We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Graham Maddock

Profile thumb pp

4.9

45 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:30–22:00
  • Monday 07:30–22:00
  • Tuesday 07:30–22:00
  • Wednesday 07:30–22:00
  • Thursday 07:30–22:00
  • Friday 07:30–22:00
  • Saturday 07:30–22:00
  • Sunday 07:30–22:00

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

Organisations and Awards

Jun 2020

About

Professional, experienced painter & decorator trading for 30 years to build a business built solely on personal recommendations.

Specialising in the domestic environment, competent at giving advice and working with clients to achieve their designs to the highest standard. Pleasant and friendly attitude, willing to work around household routines to cause the least disruption.

Areas of work include both interior and exterior decorating, incorporating wallpaper hanging, coving, kitchen unit painting and handyman services if required.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
    • Wallpapering
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • coving
    • kitchen unit painting

Customer reviews

4.9
45 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Extremely professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Graham for the first time, after being recommended to use the ‘Which’ site from friends. And, we found Graham to be highly skilled and meticulous in his work. He turned up every day at 8am, and did not leave until 5pm. Considering he decorated the whole of our downstairs, and stairway, we hardly knew he was there. He was very thorough with his work, and his attention to detail was exceptional. And, he cleaned up every evening before he left. Overall, his work was completed to an exceptionally high standard. Therefore, I would not hesitate to recommend Graham to anyone that needs a high quality decorator.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 26/10/2020 , work completed 26/10/2020
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time that Graham has done work for us and probably won't be the last. He arrived promptly each day and worked to a very high standard and within budget. We are really pleased with the result and cannot recommend him highly enough.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 10/10/2020 , work completed 09/10/2020
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham redecorated the cladding on my house, arrived exactly when arranged and was polite and professional. I'd certainly recommend him.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/06/2020 , work completed 02/06/2020
Excellent Decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were recommended to ask Graham for a quote by friends who have used his services for years. Graham provided a competitive quote, kept us up to date with availability and ensured we knew what to expect. The job was to make good after a new kitchen had been installed, decorate the kitchen, dining room and utility room. He was meticulous, arrived promptly, kept common areas very tidy, used loads of dust sheets, performed miracles with all the filling and sanding required, and decorated to a high standard. All whilst being very pleasant to have in the house over 2 weeks. We are delighted and will be booking him for more work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 27/05/2020 , work completed 27/03/2020
Meticulous attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham Maddock quoted for a decorating job in my flat. Although he was not the cheapest he came highly recommended from a neighbour. From the moment the quote was accepted, Graham kept me fully informed as to choice of materials and expected date to start the job. The work was completed as promised in three days and to a very high standard. He arrived promptly each day and the work was cleaned down and made tidy before he left. He has an eye for detail - I wanted a perfectionist and got one! Will definitely use him next time
Dennis in Hertfordshire Posted on 22/05/2020 , work completed 22/05/2020
Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Graham to be an excellent decorator, very clean, tidy, helpful and reliable. He decorated my guest bedroom, which had a ceiling covered in layers of paint and paper and very difficult to remove. He tackled the job without complaint which I was very impressed with. He will be coming back to do some more decorating for me and I would highly recommend him.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/03/2020 , work completed 20/03/2020
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham did such a good job of redecorating our lounge/diner that we have booked him to return in the summer to do the hall and landing. He is not just "some guy with a paintbrush" but a craftsman with years of experience and can give helpful advice. He did a thorough job and left it tidy at the end of each of the 4 days that it took. He kept to the agreed estimate and finished quicker than estimated. Thoroughly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/01/2020 , work completed 16/01/2020
Work completed 23rd December 2019
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work carried out by Graham. He carried out his work to a very high standard of workmanship and I was very happy with everything he did and in the time scale that he had provided. I would have no hesitation in recommending Graham to others.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/12/2019 , work completed 23/12/2019
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very clean and tidy worker who is very conscientious, extremely high standard of workmanship was very happy with everything he done and would recommend to others and have carry out further work for myself.
Customer Posted on 24/09/2019 , work completed 20/09/2019
Excellent decorator
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham was recommended. He is an excellent decorator who knows his craft and pays great attention to detail. Trustworthy and reliable, would highly recommend.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 02/09/2019 , work completed 19/08/2019
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
His workmanship is very good, tidy, thouiriough. He is very good at what he does,I am a fussy customer and i was very imnpressed. He will be back to do more work for me. Would reccomend to anyone
Mrs M Dimes, Ware Posted on 30/08/2019 , work completed 30/08/2019
Highly recommended craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When we need another room redecorating I will definitely book Graham. He is a very experienced and careful decorator. He dealt expertly with some cracks and decorated our main bedroom exactly to our specification and to a very high standard. He ensured that our carpets were fully protected and cleared up as he went.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 23/08/2019 , work completed 23/08/2019
Very satisfied
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham started decorating in my home March 2018. He has been here several times since then decorating the interior. He finished the small area requiring attention on the exterior yesterday. I have found Graham very thorough, clean, always on time and pleasant, always leaving the house tidy. Graham never varied from his quote even if problems arose. He has helped me with suggestions, not necessarily to do with the actual decorating. I would recommend him for his professionalism. I can now enjoy my lovely new home.
Customer in Stevenage Posted on 30/07/2019 , work completed 29/07/2019
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Decorating works to L shaped Lounge & Dining room. Very pleased with all aspects of the work. Graham made the whole experience a pleasant one as he was also dealing with the heatwave. Extremely punctual and helpful and everything carried out conscientiously and to a very high standard. He sorted out one or two issues and I am very pleased with the results. I very much hope to book Graham for future work but realise I need to book well in advance because he is always busy. Highly recommended.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 24/07/2019 , work completed 24/07/2019
Goes the extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham decorated our hall, stairs, porch and landing. Lots of doors that had turned rather yellow as we hadn't got round to decorating this area of the house for sometime. Excellent time keeper, always very considerate and very clean and tidy. Spotted areas that needed a little paint and in doing so improved the look of the interior of the house generally. Beautiful finish to walls, doors and paint work generally. Considerately left some touch up paint in case we mark the walls! Thanks Graham! Have already requested quotes for bathroom and kitchen!
Susan, Hertfordshire Posted on 27/03/2019 , work completed 27/03/2019
Trustworthy craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham recently decorated the walls (painting and wallpapering), ceilings and woodwork in my 1 bed flat over the course of two weeks. I found Graham to be a trustworthy and professional workman, with a great work ethic, and he was a pleasure to talk to. He not only completed the job as per the quote, but also took on the work from any problems that crept up during the job. He always arrived on time in the mornings, and left the flat tidy at the end of the day.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 18/02/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Top Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On his 2nd visit to my property, Mr. Maddock decorated the landing, stairs and hall. The Dining room and Lounge were decorated on his first visit. A third visit is planned to complete the ground floor. I was very impressed with his work. He kindly explained everything to me and kept to his quote. He was punctual, very tidy - everything was well covered and no mess left at the end of each day, I would recommend him - value for money and a excellent job done.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/12/2018 , work completed 03/12/2018
Most Impressed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Graham on Which Trusted Traders and have been very happy with the service from quotation (very reasonably priced) through to completion of the work. The quality of the work (wallpapering and painting) is brilliant and we found Graham to be an exceptionally considerate workman, who was amenable to all our requests. Will definitely use Graham again and highly recommend him to anyone after a painter/decorator.
mazza_24 Posted on 03/11/2018 , work completed 03/11/2018
Very impressed with the quality of work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham was recommended to us by a friend who had worked with him a few years ago. We were happy with his quote for the hallway and landing to be painted, along with 11 doors and we booked him up 9 months in advance, as we wanted the decorating to take place in the Summer Holidays the following year. Graham even painted our porch instead of a front door and side panels which we had had replaced before he came to start the job and this proved to not be a problem. He arrived punctually every morning and worked until late, tidying up every evening. You can see he takes pride in all of his work and we are really pleased with the end results. I would totally recommend Graham. He is so professional, friendly and trustworthy. I could pop out as and when I needed to, leaving him at my home. Thank you for a superb job!
Tracey Posted on 17/08/2018 , work completed 17/08/2018
Top quality work from a meticulous and trustworthy man.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We use Graham for all our decorating, this time he painted the whole kitchen including the kitchen cupboards and wooden panelling, they look like new again, a brilliant job as ever so delighted with the end result. Graham is meticulous in every aspect of the job and 100% trustworthy and reliable. We will of course be using Graham again.
Jane Jones Posted on 18/07/2018 , work completed 18/07/2018
Dedicated craftsman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham previously decorated the hall, landing and stairs to a very high standard. He is a dedicated craftsman, professional, punctual, reliable and goes "that extra mile" to ensure the job satisfies both him and his clients. He returned in May to decorate (update) a large pine unit in the lounge along with decorating the lounge generally. It is superb and beyond my expectations. Graham does not need any further recommendations - his fully booked diary speaks volumes. Thank you Graham for another beautiful project.
Elaine Posted on 23/06/2018 , work completed 23/06/2018
Great job and friendly service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Initially received a very reasonable quote for decorating my flat. A couple of extra bits popped up during the decoration, i.e. making good some previous decorating attempts by others which took a bit of time to put right but at no extra cost. Graham’s work is fantastic with attention to detail that is much appreciated. At the end of each day he always tidied up packed his materials away so not to cause any bother. Overall I was really pleased with the result and would recommend to others...well worth the money.
Adam H Posted on 20/06/2018 , work completed 20/06/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great with elderly Mum. A punctual, tidy, honest tradesman. i cannot rate Graham highly enough and would recommend him to anyone who requires a great painter and decorator.
Peter Woodlands Posted on 12/06/2018 , work completed 12/06/2018
A job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham decorated our hall landing and stairs to a very high standard and we were very pleased with everything he did he was very obliging and took his time to finish the job to our satisfaction We would recommend him 100% and will use him again in the future
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/04/2018 , work completed 03/04/2018
Worth The Wait - Superb Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had to wait months for Graham but it was definitely worth it. He did a superb job papering our hall, stairs, landing and study. Prompt, very thorough preparation and tidy - totally professional job. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.
Peter, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/03/2018 , work completed 05/03/2018
Great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job! Graham was prompt, tidy and really efficient. The quality of work is excellent. He worked so hard and gave us lots of advice. The best decorator we have ever had!
Carolyn, Hertfordshire Posted on 29/01/2018 , work completed 29/01/2018
Great quality and went extra mile
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham managed to fit us in just before Christmas and was extremely thorough in the quality of his work for both the painting and applying wallpaper. Also helped repair a decorating issue we had with our curtain rail after the work was completed. Would absolutely recommend Graham and use again Mr Hunt
Mr Hunt Posted on 04/01/2018 , work completed 04/01/2018
Very good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Graham after reading previous reviews. He came round and gave a competitive quote but explained he was booked up until the new year. The room had been cleared of furniture and we said it would stay like that. Fortunately he had a cancellation and came to us. He arrived early each day and left late. He is of a pleasant disposition and easy to get on with. He worked hard to a very good standard and we would use him again.
Pamela Jolin Posted on 06/11/2017 , work completed 06/11/2017
Exceeding expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham was in such popular demand that he was fully booked up and unlikely to be available for the time we needed our work to be done. However he listened to our story nevertheless, and took on board the fact that we needed a comparison quote for the work to be done on rectifying damage to our property caused by a faulty product sold by a high street retailer. Even though it was unlikely that he would have availability to undertake the work himself, he was willing to offer to spend his valuable time to diligently prepare a professional quote to help us. We are so grateful and have no doubt he would do a 5* job. (It is the customer service aspect that we can most comment on but I have ticked the 5* for customer service, quality and value in this context. )
Caroline Kursumovic Posted on 09/08/2017 , work completed 09/08/2017
Outstanding in every respect
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham is just finishing off decorating our wooden conservatory inside and out. He is thorough, meticulous, and a pleasure to have here. His work is of the highest standard possible. If you can get him, use him! He is in great demand for a reason. Could he be cloned I ask.
Coates Posted on 02/06/2017 , work completed 02/06/2017
obviously takes great pride in his work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had to wait a long time for Graham because he had a full order book, but it was worth the wait. He painted a bedroom; and painted and wallpapered the hallway, stairs and kitchen. He carefully applied two coats of paint to all woodwork and his papering was excellent. He was obliging, friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. He took away all wallpaper strippings and left the house in a tidy condition. We have no hesitation in highly recommending him.
9777 Posted on 28/05/2017 , work completed 28/05/2017
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham has just completed interior the decoration of our entire house top to bottom. We cannot praise him and his work highly enough. Superb attention to detail, meticulous preparation and high quality standard of finish. Very neat, tidy and conscientious. Honestly the best decorator that we have had in the last 30 years, over 8 homes. Thank you Graham.
Robert H Posted on 13/03/2017 , work completed 13/03/2017
Punctual, friendly and tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham decorated various rooms and ceilings in my daughter's house, and did a beautiful job. She reported that he arrived on time every day, was very friendly, and left the areas beautifully clean and tidy at the end of every single day, so that all parts of the house remained usable. She would not hesitate to recommend him.
2011-07-14 11:28:02.933 Posted on 01/03/2017 , work completed 01/03/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Totally reliable and trustworthy. The work was faultless, and the cost was reasonable. Very highly recommended.
David R Posted on 19/10/2016 , work completed 19/10/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having renovated our summer house last year, Graham and his associate,Harry, returned this year and completely redecorated the downstairs areas of our house including the stairs and landing. They are punctual, polite trustworthy and very, very tidy. The work is done to high standard with no fuss and excellent preparation. Graham even calmly dealt with extra work caused by a collapse of part of the ceiling caused by a central heating leak that we had hoped would have been dealt with before he came to decorate and performed a repair to the damaged coving. I would highly recommend his services.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 27/07/2016 , work completed 27/07/2016
Did a great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very happy with Graham's work. He and his colleague, Harry turned up on time each day, worked solidly and left the place neat & tidy each evening. They were polite & friendly, and did a very professional job. We wouldn't hesitate to use Graham again and are very happy to recommend him.
northernlass Posted on 03/07/2016 , work completed 03/07/2016
Very satisfying
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently had Graham to paint two rooms and fill in a number of unsightly cracks in the extension. We are very satisfied with Graham's work. He and his young colleague, Harry turned up on time each day, worked solidly and left the place neat & tidy each evening, ready for the next day. They were polite & friendly, spent time on thorough preparation and did a very professional job. We wouldn't hesitate to use Graham again and are happy to recommend him.
Colette, Hertfordshire Posted on 03/05/2016 , work completed 03/05/2016
Meticulous attention to detail.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham was recommended by a work colleague and I would happily recommend Graham to others. He was timely in his workmanship, friendly and totally trustworthy in my home. I'm delighted with the end results and the customer service I received during the project. Graham is a gentleman.
Carole Posted on 11/04/2016 , work completed 11/04/2016
Excellent as usual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham has once again impressed us with a professional and friendly attitude and very neat decorating job at our practice, and we could ask him to accommodate us on days that suit us as the business had to stay open. He did the original decorating for us 5 years ago and we insisted on using him again during our refurbishment.
Monica, Essex Posted on 26/05/2015 , work completed 26/05/2015
Fantastic professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A fantastic professional service from the start and throughout. All work carried out to the highest specification. I have highly recommended already to others. We would most certainly use again without a doubt.
Karen, Hertfordshire Posted on 11/05/2015 , work completed 11/05/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with work.
Vernon, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/05/2015 , work completed 05/05/2015
Decorating job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham completely decorated the stairs & hallway of my properyty which was quite a big job asit involved stripping everything and starrting from sctratch as well as the wood work. I would definitely recommend him.
Martin, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/05/2015 , work completed 01/05/2015
Very happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham painted outside of my house and looked at some minor jobs. Very happy with the work. Happy to recommend.
Julie, London Posted on 01/05/2015 , work completed 01/05/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was absolutely over impressed with Grahams work on my landing and athroom. Work was completed on time and to the budget.
Jane, Hertfordshire Posted on 14/04/2015 , work completed 14/04/2015
Professional and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Graham has worked as our decorator for the past 20 years. He is very dedicated to his work and always finishes to a very high standard. His preparation work is exemplary as is his tidiness. He is prepared to offer advice & solutions to achieve the best result for the customer. He recently decorated our living room and, as always, was reliable and did a lovely job. I would not hesitate to recommend him.
Jane, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/03/2015 , work completed 16/03/2015