2016 , work completed 13/12/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job.
Robert, Leicestershire Posted on 09/12/2016 , work completed 09/12/2016
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job when completed.
Audrey, Leicestershire Posted on 05/12/2016 , work completed 05/12/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Start and completed work on time. Tidy and clean working. Clear explanation.
Russell, Leicestershire Posted on 01/12/2016 , work completed 01/12/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with new boiler that was fitted. Fitter's were very efficient and worked very cleanly, would highly recommend to anyone.
William, Leicestershire Posted on 14/11/2016 , work completed 14/11/2016
Very, very professional. Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company was very good, staff all polite and very efficient. A job well done.
James, Leicestershire Posted on 11/11/2016 , work completed 11/11/2016
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings are a very professional, organised company. The engineer was very polite, efficient and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We are very pleased with our new boiler.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 09/11/2016 , work completed 09/11/2016
Great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can honestly say that from quotation stage, where everything was explained, to fitting and completion, it was a really good job. I am slightly disabled, and the guys were really helpful, moved things, put them back, never complained, were very polite.
Theresa, Leicestershire Posted on 08/11/2016 , work completed 08/11/2016
Brilliant job. Worked hard.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very neat & tidy workers. So pleased with the work done.
Harold Joseph, Leicestershire Posted on 07/11/2016 , work completed 07/11/2016
100% satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What is there to say after giving top ratings? I was truly surprised with speed of response. Cannot over praise service or engineer's work
John, Leicestershire Posted on 03/11/2016 , work completed 03/11/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Job well done
James, Leicestershire Posted on 01/11/2016 , work completed 01/11/2016
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was impressed and will certainly use them again. I will have no hesitation in recommending Farthings.
Geoff, Leicestershire Posted on 24/10/2016 , work completed 24/10/2016
New boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very satisfied with the standard of work, very efficient, helpful and polite workers, left everywhere clean and tidy. Excellent service by Farthings.
Pamela, Leicestershire Posted on 21/10/2016 , work completed 21/10/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had to cancel first contract, due to my husbands illness, prompt return of our deposit. After his death, I reordered work by phone - altered my changes with showers and completed job in 1 week some 3 weeks after that phone call no complaints - clean professional helpful all the way.
Margaret, Leicestershire Posted on 10/10/2016 , work completed 10/10/2016
Heating is amazing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly skilled, courteous, on time, clean after each day. Boiler is everything as promised, heating is amazing, as advised it would be.
Alan, Leicestershire Posted on 22/09/2016 , work completed 22/09/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have no hesitation in recommending this very friendly firm. On taking the old boiler out they explained everything they were doing and why alterations were needed on the outside. The final bill was exactly the same as the quote. They also did a very good job at cleaning up afterwards.
Patricia, Leicestershire Posted on 20/09/2016 , work completed 20/09/2016
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was completed as quickly as I expected. The price was best of three quotes & the longest guarantee was offered.
Peter, Leicestershire Posted on 19/09/2016 , work completed 19/09/2016
Installation of toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service & excellent workmanship.
Leslie, Leicestershire Posted on 12/09/2016 , work completed 12/09/2016
Brilliant job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitter arrived on time and left us very happy with the job. Nice and neat and cleaned up on completion.
John, Leicestershire Posted on 08/09/2016 , work completed 08/09/2016
Prompt And Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Will constantly use them again clean & tidy, no mess, will recommend & good work
Colin, Leicestershire Posted on 05/09/2016 , work completed 05/09/2016
Hardworking team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were treated with great courtesy and our requirements met completely. Quote was comprehensive which we appreciated, and very prompt. The team, headed by Leon, were ready for work before time and were superb. We are delighted with our new boiler, with the workmanship and with the company.
Mary, Leicestershire Posted on 30/08/2016 , work completed 30/08/2016
Brilliant job, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work carried out was done in a very professional manner and the work people were polite and most helpful. I would recommend them to anyone.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 08/08/2016 , work completed 08/08/2016
Damaged my property
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings damaged my highly polished and expensive chrome shower whilst replacing a thermostatic cartridge ten days ago. The engineer did not deny he had to my wife. We reported the damage to their office and customer services and was told Paul Farthing a Director of the company would call back within two hours, he didn't nor the next day either. More than a week and a dozen calls later with me promising to visit their office to deal with it in person I finally receive a call to advise me the engineer denies causing any damage and I must have damaged it myself. I feel that this company is thoroughly untrustworthy in its approach, actions, and promises. They have lied to me and my wife for more than ten days and over a total of 20 calls made to them. I have been left with no option but to take them to court to recover my loss. Please do not make the same mistake I have, but as a principled person I refuse to be ripped off and will not be on this matter. RJ Weir 5/08/2016
jeffweir Posted on 05/08/2016 , work completed 05/08/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company gave information and advice to help me decide which system to have installed. The installation process was quick, clean, efficiently done to a good standard. I think the whole team worked really hard to complete my installation in 3 days. I am very pleased.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 04/08/2016 , work completed 04/08/2016
Great teamwork
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great teamwork, and attention to detail. The room has exceeded our expectations!
Happy Customer Posted on 01/08/2016 , work completed 01/08/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very pleased with what has been done.
A W, Leicestershire Posted on 24/07/2016 , work completed 24/07/2016
Great work/Finished job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Went on holiday & left them to it. Back to find all done & cleaned up after themselves. No mess, no problems just a smashing new bathroom.
Karen, Leicestershire Posted on 19/07/2016 , work completed 19/07/2016
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Installed a new boiler quickly and efficiently. The office staff are also very efficient and helpful.
2011-04-10 14:13:33.313 Posted on 18/07/2016 , work completed 18/07/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon arrived at the time promised each day & was always polite & caring. He explained each stage of the work and warned us if it was going to be noisy. He kept the area surrounding the work as clean as possible and left everything tidy each day. We are very satisfied with the completed work and would use the firm again.
Maureen, Leicestershire Posted on 04/07/2016 , work completed 04/07/2016
Professional job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our new boiler was installed promptly and efficiently. All debris cleared away and house left clean by pleasant professional staff.
Richard, Leicestershire Posted on 29/06/2016 , work completed 29/06/2016
Brilliant job, so professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had plans for extension with box shower. A casual mention to a Farthings man whilst servicing boiler led us to speak to Darryl F. He project managed the build on our behalf using contractor he knew and the firm did the inside works. All to a very high standard. Any snags sorted yesterday! We are very satisfied that the work has come in under quote and the service throughout was A! Feel that can trust all 1/4d man in the house alone if we have to go out, and they clean-up well after themselves and do not abuse refreshment facilities that you leave for them. Contact/co-ordination was A1 and arrival times/plans adhered to.
Lynda, Leicestershire Posted on 29/06/2016 , work completed 29/06/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our workman arrived promptly, worked hard and was pleasant to have around. He did a good job and Farthings were also helpful.
Susan, Leicestershire Posted on 27/06/2016 , work completed 27/06/2016
Prompt and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional. Carried work out. Clean and quick. Friendly and quickly kept to time allocated.
Barry, Leicestershire Posted on 16/06/2016 , work completed 16/06/2016
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The team that came out to fit & check out boiler were polite. Professional & did a great job. We will be using Farthings for our yearly checks for sure.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Disappointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company for several years but they seem to have deteriorated recently. I have experienced work done poorly (a new tap fitted that now moves and leaks), work incomplete (a pipe through a wall with an empty promise of returning to cement it in), work forgotten (an emergency call about a leak which I had to chase for a plumber to arrive two days later) and an admission that plumbers cannot arrive for previously agreed times (in this case over three hours late and no phone call to inform me of the delay). I have taken these issues up with the company owner with no satisfactory outcome.
Robin Vallance Posted on 12/05/2016 , work completed 12/05/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very professional job from quoting through to completion. I found that all of Farthings staff to be courteous and professional in their manner. The boiler they recommended, supplied and fitted is great and I believe one of the best makes on the market.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 11/04/2016 , work completed 11/04/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would always recommend Farthings because they are the best services that I received from a company and I have tried several.
Rosalind, Leicestershire Posted on 05/04/2016 , work completed 05/04/2016
Excellent As Usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quite extensive work was carried out over 4 days, it was completed as quickly as possible & entirely to our satisfaction. The work was done efficiently & cleaned up very well.
Mikted Posted on 24/03/2016 , work completed 24/03/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good trust worthy company used them to do our bathrooms and completed to high standard.
Nigel, Leicestershire Posted on 18/03/2016 , work completed 18/03/2016
Good job - clean - friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The two workmen were both very friendly and tidy. They seemed very efficient at what they were doing and gave me confidence that they were doing a good job. The job overran and they came back the following day, but the quote remained the same - very good.
Richard, Leicestershire Posted on 07/03/2016 , work completed 07/03/2016
Very professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was impressed with the work carried out. The plumber should be real proud of his work.
Daphne, Leicestershire Posted on 07/03/2016 , work completed 07/03/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A new boiler was fitted which necessitated in extra pipework being fitted which was efficiently carried out.
George, Leicestershire Posted on 25/01/2016 , work completed 25/01/2016
Prompt, excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked for an early date because of my wife's forthcoming operation. The date was met, the work clean and efficient.
Philip, Leicestershire Posted on 14/01/2016 , work completed 14/01/2016
1st Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2nd time I have used Farthings clean and tidy job would recommend to anyone.
Christopher, Leicestershire Posted on 13/01/2016 , work completed 13/01/2016
Excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with the excellent service given. Would definitely recommend and certainly use them again.
Jean, Leicestershire Posted on 07/12/2015 , work completed 07/12/2015
Fantastic
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt service, very helpful and explained everything. I have no hesitation in recommending this company to anyone. Workman very thoughtful and caring, went out of his way to make sure we didn't go without heating and hot water.
Victor, Leicestershire Posted on 05/12/2015 , work completed 05/12/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job. Men very accommodating, cheerful and on time. Cleaned away all rubbish. Nothing to much trouble. Very satisfied.
Marion, Leicestershire Posted on 30/11/2015 , work completed 30/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would recommend them
Victor, Leicestershire Posted on 25/11/2015 , work completed 25/11/2015
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a total refurbishment of our bathroom which meant a lot of pipework needed to be done. Farthings made a fantastic job from start to finish and most important for us it was hassle free.
Monica, Leicestershire Posted on 16/11/2015 , work completed 16/11/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended. Impressed. Recommending
Robert, Leicestershire Posted on 12/11/2015 , work completed 12/11/2015
Would not use this company again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Service supplied was not carried out with reasonable care and skill. My two letters of complaints were ignored only my brother-in-law got involved, Did they come out to rectify the problems. Its took three months to resolve the issues. Which should have only been a days job.
Joy, Leicestershire Posted on 10/11/2015 , work completed 10/11/2015
First class professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Old boiler removed and new one installed with minimum mess or intrusion. Would use this company again.
Clive, Leicestershire Posted on 09/11/2015 , work completed 09/11/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler straight from manufacturer - but timer not checked for clearance to nil, prior to installation. Easy mistake! All ok after call out. Well done.
Kenneth, Leicestershire Posted on 02/11/2015 , work completed 02/11/2015
Satisfactory
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Boiler fitter in less time than expected. Boiler working well. Installer neglected to fill in the commissioning checklist in the commissioning and servicing instruction booklet
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/10/2015 , work completed 15/10/2015
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bathroom refurb. Really excellent work with attention to detail.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 12/10/2015 , work completed 12/10/2015
First class job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thoroughly professional en-suite refit, pleasant and conscientious fitters. A very clean & tidy job.
Maynard, Leicestershire Posted on 12/10/2015 , work completed 12/10/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Shower broke, Farthings came to check if fixable, prompt, helpful. Returned when they said they would, replaced broken unit. Have used them before, and would use them again.
J, Leicestershire Posted on 08/10/2015 , work completed 08/10/2015
Good job, reliable pleasant. Well done.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always quick, reliable, pleasant and fastidious. Reasonably price, highly recommended. Never any problems left unsolved.
Edward, Leicestershire Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional & thorough
Phillip, Leicestershire Posted on 28/09/2015 , work completed 28/09/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/09/2015 , work completed 11/09/2015
Efficient, thorough, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Farthings provided a competitive quotation, arrived to do the job on time and completed the boiler replacement a day early, I would certainly recommend them and will set up a service contract. The men working on the job were Peter and Paul - surname not known.
Roderick, Leicestershire Posted on 25/08/2015 , work completed 25/08/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional
Christina Margaret, Leicestershire Posted on 24/08/2015 , work completed 24/08/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good all-round work. Perfectly happy with work and attitude of gitter. Pricy yet good quality.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 17/08/2015 , work completed 17/08/2015
Fantastic in every way.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, personable, informative, professional. Laid dust sheets before an cleaned up after work. Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this company.
T M, Leicestershire Posted on 10/08/2015 , work completed 10/08/2015
Quickly resolved
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A quick & friendly response to solving a washer problem on an old & fragile bathroom tap. Reliable service as usual.
Nicola, Leicestershire Posted on 05/08/2015 , work completed 05/08/2015
Extremely professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Plumber, Paul, was extremely professional. Very considerate regarding potential mess & damage. Didn't cause either. Have used Farthings before & they are still 1st call for plumbing/heating work.
Philip, Leicestershire Posted on 04/08/2015 , work completed 04/08/2015
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional quotation a job well done at time stated.
Philip, Leicestershire Posted on 23/07/2015 , work completed 23/07/2015
Excellent as always.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used this company regularly over the years and have always found them to be reliable. They turn up when they say they will, explain what the job involves and generally do an excellent job which is good value for money. I wouldn't consider anybody else for plumbing and heating work.
Chris, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/07/2015 , work completed 09/07/2015
Professional, efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job done. Full quotation and queries answered. Good liaison with tile supplier. Phone always answered quickly and professionally. Queries dealt with carefully. Polite staff. A very good firm.
Patrick, Leicestershire Posted on 07/07/2015 , work completed 07/07/2015
Replacement of boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The plumbers were courteous and kind. They did a brilliant job putting the new boiler in a difficult location in the loft without complaint. Left everything clean and tidy.
Elizabeth, Leicestershire Posted on 06/07/2015 , work completed 06/07/2015
Brilliant job and prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The title and rating, says it all.
Margaret, Leicestershire Posted on 01/07/2015 , work completed 01/07/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did a good job.
Michael, Leicestershire Posted on 29/06/2015 , work completed 29/06/2015
Efficient and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They were prompt, punctual, efficient and professional. They tidied up, took away all the rubbish, and were respectful of my home. This is the second big job they have done for me and I have already recommended them to friends.
Valerie, Leicestershire Posted on 08/06/2015 , work completed 08/06/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was done very professionally to a high standard. Workman were tidy, courteous and very helpful.
John, Leicestershire Posted on 01/06/2015 , work completed 01/06/2015
Brilliant, prompt, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased on all counts
Alan, Leicestershire Posted on 16/01/2015 , work completed 16/01/2015
A company to trust
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish; the quote and the work; were carried out on time and with our interests at heart. The team completed the installation of the new boiler with the minimum of fuss and the minimum of mess. There was a problem, after about a week, with the boiler, but this was dealt with within hours and the outcome was a visit and repair, within an agreed time by the Worcester Bosch engineer, to the boiler under their guarantee.
Richard Posted on 06/01/2015 , work completed 06/01/2015
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Well trained plumbers. Quick - efficient and tidy. Well mannered from apprentice to qualified staff. Good result - very satisfied.
Susan, Leicestershire Posted on 15/12/2014 , work completed 15/12/2014
Very prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having had a boiler breakdown I thought that it would be unlikely that Farthings would be able to fit a new boiler before Christmas. However they pulled out all the stops & fitted the new boiler the next day. Fantastic service.
Cliff, Leicestershire Posted on 12/12/2014 , work completed 12/12/2014
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very, very pleased.
John, Leicestershire Posted on 10/12/2014 , work completed 10/12/2014
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clean, tidy, efficient job. Everywhere cleaned before leaving. Would certainly recommend & use them again.
Maureen, Leicestershire Posted on 08/12/2014 , work completed 08/12/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt & professional
Christina, Leicestershire Posted on 08/12/2014 , work completed 08/12/2014
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Competitive quote given, work done on time and so far very satisfied with boiler operation
Charles, Leicestershire Posted on 06/10/2014 , work completed 06/10/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable quality work
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/10/2014 , work completed 03/10/2014
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very pleased with the service we got in every aspect of the work. Nothing was too much trouble for the engineers who worked for us
Stephen, Leicestershire Posted on 02/10/2014 , work completed 02/10/2014
Plumbing perfection
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, polite, went the extra mile. Kept our wishes in mind at all times. Could not have wished for a better job. Thank you Farthings.
Donald, Leicestershire Posted on 01/10/2014 , work completed 01/10/2014
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New boiler - on time, clean, efficient & friendly. Would recommend
Janet, Leicestershire Posted on 18/09/2014 , work completed 18/09/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class job
E F, Leicestershire Posted on 15/09/2014 , work completed 15/09/2014
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service, no hesitation in using again or recommending. Impressed with how clean they kept everywhere.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 12/09/2014 , work completed 12/09/2014
Boiler & radiator installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Old floor standing, Worcester/Bosch Boiler removed together with all radiators, New Worcester/Bosch 38 CDI Boiler installed & radiators, work was carried out efficiently & cleanly with careful attention to decor. Engineer was thorough & worked to a high standard, any requests from me were acted upon. A very satisfactory installation. Recommended
Kenneth, Leicestershire Posted on 02/09/2014 , work completed 02/09/2014
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Well priced for an excellent job. Have used Farthings to fit a new bathroom suite/shower/tiling in the past. This time for a replacement system boiler. Quick & tidy work, completed on time, good problem solving. Highly recommend.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 01/09/2014 , work completed 01/09/2014
Some reservations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Communication seems to be an issue! Work completed before an estimate even sent, never mind accepted! Delays in generating and sending estimates architraving poor or unfinished quality. First estimate did not include compulsory items totalling nearly
Sarah, Leicestershire Posted on 30/08/2014 , work completed 30/08/2014
Excellent job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New downstairs toilet fitted & new programmer fitted to central heating. New lights fitted in bathroom & boiler serviced. All work carried out by a professional team of friendly workers. Will use them again.
David, Leicestershire Posted on 18/08/2014 , work completed 18/08/2014
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived when booked, did a good, clean and efficient job as requested.
Terence, Leicestershire Posted on 14/08/2014 , work completed 14/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I phoned Farthings at short notice for a boiler service and despite the busy time of year I was given an appointment on the day I needed. The service was completed quickly and efficiently and I will not hesitate to use them next time.
etdjyhfgjv Posted on 13/11/2012 , work completed 13/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would not touch this company with a barge-pole. As a vendor of an empty property I encountered this company when they came to undertake a central heating check. The system had been shut down for some time, and the water turned off. The outcome of their inspection was that they could not get the boiler to fire up, the PCB needed replacing at around £280 plus fitting charge, and in their experience there were likely to be other problems. Following this visit my brother visited the property, turned the water on to fill the system, and the boiler fired up with no difficulty. Everything appeared to be working fine. Clearly this was total incompetence on the part of the company and I wonder how many others have suffered unnecessary expenditure.
Forester Posted on 20/07/2012 , work completed 20/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The boiler installation was carried out speedily and efficiently and all the associated clean up work processed with little or no mess or inconvenience. In all an excellent job with commendable attention to the needs of the user.
countcarino Posted on 10/01/2012 , work completed 10/01/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Seviced our Worcester boiler and Magiglo gas fire. Prompt, efficient and friendly. Would highly recommend.
dieterheinz Posted on 21/11/2011 , work completed 21/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed to convert our existing oil-fired central heating system to gas. This involved installing a new gas condensing boiler in a new location, getting rid of a large steel oil tank and modifying pipework, tanks, radiators and electronics. Owing to the fact that this work was quite extensive (and the possibilities quite varied) I intended to get four quotations. In the event this turned out to be six. Having listened carefully to differing opinions and advice, and looking closely at the quality of written quotations, I decided to appoint Farthings to undertake the work even though their quote was at the upper end of all those received. I had not used Farthings before. The work was completed to a high standard and to schedule. Consideration was given to cleanliness and tidiness throughout with the minimum of disruption. Our needs and requirements were listened to and incorporated. Problems with radiators which had not been resolved by previous heating engineers were diagnosed and corrected very quickly. After a short time, I felt confident that this work was in good hands. So far (i.e. after a couple of weeks) all seems to be working very well with no problems experienced. I can recommend Farthings without hesitation. While not the cheapest, those undertaking the work were not only pleasant to work with, but also highly skilled.
Peter Bradbury Posted on 23/04/2011 , work completed 23/04/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After arriving home from holiday realised we did not have any heating. We are insured with John Lewis and have cover up to £1500 per visit for repairs. Eventually they send plumbers from Coventry. They look at it and say they will have to come back as he can't fix. Were left with no heating and it was during the freezing weather. We are both pensiones.After 3 days of calling got told we were not covered and we would have to pay approx. £900 to rectify and need flush out before we start. Called Farthings as they are local to us and they came out next day and managed to get the heating working. Did say that we needed a flush and would sort. They have since done this and cleaned out tank in roof. Only charged £350 for all three visits including various treatments put in system.
jennyvincent Posted on 28/03/2011 , work completed 28/03/2011