We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Hartswood Heating

Profile thumb hh large gold

5.0

24 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today -
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Hello, I'm Matt and I have been in the heating and gas industry now for 15 years and trading as Hartswood Heating for the last 5 years in Brighton. Now I am lucky enough to work with some great colleagues who have helped us grow into the business we have today.

How can we help you?

If you're having problems with your existing boiler and wondering if it may be time to replace it, get in touch. Maybe it's something we can repair, and if not, we'll be happy to give you a free quotation and discuss your options.

As a Vaillant registered business, we can offer up to a 10 year warranty on new Vaillant boilers. Vaillant are one of the Which? Best Buy boilers so you can be assured of their quality and reliability.

We can also design and install bespoke heating and hot water systems for larger properties where you may have specific requirements and needs.

What else do we offer?

We also service and install -
LPG and Oil boilers.
Unvented hot water cylinders,
Radiators,
Underfloor heating

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Gas installers

    • Gas Fires
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Immersion Heaters
    • Power flushing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance

Customer reviews

5.0
24 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
One of the best
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt installed, and has been looking after my plumbing for a couple of years. The installation was part of a complete refurb and set a few technical challenges. I pride myself for having chosen one of the most competent plumbers in Brighton. Matt should pride himself on providing one of the best plumbing services in Brighton.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 21/10/2020 , work completed 05/10/2020
Great work, very helpful and well done job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his team have done a few jobs for us now and they are always great. They go out of their way to help and make themselves available before and after too. The end result is great and I'd definitely recommend them (and will be having them back in about 2 months!)
Customer in Surrey Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 14/07/2020
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hartswood were recommended by our electrician and we had the pleasure of working with Matt and Sam just before lockdown. They helped design and then installed a new central heating system in our 16th century Grade 2 listed thatched cottage, which was not a straightforward task. They have done an excellent job, reducing our heating bills considerably, and we are contracting them to install an underfloor heating system in other parts of the house. Matt and Sam were punctual, polite and thoughtful and had an affinity with our ancient building which we are lovingly renovating. They treated us and the house with respect, despite it being difficult at times to work in, and in very wet weather. They never complained or appeared frustrated and Matt as senior partner stayed late when needed to make sure the stages were completed and we could be comfortable. They took an interest in the house, and were cheerful and good humoured. We thoroughly recommend them and are glad to work with them again.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 03/07/2020 , work completed 22/03/2020
All good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Serviced and fixed boiler. All fine, very helpful, explained all, good communications about timing, reasonable price. Second time I've used him. Recommended.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 15/06/2020 , work completed 12/06/2020
Amazing service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt was very attentive and professional. We required a boiler and after getting a couple of quotes and them saying it would take 2 days to complete. Matt believed he could do it in 1. We went with Matt as we need hot water especially in this current climate and Matt completed it within the predicted day. We needed some pipes replacing and Matt explained the options (look, price etc.) and gave us on how we can have it rather than doing it however he wanted. We have a tradesman who lives next door to us and he was very impressed on how tidy Matt had done the piping outside. With the current climate, social distancing is vital and Matt made sure that he was cautious with this. Once everything was completed, Matt took the time to explain how the boiler worked and how to use the app for the smart meter. Overall, I would recommend Matt to anyone who wants a honest and professional tradesman
Adam Posted on 12/05/2020 , work completed 05/05/2020
Replace 2 lockshield valves and installed a drain-off
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived promptly and attended to task efficiently observing all necessary social distancing and wearing mask and gloves.
Stephen Jacques Posted on 04/05/2020 , work completed 28/04/2020
Emergency plumbing work during C-19
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent work. Good craftsmanship intelligently carried out. Came in on price. Helpful advice before and afterwards.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 23/04/2020 , work completed 23/04/2020
The trader replied (on 30/04/2020)
Glad we could help! Thankyou for taking the time to leave a review
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt has been used and trusted to service my combi-boiler for a number of years, and recently have used him to attend our work-place boiler as well. He's always utterly approachable, completely fair and honest and perhaps best of all will return your calls! He is also very aware that as a customer you also have a working life, and is very flexible in when he can attend. I've recommended him to my friends now and will continue to do so.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 22/04/2020 , work completed 07/04/2020
The trader replied (on 30/04/2020)
Thanks for the review and also for recommending us to others!
Succeeded where others have failed!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My highest recommendation goes to Matt Lancey of Hartswood Heating for identifying the root of an ongoing leak during an uncharged for site visit which other plumbers had repeatedly failed to identify. Fixing the problem quickly at an incredibly reasonably price and organising a builder to fix the damage caused by the long term leak. This service is way above and way beyond - book him now. Thank you Matt.
Debs Posted on 08/04/2020 , work completed 06/04/2020
The trader replied (on 27/04/2020)
Thanks for the lovely review Debs, it's much appreciated!
Reliable and highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hartswood Heating I couldn’t recommend more. They are extremely reliable and go above and beyond. They explained everything so well and were so considerate in our home and made sure everything was completely protected and completely cleaned down each day they left. We are very happy with the new boiler fitted and all the other work they carried out around the house. These are the guys I will be turning to for all future plumbing work.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 03/04/2020 , work completed 19/02/2020
The trader replied (on 30/04/2020)
Thanks so much for your review, it's very much appreciated.
Professional prompt and personable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When the engineer arrived at a time and date that l so desperately needed l was not let down. It was the way the engineer conducted himself. The word safe on his uniform spoke volumes. He was informative about boilers, polite and personable explaining how it could be fitted cost (which was competitive and reasonable) and how long the job would take. Plus follow up support. I trusted him and the company with my keys to get on with the job. It's done and it's great to have heating and hot water and to be able to manage this from my phone! Together with the assurance of support should l need in future. Can't praise them enough will certainly recommend them. Thanks Mat and Sam.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 14/02/2020 , work completed 30/01/2020
The trader replied (on 25/02/2020)
Thankyou so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are so glad you're happy with the new boiler and controls!
New boiler and radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and Sam from Hartswood heating installed a new boiler and radiators. Very professional, friendly, tidy and communication was excellent. The final price was the same as the original qoute. Overall I'm very happy with them and I'd definitely recommend them.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 11/02/2020 , work completed 30/01/2020
The trader replied (on 25/02/2020)
Very much appreciated, thank you very much
Best gas plumber
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Hartswood Heating are simply the best. I had problems with my central heating for many years. Hartswood Heating fitted a new boiler and did a lot of work to flush out the radiators and clean up the system. The house has never been warmer. In addition I can work the new system with an Ap. They are good communicators, available by text and unbelievably good value for money.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 05/02/2020 , work completed 27/01/2020
Central heating alteration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Communication was excellent from the start. Work was carried out promptly and to a high standard with a high level of expertise . The price was very reasonable compared to other quotes . Everything was explained clearly and honestly compared to other quotes. Aftercare was offered should it be needed . Overall we were delighted with work and would highly recommend Hartswood Heating Ltd
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 24/01/2020 , work completed 13/01/2020
The trader replied (on 28/01/2020)
Thank you very much for your kind review, we really appreciate the feedback, glad we could be of service!
Faultless service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I like to think my recommendation means something because I am not one to heap praise on tradespeople but this firm are truly exceptionally good. The initial visit was speedy and thorough with an efficiency clearly steeped in knowledge.The quote followed quickly and was clear and included a proposed window for the work to be done soon.There was very good communication thereafter until the work began.They arrived early on all 3 days and got on quickly with no fuss - apart from the necessary drilling you would not know they were in and around the house.Matt and Sam were very polite and the former patiently answered all my questions in detail without jargon. On completion they left the site very tidy having given clear advice for use of the new boiler etc.It is still the day of the completion but I feel confident that Matt will attend to any aftercare in the same helpful and efficient manner
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 18/12/2019
The trader replied (on 02/01/2020)
Thank you so much for your kind review. It really does mean a lot to us that you were happy with the service you received.
Serviced boiler/gas fire and ran new gas supply pipe
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work was efficient and carried out in timely manner. I have used this company before and work has always been of a professional standard and we would have no hesitation in recommending them to friends.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 08/12/2019
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Matt and his team installed a new boiler and completely cleaned out the existing central heating system. They worked to a high standard and answered any questions we had along the way. The work was complete in the time agreed and to the competitive price quoted. He made us feel at ease for any future communication and help that we might need with our central heating or plumbing issues. Would totally recommend this company.
Liz, Horley Posted on 29/07/2019 , work completed 25/07/2019
Supply and Install new Vaillant Boiler - Eco Tec Plus 825
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When he came to assess the work for the installation of a new boiler Matt was extremely professional, put you at your ease and explained, very clearly, a way through any potential problems and how he would solve them. Also, he was very quick to respond when we contacted Boiler Guide and showed a genuine eagerness to carry out the work. On the day of installation, he arrived punctually with his very competent assistant, Sam. The old boiler was removed efficiently and the new boiler installed. This was done in the agreed time scale and on budget. Matt has an excellent manner with customers and carries out what he says he will do, to a very successful conclusion. You immediately have confidence in him - no problem is too great and solutions are found quickly. The work was carried out to a very high standard and we would have no hesitation in recommending this company to anybody.
Customer in Brighton and Hove Posted on 06/06/2019 , work completed 31/05/2019
Convert heating system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mathew converted our gravity fed heating system to a pressurised, combi boiler, system. Mathew and his colleague were fast, efficient and friendly. The house was left spotless and the old system, pipes and rads were all taken away. We have now asked Mathew to install our new fireplace and bathroom plumbing. Highly recommended without hesitation.
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 12/03/2019 , work completed 08/03/2019
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We use Harstwood Heating for both business and domestic gas and plumbing services. We find their work to be of a consistently high standard and would recommend them without reservation.
Customer in East Sussex Posted on 17/02/2019 , work completed 15/02/2019
Complete Heating System Replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After being recommended, we asked Matt from Hartswood to replace our entire heating & hot water system including the boiler, all pipework & radiators in a recently purchased house. This would include relocating radiators in different places in most rooms as well as moving the boiler, pressurised tank and controls into the loft. The house is old and has been unloved for a long time and there was a legacy of strange old pipework and other challenges. From the initial meeting with Matt we received a very detailed quotation along with a timeline of the works breaking down exactly what would happen and when. We were also given detailed explanations of how the system would work and be controlled. We agreed a date to start and Matt & his colleague duly arrived at 8.00am on that day as promised. The works were completed on-time, including a few extras we had asked for. During the time the work was being carried out Matt kept us fully informed of progress, kept the house (which was also under going re-wiring at the same time!) as tidy and as safe as possible. There were no accidents or incidents or problems. Timekeeping was impeccable as was the quality of the workmanship that was carried out. The heating & hot water system Having carried out a number of renovations / modernisations over the years, I can honestly say that Matt has delivered to the highest standard & with the greatest efficiency I have ever experienced. I cannot recommend Hartswood Heating high enough!
Customer in West Sussex Posted on 13/02/2019 , work completed 08/02/2019
New boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work carried out by Matt and Sam was absolutely exceptional and we are extremely pleaded we chose them to fit our new Vaillant boiler. Given short notice, a limited budget and a confined space, Hartswood Heating carried out all the work to a very high standard. All the work - which included new fittings and pipes - came in absolutely on budget. As well as the exceptional quality of the work, Matt was also an excellent communicator, keeping us informed throughout and providing a very helpful tutorial in how to work and maintain the combiboiler. We can't fault their work at all and would recommend them for any heating or boiler issue in your home.
Customer in The City of Brighton and Hove Posted on 22/01/2019 , work completed 16/01/2019
An excellent reputable plumbing company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We manage c.150 rental properties across Brighton and Hove - Hartswood Heating are one of our go-to plumbing contractors. Matt and his team have completed a wide range of instructions for us over the past three years from the bread and butter water leaks and gas safety inspections to the installation of full heating systems and bathrooms. I could not be happier with the work of Hartswood Heating and look forward to working together in years to come. Ben Plows Director Home James Residential Ltd
Home James Lets, Which Reviewer Posted on 16/10/2018 , work completed 16/10/2018
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ive used Matt on a lot of maintenance projects in the Brighton area. I decided I would offer them some work at my home in Lewes. They moved a radiator in one of the bedrooms changed some thermostats and sorted out the gas Safety certificate for the boiler. Matt and his team are great time keepers and very clean and tidy too. Matt told me his hourly rate and gave me an idea of how long it would take and was spot on with his estimate. I will be using Matt again and would recommend using them for any plumbing and central heating works.
Steve Corcoran, Which Reviewer Posted on 27/09/2018 , work completed 27/09/2018