We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Funktional Kitchens Ltd

Profile thumb capture
4.7

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 10:00–18:00
  • Monday 10:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 10:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 10:00–18:00
  • Thursday 10:00–18:00
  • Friday 10:00–17:00
  • Saturday 10:00–17:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Our designers like a challenge.
Every project is different, each space whether large or small has it’s own unique problems and we love to find the right design solution.
The designers have a wide range of materials and equipment at their finger tips from traditional to modern. We are not constrained by one brand or limited materials.
Whether you prefer Granite worktops or modern composites. Glass splashbacks or tiles. Shaker or the latest in German kitchens. The design team will provide you with a kitchen design that is right for you.

Free plan and design service.
Bring the basic measurements of your kitchen to one of our showrooms.
Our designers will talk you through our range of products and services, taking note of all your requirements. We then suggest a variety of options for you to choose from. We design to suit the space and more importantly, a solution that is personal to you.

What we do

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen showroom
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Granite Worktops
    • Kitchen worktops
  • More Services

    • free plan and design service.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.7
27 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.8
Value
4.6
Sort by
An excellent company to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are 8 years down the line with this company and our kitchen still looks amazing. The design service is great and the people are really helpful to deal with. They are not happy until you are happy. Most importantly, they still helped us this morning with an unrelated problem. Highly recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/11/2021 , work completed 29/07/2013
Outstanding service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We highly recommend Funktional Kitchens. We installed an entirely new kitchen as part of our house renovation, and our experience with the team and the service could not have been better. The design and fitting of our new kitchen was very professional, and the entire experience has been a very positive. We went to different kitchen providers before making any decision and Funktional Kitchens was the best one for us. Their communication was excellent. Each step of the process was well organised, and any questions were promptly answered by email or phone. They have a great selection of kitchen designs, but more importantly they provided a solution that fitted our needs. When we came to them, we had decided on our layout, but were unsure about the colour and materials we wanted. They really listened to what we said we wanted to achieve and then offered very good advice about both the aesthetics and practical matters. The arrangement of the cupboards they suggested was very thoughtful and based on the constraints of our space. We also appreciated their appliance suggestions, so that we ended up with a very good quality/price balance. Each stage of the fitting process also went very smoothly, and we were very impressed by how good each of the tradespeople was. The appointments were scheduled well in advance, and we were always sent a reminder prior to each appointment. Funktional Kitchens really provided an outstanding service.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/10/2020 , work completed 19/10/2020
Floating tv unit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Funktional kitchens were superb in creating this contemporary design feature based on our rudimentary specification of ‘a floating tv unit’ . Fantastic quality, great communication and impeccable service. A real gem of a company to deal with.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/09/2020 , work completed 02/12/2019
Professional, honest team, lovely kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The kitchen was actually fitted a few months back but we only moved in recently. We'd had a very bad experience with another company that went bust. Alison and team were very understanding and helpful, all communication was very smooth and straightforward and we have a really beautiful well made kitchen now. After we move in we had a couple of very minor snags so they sent their fitter back who fixed everything. Would definitely recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 20/07/2020 , work completed 04/05/2020
Very thorough, friendly and creative.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a completely new kitchen fitted with worktop and some equipment. We found the team at Functional very helpful, and they didn't push us to go beyond our budget - which is important. They were helpful from beginning to end with as much help and advice as we needed and found creative solutions to some knotty problems. The kitchen itself is excellent and the fitter was extremely skilled, reliable and polite.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/05/2020 , work completed 18/03/2020
Lovely kitchen and lovely people
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We met with Vicky, last Spring, and she just got me and what I wanted. She has given me the kitchen of my dreams, and I'm so grateful. The whole team are friendly, professional and so easy to work with. The whole project, ran smoothly and without hitch and I cannot recommend Funktional Kitchens enough. Fantastic company. Well done.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/10/2019 , work completed 26/03/2018
Excellent customer service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the first time we'd had a new kitchen installed, and Alison and Emma were incredibly helpful from the start. They guided us through the project from start to finish, and were very supportive at each stage of the work, checking on progress throughout. Inevitably there are the occasional bumps in the road with so many different aspects to be completed, but Alison and Emma negotiated these with ease. On the actual design there was nothing 'off the shelf' about Funktional's approach - they really worked with us to find appropriate solutions and were always accommodating if we changed our minds about anything - we were never rushed into making decisions. They were also very helpful in providing documentation and answering any technical follow-up questions we had after the kitchen was complete. Highly recommended.
Customer in London N8 Posted on 15/10/2019 , work completed 13/09/2019
Great experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We're so pleased with our lovely new kitchen from Functional Kitchens - it's exactly what we were hoping for, and we really love cooking in it. Emma and Alison were so helpful and friendly, it made choosing our kitchen and appliances etc very easy and enjoyable. The choice of kitchens and appliances were great, and they were able to design a space that perfectly matched our ideas / expectations. After getting several quotes, we're very glad we decided to go with Funktional, to get the right balance of quality, cost and service - and to achieve some details that some other companies couldn't do.
Hannah, Greater London Posted on 21/08/2019 , work completed 15/06/2019
A great new kitchen!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had an idea of what I wanted in my new kitchen but could not find it anywhere until some friends suggested I went into Funktional Kitchens in Crouch End. From the first time I met Emma and Alison they were professional and helpful - but with a really personal touch and that was important to me. They were willing to answer even the smallest questions and allowed me to go in to the shop whenever I needed to check things (which was quite often!). And they coped really well with all of my indecision re types of worktops and colour of splashbacks!! Nothing ever felt like too much trouble and they kept me updated at all times. I had the kitchen fitted by my own builder and they also liaised with him really well - it was never an issue that I used my builder rather than their own staff for the fitting. Thank you for everything!
Customer in Highgate Posted on 15/08/2019 , work completed 26/04/2019
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We live on the lower ground of a Victorian conversion with a tiny (and wonky) space for our galley kitchen. But Funktional generated an ingenious design for us which simultaneously: increased our storage space by at least a third; opened up twice as much usable worktop space; and allowed us to double the size of our fridge-freezer - all the while guiding us towards a bright, sophisticated aesthetic. We couldn't believe our luck. Always at the end of the phone when we needed them, Vicky & Marie took time to advise our builder carefully on the installation process and generously supported us with snagging issues. We were working on a tight budget and originally thought that the likes of Wickes or Magnet might be more economical than an independent outfit: not the case, it seems, and we certainly wouldn't have achieved such an innovative design or received such outstanding customer service with the former. Highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 12/07/2019 , work completed 31/01/2019
Fabulous experience all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am writing this review sitting in the kitchen of my dreams created thanks to Alison and Emma at Funktional Kitchens. They have been an utter delight to work with from start to finish, helping to turn my visions into reality. Communication has been prompt and friendly, their ideas and suggestions / improvements have been bang on and where it has been possible to do so, they have even found ways to trim the budget. The kitchen fitter was swift and professional and any minor snags have been immediately deal with. I honestly can't recommend them highly enough.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 21/06/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
5 stars
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We couldn't be happier with our fantastic kitchen from Funktional Kitchens. First class service from initial consultation to design, fitting and after sales care. The business is passionate about what they do and it shows. Thoughtful, innovative and creative design which turned our ideas into reality and a wonderful end result which is very personal to us. Even when we realised that we hadn't taken build elements into account that would impact the design, they came up with solutions to remedy the situation. Definitely recommended.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/05/2019 , work completed 17/05/2019
A great experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our kitchen designed and supplied by Functional Kitchens. Among four other suppliers, FK design and care in its response stood out straightaway. Emma produced a beautiful and uniform design, cleverly using the space (not easy in our kitchen) and within our budget. She never imposed her ideas and was happy to listen and review designs until we were totally happy with it. Alison was incredibly efficient on the administrative side, sourcing the information we needed, adjusting delivery times to fit the building work and keeping us always informed. Delivery was impeccable, customer care was excellent and they were very responsive if we needed to talk about any issues. They are professional, efficient and genuinely nice to deal with. We are really enjoying using our kitchen. The product (Hacker) seems solid and well-built and the look and feel of the kitchen is exactly what we wanted. A very positive experience.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/04/2019 , work completed 30/11/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are absolutely delighted with our new kitchen provided by Funktional and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them. Throughout the whole process the service provided by the team was helpful, communicative and responsive. They came up with ideas we might like but also allowed us the freedom to create a kitchen that suited our needs. We would like to give a special mention to Mac, the kitchen fitter, who made numerous visits to our property and carried out his work in an extremely professional manner, despite having to fit the kitchen in the middle of an active building site! Many thanks Funktional - our new kitchen is the hub of our house and exactly what we had hoped for.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/03/2019 , work completed 21/03/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been contemplating a new kitchen for some years but couldn’t face it until a friend recommended Funktional Kitchens in Crouch End. After meeting Emma and Alison and running through my wish list the plans took shape! They were absolutely fantastic offering ideas and solutions and showing me the design in 3D. The advantage of working with a smaller company was that any query was answered almost immediately and I always felt nothing was too much trouble. The kitchen was delivered on schedule and the after sale service has been superb too! The quality and design of the kitchen is excellent and better than I could have dreamed of. I have no hesitation in recommending Emma and Alison - a dream team! Thank you
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/02/2019 , work completed 14/12/2018
Great Design and High Quality Products and Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My kitchen was completed in 2018 but it still feels brand new and I still LOVE IT every time I walk into the kitchen. The Design Team at FK are very experienced. They think of things you don't think of yourself and they design the kitchen to suit your family and room space perfectly. They make the most of every inch of space in the area and always think of how the finish product will look. Even the smallest of detail is thought about carefully. They keep you up to date on all aspects of the job and answer any queries you have. The fitting went very smoothly and was done so quickly without any problems at all. They've been doing this for years so are experts with the installation. We had builders on site at the same time and the kitchen designer communicated with them beforehand to make sure they had everything in the right place and at the right time ready for the kitchen to be installed. The after care service is also great as there are often really silly questions to ask afterwards but they are still so friendly and helpful. I wouldn't go anywhere else and whilst I have a new kitchen and don't expect to need a new one again for a very long time - whenever I do need a new kitchen I would definitely go back. And I'd recommend them to anyone without any hesitation. The selection of varied kitchen designs is very good and they can literally source any type of worktop or splashback for you. The finished result is excellent !!!!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/02/2019 , work completed 30/11/2017
Great design, workmanship and Customer Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is my second kitchen from Funktional Kitchens, not because the previous one (which was 12 year's old) was in poor condition but because I changed the layout of the room by creating a kitchen diner. Vicky visited and gave advice on the design prior to the building work taking place, which was invaluable as she pointed out things which I hadn't thought of. She could have advised me to replace all the cupboards and start again, but where possible we kept the cupboards and changed the doors and panels, giving the kitchen a new look. Alison and Marie were great; giving advice on appliances and money saving ideas. All in all they were a great team. I am so pleased with the end result and would recommend Funktional Kitchens
E4 Posted on 07/11/2018 , work completed 07/11/2018
Tried to make good but not good enough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our kitchen installed with Funktional Kitchens Just over 2 years ago. We chose them over a larger chain as their design proposal was good and gave a cleaner look than we had managed to come up with ourselves, plus the Which award goes along way on trusting their work. They were accommodating to our needs when we needed to shift installation date, however things started to go wrong on the install. We had several frustrating experiences the worst being the wrong worktop being installed, we notified them of the mistake and they said it would be fixed within two weeks. We called up after two weeks to find nothing had been done, no new work top ordered. This all got resolved in the end and Alison was very good at helping to turn around our problems. These projects always have there issues and some were flagged prior to install. However this work top has now blown in several places around the sink as the workmen didn't seal the sink well enough and didn't varnish the cut in the work top with varnish so if the seal did break it wouldn't penetrate the wood and make it blow. We are now looking at replacing this worktop again after only 2 years and this I find unacceptable. We payed a premium for the quality of the kitchen and it's installation yet we'll have to pay another thousand pounds to replace our worktop.
BenSki Posted on 07/11/2018 , work completed 07/11/2018
The trader replied (on 04/02/2019)
Funktional Kitchens were not aware that this worktop had “blown “until this review. Laminate worktops can suffer if there is excess water around sink areas which are not dried off properly. Had the customer reported it promptly we would have been able to supply a replacement but as a period of 2 years had passed and we were not made aware of the situation, we were not able to assess or rectify this situation for them.
Thrilled with our new kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband I I had no idea what we wanted our new kitchen to look like. All we knew was that we had friends with a ‘Funktional Kitchen’ and we loved it. Vicky and Alison at Funktional managed to interpret our vague ideas and produce a beautiful design which exceeds everything that we could have imagined. The team gave us helpful advice along the way-great technical drawings for our builders to work from. They even gave me advice on striping our old kitchen by ourselves. I’m proud to say that I managed this with just 4 tips to the trip in a small car. Mac and his team (their fitters) were wonderful and took such pride in their work, making tiny adaptions to the plan as required to get the look exactly right. Our kitchen fits so beautifully with our Victorian house whilst still being modern. It is a world away from the ‘high street’ kitchen that we had before. We even had the worktops made higher to save my back (I’m super tall), and a fridge freezer with extra freezer space because I love making ice cream. We are so, so glad that we chose Funktional Kitchens. Great work team!
Victoria Park Kitchen Posted on 13/07/2018 , work completed 13/07/2018
Fantastic design, service and after sales service 10/10
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had our Funktional kitchen fitted 3 years ago. Vicky’s eye for design is fantastic. She was able to suggest a practical and clean design that perfectly suited our family. She suggested we change our kitchen diner the other way around so we were able to fit in the bi fold doors we had hankered after but couldn’t make work. Also we were able to have the larder that would not have fitted in the original design. Our John Lewis fridge freezer broke down this week (not purchased through Funktional) and Mac popped around to put the new one in free of charge. The fitters were always polite and on time. All mess was cleared away promptly. Thank you so much Funktional
Nicehannah Posted on 20/02/2018 , work completed 20/02/2018
Fantastic service, design and installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We spent a lot of time visiting kitchen shops and getting designs done and obtaining quotes. A friend recommended Funktional kitchens and we were very impressed with the service provided. Vicky has a lot of experience and quickly understood our needs and designed a wonderful kitchen. She also suggested other changes like bi-folding doors to the rear of the kitchen to add the wow factor. We used builders recommended by Funktional kitchens. They were outstanding. They started the work while we went on holiday for two weeks. When we returned the kitchen was then installed professionally, quickly and with minimum fuss. Our finished kitchen looks amazing, my wife has the island she always wanted and the kids have a breakfast bar. Thanks to Vicky it is also extremely Funktional!
Beau24 Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
Innovative kitchen designers and friendly helpful service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Funktional Kitchens designed and installed a fantastic kitchen for our large family of 6! They spent a lot of time with us ensuring that it was exactly what we wanted and needed. Attention to all the details was given and nothing overlooked which has resulted in a brilliant and very functional and beautiful space. Great design and wonderful helpful service and would highly recommend them. We are so happy with our easy run and beautiful kitchen and living space. Thank you
Rebecca Moss Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
The Perfect Kitchen Solution
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After meeting with co-owner Vicky, she & the team helped create and transform our ideas into a quite wonderful kitchen area. Their vision, advice and knowledge of products was excellent and they incorporated our plans where other kitchen providers had stone-walled us, as it wasn't 'standard'. The design and foresight was 1st class and could not be faulted in any way. They fitted the kitchen with meticulous detail ensuring each and every aspect was done to perfection. In fact, the finish was so good, we ended up featuring in an 8 page magazine article on kitchens! And all down to Funktional Kitchens. Thank you. They are highly recommended.
HELEN GOUMAL Posted on 30/11/2017 , work completed 30/11/2017
Poor quality design and service but a great product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We spent a great deal of time considering who to go with to help us design and install our new kitchen. Unfortunately Funktional Kitchens gave us poor advice in regards to the design (they were unable to measure accurately and we had to change plans at the last minute); we clearly stated from the start that we wanted external extraction but after having 3 different extractors installed we have ended up with a recirculating one due to poor knowledge and advice; the fitter was extremely rude and unhelpful, having to return several times over a period of 3 months to complete work which could have been done at the start if they had been proactive and taken pride in what they do. Fortunately the cabinetry is extremely good quality and we love our new kitchen, but the process has been painful and as it was very expensive I feel the advice and customer service should have been of a much higher quality. I would not recommend this company.
Kelly Nutt-Edson Posted on 27/10/2017 , work completed 27/10/2017
The trader replied (on 06/11/2017)
Funktional Kitchens thank all its customers for feedback, albeit good or bad. We pride ourselves in our customer service, products and design team and when a project does not go to plan we are committed to resolve any issues and see projects through to completion. On this job there was a measurement error made by the designer which was dealt with promptly, remedial parts ordered and fitted free of charge. While waiting for parts to arrive from Germany the kitchen was fully functional. The extractor issue was due to the builders being unable to fit a suitably sized duct hose in the ceiling. We tried a reducer kit but with this particular extractor it became noisy. We tried a number of alternative options but the duct size proved to be an issue for most models. Due to this problem we had no choice but to recirculate the extractor. Our fitting team have been with us for over thirteen years and pride themselves with full knowledge of our products, working hard to rectify any issues on site. Funktional Kitchens have taken note of the errors made by this designer and can confirm that he no longer works for our company. We are confident that all our customers get the best design and service that we expect for our clients. We are sorry to get this feedback but are confident this is a very rare occurrence and are sure that the testimonials on our website show the confidence and quality of not only our products and design ability but also our fantastic fitting team.
Great work from Funktional Kitchens!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a new kitchen put in as part of an extension. We were impressed by all the staff we met: by Emma and Alison's design abilities and with the care they took to explain everything, and with Steve who installed the kitchen.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/10/2017 , work completed 15/10/2017
Funktional Kitchens - high quality, fantastic service, first class kitchens
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Funktional Kitchens designed and installed a new kitchen to my new extension. From my first visit to the Funktional Kitchen shop, the detail and care provided was of very high quality. They have years of experience so were very good at giving advice on what would work and what wouldn't work. The designers are very experienced and have great ideas. They used brilliant digital technology to show me what the kitchen would look like all on a large screen in 3D as if I was walking into my new kitchen so you could see it from every angle and in different layouts and colours. I felt very comfortable asking questions, changing my mind and nothing was too much trouble. The plans provided and the detailed paperwork was very helpful, especially as I was also dealing with builders at the same time. Funktional Kitchens carried out site visits regularly to ensure that the measurements were all correct and going according to their plans. On the day the kitchen was delivered, their fitter attended site and checked through all the items to ensure it was all ready to be fitted the following day. Care and detail was taken in the fitting and I was surprised at how perfectly it all went. All of the staff were very helpful and the products they have are of fantastic quality. They had a very wide range of cupboard finishes and colours as well as splashbacks and appliances. I couldn't be happier with my kitchen.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/10/2017 , work completed 01/10/2017
We got the kitchen we wanted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a complete new kitchen planned and fitted by Funktional Kitchens. We have been extremely happy with their expertise and customer service throughout the whole process. We love our new kitchen!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 01/07/2016 , work completed 01/07/2016