We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Hale & Murray Ltd

Profile thumb haleandmurray which front pagea
4.9

53 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday 09:00–16:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Established in Poole in 1969 Hale & Murray are designers and installers of bespoke kitchens, bedrooms, bathrooms and studies.

They have an extensive showroom above their workshop that is open 6 days a week offering traditional, modern and classic designs.

They pride themselves on their workmanship and no job is too big or too small. Most of the work is done in the workshop so less time is spent in your home. You can visit their showroom or they can come to your home to advise and design your project.

They offer a Full Kitchen Design and Installation Service
A wide range of appliances, sinks & taps
Granite, Quartz, Corian, Wood and Laminate Worktops
Full Kitchen Installation and Project Management
All trades - building, plumbing, electrcs, tiling, plastrering
Kitchen Replacement Service Available - doors and worktops

For your added peace of mind, they are members of the KBSA (Kitchen Bedroom Bathroom Specialist Association), who offer an insurance backed deposit scheme.

What we do

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen design
    • Kitchen installation
    • Granite Worktops
    • Kitchen showroom
    • Kitchen refurbishment
  • Bedroom fitters

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom design services
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Bathroom suppliers
  • Cabinet makers

  • More Services

    • manufacturer
    • designers and installers fitted furniture

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
53 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Really pleased with our new kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We only popped in to look at some kitchen equipment on a rainy Saturday morning, but ended up asking for a quote, and then signing up for a new kitchen. Norman, Julie, Jo and Nigel were all really helpful in choosing the items with us, and they were so quick to put the designs together and give us a quote. We were really impressed to be given a programme of works, so that we knew which tradesmen would be coming on which day, and could see how the work would progress. All the tradesmen were lovely and worked very tidily in our home. Rod, who fitted the kitchen units, was great, and made a point of coming in to us on his way into work, to deal with a couple of minor issues. The company has their own workshop, so that can make up most of the units, to a high standard. We would definitely recommend them.
Steve and Chris Posted on 10/02/2020 , work completed 18/10/2019
Excellent work throughout
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and thorough work from planning to completion of a downstairs cloakroom. Plumber ,fitter and tiler all showed attention to detail to complete a excellent job.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 17/11/2019 , work completed 15/11/2019
A great team, a great value for money product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We just popped in to look. The warm welcome and attention made us return the next day to sit with Norman to design a kitchen for our flat in London. Two hours later, after plenty of laughs and great coffee with contributions from Julie and Nigel, called in from the workshop, we walked out with our plans to cross check with builder. Three or four design and measurement adjustments as well as numerous phone calls were never too much trouble. Once this order was finalised we realised we needed a run of wardrobes. These were designed following another couple of sessions with Norman and the team. They were manufactured with speed, so our builder was able to collect them together with the kitchen units filling a Luton van. Michael, our builder was very impressed with the workshop and the team behind the scenes. We returned for a further cupboard, bookshelf and wall unit This is a go-to firm for good value and a great product matched with excellent service and an after care where nothing was too much trouble.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/11/2019 , work completed 01/11/2019
Excellent kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We replaced a 21 year old kitchen fitted by this company in 1998 and have every anticipation that our new one will last as long! They were thorough and efficient from planning through to the final touches and flexible to fit in with our electricians. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 08/11/2019 , work completed 01/11/2019
Alteration to a kitchen originally fitted by Hale and Murray
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having just moved in I had my separate fridge and freezer located out in the Porch but my appliances could not cope with the elements of hot weather. So I contacted Hale and Murray to make alterations to the kitchen which they updated 2 years previously for my dad to freshen the appearance up, I knew where I wanted the new appliances to go but was not sure if it was durable. I was amazed what Hale and Murray produced on plan, they had the new appliances built in and gave me extra cupboards as well. The result is excellent workmanship done by friendly craftsmen in good timing and producing top quality workmanship and materials, all the units are flush level and in uniform to the existing kitchen. The cost is good value for money as it speaks for the brilliant work that will be produced and the results that you are left with. My dad used Hale and Murray many many years ago to have this Kitchen installed as new into the extension he built. I am sure if my dad is looking down on me now he will be giving me the thumbs up for a good decision made and for the good Company and Craftsmen I used. Hale and Murray I will always recommend you and will use you for future plans I have on my home.
Customer in Dorset Posted on 10/08/2019 , work completed 08/08/2019
KITCHEN
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had been to a few places to get our kitchen done but no one could do what we wanted. We looked on line for local trades men and found Hale and Murray. What a find we popped in to see them, they were very friendly and helpful.They came round almost straight away, we told them what we wanted and a few days later we saw the plans it was exactly what we asked for, nothing was left off!! Then to top it all the quote for the work was within budget very reasonable for a bespoke kitchen! They gave us a schedule for the fitting and it was all done to plan. They came across a large deep hole in the floor that was covered by the old units which they fixed at a small cost. Even when one unit didn't fit as the wall was not straight, it was taken away and put right the same day! We love the finished result and would highly recommend them perfect job done to schedule and budget!
Lynne and Mick, Poole Posted on 21/07/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Speedy, excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Supplying and fitting of bedroom furniture. Looks lovely and just as pleased with this as we were with previous work carried out by Hale & Murray. Julie, Norman, Nigel and Electrician, Richard were always there to advise. Fitting done to schedule and would highly recommend this company.
Jane Posted on 09/07/2019 , work completed 14/06/2019
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had flood from washing machine, surrounding areas ruined worried - Julie came - all organised - panels replaced - new fitted washing machine - men came helpful, clean and efficient.
Betty, Dorset Posted on 17/06/2019 , work completed 17/06/2019
Kitchen replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent help and advice from Norman, Julie and Nigel. Start date agreed and work then carried to schedule and completed on time. Quality and workmanship the best ever. This company is the one to go to and I am sure you will not be disappointed. Many thanks to all the team for a great job. Frank & Gill
Customer in Poole Posted on 29/05/2019 , work completed 01/05/2019
Kitchen Refit after 14 years of use
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hale & Murray fitted our original kitchen including Neff appliances 14 years ago & everything has performed faultlessly over that time. As they were still in perfect condition, we decided to upgrade the existing base units, with new doors, lights, sink, taps & all new Neff appliances (cooker, combi microwave, warming drawer, induction hob unit, washing machine & dishwasher). They completed the work on the agreed schedule in one day, with excellent planning of the various trades to carry out the fitting. The overall price was very reasonable, including excellent pricing of the appliances. The advice and support given by Julie Stevens and the team was first class.
Customer in Bournemouth Posted on 27/05/2019 , work completed 25/04/2019
Outstanding Local Company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Thank you, Norman, Julie and the rest of the team at Hale and Murray for our superb new kitchen. After looking at many of their competitors in the area, we finally settled for Hale and Murray, mainly because of their great reputation and friendly service. We have not been disappointed, all their staff and the sub-contractors that they used have been highly skilled, professional, polite and courteous. The quality of the design, planning, project management, preparation, fitting, and customer service have all been outstanding. Also outstanding is the quality of the units that they manufacture themselves. We may not be the easiest of customers to please. Julie was very patient with us during the design process. During the installation there were a few things along the way that were a cause for concern to us, but these were handled impeccably by Hale and Murray and the final result is an impressive new kitchen that we are more than happy with. We could not have picked a better company than Hale and Murray and would not hesitate to use them again, or in recommending them to friends and family.
John & Gill Posted on 13/11/2018 , work completed 13/11/2018
Expert service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bespoke bedroom wardrobes and side tables. Excellent consultancy before hand. Superb customer service. Highly skilled workmanship and professional aftercare service
JH, Which Reviewer Posted on 17/10/2018 , work completed 17/10/2018
Bespoke bedroom furniture
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have had a bedroom fitted out with wardrobes storage a desk workstation bedside cabinets along with an extra desk and pedestal
Happy Customer, Which Reviewer Posted on 15/09/2018 , work completed 15/09/2018
A job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete new kitchen designed and fitted as per schedule. Some modifications which were found to be necessary were carried out without any problem. All of the units were well made. We found all of the staff office or on-site to be very helpful and courteous.
K.D. Ferndown, Which Reviewer Posted on 07/09/2018 , work completed 07/09/2018
A superb company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete new kitchen and appliances total remodelling of the area including to a through lounge. I approached 5 kitchen companies I was dissatisfied with all of them lots of blag and little real knowledge before finding Hale and Murray. Hale and Murray work very closely with a building company called Diamond Construction between them they managed the whole project we didnt organise any of the work Hale and Murray did the lot just perfect Hale and Murray are an outstanding company knowledgeable highly professional and all of their team members have the same high standards. Norman and Julie offered exceptional support. They helped with design advice on appliances fitting organised builders where they were needed and provided a time schedule which they stuck to all at a very reasonable price. We are not the easiest of customers and we really appreciated their patience understanding and determination to get things exactly as we wanted. If you want a new kitchen dont look anywhere else contact Hale and Murray. We are delighted with the work and would highly recommend them. They also do fitted bedrooms.
Penny, Which Reviewer Posted on 24/08/2018 , work completed 24/08/2018
Great all-round experience
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two bathrooms completely stripped out and replaced and are completely satisfied indeed delighted with the result. The whole Hale and Murray team were utterly professional in the way they carried out the work from the initial contact and design through execution to completion. All trades involved worked meticulously to a schedule which was closely adhered to in a methodical and considerate manner. We would have no hesitation in recommending Hale and Murray.
David Alford, Which Reviewer Posted on 18/08/2018 , work completed 18/08/2018
Excellent work, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completely new fitted bedroom, en-suite and family bathroom including new ceilings, electrical work and flooring. Nothing too much trouble, lots of helpful advice from Norman, Julie, Nigel and the fitter Andy was brilliant - when asked his opinion he always gave an honest answer and nothing was too much trouble. A fairly big job all completed to schedule. Would highly recommend this company.
Jane & Alan, Dorset Posted on 17/08/2018 , work completed 17/08/2018
Satisfied Customers
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Designed and installed 2 fitted bedrooms and sewing room - first class product and first class service
Brian jenny Whiteside, Which Reviewer Posted on 17/08/2018 , work completed 17/08/2018
A good job by Hale Murray
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted bedroom wardrobes and units. All staff and fitters were efficient and friendly. Goods and workmanship also of good quality. Nothing was too much trouble for them even when I changed my mind about something.
Mrs Phillips Poole, Which Reviewer Posted on 13/08/2018 , work completed 13/08/2018
A Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hale & Murray did a first class job designing and fitting my new kitchen. Their tradesmen are courteous and professional and the whole experience from showroom to completion is fast and well organised. Thank you Julie and Norman. John Poole, Dorset
John Brickell Posted on 07/08/2018 , work completed 07/08/2018
Fantastic, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy people to get on with, standard of work very high, have already recommended the company to other people. Got them back for more work.
Andrew, Dorset Posted on 11/07/2018 , work completed 11/07/2018
Another Great Job Completed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job as usual, this is our 7th job completed by Hale & Murray. From design with Julie through to installation by Andy nothing is too much trouble, very clean & tidy. Thank you for making Mary very happy, heres to the next job! Barry, Mary & Oscar
Baz504 Posted on 21/05/2018 , work completed 21/05/2018
First class all round.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Needed a complete new kitchen - the advice and help offered by Hale & Murray was far in excess of what I expected based on my experience elsewhere, they advised and helped in all aspect's of my new kitchen. The staff work as a team and I have no hesitation in recommending them. Well done team.
Alan, Dorset Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great service from start to finish. No hesitation to refer to friends & family. Great competitive price too!
Anon Posted on 15/03/2018 , work completed 15/03/2018
Excellent work and very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our kitchen was fitted March 2017. After much deliberation by us we chose the kitchen to replace our previous one which had been fitted by Hale and Murray in 1989! Just as pleased second time around, they accommodated all our wishes and it is working brilliantly. The fitters were excellent and as before completed the job promptly. Julie was very patient with us to ensure the end result came up to expectations. Marilyn, Bournemouth
Marilyn Posted on 20/02/2018 , work completed 20/02/2018
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a great team of workers all very pleasant, and an exceptional job well done. Thoroughly recommended.
Keith, Dorset Posted on 24/01/2018 , work completed 24/01/2018
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 3rd room Hale & Murray have done for us, each to perfection. If you want a company you can depend on these are the ones. Quality staff from the van delivery driver to management. Just plain brilliant, hassle free.
Martin, Dorset Posted on 17/01/2018 , work completed 17/01/2018
Excellent job at Church Green, Wareham
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having found Hale & Murray, kitchen designers and installers through adverts in the local press, we were very impressed by the friendly and efficient help we received in choosing a new kitchen design. We were very happy to use kitchen units that they had manufactured themselves in their factory. Their design work and installation has been absolutely outstanding. We are delighted by the final look of the kitchen which exceeded our original expectations. I would certainly recommend Hale & Murray and have already done so.
Graham, Dorset Posted on 05/01/2018 , work completed 05/01/2018
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent all round
Mary, Hampshire Posted on 13/12/2017 , work completed 13/12/2017
Another Brilliant Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent attention at all times, always available to discuss every need. Installation by experts who knew their crafts and delivered and installed in a professional, friendly manner.
Sandy, Dorset Posted on 10/11/2017 , work completed 10/11/2017
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful and organised from very beginning. Excellent team of workers, builders, fitters, plumbers and electricians. Very organised and efficient work. Everyone very helpful and friendly, finished work is very impressive. Thanks to everyone, great result.
Elaine, Dorset Posted on 06/11/2017 , work completed 06/11/2017
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Start to finish of new kitchen.
John, Dorset Posted on 24/10/2017 , work completed 24/10/2017
Delighted with Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Highly delighted with service, product quality and general efficiency.
Geoffrey, Dorset Posted on 29/09/2017 , work completed 29/09/2017
Again brilliant job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have used this company for kitchen and bedroom installation. A first class job again. All on time and brilliant finish. No hesitation in recommending.
David, Dorset Posted on 27/09/2017 , work completed 27/09/2017
Highly professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our kitchen was planned and executed to our complete satisfaction by the skilled fitters completed every process to a very professional standard and we would not hesitate to recommend the company to anyone. Super job.
Stuart, Dorset Posted on 25/09/2017 , work completed 25/09/2017
Prompt, tidy and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The service throughout was excellent from the planning and execution, to the finished job.
Morpeth, Dorset Posted on 20/09/2017 , work completed 20/09/2017
Perfect Design and installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From first contact the customer service has been perfect. The design and material was ideal for our home. The installation went perfectly too, professional, efficient and the area cleared on completion. The perfect company. I am recommending them to all!! I will definitely use them again and again.
Tina, Dorset Posted on 08/09/2017 , work completed 08/09/2017
Excellent all round
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are absolutely delighted with our new kitchen and utility rooms. Work completed on time, personable team including sub-contractors', arriving on schedule. Would highly recommend them.
Karen, Dorset Posted on 04/09/2017 , work completed 04/09/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having had 2 bathrooms and a bedroom fitted by Hale & Murray. I can highly recommend them and the workers are an excellent team!
Mary, Dorset Posted on 04/08/2017 , work completed 04/08/2017
Another great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 6th time we've used H&M, great service and finish every time!
Peter, Dorset Posted on 03/08/2017 , work completed 03/08/2017
Professional from start to finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hale and Murray arranged a complete kitchen refit for me. The job was done on time and to budget. I really could not have asked for a better service.
Patricia, Dorset Posted on 02/08/2017 , work completed 02/08/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent product & job highly professional fitters, clean, tidy installation handled with care and attention to detail. Would recommend without any hesitation.
Robin, Dorset Posted on 19/07/2017 , work completed 19/07/2017
Professional job again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the third time we have used Hale & Murray and have no hesitation in recommending them.
Simon, Dorset Posted on 11/07/2017 , work completed 11/07/2017
First Class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hale & Murray conducted a complete bathroom and full kitchen replacement for us in a bungalow. They completely gutted everything doing the flooring, tiling, plumbing and installation of a new boiler for us. They're a top-notch trader. They actually finished earlier than we expected which meant we could move in sooner! On budget, on time, no problems and all very well done. I have already recommended them to others.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/06/2017 , work completed 20/06/2017
Fabulous galley kitchen
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The entire process was a breeze from the start. There's no hard sale ,unlike the national chains. The entire team that fitted our kitchen were very professional. Even repaired a gas leak to our boiler that NPower and Scottish Power couldn't find. The quality of the units and the build is first class. We now have plenty of storage & work top. We fully recommend using Hale & Murray. We still can't believe how easy everything was.
Pine kitchen Posted on 12/05/2017 , work completed 12/05/2017
Simply superb!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From the very start Julie was patient and worked with us to create our perfect bedroom! I am, as many will testify, an very particular and a little bit OCD when it comes to things being just so. They took on board all my ideas and requirements (and the odd one of my husband's) and made our dream bedroom a reality! Their prices are extremely competitive and the build and work quality is exceptional! Their workmen are friendly, conscientious and tidy. We had no reservations leaving them on their own in our home! I really wish we knew about them before we had our kitchen done a few years back as we were so impressed by their service and attention to detail! They even arranged extras like mirrors and glass tops to add to the units we ordered and fitted these all too! The flooring company they recommended were also amazing! I don't often bother to leave reviews but they really impressed me from start to finish! 5 stars from start to finish! Thank you so much Hale and Murray!
Sam & Gareth Posted on 21/03/2017 , work completed 21/03/2017
Quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good advice on design, well co-ordinated installation, on time and always pleasant to work with.
Anthony, Dorset Posted on 14/03/2017 , work completed 14/03/2017
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have told everyone about my kitchen, it brought me to tears. I can't praise Norman & Hale & Murray enough. I highly recommend them.
Diane, Dorset Posted on 12/03/2017 , work completed 12/03/2017
Bedroom refit
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From design to completion we found the team of Hale & Murray very professional and friendly. We have no reservation at all in recommending this company to anyone. Extremely pleased with the finished result.
Gordon, Dorset Posted on 03/03/2017 , work completed 03/03/2017
5s across the board!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've dealt with trader many times for a huge variety of jobs. We're very impressed with quality and the whole family use them because they're so good. I can honestly vouch that we're always very satisfied with their work. A nice private firm I can trust.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 11/01/2017 , work completed 11/01/2017
Kitchen and bedroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Hale & Murray Ltd out to do a kitchen refit and bedroom refit. The freezer hasn't been fitted yet due to an issue with it not being available, but end of the week the work should all be done.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/01/2017 , work completed 03/01/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good service. Work carried out on time. Any problems quickly sorted. Very pleased.
Trevor, Dorset Posted on 03/01/2017 , work completed 03/01/2017
Kitchen & Bathroom Refurb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very friendly & professional tradesman & staff, 5 star, excellent job. Nothing too much bother, prepared to go the extra mile. Finish & quality first class, updated & informed of every procedure. Brilliant company & staff.
Gordon, Dorset Posted on 05/03/2015 , work completed 05/03/2015