We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Heating and Domestic Services

Profile thumb img 0686

4.9

17 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–23:59
  • Monday 07:00–23:59
  • Tuesday 07:00–23:59
  • Wednesday 07:00–23:59
  • Thursday 07:00–23:59
  • Friday 07:00–23:59
  • Saturday 07:00–23:59
  • Sunday 07:00–23:59

About

I am a self-employed Heating Engineer with ten years experience. I am Gas Safe registered. I am qualified for installation, servicing and repair of natural gas and LPG boilers, cookers and fires.

I am a Nest Pro Installer.

I am a domestic electrical installer with a Part P qualification.

I only deal with domestic properties. The work includes gas, plumbing and electrics.

I am based in Great Barr but also cover the wider West Midlands area.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Gas cooker installation
    • Gas cooker repair
    • Gas emergencies
    • Gas safety testing and inspection
    • Gas fire repair and servicing
    • Immersion Heaters
  • Plumbers

    • Emergency plumbing services
    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
  • Electricians

    • Electric Showers
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical repairs
    • Fuse boards
    • Rewiring
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Landlord safety certificates
  • Smart Homes

    • Automated heating and air conditioning
  • More Services

    • car electrical charging point installation
    • drainage
    • lpg

Customer reviews

4.9
17 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Good work, great attitude.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very happy with Jim's work at our property. We had a leak in the bathroom, and Jim came out straightaway. He analysed the source of the problem and fixed it there and then. He gave useful advice and help and also left everything very clean - I cannot fault this plumber. What makes Jim stand out is his professional and friendly attitude and we were happy with the price too!
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 19/05/2020 , work completed 07/05/2020
Highly professional and thorough, always tidied up after a day's work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted to make sure that we found a trustworthy plumber to do various jobs around our house, so having looked at Jim's reviews on Which Trusted Trader we decided to try him out. His first job with us was to service our boiler. He arrived when he said he would, and did a thorough, professional job. We asked him back the following year to service the boiler again, to repair the flush on the downstairs toilet, and to replace various taps, some of which had not worked properly for a long time. It's wonderful that they're now working properly. We asked for his advice for a problem we had with the boiler condensate drain pipe (which flowed into a plastic bowl having been poorly fitted by a previous plumber), and Jim solved the problem by installing it into the soil pipe so it now works perfectly. Jim serviced a gas fire which we hadn't used for years, and he took the time to explain in detail how it works. He did various re-grouting jobs in the kitchen and bathroom, and he was good enough to put up some floating shelves in my bathroom, hence solving the problem of a lack of storage for my towels. They look great! I would definitely recommend Jim to anyone requiring plumbing works. If I need work doing in the future, I would have no hesitation in asking him back.
Gill, West Midlands Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jim installed the new boiler some 12 months ago. We were pleased with his work at the time, so it made sense to call him to carry out the annual service. He arrived at the appointed time and carried out the service in a " by the book manner " but friendly with it. no mess and all correct paperwork left on site. We would recommend Jim for any job within his remit. Dudley customer.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 18/06/2019 , work completed 06/06/2019
Professional, friendly and conscientious
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our hot water stopped working just before Christmas. Jim came out at short notice to fix it and did a thorough job, saving us from cold showers during the festive season! He was really friendly and professional and explained things really clearly to us. Whilst working on the boiler at one stage the water seemed to be heating again but not for reasons that made sense(!) Jim was determined to understand what was happening so that we weren't left with a boiler that might suddenly stop without notice.
Customer in Warwickshire Posted on 12/02/2019 , work completed 23/12/2018
Very thorough, knowledgeable.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great tidy work on boiler. Service and finding a pressure problem. Very thoroughly done. Very trustworthy. Didn't give up until fault was sorted. Will definitely be using again. Thanks .
Andy C Posted on 29/11/2018 , work completed 29/11/2018
Professional and Conscientious
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jim impressed us when we needed a radiator replaced and he installed it in the same week. When we needed a boiler replaced we were happy to call on him again. The condensing combi boiler required the removal of hot and cold tanks and changes to the gas supply. All this was done in a professional manner. We also had new radiators installed and they look good!
Margaret Langley Posted on 06/09/2018 , work completed 06/09/2018
Great job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My water heater was tripping the circuit braker every time it was turned on it has happened before and usually means the element has gone I contacted Jim at heating and domestic services on Friday to arrange a day for him to look at the tank he said he was busy the following week but could spare a couple of hours tomorrow to try and get it done for us. As I was out all day my wife stayed in to wait for jim he turned up on time changed the element but turned out the emersion heater was shot it ended up being an all day job and several trips for parts to solve the problem. Not only did Jim stay and finish the job he did the job to the original quote when he had an opportunity to charge a lot more especially as my wife was on her own and was desperate to get the hot water back on. I couldn't recommend Jim highly enough.
Carlj Posted on 16/05/2018 , work completed 16/05/2018
Thorough, Efficient, Considerate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jim gave our boiler an overdue service, and not only replaced the fan efficiently but took the time to answer all my questions about how the boiler and water heater works. My first impression was exactly right: Jim was courteous, efficient, meticulous and knowledgeable. He kept costs down where he could, and clearly wanted to make sure that he got everything working just right. He was easy to reach, and I’ll certainly work with him again. Recommended.
Peter Auger Posted on 18/04/2018 , work completed 18/04/2018
Professional, knowledgeable, reliable & prompt.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The sink at the back of the house split due to the bad and extreme snow. I found Jim on the internet & saw he was recommended by Which & was local so called him. Despite struggling to leave the house himself due to the bad snow, Jim promptly arrived and repaired the tap. He is very thorough & knowledgeable & also added protection to tap and condensing pipe free of charge. I have booked him for 4 more jobs!
H, West Midlands Posted on 17/03/2018 , work completed 17/03/2018
Many thanks
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The thought of trying to find reliable tradesmen fills me with dread but Jim came as promised on three occasions & did a good job. Recommended!
Stuart Greer Posted on 08/01/2018 , work completed 08/01/2018
Helpfull & Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Huge thank you to Jim, who replaced our expansion vessel this week. After several other plumbers seemed like they did not want any work, Jim went above and beyond to diagnose and fix the issue in a very prompt fashion. At least we now have a reliable plumber for all our properties. Thank you once again A Hall
A Hall Posted on 16/11/2017 , work completed 16/11/2017
Great attention to detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jim came to service our fire and the boiler at my housebound father-in-law's, all on the same day. He arrived dead on time and worked right through. He is meticulous and pays attention to detail which is just what I want from a gas appliance service. He also took time to explain what he was doing and what need to be adjusted or repaired. I would recommend him to anyone needing a boiler and gas fire service.
Pickering Posted on 15/11/2017 , work completed 15/11/2017
Quick response and thorough job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having moved to a new house recently I needed to have a new gas hob installed. Jim arranged to call within a couple of days. He came as agreed and, despite some problems due to the way the old hob had been installed, he did an excellent job and then proceeded to thoroughly test and check my entire gas supply. As well as having a job well done I also have the peace of mind of knowing that all my gas pipework has been tested OK too. Recommend without reservation.
BobFletcher Posted on 02/05/2017 , work completed 02/05/2017
Thorough job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr. Woodall gave us an estimate and then put in a new central heating boiler. Always there when he said he would be. Did not rush, worked competently to complete job.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/04/2017 , work completed 20/04/2017
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had a leak in my boiler which James repaired. Happy with the service received, no problems at all. I recommend to others and will use him again.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/01/2017 , work completed 18/01/2017
Very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He fixed our shower last year, happy with the work carried out, no complaints. He was very efficient, quick and reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend him as he's polite and friendly.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 06/12/2016 , work completed 06/12/2016
Nice guy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used James several times for various jobs - including a gas boiler service and he also sorted out a pipe blockage for me. He's very good, nice guy and I'm happy with his work. He also changed a broken tap and I recommend him often.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/11/2016 , work completed 15/11/2016