We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Grosvenor Builders

Profile thumb img 20140216 wa0001
5.0

72 Reviews

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Hertfordshire Trading Standards to create a Hertfordshire Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check

About

Welcome to Grosvenor Builders, a reputable family run building company that has been established for over 30 years. Located in North London, we specialise in all types of building work and are happy to provide a free estimate for any building project you may be interested in undertaking.

If you click on our ‘Testimonials’ page you will see we have many satisfied customers. Many would happily show you the completed works and even talk to you about the work and progression from start to finish.

At Grosvenor Builders, we pride ourselves on quality workmanship and competitive prices. To put your mind at ease, we have obtained all the necessary insurances and have a Public liability cover.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Loft conversions
    • Plastering
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Wet rooms
    • Bathroom design services
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom suppliers
  • Carpenters

    • Joinery and carpentry
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen installation
    • Granite Worktops

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
72 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Kitchen refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete refurbishment of an older outdated kitchen, including stripping out all old fittings and appliances, redecorating, providing new ceiling lighting, installing all new cupboards, new splash backs and flooring, new cooker, hob, microwave, extractor, fridge, freezer, washing-up machine, testing, full safety and appliance checks. All carried out on schedule and to budget. Tidied-up and cleaned at the end of each day. All waste removed. Additional work undertaken while on site. Again completed as required.
Michael in Hertfordshire Posted on 28/06/2021 , work completed 24/06/2021
Kitchen and Utility Room Refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a complete kitchen and utility room refit. We are absolutely delighted with the result. Daniel and James were a pleasure to have around and they have done a fabulous job. The whole process was superbly managed, carried out on time, within budget and leaving us stress free. We would thoroughly recommend Grosvenor Builders to anyone wanting a first class job. We will definitely use them again. Thanks a million guys.
Steve in Hertfordshire Posted on 06/06/2021 , work completed 17/05/2021
Shower room and separate WC re-fit. Welham Green Herts.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We identified Grosvenor Builders through the Which Trusted Trader register and required a professional high quality shower room & separate WC re-fit for a rental property. It had to provide durable, quality fittings and units, and be installed to a high standard. We required the works to be coordinated so as to cause the minimum of delay and disruption to tenants. Included in the works were the removal of the old bathroom and WC, removal of old tiles, re-plastering, installation of electrical services, tiling, installation of shower, basin and vanity unit and a towel rail. Also a separate WC, towel rail and hand basin. High quality flooring and decorating of walls, ceilings and woodwork were all carried out by Grosvenor builders. This was hassle-free one stop shoping. Grosvenor Builders kept us informed of preparations prior to the start of works and maintained contact with the tenants prior to the start of, and during the works. The job was started on time and completed within the agreed time. We were informed of progress on a daily basis. A site inspection confirmed the quality of work and attention to detail are excellent. We are very impressed with the works done and the courteous, friendly service provided.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/04/2021 , work completed 29/03/2021
A Superb Bathroom Refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company are superb! We were very impressed by the fantastic way they carried out the work. They arrived on time every day and stayed until 4:30 pm each day, only leaving to buy items needed for our work. Polite, professional and punctual would sum up the way they worked and the advice we received about the colour schemes and materials was superb! Our bathroom looks fantastic and what's more, everything works exactly as it should-the shower is great, the bath is gorgeous and the under-floor heating makes the room toasty-warm! The boss explains things, understood our plans and wants!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/03/2021 , work completed 12/03/2021
Two Bathrooms
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We engaged Grosvenor Builders to fit out a new loft room bathroom and a total refurbishment of the existing bathroom. Daniel and James did a splendid job with high precision and top quality workmanship in the specified time frame and to the quote, Fred gave us on his initial survey. We also had them carry out some additional work that was happily done. At the end of each day, they ensured the workspace was left clean and tidy.
Nigel in Hertfordshire Posted on 14/02/2021 , work completed 10/02/2021
Kitchen and shower room renovation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Grosvenor Builders to renovate our kitchen and shower room. The work involved removing a chimney breast and stack, the amount of dust was negligible as they sealed all doors. Daniel and James were hard working and polite. Fred and the team were very good with ideas and advice. The end results was a superb new kitchen and shower room. We would recommend Grosvenor Builders for their efficiency and high standard of work.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 11/01/2021 , work completed 15/12/2020
Full house Refrub
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred and his team completely transformed our 2 bedroom terraced house. they put in a new bathroom, new kitchen, new boiler, complete decoration with amtico floors throughout. The Job took about 8 weeks to complete and they was always on time without fail, they was very courteous and always gave us great ideas and suggestions. They was also on a budget and nothing was too much trouble for them we got the feeling that they really cared about what they do which was very reassuring. If your thinking of having any building works done try Grosvenor Builders you wont be disappointed. Finally a big thank you to Fred, Daniel, James and Ken for all your hard work!
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/12/2020 , work completed 20/11/2020
Garage conversion + New bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The Grosvenor team have just finished our garage conversion and new bathroom and we are blown away by the quality of the finished project. It surpassed all our expectations and was a completely stress-free process from start to finish. Every step of Grosvenor's appointment was extremely professional and efficient. Their quote was accurate and competitive, with a payment schedule that worked for everyone. The quality of suppliers and products used was top notch. Fred, Dan and James were an absolute pleasure to have in our home; helpful at every moment and extremely friendly. They would always be on hand to discuss the next steps of the project, fixtures and fittings and our personal preferences. Equally, they always had a positive attitude and worked extremely hard, whatever the weather! Simply put, if you appoint Grosvenor for your project, you will not be disappointed. They will deliver you a great result, guaranteed. We are already saving up for the next project that we would love to have them back to help with! Many thanks.
Adam, Noorina & Zac Posted on 18/11/2020 , work completed 13/11/2020
Kitchen replacment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel and James did an amazing job over four weeks, completely transforming our kitchen in the process. Nothing was too much trouble and they were unfailingly courteous and friendly. Their work is of the highest standard and they have all the tools to match! They coped with everything seemingly effortlessly, from taking out a wall to laying a new Amtico floor. I wholeheartedly recommend them.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/08/2020 , work completed 03/08/2020
Kitchen extension / remodel
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work from the team, we’re so happy with the results which were finished to a high standard. The work involved, amongst other things, removing an old bathroom from the back of the house (terrace) and then extending the kitchen through, removal of the chimney breast, vaultIng the ceiling, doors into the garden and installing new kitchen. Fred, Dan and James kept us informed throughout the build of any changes and were happy to chat through and price any extras we wanted. They set up a temporary kitchen in the dining room for us so we were never without a sink or washing machine throughout the whole build. They were courteous and friendly at all times and tidied and cleaned up at the end of the day without fail. We would definitely use again and would be happy to recommend.
James in Greater London Posted on 25/07/2020 , work completed 10/04/2020
Excellent Company Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Everything to do with Grosvenor was superb, from initial quotation, communication and the quality of work. Fred, Dan and James are a pleasure to have in your home, their workmanship is faultless and attention to detail excellent. They really care about their work and go the extra mile. All in all a great experience that offsets all the horror stories you here. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend them or use them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/06/2020 , work completed 11/06/2020
Excellent in every way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent standard of work and a pleasure to have Fred, Dan and James in the house. Excellent timekeeping, polite , friendly , helpful and considerate throughout the two weeks and delighted with our refurbished bathroom. No hesitation in recommending them to others.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/01/2020 , work completed 27/01/2020
Superb bathroom refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service provided by Fred and Ken. Really professional and helpful throughout the bathroom refit. Refit completed to schedule, regularly kept me up to date with progress and answered any questions I had. Really pleased with the final finish. Recommend highly.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/01/2020 , work completed 12/12/2019
Excellent work, nothing to much trouble.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred and his team are amazing. I would have no hesitation in recommending them. They have completely transformed my kitchen/dining area. Their attention to detail is second to none and nothing was to much trouble. They completed the work on time, they were efficient, tidy and a pleasure to have working in the house.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 03/01/2020 , work completed 20/12/2019
Complete bathroom refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good timekeeping and workmanship. Polite and considerate. Good communication. Very satisfied with new bathroom.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 05/11/2019 , work completed 28/08/2019
Ground Floor extension kitchen/diner/living area
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been very pleased with the work done. Fred has been great and so have Dan and James, they have given us advice and the quality of their work has been exceptional. Through out the build they kept us updated with what to expect and what we needed to think of for the next stage. They always made sure that we had water connected and that we had use of our washing machine when they had left for the evening which was great. All our family have said how fantastic our extension and kitchen is. The quality and the finish of the work is outstanding. Cannot praise them highly enough.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/11/2019 , work completed 28/10/2019
Kitchen Refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time we have used Fred, James and Dan. The kitchen was refurbished completely, including a new ceiling, underfloor heating and plumbing for a fridge freezer. All construction and paintwork was finished to a very high standard and within time stated. It was a pleasure having James and Dan on site who are courteous, tidy and meticulous with their work. Once finished Fred, as senior, came round to check that everything was finished to the highest standard. Everyone who has seen the kitchen has been impressed with the finish. We would have no hesitation in recommending Fred and his team.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 07/07/2019 , work completed 03/06/2019
Superb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great work from start to finish. A very reliable and friendly team. Would highly reccomend this company.
Paul Posted on 18/04/2019 , work completed 18/04/2019
Amazing Kitchen Refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred and his team were amazing, their work is detailed, careful and first class, their after service care is just fantastic, never had workmen like them before. They will do anything for you, make changes to plans at short notice and still complete on time, help you work to a budget if you have one and do anything they can to give you the kitchen that you want. The work quickly and cleanly and do a lot of little extra's that I hadn't even considered to ask for. Cannot recommend them enough, use them and you will not be disappointed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/03/2019 , work completed 15/03/2019
All finishes have been to a very high quality finish and we will be definitely working with Fred and the team for our next project.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Grosvenor Builders were recommended to us by our plumber, as we were looking for a builder to complete a refit of our loft area. Fred provided a competitive quote and answered all of our questions. We have had lots of building work completed in previous properties and our priority is working with a builder who is trustworthy and completes work to a very high standard. Grosvenor Builders does have a waiting list, but we preferred to wait for the right builder and Fred kept us updated on the waiting times. Fred and his team were very professional at all times, always on time, communicated every step of the build, tidied up at the end of each day and completed all works within the timeframes set. We felt completely secure leaving the house in their hands. All finishes have been to a very high quality finish and we will be definitely working with Fred and the team for our next project.
Anne Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 13/03/2019
Professional & high standards.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Grosvenor Builders completed a loft conversion for us to very high standards & within the agreed timeframes. We had a number of special bespoke jobs required as part of the works, which they completed with precision & high standards. Always on time, helpful, easy to deal with & answered all our questions with patience - Very customer focused.
Anne, London Posted on 18/01/2019 , work completed 18/01/2019
Lovely job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Asked questions where needed. Very polite and tidy - a pleasure to have in the house. Work completed to customers design and a high standard of finish.
Bruce, Hertfordshire Posted on 05/12/2018 , work completed 05/12/2018
Superb job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had Fred, Dan James and their team finish work on our house. They have built a large ground floor extension in cooperating a new kitchen / living room with a cloakroom and utility room in the old kitchen. Everything was done with meticulous attention to detail at every stage. Whilst the work was carried out they provided us with a temporary kitchen. They went to great lengths to minimise any dust and kept the work place neat and tidy. We could not have wished for better builders.
Nigel, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/11/2018 , work completed 01/11/2018
treated my home like there own
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kitchen and Garden Room extension
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/06/2018 , work completed 04/06/2018
As previously set out.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out to a very high standard by professional, courteous, prompt, reliable team. Second occasion Grosvenor Builders have completed jobs for me and I would not hesitate to recommend them. Brilliant job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 13/04/2018 , work completed 13/04/2018
Wonderful job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend Grosvenor Builders highly enough. Prompt, professional, reliable & friendly. Standard of work high. Second time I've used this company. Fred, Dan & James very helpful and nothing too much trouble.
Patricia, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/03/2018 , work completed 01/03/2018
Professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Grosvenor Builders was one of two persons who quoted for a shower-room upgrade. They attended on the 5 days at 8am every day and completed a very very professional job. Very honest and reliable. I highly recommend them.
Edward, London Posted on 19/02/2018 , work completed 19/02/2018
Absolutely delighted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our old, very small dilapidated bathroom needed a complete refurbishment. We chose Grosvenor Builders from this website and are so pleased we did because what originally seemed to be a smallish job turned out to be quite complicated. Dan and James were a pleasure to have around - highly skilled, professional and friendly. There were several extra jobs needed in addition to the original estimate which they carried out cheerfully. We now have a fabulous walk-in shower and bathroom and highly recommend the Grosvenor team.
Preedy Posted on 14/02/2018 , work completed 14/02/2018
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred and his team did an absolutely fantastic job of refurbishing the entire downstairs of our house. They were a real pleasure to have around and went the extra mile the make sure disruption was minimised for us. They gave us great advice and finished the job just as we had hoped. We are absolutely delighted with our new home and would not hesitate to recommend them.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/12/2017 , work completed 08/12/2017
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic family business who take pride in their work which was of a very high standard throughout the 6 weeks spent renovating our kitchen. Care was always taken & we were consulted on all aspects of the alterations which resulted in a complete transformation.
Harvey, Hertfordshire Posted on 04/12/2017 , work completed 04/12/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Loft insulation & boarding-up loft. Several people worked at the job - would not or could not do what was asked of them. Grosvenor Builders came along and carried out a perfect job at a reasonable price. Dustsheets were provided to protect carpets, all was left clean and tidy. Highly recommended.
Hildegard, Hertfordshire Posted on 01/09/2017 , work completed 01/09/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Grosvenor Builders: Fred and Dan Sims Carried out an extensive refurbishment of a 2 bedroom apartment, transforming a neglected Edwardian property to present day specification, with sympathetic enhancing and blending of period features, within the 3 months contract estimate. Fred and Dan, along with their team, presented an excellent, highly skilled, strongly motivated, efficient and punctual firm, maintaining a high standard throughout with intricate attention to detail and completing with an immaculate finish. Competitive pricing and Fred’s well honed experience with a natural ability to Project Manage, gave us quality assurance and peace of mind.
Selchouk Posted on 18/08/2017 , work completed 18/08/2017
Garden room
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job. I am so pleased. The whole experience couldn't have been better. Top quality.
Liz, Middlesex Posted on 14/08/2017 , work completed 14/08/2017
Outstanding in all areas
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a small extension to create a new kitchen, downstairs toilet and refit an upstairs bathroom. Fred Daniel and James were first class in every aspect. They were always polite, punctual and highly professional. They were willing to discuss, listen and adapt any plans where necessary. The standard of their work & attention to detail has been outstanding. Nothing has been too much trouble. Everything was left neat and tidy at that end of each day. I cannot recommend them highly enough. We feel lucky to have found them and we will definitely be using them again.
Marilyn, Hertfordshire Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Grosvenor Builders were prompt, tidy and efficient. They were friendly and communicated well. They have done a really lovely job refurbishing our loft bedroom and en-suite shower room. We are delighted with the standard of the work and will not hesitate to use them again.
Jane, London Posted on 07/03/2017 , work completed 07/03/2017
First class in every way
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A little bit nervous about having building work done as we're in our eighties, but Fred and his team were first class in every aspect. Highly recommend them.
Grace, London Posted on 03/03/2017 , work completed 03/03/2017
Great work very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So pleased with my new bathroom. Builders always on time, and left everything tidy before leaving, even hoovered the stairs. Finish is excellent.
Catherine, London Posted on 03/01/2017 , work completed 03/01/2017
Outstanding all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are delighted by every aspect of the work done for us by Grosvenor Builders in converting our garage into a bedroom/wetroom. Fred and his team are skilled craftsmen and the standard of their work was superior across the board. The team’s punctuality, neatness, courtesy, willingness to explain details, to discuss, listen, and change original plans where necessary were also outstanding. Although Fred’s quote was not the cheapest, we felt we received excellent value for the money we spent. This value is evident both in the quality of materials used and in the finesse and precision of the installation. Fred promised at the outset that he and his team would take care of all aspects of the construction from beginning to end; and he has been as good as his word.
2011-04-05 17:50:34.827 Posted on 22/08/2016 , work completed 22/08/2016
Excellent.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first contact to completion of work, this company were brilliant. I was constantly kept informed, the guys were reliable, polite, friendly and helpful. To top it all, their work was first class. I've already asked for another estimate for more work I need doing.
Liz, Middlesex Posted on 15/08/2016 , work completed 15/08/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a very old kitchen completely rebuilt with new doorways, a downstairs toilet constructed in a very small space; and rear wall enlarged for patio doors. All done with no hassle, lovely people to have working, never late or missing, and with a real pride and pleasure in doing a job well. Completed within time and budget, to the highest standards.
whichmartin Posted on 15/07/2016 , work completed 15/07/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly impressed with the professional approach. Very high standard of work. Tidy, punctual and friendly workmen.
Manashi, London Posted on 23/05/2016 , work completed 23/05/2016
Superb craftsmen.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a very old kitchen completely rebuilt with new doorways, a downstairs toilet constructed in a very small space; and rear wall enlarged for patio doors. All done with no hassle, lovely people to have working, never late or missing, and with a real pride and pleasure in doing a job well. Completed within time and budget, to the highest standards.
Jeffrey, Hertfordshire Posted on 11/04/2016 , work completed 11/04/2016
Great professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would recommend this firm without hesitation. Very professional approach from the start. Kept me informed as to start date, job carried out when expected, great workmanship and a lovely finish. Thank you!
Maureen, London Posted on 29/03/2016 , work completed 29/03/2016
Excellent in all respects
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A first class job from beginning to end. Complete bathroom refurbishment and loft conversion. 10 weeks work, so plenty of scope for things to go wrong, but everything done to a very high standard. A Pleasure to be a client.
Richard, London Posted on 25/03/2016 , work completed 25/03/2016
Brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They fitted a new kitchen for me and did an amazing job! Professional and really friendly.
Leanne, London Posted on 15/02/2016 , work completed 15/02/2016
Polite and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found the employee of Grosvenor Building Service to be very polite, tidy and efficient.
Melanie, Middlesex Posted on 06/01/2016 , work completed 06/01/2016
Great job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite and courteous, always turned up promptly, responsive to changes in specification, high standard of workmanship. Delivered exactly what we wanted, would definitely recommend and use again.
Peter, London Posted on 01/11/2015 , work completed 01/11/2015
Fantastic service - lovely guys
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred and his team have done an absolutely fantastic job of our bathroom and cloakroom. The finished product is great and the process has been really smooth as the guys are so on top of everything. We won't hesitate to use them in the future and would highly recommend them.
Keeley, Middlesex Posted on 30/10/2015 , work completed 30/10/2015
First class job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred Sims & his team of 1st class tradesmen are a credit to the building industry & completed a first class job on time & within budget. Always on time, neat, tidy & courteous. Highly recommended.
Earl, Middlesex Posted on 14/10/2015 , work completed 14/10/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tidiness, reliability, timekeeping, courtesy, & quality of workmanship all excellent. I would not hesitate to employ Grosvenor Builders again & would highly recommend them.
Pat, Hertfordshire Posted on 13/10/2015 , work completed 13/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred and his team did a great job of building a single storey extension to the back of the house and fitting a new kitchen
hp07 Posted on 30/09/2015 , work completed 30/09/2015
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Grosvenor built a single storey rear extension for me. my second time using them. This was a major piece of work remodelling entire rear of house. I was really delighted with the workmanship and helpful suggestions to get a quality finish. All the lads (Don, James and Lol) were great and very trustworthy. Fred the owner is a great find, so can heartily recommend them.
Reece, Hertfordshire Posted on 02/02/2015 , work completed 02/02/2015
Jan 2015 - repair to bay
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Polite, punctual, professional, knowledgeable, skilled, hard working, clean and tidy - a rare pleasure to do business with.
2011-07-24 12:07:36.457 Posted on 30/01/2015 , work completed 30/01/2015
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work carried out to my requirements, plus extras.
Patricia, Hertfordshire Posted on 26/01/2015 , work completed 26/01/2015
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They installed a complete new kitchen which included re-plastering the walls, doing the electrics, installing new appliances, new flooring & everything to make it attractive & smooth working. Also re-laid the patio with new tiles & drainage. All was beautifully done.
Moshe, London Posted on 17/12/2014 , work completed 17/12/2014
Thoroughly professional & totally reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have employed builders on several occasions on many different projects. Grosvenor, a small family firm, is the best builder we've ever had work for us. They are professional, reliable & punctual. The quality of their work is exemplary. we have no hesitation in recommending.
G, London Posted on 20/11/2014 , work completed 20/11/2014
Your review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the work, men courteous & polite. Early start each day. Work completed to a good standard
Joyce, London Posted on 11/10/2014 , work completed 11/10/2014
Installed a downstairs toilet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Started on the day given, completed within schedule, charge price given at the start of the job. Arrived just after 7.30am and worked the whole day. Good quality of work. Men polite and courteous. Cleaned up each day. Would recommend this firm and will definitely use them again.
CMR402763971 Posted on 29/09/2014 , work completed 29/09/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Grosvenor Builders twice. Firstly, there were cracks in the outside wall on both sides of upstairs window. Fred assured me it can be repaired without problem contrary to surveyor from insurance stated.The work was carried be professionally to my satisfaction. Second time I needed to install a new extractor fan in the kitchen. Fred ensured that correct size fan was fitted in the existing space in the wall without need for extra work. Both the times, I have been impressed with Fred and his workmen. I would highly recommend Grosvenor Builders.
KS Posted on 09/05/2014 , work completed 09/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We hired Grosvenor Builders to do a complete refurb of our Victorian Terrace - this included a 12ft x 8 ft rear extension with bifold doors; kitchen refit; levelling of floors and laying new wood floor; new bathroom; refitting downstairs cloakroom; overseeing new boiler fit; overseeing decoration throughout; tiling; fitting new radiators & new skirting boards. We had been burnt by builders not long before buying our house and so interviewed lots of firms. As soon as we met Fred we knew this was the firm for us. 2 years later we are still delighted with our choice. Fred and his boys were professional, courteous, honest and considerate throughout, and most importantly they had an excellent 'can do' attitude. They dragged our half tonne fridge round the block and across allotments because we couldn't get it into the house any other way - without complaint. Fred is fab. He is a gentleman and a craftsmen. You will see a lot more of Daniel ( his son - a brilliant worker ) and James, on a day-to-day basis but Fred is always on the end of the phone if you need him. Two years after they finished the job, I phoned Fred to say we had problems with our bifold doors. Fred sent James round the next day to fix the problem, gratis. We are still very, very pleased with our choice and wouldn't hesitate to use Grosvenor again and to recommend them to friends and family.
kewalks Posted on 23/02/2014 , work completed 23/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Grosvenor to put right some work on a kitchen extension built by another builder. Fred and his team came on time and completed the work within the time agreed. Very professional and tidy work. I have since used Grosvenor for some small repair jobs and have been very pleased with the results
Dandare Posted on 13/02/2014 , work completed 13/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fred and his team fixed a crack in an internal breeze block wall for me and I am really pleased with the job they have done. It was quite difficult to agree a date for the work as it was a relatively small job which Fred wanted to fit in between larger jobs, but once we agreed the date the team arrived right on time and set to work. They were very careful to protect the carpet and furniture from dust and dirt and completed the work within a day, as expected. They cleaned up thoroughly when they were done. All that was left was for me to wait for the new plaster to dry and then paint it. Very pleased!
M Bullock Posted on 01/02/2014 , work completed 01/02/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Grosvenor put a new kitchen into my Edwardian house. It was quite a sizeable undertaking: they had to extend the sunken floor (which meant digging out the existing one and laying a new foundation), constructing a step through to an adjoining room, assembling the non-standard kitchen furniture, shaping the wooden floor of our dining room where it abutted the kitchen units, installing the appliances, handling the various plumbing requirements and putting down a tiled floor. In the process they came across some rotting joists under the wooden floor which they replaced and then inserted airbricks so the problem wouldnÔøΩt arise again. Every evening they would tidy up and leave us with access to mains water. Since they seemed capable of handling almost anything, I also got them to replace the concrete floor in the space under my stairs, to sort out my gutters and to inspect my roof (which, I was glad to hear, didnÔøΩt need to be fixed). They were unfailingly polite, friendly and willing to do whatever needed to be done. As a company, their ethos is to invest time and effort into satisfying the client, and I did feel that everything was carried out with care, concern and skill. IÔøΩm delighted with my kitchen and, because of them, the whole experience was virtually painless. What more can I say?
Pseudobabe Posted on 29/01/2014 , work completed 29/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We recently used Grosvenor Builders to build a one storey rear kitchen extension. Fred, Daniel James and Jay were very professional. They were always punctual, tidy and did their best to please me. I am very demanding and they fulfil my expectation. They worked quickly and it took them 9weeks to complete everything including a new patio outside. I would definitely recommend them
chippo53 Posted on 23/12/2012 , work completed 23/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After reading the reviews here I decided to contact Grosvenor Builders. I was contacted promptly and a time agreed for Fred Sims to meet me to discuss the work. I wanted a lage concrete base put down for a new shed, two new doors fitted to the garage and a fence installed next to the new shed. Fred duly arrived on time and a few days later let me have the quote. We agreed a start date and time. On the day James and Dan arrived with Fred on time and commenced work. They both worked tirelessly, despite the adverse weather at times, and did not take any tea breaks (they don't drink Tea or coffee) and at the end of the day they departed returning the next day at 8.00am. The whole job took three days with us making a few changes. This did not cause any problems with them, they just got the materials and did what we asked. At the end I am extremely pleased with what they did, the time taken and the quality of the work. It was value for money and I have recommended Grosvenor to my neighbours.
KEITH BILTON Posted on 17/06/2012 , work completed 17/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Fred Simms and his team of workers completely gutted and refurbished our kitchen to a high standard. We found this family-run firm to be puntctual, clean, tidy, good humoured and very professional in their day to day dealings with us. Mr Fred Simms was always readily available to answer questions and queries, and as promised, has provided any necessary advice and work once the job was completed. We whole-heartedly recommend them.
Jillmarie Posted on 31/07/2011 , work completed 31/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Grosvenor Builders to take down a structural wall and put in an RSJ. Mr Sims had kept in touch regarding start date, and the team of three arrived on site exactly on time - as arranged. They worked efficiently; thoroughly cleaning up each day and kept dust to a minimum by sealing doors.They completed the job to our satisfaction in the time specified and we would definitely recommend them and would use them again .
David Cohen Posted on 07/07/2011 , work completed 07/07/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Grosvenor builders to convert our garage into a living room. We would definitely recommend them. Fred, Dan and James were very professional; they were always punctual and tidy with their work. Dan and James did most of the work and they are hard working guys who took very little breaks and don't even drink tea or coffees! The standard of their work is very good and we were very pleased and would use them again.
alel.1977 Posted on 11/05/2011 , work completed 11/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The 3 reviews on Which? Local sum them up well. Used Grosvenor to remove load bearing wall, install RSJ, build alcove cupboards & shelving, lay new wood floor throughout downstairs and build decking & seating outside. Fred, his son Dan and James were all conscientious, hard working and polite, given set of keys to save us getting up but always knocked on door to check we were awake at 7.25am every morning for 2.5wks so no lie ins allowed! Tidied away each day & treated rest of house with respect to keep clean. Evidently took pride & care in their own workmanship & talked us through each dayÍs work every morning asking lots of questions. I would definitely use them again
Ian Cartwright Posted on 08/10/2010 , work completed 08/10/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Grosvenor Builders on the Which-local website. Fred - and his team (including son Dan) were all very hard working, conscientious and efficient. They worked at a whirlwind pace - but took all the time and effort needed to complete the jobs properly. I had some smaller work done inside the house first - plastering and rebuilding a wall. I was so pleased with how this had been done that I then went ahead with a more major job that I had wanted doing for a long time (hacking back and re-pebbledashing large parts of the outside of the house). I would thoroughly recommend Grosvenor Builders if you want a job done in a clean, friendly, courteous and efficient manner.
Eve Luckcock Posted on 26/07/2009 , work completed 26/07/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As we didn’t know any reputable builders, we found Grosvenor Builders from Which? Local and felt confident in choosing them from this website as we were looking for a reliable builder close to where we live. We are delighted with the result of the comparatively small job Fred was prepared to do for us, in creating a cupboard in our back extension to house the installation of a new gas boiler and tumble dryer with added storage space for utility items, as well as the renewal of the lighting and decoration of the extension. Fred was friendly, helpful and did virtually all that we asked of him with the addition of one or two small extras! We’d certainly use him again.
Which? Member Posted on 06/05/2009 , work completed 06/05/2009
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Grosvenor to renovate our bathroom. The company is run by Fred, who is very easy going and conscientious. This is the first time we've used him - who we found on the Federation of Master Builders web-site - but would definite use him again.
1067 Posted on 11/11/2008 , work completed 11/11/2008