We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

G.A. Lomer & Son Ltd

Profile thumb 14 08 18 lomers matthew j. thomas 02087 1
4.8

48 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:30
  • Monday 08:00–17:30
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:30
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:30
  • Thursday 08:00–17:30
  • Friday 08:00–17:30
  • Saturday 08:00–17:30
  • Sunday - Closed

What makes our traders different?

Removals is an industry that Which? Trusted Traders has a strong focus on reducing consumer detriment in, due to the nature of it's work / audience of customers. Which? Trusted Traders carries out due diligence on all our endorsed businesses, and we want our consumers to continue to make the right choices about the companies they choose to carry out jobs, especially with removal businesses. We have a useful article to let you know exactly what you can expect from our traders, find it under the 'advice' section of our website. Did you know Which? Trusted Traders work with a number of competent persons schemes to help raise standards within the home improvement and motoring sectors. For more information please check out our relationships page.

Organisations and Awards

Member of the British Association of Removers

https://www.bar.co.uk

About

We are delighted in 2019 to be celebrating 40 years of trading. As a family run business we are very proud of our achievements thanks to the support and loyalty of our customers and our remarkable team. We apply the highest level of commitment by utilising all our knowledge and experience from the estimation appointment to the delivery of your items on your removal day.

As a family we have a strong commitment to operate to a high ethical standard. Our warm and knowledgeable staff are exceptional people from the local areas and we believe we have formed one of the most effective and experienced teams in West Sussex & Surrey.

Services Include:
Residential Moves
Commercial Moves
Containerised Storage
Specialist in Piano, Antiques & Fine Arts
Part Load Service (UK Only)
Full Packing & Unpacking Service

If you have a removal requirement not listed please call as we may still be able to help.

What we do

  • Removals

    • Home removals
    • Storage services
  • More Services

    • climate control storage. packing and unpacking service

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
48 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Fantastic Removals Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend G.A. Lomer & Son highly enough. They were recommended by friends and I felt very comfortable with the company from the first meeting with Gary. I contacted them on various occasions before the move and they were always extremely helpful to answer all my queries and put my mind at ease with any concerns. The team that moved us were amazing. They were friendly efficient, quick and calm and brought my stress levels right down, as by moving day, 3 out of 5 of our household had come down with COVID followed by another 1 of us during the four day move. I cannot praise the team highly enough for their professional, calm and friendly manner. Thank you so much to the whole team at G. A. Lomer & Son
Customer in Surrey Posted on 27/04/2022 , work completed 31/03/2022
Perfect move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We cannot praise G.A. Lomer and son enough. From the very first contact with Gary, right through to the last box being unloaded into our new home in Staffordshire, the whole team were superb. Nothing at all was a problem and they made what could have been a stressful experience into a very enjoyable one. Thank you again to the whole team.
Customer in Staffordshire Posted on 20/04/2022 , work completed 11/03/2022
Another great removals experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is now the third time we have used GA Lomer and it was yet again a faultless move. Everything was well planned and communicated by the office staff. Everything was exactly on time, the staff were highly experienced good humoured and courteous and they even arranged that we had the same lead driver each time. An excellent professional removals company.
Customer in Devon Posted on 04/02/2022 , work completed 21/01/2022
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Previously my husband and I have always moved house ourselves, a very daunting and stressful experience! A friend recommended G.A. Lomer & Son and we were not disappointed. The team were friendly, efficient and obviously experienced at what they do. We added the packing service which I thought was very reasonably priced. Thank you G.A Lomer & Son, we will never move house ourselves again.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 21/01/2022 , work completed 30/11/2021
Removal
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called Lomers on 15th having advised them a week or so earlier of an upcoming small removal job and me then wanting a quick removal. I was advised it could take up to four weeks but then was told later that day that they could do the job the following day with some re-arranging. This was excellent service. The men arrived having called me beforehand and the job was handled carefully and effectively. I could not have asked for better. Thank you!
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 26/11/2021 , work completed 16/11/2021
Great team!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a great team of men working to move us over three days. They were cheerful, professional and quick. They didn't complain about the many floors to the previous house or our new house. They took it all in their stride. The quote was competitive and I would recommend GA Lomer to friends and family.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 05/11/2021 , work completed 25/10/2021
Simply the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We can't fault this lovely bunch of hardworking people. Easy, professional and efficient communication with the office, always prompt, everything possible with the removal guys on the day. Polite, caring and hardworking. If only every part of the house sale was as straightforward and easy as working with GA Lomers. Absolute delight!
Katarina in Argyll and Bute Posted on 21/10/2021 , work completed 13/10/2021
Brilliant friendly & helpful staff. Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The GA Lomer team moved us out of our existing property over a 3 day period. The staff were always friendly and helpful - they couldn't do enough for us. Moving is always stressful and the Lomer team helped reduce our stress!
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 20/09/2021 , work completed 14/09/2021
Pleasant and straightforward to deal with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Provided a convenient over the phone video call base quote, answered any questions I had promptly. Provided boxes for packing (self pick-up). Move out and in was quick and problem free, including some very heavy shelves. Driver dealt well with an awkward driveway.
Fred in Surrey Posted on 05/09/2021 , work completed 27/08/2021
Great job, great service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a tricky, long distance and lengthy move but the team at GA Lomer we’re always there to support us. Then it all happened so quickly that from the day we knew to move, to the move out date being only a week, GA Lomer’s got us in the book. The guys worked really well. We packed ourselves and did a decent job. No breakages at all and they didn’t rush us during the unload, to decide what was going where etc. If it was an option, I’d go to them again.
Ian in Norfolk Posted on 07/08/2021 , work completed 29/07/2021
Helpful and Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lomers helped us move over a two day period. The work was demanding but the guys were ever helpful and good natured, I would readily recommend them.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 05/07/2021 , work completed 25/06/2021
Great service at competitive price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Responsive communications when lining up my quotes, G A Lomer were the most affordable and offered free boxes and good insurance cover. On the day the crew was efficient, tidy and polite.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 25/06/2021 , work completed 18/06/2021
Great experience!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I highly recommend G.A. Lomer & Son Ltd. They have been professional, on time and approachable. The quality service is higher than the price. I felt in good hands from the beginning to the finish. I would call them again.
Fabio in Surrey Posted on 11/06/2021 , work completed 07/06/2021
Very reliable and trustworthy - I would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
G A Lomer moved our house and the overall experience was excellent. They are very helpful and considerate. Everything was moved well (no breakages), quickly and they were flexible. Our move wasn't straightforward as most of our belongings went into storage and some went to a new house. They managed it well and everything ended up where it needed to be.
Customer in Surrey Posted on 17/05/2021 , work completed 11/03/2021
Professional move by an excellent team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently moved from a house to a 9th floor apartment. The team who moved my possessions were first rate and nothing was too much trouble. They worked professionally and were clearly very knowledgeable. Despite construction work still in progress in certain areas of the building I was moving to they still completed the move in a professional and timely manner. I would highly recommend Lomer's.
Chris in West Sussex Posted on 22/04/2021 , work completed 19/04/2021
Move-out 2/3 November, storage until move-in 5 December 2020.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
In general, the teams worked hard and completed the work on schedule. DAY-1 of the move out was efficient and not pressured. DAY-2 was more hectic and rushed as they seemed to want to finish shortly after mid-day. Consequently, they did not remove a few items - the downstairs cloakroom was never checked; a draw-full of cutlery was left in the kitchen; plus several oven dishes and trays left in the oven. They also left a large number of sheets of packing paper on the kitchen table. So, it was a poor finish to a job that had otherwise been done well. On 30 November I was finally given a Completion date of 4 December and when I called G A Lomer they said 16 December was their first available date. They do not have the flexibility to change teams to take-on more work, probably because of their limited size, but they were able to offer me a Saturday move if I was willing to pay an additional “overtime” fee. I was happy that they could provide this solution, but I hope that all the additional money I paid went to the workers. The team of 4 worked hard and completed a lot of heavy lifting in about 4 hours. In general, they did a good job, but everything came into the house too rapidly, so I was not able to give directions for many boxes and some items. They unpacked most of the boxes they had packed but not all of them and a few items in wrong places. So, basically, a good team of hard-workers, but it felt a bit hectic and pressurised.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 05/12/2020
Absolutely Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reasonably priced, with capable, hard-working, and really friendly people. Nothing was too much trouble, and we are so grateful for everything they did. We used Lomers 11 years ago, happily used them again now, and wouldn't hesitate to do so again.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 15/12/2020 , work completed 03/12/2020
Considerate and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Lomer team were responsible for packing up our home and out buildings in their entirety - 24 years’ worth! They were efficient and considerate at both ends of our long distance move and helped to make what could have been an emotional and stressful experience a fun one. Every member was friendly and courteous - nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We thoroughly recommend using GA Lomer & Son and are grateful for their help.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/11/2020 , work completed 19/11/2020
Very calm and efficient move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lomers moved us from Surrey to Devon. It was a big move, requiring two large vehicles. Lomers did the packing for us over three days prior to the move and then completed the delivery in two days, including the drive to the West Country. They were calm, efficient and helpful throughout and made it the least stressful house move of three we have experienced. We have spotted just three very minor bits of damage which occurred in transit. Nothing to worry about. They were amongst the cheapest of the BAR removers who quoted for us, were available when we needed them (whereas others weren't because our sale completed at such a busy time of year) and more than lived up to the recommendation of a friend who had used them twice previously.
Customer in Devon Posted on 03/09/2019 , work completed 22/08/2019
Excellent service in every respect - from initial contact with the office, estimate, packing and removal itself.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
G.A Lomer provided us with a five star service for a three day move from Guildford to Norfolk. We could not have been more pleased. Everyone involved was unfailingly professional, friendly, polite and helpful.
Customer in Norfolk Posted on 03/09/2019 , work completed 09/08/2019
Expensive and awful aftercare
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had another mover booked for our home move, who pulled out a week before the move. They recommended G A Lomer and sons. The quote was a lot more expensive than we were expected (over 2k for a 3-bed semi and garden shed and office, we’d paid £1,200 previously to move in), but we were tight on time and no one else we’d been recommended had availability. We asked for a discount and got it just under 2k, but still pricy. It seemed worth it though as they looked like a high end company and said they would collect boxes after - no caveats mentioned but I’m sure it was buried in the small print. The move itself was good - big vans, three friendly chaps each day and the move went smoothly. When I emailed to ask about getting the boxes collected, they didn’t reply for over a week. We needed them collecting to get more furniture delivered. I chased again after a week and was told thet didn’t have another available to collect the boxes and this service wasn’t guaranteed, that if I left them outside I would be charged for them and I could always return them myself (nearly an hours drive away and I’d need a van!). I replied saying this wasn’t great service and that I needed the space and I’ve not yet had a reply. Nearly 2k paid and that doesn’t cover the cost of the already used boxes. In short, the guys doing the move are great but the team behind them are only interested in taking your money - after that, they don’t care!
Customer in Surrey Posted on 20/07/2019 , work completed 05/07/2019
Professional, excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, excellent team, all packing and furniture move securely and safely. Nothing too much trouble, highly recommended
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 28/05/2019 , work completed 10/05/2019
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I can't praise the men enough. They were polite, courteous, respectful & extremely accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend them and the company. Thank you for all your help, you gave the transition so much easier. Thank you.
Siobhan, West Sussex Posted on 12/04/2019 , work completed 12/04/2019
Stess free removals!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used GA Lomer & Son Ltd for our house move, from start to finish and fantastic experience made especially easy by them. On the move day 3, very smartly dressed gentlemen turned up on the morning and were extremely polite. They worked extremely hard and loaded the whole van in what seemed no time at all. When we arrived at our new house the van was waiting for us, they couldn’t have been more helpful, completely considerate about the new house and new carpets. Nothing seemed too much trouble, they were even happy to move boxes from room to room if we made a mistake. I genuinely couldn’t rate them high enough. If we ever moved again we would definitely only use GA Lomer & Son Ltd. I would recommend them to anyone who want a fantastic service and a stress free move. They even came to collect the boxes once we had unpacked.
(your username) Posted on 18/03/2019 , work completed 04/03/2019
Job well done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The title says it all. The two men who came to clear a relatives flat were efficient and friendly. There was an issue with a large piece of furniture, but they wouldn't be beaten and achieved its removal down the stairs without a scratch.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 22/02/2019
Stressfree Move
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used GA Lomer & Son Ltd to move us from Worthing on the South Coast all the way to Nottingham. Darren and his team were absolutely brilliant, we couldn't have wished for anything better. They arrived on time, packed us up carefully and smoothly, we were moved over three days as it was such a distance. They made sure we had what we needed for the first night and then returned early the following day to unpack their truck - they were respectful, attentive and knowledgeable - and great fun to have around for such a stressful move. I would highly recommend them for service and cost - they were competitive on price compared to the other quotes we received. We're so happy in our new home! Thanks Darren, your team and the rest of you at Lomers!
Customer in Nottinghamshire Posted on 07/03/2019 , work completed 12/02/2019
Great work and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved from Horsham to Wells. Plenty of boxes and packing paper supplied to us. Loaded on Thurs and moved to new property on the Friday. 4 men loaded us - on time, efficient and careful with our belongings. Made sure everything was on board. Left us plenty of time to clean up the house. Met us at new property the next day and unloaded after completion. 2 men managed this by early evening which meant they didn't have to sleep in the van overnight and complete on the next day which they had allowed for. No problems at all.
Customer in Somerset Posted on 23/01/2019 , work completed 11/01/2019
My mum's removals
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The crew turned up on time and were very friendly but efficient. They were also very sympathetic with my mum who is 83 and was moving from the family home to a retirement apartment. They were very careful and there was no damage to either properties or the goods moved. Very reasonably priced for the service provided, would recommend them to anyone
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 15/01/2019 , work completed 14/01/2019
Friendly and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Lomer's recently for a three day move from our house to a flat. All staff were pleasant and professional. The quote was quick and competitive, and all work was carried out with speed and care. Unreservedly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 07/01/2019 , work completed 07/01/2019
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Calm and kind
Alison, Gloucestershire Posted on 19/09/2018 , work completed 19/09/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hardworking and friendly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 10/09/2018 , work completed 10/09/2018
Conscientious and hardworking
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We would thoroughly recommend this firm for their diligence, good humour and attention to customers' needs. A move from Guildford to Oxfordshire was very stressful in the days leading up to it but, from the moment these guys appeared, the stress levels fell dramatically. They accomplished everything we wanted cheerfully and willingly. And they were about 33% cheaper than the other quotes we had!
Bentall Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lomers recently packed our house and moved us. This was a big move with lots of furniture and they ensured the process went smoothly and they were so helpful and polite.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/09/2018 , work completed 03/09/2018
Excellent - kind and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Moved me from first floor apartment to house. They were excellent did what I asked. They were kind and helpful did not make a problem of anything.
Teresa, West Sussex Posted on 24/08/2018 , work completed 24/08/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A pleasure. Helped us a lot made stressful time less. Thank you guys.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/08/2018 , work completed 23/08/2018
Professional and kind
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cannot praise the team who moved us in highly enough - helpful, polite and hardworking from beginning to end of very long day. Kind and thoughtful when events threatened to overcome us. Overall a professional, polite company from survey to end point.
Julia, West Sussex Posted on 22/08/2018 , work completed 22/08/2018
Excellent in everyway
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Right from the initial visit to discuss our move we felt we were in very capable hands. Despite our access being restricted, the guys were brilliant and worked very hard. They had already unloaded when we arrived at new house which was fantastic. All the guys were a credit to the company and a joy to deal with.
Andrew, Leicestershire Posted on 04/05/2018 , work completed 04/05/2018
Effective, efficient and exemplary
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The men arrived on Monday when they said they would and wow were they efficient - in less than 2 hours the bulk of the work had been done, they made it look so effortless and easy. Any challenges were pointed out and only one was not resolvable - a wardrobe would have had to be completely dismantled to enable it to be taken upstairs - and then reassembled which was not an option. There was excellent teamwork and demonstratable professionalism. A job well done.
Frank, Somerset Posted on 01/05/2018 , work completed 01/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class transport & equipment. Would recommend.
Peter, West Sussex Posted on 20/04/2018 , work completed 20/04/2018
Excellent Removal Firm
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We looked at a number of companies when we were deciding who to use for our house removal and we were so pleased that we used G A Lomer & Son in the end. Ashley came to our house and came across very well and was nice to deal with and the quote he provided was very competitive. The removal guys on the day which included Steve and his team were just we wanted, professional, courteous and took care in what they were doing. The whole process was very smooth and we would not hesitate in recommending them.
DuneTune Posted on 08/10/2016 , work completed 08/10/2016
Totally reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally reliable, professional and courteous company that moved us from Sussex to Hampshire with no fuss and even with humour. Would unhesitatingly recommend them to anyone.
Mike, Hampshire Posted on 05/04/2016 , work completed 05/04/2016
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Lomers to remove us from Horsham to our current address. Because of the distance of removal involved in took place over two days. All our belongings were carefully moved & loaded on the lorries on the Friday and the Monday. All undertaken with quiet efficiency. Goods all carefully wrapped and packed. Very impressed. Very friendly.
Richard, Hampshire Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt and reliable, and polite crew. Packed up house and unpacked very fast, but helpful with very few problems.
Fiona, West Sussex Posted on 09/02/2016 , work completed 09/02/2016
Cheerful, professional & fabulous service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
At short notice, G A Lomer made our move happen. We couldn't fault their efficiency, hard work & friendly service. Would definitely recommend them!
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 21/12/2015 , work completed 21/12/2015
Thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual. Efficient. Friendly. Courteous. Hardworking. Patient.
Gary, West Sussex Posted on 21/12/2015 , work completed 21/12/2015
Perfect, efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived as promised good weather so quick and easy. Very cheerful. Our first move in 48 years so I needed reassurance.
Kyra, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/12/2015 , work completed 18/12/2015
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic team, wouldn't hesitate to use this service again. Big thanks to everyone concerned.
James, Dorset Posted on 18/12/2015 , work completed 18/12/2015
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good explanation of the moving options available to us, particularly as the move was at short notice. Packing was carried out in a very efficient and careful manner. Delivery and unloading also very efficient, All staff were very friendly and approachable, and sought our input whenever necessary. Thoroughly recommended.
Christopher, Gloucestershire Posted on 16/12/2015 , work completed 16/12/2015