We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Gearing Locksmiths

Profile thumb img 0049
5.0

87 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Mar 2020
Apr 2019

About

Matt Gearing is a fully qualified professional locksmith and UPVC repair specialist. Accredited by the National Awarding body the NCFE, he completed his Locksmith training after serving 25 years colour Service in Her Majesty’s Armed Forces. With many years of experience in the field of security he now provides a professional Locksmith service and advises domestic and commercial customers on their security needs, ensuring their property is secure as it can be.
Gearing Locksmiths aim to provide Excellence in Customer Service. Dedicated to providing a full range of Locksmith services including a 24 hour Emergency Call Out and specialising in UPVC door and window repair, including multi point locking systems.
Based in Baldock, Gearing Locksmiths is a genuine local independent locksmith who cover a wide area of Hertfordshire and Bedfordshire.
Gearing Locksmiths provide a clean, thorough and professional service, we endeavour not to be beaten on price and guarantee all our work.

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Comprehensive locksmith service
    • Masterkeyed systems
    • Safes
    • UPVC lock specialists
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • Burglar alarm systems
  • More Services

    • upvc repair specialist
    • door repair
    • replacement glass unit

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
87 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Totally professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having not used the Which trusted trader to find a locksmith the day before, when I had a terrible experience with a locksmith found via a general web site search, I used Which and found Gearing Locksmiths. Matt Gearing could not have been more helpful, agreeing to come out the following morning to repair the lock which had been damaged during the previous days visit. He arrived on time and was totally professional. Took the lock apart and repaired the damage. Lock is now working and instead of the £650 I had been quoted by the previous locksmith and I saved myself £600. I could not recommend Matt highly enough. Any absolutely genuine tradesman
Julian in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/09/2021 , work completed 15/09/2021
Thoroughly professional locksmith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a patio door which was impossible to open (for me) from either inside or out. Initial communication by email was both prompt and clear. Matty arrived at the agreed time, was friendly and inspired confidence. Within a very few seconds, the door was open and the problem diagnosed, explained, and the cost (which seemed reasonable) immediately provided. The necessary mechanism was collected and installed within the hour. The guarantee was clearly explained and I have no doubt that it would be honoured in the unlikely event of any problems. Totally satisfied.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/08/2021 , work completed 18/08/2021
The trader replied (on 20/08/2021)
Thank you for your very kind review, we are glad you were pleased with the service. Kind Regards Gearing Locksmiths
Superb Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a problem with a broken Upvc window locking mechanism that was no longer available. Having tried numerous other companies I was recommended Matt and I’m glad I was. My initial contact was with Emma who helped me every step of the way in sourcing a replacement and making an appointment for Matt to fit it. It was far from a straight forward fit but Matt was superb and finding a solution and I now have a perfect window again. Couldn’t recommend them more and will not hesitate to use again if I have the need.
Mark in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/08/2021 , work completed 10/08/2021
The trader replied (on 20/08/2021)
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to have been of service. Kind Regards Matt & Emma Gearing locksmiths
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Once again Gearing locksmiths provide a first class service. Excellent advice and follow through to a perfect solution to my needs. Thank you for an excellent service and will always recommend you.
Paul in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 09/08/2021 , work completed 04/08/2021
Great service, would 100% recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called after our patio door lock stopped working. It was late on a Tuesday night but Matt got to us very quickly and fixed the issue straight away. Great service, great value, very professional and would recommend 100%.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/07/2021 , work completed 01/06/2021
The trader replied (on 02/07/2021)
Thank you for your kind review, we were happy we were able to help.
Fast, friendly and knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Booked an appointment to change the locks on our new house. Arrived promptly and despite a large amount of work needed (eight locks) was able to complete the entire job on the spot. Provided sensible advice on the best locks to use and gave discounts given the amount of work. Installed two higher-spec locks because the cheaper options weren’t in the van. Cut additional keys on site. All-round excellent service and friendly too. Will use them again without thinking and would highly recommend them to anyone. Easily understandable why only 5* reviews!
Customer in Letchworth Garden City Posted on 19/06/2021 , work completed 19/06/2021
The trader replied (on 21/06/2021)
Thank you for your kind review, we were happy to be of service and pleased we could get it all done in one morning for you.
A breath of fresh air
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Matt last year to solve a seized front door lock which he did very promptly during early lockdown. I promised him I would call him back to upgrade my other external locks which are all over 30 years old. He visited this morning, checked and oiled all locks and advised although they are old they are all still in perfect working and he felt it wasn't necessary to upgrade as they are as secure as current locks. He made a small charge for the oil. What a delight to find such an honest trader who didn't see an opportunity to make money from me. Apart from anything else he is a very friendly and amiable person to have in the house.
Colin in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/06/2021 , work completed 15/06/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a faulty door lock. Rang and received same day service. Matt was very helpful when I rang to book. I felt reassured he knew what the fault was. The job itself was quick as stated and for the price quoted. Felt I had received great customer service. I highly recommend Gearing Locksmiths and have recommended them to my family. Always good to find a trader you can trust.
Bev in Hertfordshire Posted on 19/05/2021 , work completed 18/05/2021
Returning customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
More than happy to call Emma and Matt again, this time to deal with a jammed locking mechanism on French windows. Efficient and friendly. Excellent service, and Covid-safe. Thank you, Team!
Jean in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/05/2021 , work completed 28/04/2021
Knowledgeable, Efficient, Fast Friendly Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I couldn't lock my UVPC front door from either the inside or the outside. The key would insert and turn but not be able to fully lock the door. Having used them in the past and finding them very professional I phoned Gearing Locksmiths and spoke to Emma. After explaining the problem Emma diagnosed a blown barrel, gave me a price and said that Matt would be round later on that afternoon. Matt turned up after about an hour, much earlier than expected. On inspection Matt confirmed that the barrel had blown and proceded to change the barrel. Matt supplied us with new keys. I was very relieved that the problem had been resolved both quickly and efficiently. Thank you Matt and Emma. I will certainly use them again in the future - Gearing Locksmiths will be my first port of call.
Richard in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/04/2021 , work completed 06/04/2021
Fast and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt arrived within 15 minutes if calling him out. Great work for a great price. Very friendly would definitely recommend.
Grant in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 11/02/2021 , work completed 11/02/2021
Trustworthy, Excellent Service and Fast Response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gearing Locksmiths provided me with additional keys for my property and improved the original! They responded to my request within the hour and arrived to carry out the work by lunchtime the same day. Super fast! They showed such consideration, I was very grateful. Even for a small job they went the extra mile. It was worrying, especially in Lockdown to have nobody nearby with a spare key and their compassionate and swift response allayed my fears. Thank you very much Matt and Emma, wonderful people and an excellent service!
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 26/01/2021 , work completed 20/01/2021
Excellent service and immediate response
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When my tenant locked herself out of the house and contacted me in distress I called Gearing Locksmiths who instantly came to her help even juggling a family appointment to help. Their response time was incredibly fast and even managed to get her back in the house without having to change the locks. This is the second time we have used Gearing Locksmiths and will not hesitate to do so in the future. Highly recommended and highly professional service.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 14/12/2020
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed an adaptation to a front door locking mechanism. Matt attended next morning - quickly assessed what was needed, gave a fair price and completed the job within half hour. Great result and lovely people to do business with. I'll have no hesitation in using Gearings Locksmiths again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/11/2020 , work completed 03/11/2020
Superfast response to new lock fitting request
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I try to use local businesses whenever possible and luckily found Gearing Locksmiths on a search this morning, a phone call and a few pictures of the door mid-morning and Matt arrived at lunchtime to fit a mortice deadlock for me. Brilliant service, no fuss, no mess, job done. My thanks to Matt and Emma for the super fast response, very much appreciated. I would recommend without any hesitation.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/11/2020 , work completed 02/11/2020
Broken window lock/gear
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A refreshing change, one call and the job is sorted promptly, no chasing or begging needed and for a reasonable fee. Highly recommend.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 07/10/2020 , work completed 06/10/2020
Great workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was very professional and did the job as directed. We would certainly recommend Gearings to anyone who needs this service.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/09/2020 , work completed 31/07/2020
Locked myself out 🙄
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Emma took our call and understood the problem straight away. Matt attended very promptly, let me back in the house and provided a solution to prevent it happening again. Very friendly and helpful service. Would definitely recommend and be happy to use again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Garage Door Lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My garage door lock was not working, so I could not open it. Matt came the same day and freed it off, so that it is now working properly. Many thanks for fast, friendly and great value service. I would certainly use this company again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 25/06/2020 , work completed 24/06/2020
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a problem with the lock on my patio door. I called Matt, and he came within 15 minutes. He quickly sorted out the problem, replacing part of the locking mechanism, in double quick time. I was very happy with the work done. He was polite and efficient, and I certainly wouldn't hesitate in recommending him.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/06/2020 , work completed 28/05/2020
Amazing service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We lost the key for our garage and after searching the whole house i got in touch with Matt. He got back to me immediately, gave me a good price within minutes and came round within the hour. Nice guy, really friendly and professional, adhered to social distancing and did the job really quickly. Very impressed. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Gearing Locksmiths to all.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 22/05/2020 , work completed 22/05/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
To improve security, and also allow access in an emergency, we decided to have a new front door lock and key safe installed for my mother’s home. Matt was able to complete the work on the same day that we contacted Gearings, and we’re very pleased indeed with the result.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/05/2020 , work completed 21/05/2020
Polite and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We received excellent service from Matt. He resolved an issue with our temperamental conservatory door lock. He was reassuring that if there might be further problems in future he was knowledgeable regarding what other options could be tried. Matt was polite and extremely helpful. Many thanks.
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 19/05/2020 , work completed 18/05/2020
Excellent service from a local trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted to use a local trader to fix a jammed garage personnel door and I spotted Gearing Locksmiths who are just down the road from me in Baldock. I put in a message via Trustedtraders and received a prompt call back within the hour. Matt came out the same day and gained entry to our garage, then changed out the broken mechanism and put lock in double time.
Customer in Cambridgeshire Posted on 16/01/2020 , work completed 13/01/2020
Faulty lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt helped us out with a faulty lock today. We have used his services in the past and always found him to be most helpful and professional
Graham in Hertfordshire Posted on 15/01/2020 , work completed 15/01/2020
A top quality service 😀
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a relief it is in this day and age to find a quality tradesman who can sort out a problem with quick and professional service. Matt changed our locks after the builders managed to loose the keys to the new doors, I am full of praise for Matt and Emma who sorted our problem with minimal drama, it’s good to know there are still reliable company’s out there to do the job properly and efficiently 😀thanks again.
Chris and Jenny Noades Royston Posted on 01/12/2019 , work completed 26/11/2019
Great honest old fashioned service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quick call and I was booked in the next day. Recently moved in, door didn’t lock properly. Door is old and will be replaced in future, but needed a repair to make secure until such times as it is replaced. Job was completed in good time, it was a little difficult due to door design, was given appropriate options for repair, and very satisfied with work carried out.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 29/11/2019 , work completed 27/11/2019
Couldn't recommend them enough!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My partner and I had Matt out to do some work and we cannot be happier. We were able to book in quickly and the work was finished just as fast - one of the most hassle free processes I've had. On top of this Matt went above and beyond to answer any questions and help out as much as possible. Both Emma and Matt were professional and a pleasure to deal with. You will not regret using them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/09/2019 , work completed 24/09/2019
Very professional & trustworthy - would use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant communications beforehand. Turned up on time. Problem with door lock turned out to be not as big as anticipated, and the resulting charge was very very reasonable (ie not based on a minimum call out). Estimate for the 'bigger' job if needed in future was much more reasonable than the estimate received from another locksmith. Friendly guy.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/07/2019 , work completed 04/07/2019
Changing locks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service! I had booked them for a repair for a balcony door handle but at late notice added a complete front door lock change. All handled very efficiently, no mess at all and no issues with the new keys. Would happily recommend
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 30/05/2019 , work completed 23/05/2019
Excellent service with a smile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was friendly and helpful when he came to fix our front door lock at seven in the evening. I really can't fault the work or his attitude, truly a pleasure to deal with, Matt really brightened up my day!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/05/2019 , work completed 28/05/2019
Service with a smile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having called them 4 times in the last few years and always had immediate response and first time fixes to locks, doors, windows... Very professional, reliable and excellent technical skills, and it's the little important things, like being greeted with a cheery smile and a handshake, that make them a great team.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/04/2019 , work completed 23/04/2019
Excellent service and very fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My wife locked her keys in her car in a supermarket car park, Mr Gearing and his wife were superb at arranging and helping to get my wife access into her vehicle. Thanks very much for a brilliant service at very short notice.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 23/03/2019 , work completed 23/03/2019
Excellent locksmith highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt arrived to repair our back door which we had been unable to open for some time. Another window/door specialised had previously advised that the mechanism would need to be drilled out & then replaced in order to be able to open the door. Matt spent a considerable amount of time trying all other possible options to try an avoid this expense. Eventually his perseverance paid off and he gained access. He then found the fault & repaired good as new. Very professional, friendly and customer orientated. Will recommend him with out a doubt.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/03/2019 , work completed 06/03/2019
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt carried out a security survey on my property and came back to fit two locks and repair a door handle. I was very pleased with the standard of work and Matt even tidied up afterwards. Both Matt and Emma were very friendly and professional and I would thoroughly recommend them.
Customer in Bedford Posted on 04/03/2019 , work completed 01/03/2019
New locks in our new home
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Would definitely recommend Matt and Gearing Locksmiths. Matt gave us advice on how to make our new home secure. Efficient and knowledgeable, when he came back to fit the locks, he completed this and tidied up amazingly quickly. Reasonable prices and was happy to help us with the best advice instead of bumping up our bill unnecessarily. Will call him back if we need any further help from him.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/03/2019 , work completed 01/03/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Sensible, reliable and professional. Thank you.
Helen, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/02/2019 , work completed 27/02/2019
First class service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a key stuck with a door open and the lock out - completely jammed and I couldn't close the door. I called Gearing Locksmiths and Matt was able to come straight away - he was here within half an hour of my call. He did a swift job which included replacing the lock at a very reasonable - a really pleasant guy. I found him on Trusted Traders - a site I thoroughly recommend to anybody looking for a trade - and his 5 stars are absolutely justified. It will be 5 stars from me too! Thank you Gearing Locksmiths.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/02/2019 , work completed 26/02/2019
Same day service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came out the morning I called and repaired a very old lock on an outside store door which had been tampered with. Took it off the door and mended it in his van, hammering bent brass parts back into shape. Lock cleaned and refitted back onto the door. Working really well. Inexpensive job, pleasant and courteous person.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 09/02/2019 , work completed 05/02/2019
Replaced barrel
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He was quick to respond to the callout,he changed the barrel on the lock.l was satisfied with the price.He was very helpful and reassuring
Customer in Central Bedfordshire Posted on 20/12/2018 , work completed 20/12/2018
Rapid response after burglary
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt came out and changed all of our locks after we were burgled last week. Fast, sympathetic, professional service. Second time we have used them and we would highly recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 27/11/2018 , work completed 21/11/2018
Very professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt arrived promptly and quickly opened my garage side door, whose lock had broken. He then advised on, and fitted, a replacement. Very competent and friendly professional. Would recommend his services to others.
Borella Posted on 27/10/2018 , work completed 27/10/2018
Polite, friendly and professional and excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following burglaries in the local area, I contacted Gearing Locksmiths and Matt agreed to come and do a security survey to advise what I needed to do. I then booked him to come back and fit and fix some locks. Both Matt and Emma in the office were friendly, professional and wonderful. The work was done at a very reasonably price and quickly with no mess and no fuss! Would highly recommend Gearing Locksmiths!
Nikki D'Arcy Posted on 27/09/2018 , work completed 27/09/2018
Fast, effective and decent price.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Quickly removed snapped off key left in double glazed patio doors. No hesitation in recommending, clearly knows what he’s doing.
Stephens Posted on 05/06/2018 , work completed 05/06/2018
Fast Efficient Friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great to have found a trustworthy local trader again through WHICH. Will have no hesitation in recommending Gearing Locksmiths. Matt was here in under 15 mins and very quickly gave us access to our house and our poor dog trapped inside. It was a delight to receive such great customer service from such a nice company. Good Luck Gearing Locksmiths. although you shouldn't need luck with your attitude.
Cecilia Posted on 12/05/2018 , work completed 12/05/2018
Very Impressed - fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My window lock had stuck with the window open just before I went on holiday, Matt came and sorted it quickly and efficiently. A very prompt, friendly and efficient service. I would definitely use again if the need arose.
Whalen Posted on 26/04/2018 , work completed 26/04/2018
Professional & Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot fault the service offered from my initial telephone call - friendly, proficient and informative.
Karen, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/03/2018 , work completed 29/03/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
It was quick to book an appointment with Matt and the work was done really well. Very happy and would recommend Gearing Locksmiths.
Victoria Posted on 08/03/2018 , work completed 08/03/2018
Recommend for Fast and Efficient work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Gearings at the weekend regarding a non urgent job and by 9am Monday morning all was sorted. Great communication, friendly and professional and would certainly use again.
PhillM Posted on 02/03/2018 , work completed 02/03/2018
Reassuring and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Can’t fault the service we had from Matt. Punctual, helpful, tidy, reassuring. Can’t recommend highly enough. Thanks very much!
Johenek Posted on 21/02/2018 , work completed 21/02/2018
Fantastic Service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and Emma were exceptionally helpful, reliable and professional. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Gearing Locksmiths to friends and family! Fantastic service!
Jim Smith, SG7 Posted on 01/02/2018 , work completed 01/02/2018
Great work fast and excellent advice for lock replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived within 30min of calling, was end of working day and we assumed that we were going to end up without being able to lock our door over night. Matt took time to explain options for locks and replaced the lock within 15min of arrival and gave us additional keys the next working day. Outstanding service.
Mark Posted on 30/12/2017 , work completed 30/12/2017
Well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Friendly, quick, very helpful. Excellent.
dfreeman Posted on 16/11/2017 , work completed 16/11/2017
Great work and very fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gearing Locksmiths were fast and efficient. They were helpful and friendly and fixed the issue quickly and gave me some tips to extend the life of my door. Thank you
Carolyn Tebbutt Posted on 20/09/2017 , work completed 20/09/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt responded extremely quickly to my enquiry. He was professional, knowledgeable, friendly and efficient, whilst repairing the lock mechanism on our door. Would definitely recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/09/2017 , work completed 18/09/2017
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent, friendly and efficient service by Matt. He mended a Chubb lock for a very reasonable price. I would recommend him and definitely use again.
Dee. Ickleford Posted on 17/08/2017 , work completed 17/08/2017
Can't recommend enough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is my second time using Gearing Locksmiths, he even remembered my name from the first visit! Great experience from the first call, spoke to a lovely, friendly, polite lady who gave me a time, less than 24hrs for a non emergency, very impressed, on the day of my appointment Mr Gearing called to say he would be early, and if that was alright. He is a very knowledgeable, polite, friendly, efficient chap, and did the job for less than quoted. All round I am more than pleased with the complete service I received from this very slick professional outfit. Thank you so much.
jem1071 Posted on 16/08/2017 , work completed 16/08/2017
Great work, fast service. Would definitely recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I've got Matt to unlock my door when I've locked myself out. Was so great the first time I remembered him when I needed help again. The office staff are really friendly and rung me back straight away to let me know how long I would be waiting. Less than 20 mins, as they are local. Would definitely recommend Matt and Gearing Locksmiths, really professional, kind and a good price. Hopefully I won't need to call them out again, but if I do need a locksmith again I will call straight away.
Ali Posted on 15/08/2017 , work completed 15/08/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Unable to lock patio door. Trader arrived promptly. Door was 20 years old but he managed to get new part. Excellent service.
Rita, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/08/2017 , work completed 15/08/2017
Prompt & professional, very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt of Gearing Locksmiths was helpful and came to assess the problem within a couple of hours. Ordered them and then the gearbox needed and came as soon as it was delivered to fit it.
Elizabeth, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/07/2017 , work completed 12/07/2017
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt came out exceptionally quickly to my unit as the lock had broken. He was fantastic at unlocking it very quickly and gave such an amazing service. Thank you.
Justin, Hertfordshire Posted on 02/07/2017 , work completed 02/07/2017
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, nice guy, reasonable, clear communication about what needed doing. Would use again, definitely!
Roy, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/05/2017 , work completed 17/05/2017
Fast and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'm very pleased with my experience. The locksmith came on time, was friendly and efficient. He has mended my lock and charged a fair price. I couldn't really ask for more.
Sonia, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/05/2017 , work completed 15/05/2017
Top Notch
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was excellent: personable, professional and prompt. He calmly fixed the main problem and showed me what to do to prevent it reoccurring. He gave us options to fix the secondary issue and left us free to choose the best one from our point of view. Thoroughly recommended.
fleethouse Posted on 09/05/2017 , work completed 09/05/2017
Prompt attention and sound advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant service - prompt, friendly, efficient and helpful. Couldn't be better!
Jenny, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/05/2017 , work completed 05/05/2017
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was really impressed with the punctuality that Gearing Locksmiths had, and extremely happy with the work carried out. Fast and reliable company, highly recommended.
Sarah, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/05/2017 , work completed 04/05/2017
Good professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Knowledgeable, professional and friendly, I would definitely use Gearing Locksmiths again.
Hayley, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/05/2017 , work completed 04/05/2017
Great locksmith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My front door lock mechanism broke so the door wouldn't lock. They answered the call straight away and said they would come as soon as current job finished - texted when they were on way which is always appreciated. He was polite, friendly and professional and quickly replaced the mechanism. Cost was clear and explained. Wil, re-use if needed in future and happily recommend.
Sarah, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/04/2017 , work completed 25/04/2017
Very quick and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gearings came out within 30 minutes of my phone call and didn't charge the Earth.
Nikki, Hertfordshire Posted on 25/04/2017 , work completed 25/04/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The bathroom lock completely failed. Matt Gearing arrived when he said which was promptly. He was persistent with a very difficult lock, succeeded without damage to door or frame and installed a new lock. Very professional.
Tony, Hertfordshire Posted on 21/04/2017 , work completed 21/04/2017
Great price for professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt came to fix our front door lock in between jobs, very professional and fairly priced. Went over and beyond expectations.
Sarah, Hertfordshire Posted on 03/04/2017 , work completed 03/04/2017
Excellent professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very impressed with work done by Mr Gearing and would have no hesitation in using him again if need arises. Patio door locks were sticking very badly & Mr Gearing freed them and have been working perfectly, ever since the work he did in April this year.
Mary, Bedfordshire Posted on 03/04/2017 , work completed 03/04/2017
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt arrived at our home within just a few minutes of calling him to fix our broken lock. He was extremely helpful, efficient and competitively priced and we will definitely be calling on his services in the future for more work around the house.
Suzy Margolius Posted on 02/04/2017 , work completed 02/04/2017
Fabulous job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very distressed to have locked myself out of my house, leaving keys inside both front & back doors. I thought this would result in a messy & costly job. The locksmith ensured I was safe & well & gave me a call back to say he was on his way. Job done in a few minutes with no damage. I'm well pleased & wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Ann, Hertfordshire Posted on 31/03/2017 , work completed 31/03/2017
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly recommended, great service & helpful.
Ann, Bedfordshire Posted on 21/03/2017 , work completed 21/03/2017
Can't recommend highly enough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt changed a door lock and opened a safe for us, very happy with the work done, no problems at all. I would recommend to others and I do regularly, I've always been happy with the service as they are really polite and friendly.
Posted on 20/03/2017 , work completed 20/03/2017
Very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Speedy service - Mr Gearing was here in half an hour. He did the job quickly and efficiently. Friendly and reasonably priced.
Nicholas, Hertfordshire Posted on 17/03/2017 , work completed 17/03/2017
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Matt on numerous occasions for key cutting & door lock replacements, be it at home or for my own business. His knowledge & expertise is first class & I would trust his opinion with out hesitation. Will Pugh.
William Pugh Posted on 16/03/2017 , work completed 16/03/2017
Reliable and Trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had previously received very unsatisfactory work from another locksmith and Matt and the team restored my faith in locksmiths! They turned up ASAP, their work was first class, nothing is too much trouble and all is done with the minimum of fuss. Without hesitation, I will be recommending Gearing Locksmiths to all my family and professional contacts going forward for a superb quality service that can be totally trusted. Thank you.
Kevin Brown Posted on 10/03/2017 , work completed 10/03/2017
Good, professional and trustworthy!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had Gearing Locksmiths come to my house to do a free security check and to advise on anything that could do with replacing or upgrading. Matt was on time, very thorough and knowledgeable. Luckily my house was all good but it's nice to be sure. There was no hard selling of all the newest or latest locks etc that I could have or even the changing of locks that were old but still had the kite mark and worked perfectly so why change them. I would and have recommended Gearing Locksmiths with confidence and had great feedback so would use again and always recommend when ever possible or asked for a recommendation for an expert in this field. Kind regards, Ryan Edwards
Ryan Edwards Posted on 09/03/2017 , work completed 09/03/2017
Friendly helpful and very knowledgeable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time to assist with broken door lock - managed to open door in seconds and re-build the puzzle of a door lock quickly and efficiently. Whilst on site gave good security advice on old locks with no pressure to change/replace them just genuine helpfulness. All this at a very reasonable rate. Would highly recommend!
Sharon Posted on 09/03/2017 , work completed 09/03/2017
UPVC Door Issues
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used this service after a recommendation from a friend. Matt was superb, very polite and did the work quickly and efficiently. Prices were very fair for the work done. Would highly recommend.
Mel Wold Posted on 08/03/2017 , work completed 08/03/2017
Absolutely brilliant.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mat saved me and my caravan Phyllis! I accidentally locked the caravan keys in the caravan and couldn't find the spare key. Mat was here within minutes. He was so friendly and so so good and very reasonably priced. I honestly can't recommend him enough. I will most definitely call him again if I need to.
Rebecca Posted on 06/03/2017 , work completed 06/03/2017
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy, he was fast, good value for money and I highly recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 28/02/2017 , work completed 28/02/2017
Fast efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service at a reasonable price.
Matthew, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/02/2017 , work completed 14/02/2017
Always does a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They have done lots of jobs for us including replacing all the door locks in our office and staff-room, and sorting out the fire door. We are very happy, no complaints, definitely recommend to others. They are professional to deal with, very friendly and reasonably priced. Always does a great job, arrives on time and really prompt for emergency call outs.
Posted on 08/02/2017 , work completed 08/02/2017
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gearing Locksmiths replaced a locking mechanism on our balcony/window, we were extremely happy, and would recommend definitely. They arrived on time and their top concern was security. We heard about them through another trader who recommended them to us.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 14/12/2016 , work completed 14/12/2016