We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Herts & Essex Window Doctor

Profile thumb herts and essex window doctor
4.9

38 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–18:00
  • Monday 09:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–18:00
  • Thursday 09:00–18:00
  • Friday 09:00–18:00
  • Saturday 09:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Herts & Essex Window Doctor is a small family run company based in Stansted. We have a strong focus on always providing our customers with an honest, personal and reliable service. We cover areas across the north Essex, ensuring that windows are repaired NOT replaced!

There is a common misconception that cracked windows, broken hinges or misted windows are an indication that the unit needs to be completely replaced. We can assure you that this is not the case! With a vast knowledge of double glazing, we confidently say that we have a solution for a majority of problems with your double glazed units.

We can save your time, money and effort by simply amended a problem with your window, rather go through the time consuming procedure of choosing, removing and replacing your current units.

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing repairs
  • Glaziers

    • Double glazing repair
  • Conservatories

    • Conservatory repairs
  • More Services

    • replacement of sealed units

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
38 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
A job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel completed work in our garden room replacing 3 fanlight windows which had “blown” and replaced the rubber seal gasket around the opening doors. His quoted price I felt was very fair and his work was excellent. He arrived on time, completed the job quickly, tidied up and made sure we were completely satisfied before leaving and he also serviced the locks, hinges and alignment of the doors. An excellent trader who respected my home, and would thoroughly recommend him.
Christine in Hertfordshire Posted on 04/08/2021 , work completed 04/08/2021
Window replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just a few lines to say that I would thoroughly recommend this family run company. Needed a double glazed window section replaced as the seals had gone & window condensation a problem. The job was done very quickly with a minimum of fuss & at a very reasonable cost. Will use this company again.
Customer in Hertfordshire Posted on 01/10/2020 , work completed 29/09/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work done was the replacement of the hinges to a UPVC back door, together with the supply and fitting of a new handle set. They quickly identified and sourced the appropriate parts from photos that I sent them, gave a price for the job which I thought was reasonable and agreed a date time to do the work. They kept in touch by phone on the day, letting me know they were running a little late. The work was carried out professionally and appears very good so far (they mentioned that they guaranteed the work for one year). In summary I found this father/son team both professional and a pleasure to deal with.
Customer in Essex Posted on 30/01/2020 , work completed 09/12/2019
Highly recommended - helpful & totally hassle free
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've been let down by several local companies in the past, but am very pleased to have asked Nigel and Adam to do the work.... We have double-glazed, multi-paned sash windows, and a number of the units had blown & started to mist up. Despite a visit from the company who previously came to replace other blown units, the quote failed to materialize, and they disappeared off the radar. No such issue with Herts & Essex Window Doctor - they came over for a free quote, arrived on time, and gave me the price there and then. Dates all set in diary, arrived exactly when they said, and work all done. Left the house very clean and tidy, took shoes off etc. Also gave plenty of advice on how long to leave before painting the new putty etc. Above all, they are both genuinely really nice & friendly. Very highly recommended.
Customer in Essex Posted on 21/01/2020 , work completed 21/01/2020
They don't come any better than these guys!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a pleasure it was finding this company. From the very first phone call to the work carried out, father and son team, Nigel and Adam, were well mannered, informative, good humoured, punctual and unflappable. Very reasonable costs for good, honest, guaranteed work. Charming, old-school, skilled tradesmen. I would recommend them to anyone, and would have them back at the drop of a hinge.
J, Broxbourne Posted on 20/01/2020 , work completed 09/01/2020
The Best Service You Could Wish For.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My patio doors were misting up, I went online and tried many other repairers, thank God I found Nigel and Adam, they came and gave me a very reasonable quote and made an appointment to carry out the repair. They arrived on time and although my frames were very old, it was obvious they knew exactly what they were doing and in no time new double glazed units were fitted and the doors replaced but, through no fault of theirs, there was a problem with the tracking. Nigel and Adam refused to give up and worked tirelessly to put it right. Never before have I found such a professional team, frankly in my opinion, two nicer and dedicated guys you couldn’t wish to meet. They deserve your custom.
Brian Posted on 19/06/2019 , work completed 19/06/2019
Best Service I have ever experienced.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my patio door jammed shut for nearly a year and hard to find someone to fix it. I have been quoted few hundred pounds before. initial phone call with Adam was informative and gave me a true sense of trust and good workmanship even I only found them on the internet search. I was in particular impressed by Adam's honesty about not selling new doors or windows but only repair them. Both gentlemen (father and son) arrived on time and promptly repaired my door within 30 minutes and also fixed some other minor bits on other doors without mentioning extra charges. We were so impressed that we felt we have to pay them extra for their help. It is not much but a little gesture to say thank you for such good service which we do not see very often. I can see and wish that this family base company is going to grow bigger and more famous in the future. I even volunteered to display their cards in my work place which I never did for anyone. Anyone which had door/window problem should give them a call first , nothing to lose but may save lots of money. Highly recommended with a 6 stars if I could! A very happy customer
Customer in Essex Posted on 11/06/2019 , work completed 11/06/2019
Fantastic work and best priced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
With our hearty thanks for your splendid job for replacing all our front conservatory glasses. We now had the new windows installed for about a month and everything is looking as good as when they were first replaced. Apart from your first rate craftsmanship and your wonderful work ethics, the price you quoted for us was also the fairest by far. We have no reservation when recommending you to all our friends and without hesitation you will be the first to call if we need any window-related works done at our home in the future. Thank you!
Chenyin Li Posted on 15/10/2018 , work completed 15/10/2018
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel & Adam, did a very professional job. They were very clean workers, one of our windows they replaced was a very large job indeed.
Bernard, Essex Posted on 05/04/2018 , work completed 05/04/2018
Very good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel & Adam, did a very professional job. They were very clean workers, one of our windows they replaced was a very large job indeed.
Bernard, Essex Posted on 05/04/2018 , work completed 05/04/2018
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, did a great job. I would call him again and recommend him to my friends.
Clifford, Essex Posted on 27/11/2017 , work completed 27/11/2017
Friendly and very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel was very prompt & professional at the survey, quickly identified the problem and produced an estimate straight away. He arrived promptly with Adam the following week to do the work. They were very efficient and completed the work quickly with minimum noise & fuss, clearing up perfectly afterwards. Highly recommended.
Dilys, Hertfordshire Posted on 09/11/2017 , work completed 09/11/2017
Excellent service from a professional company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They quickly came to look at my conservatory which had sprung a leak, provided a very reasonable quote and came back to fix the issue. They were punctual, very thorough and explained what my options were and what they would advise. The whole process was completely painless and I have no hesitation in using them again -in fact I will be using them again in the summer to carry out maintenance on my conservatory.
garyw1371 Posted on 22/02/2017 , work completed 22/02/2017
Professional Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional and friendly service. The guys fixed a jammed tilt and slide patio door being careful of our home and placing dust sheets in the work area. They turned up on time and supplied a 12 month warranty. I would definitely recommend the company.
CSlynn Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Reliable and friendly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel turned up on time and him and his son fixed our broken window. They were both very efficient and did the job well. They even took their shoes off when they came in the house! Highly recommend them!
Cara, Essex Posted on 30/10/2015 , work completed 30/10/2015
Friendly and efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Was on time and efficient and went out his way to get our bungalow secure. He sourced a new lock where the original company could not help.
Yvonne, Essex Posted on 28/10/2015 , work completed 28/10/2015
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel and Adam kept very promptly to their appointments and undertook the glaze window replacements and fixed the locks in a professional and friendly manner. We are very pleased.
Keith, Essex Posted on 16/10/2015 , work completed 16/10/2015
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Arrived on time, introduced themselves, took their shoes off before coming in. Explained the job they were going to do from start to finish. Reasonable price. Would definitely use again and recommend.
Karen, Essex Posted on 13/10/2015 , work completed 13/10/2015
Great Service and Great Value!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had 2 x misted double glazing units that needed replacing, plus a door that needed realigning / refixing. This work was carried out by Nigel and Adam efficiently, expediently to very high standard. They are also 2 of the nicest guys you could possibly meet. I would not hesitate to recommend. Honest and decent tradesmen! The work carried out was exceptionally great value!!
garryh Posted on 17/08/2015 , work completed 17/08/2015
Review of work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Nigel & Adam have recently replaced windows in our conservatory and I only have praise for their work. The work was completed quickly, without any issues and all mess was completely cleared up. The conservatory had been up for over 25 years so it was not an easy job - but their work was so neat that you couldn't tell the glass had been replaced. Great guys to deal with and a very fair price for the work - I would highly recommend them.
DLooker Posted on 12/08/2015 , work completed 12/08/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely nice, friendly person, very efficient, punctual and did a very good, reasonably priced job.
Sue, Essex Posted on 22/06/2015 , work completed 22/06/2015
Good job brilliant service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I will definitely use the Window Doctor again. I have already recommended him to a letting agent. Work done at 23 Marigold Place, Old Harlow.
Alan, Essex Posted on 22/06/2015 , work completed 22/06/2015
Professional, on time, job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Absolutely spot on, recognised the problems described over the phone. Came out to quote when promised. Came back to do the jobs when expected. I've now got 2 sets of windows good as new for a fraction of the price I thought i'd have to pay to replace them. Couldn't be happier.
CMR400088853 Posted on 23/03/2015 , work completed 23/03/2015
Job done - as quoted.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simple and easy, they quoted and completed the job - simple with no fuss. Would highly recommend.
Stefan, Hertfordshire Posted on 02/02/2015 , work completed 02/02/2015
Reliable & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good service, very reliable & professional. No problems recommending.
Matthew, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/01/2015 , work completed 12/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a problem closing and locking our conservatory door, another company made a hash of a repair but Nigel fixed it for us he also sealed a roof window to stop rain coming in.Very pleased with the service would definitely recommend.
sawbo1 Posted on 18/12/2014 , work completed 18/12/2014
Happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite and professional, excellent timekeeping coupled with good work at a fair price. No hesitation recommending this company.
Graham, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/12/2014 , work completed 18/12/2014
Excellent Service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the fourth time we have used Nigel over the last few years. All aspects of the service brilliantly carried out in a cost effective manner. Highly recommended.
Ivor, Hertfordshire Posted on 16/12/2014 , work completed 16/12/2014
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Got a quote over the internet, via email. Came to inspect the damaged door glass - (on time) - gave a revised quote, and estimate date to install, came back via text to firm up date and time. Installed on the date and time agreed. Great job.
Lawrence, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/11/2014 , work completed 18/11/2014
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From telephone contact to doing the job was quick & professional
John, Hertfordshire Posted on 12/09/2014 , work completed 12/09/2014
Expert Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with service & a professional job done. 10 out of 10.
Barry, Hertfordshire Posted on 18/08/2014 , work completed 18/08/2014
Prompt & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Nigel on several occasions in the past and each time have had the same punctual professional and excellent service. We could not offer a higher recommendation. He is without doubt the best in his profession.
Mervyn, Hertfordshire Posted on 15/08/2014 , work completed 15/08/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced mechanism in UPVC window, very happy with friendly, professional service and very reasonable price. No hesitation in recommending.
Sue Ray Posted on 15/12/2013 , work completed 15/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed some work to be done on my patio doors and contacted Nigel. He arrived on time and did a great job. I would have no hesitation to use his services again and I certainly recommend him.
mumoftwo Posted on 25/05/2013 , work completed 25/05/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is a family run business. Nigel returned our call promptly and arranged to visit to evaluate the situation the next day. The handle had snapped on our tilt and slide conservatory door which was no longer manufactured. Nigel found a replacement handle and returned within 10 days to fix it.
It'smee Posted on 23/08/2012 , work completed 23/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very competent and fair person with reasonable prices. He replaced 2 blown sealed unites he also serviced the rollers in my 30+ year old patio doors and realigned the doors to the frame when he replaced them and sorted out a lock problem all at a reasonable price.
SG2 Posted on 18/06/2012 , work completed 18/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having recently moved to my present house, I'd several windows requiring attention. Some passed draughts, one required new hinges, another wouldn't open and another required a new lock etc. Nigel quickly assessed the problems and, after ordering the spares required, was able to fix them all quickly, efficiently and without fuss. I particularly valued his quiet, friendly, commonsense approach and his suggestion of simple, cost effective solutions rather than expensive replacements.
davidk1 Posted on 09/03/2012 , work completed 09/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My experience with two glazing/repair companies to fix a door handle is as follows: the first charged £70 and this repair lasted six weeks. I subsequently discovered that this repair was achieved by inserting a cheap plastic spacer in the handle. The second company said they could not match the handle colour but could supply a new door...prices starting from £700. The first company also said both my patio doors required new runners? and would be back to fix them in about three days; never saw them again. Nigel from H&E window doctor, adjusted the rollers on both doors in 10 minutes - no replacement needed and fitted a new door handle at a very reasonable charge. He has since also fitted a replacement leaded light window and a door panel with the same level of competence. At last, someone in this trade who is not a rip off merchant.
Valkerie Posted on 30/08/2011 , work completed 30/08/2011