Endorsed by Which?

Home Improvements

5.0

32 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 24 hours
  • Monday - 24 hours
  • Tuesday - 24 hours
  • Wednesday - 24 hours
  • Thursday - 24 hours
  • Friday - 24 hours
  • Saturday - 24 hours
  • Sunday - 24 hours

About

Hi my name is Simon Gillett and I am the proprietor of Home Improvements.
I deliver a reliable and professional service providing a clean and tidy workplace and great customer relations. I give 100% wow factor to every job, and have a great customer satisfaction record.
I also offer a fully licensed rubbish removal service.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Garage conversions
    • Log cabins and homes
    • Plastering
    • Extensions
    • Guttering repair services
    • Porches
  • Landscape contractors

    • Artificial lawns
    • Hard landscaping
    • Sheds and shed bases
    • Decking
    • Turfing
    • Drystone walling
    • Garden structures
    • Pond construction
  • Patios and driveways

    • Driveway Installation
    • Patio Installation
    • Natural stone surfacing
    • Porous surfacing
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • Property refurbishment contractors

  • Plumbers

  • Bathroom fitters

    • Bathroom Installation
    • Bathroom refurbishment
    • Accessible bathrooms and showers
    • Bathroom design services
    • Wet rooms
    • Bathroom tiling
    • Electric Showers
  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
    • Wallpapering
  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen installation
    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen worktops
    • Kitchen tiling

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
32 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Patio
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Simon to break up our old patio and part of the lawn then lay a new larger patio of natural stone, also replace the wooden fence with a composite fence. He came back with a reasonable quote and time scale. Simon and his team arrive on the day promised, they worked hard and soon had the foundations dug out. He discussed what the plan was and was open to changing things and adding extras on the run. They also built a new gate pillar, skimmed the house wall up to the damp coarse and made two steps into three. Simon and his team are very friendly work hard and do a fantastic job, I can thoroughly recommend Home Improvements. Already asked for an estimate for drainage in the front garden.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 24/10/2023 , work completed 10/07/2023
Great home repair and patio building
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This company provided an excellent service to fix a number of problems in our daughters house in Bath. In addition, they laid a new patio and path at the back of the house. They stuck to the quote and the quality of work was excellent. After the patio was finished they did some additional landscaping which was a pleasant surprise to the work. The work was started and finished on time. We definitely recommend this company for most home and garden work in the Bristol/Bath area.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 20/05/2023 , work completed 21/04/2023
Bedroom Refurbished
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Found Simon on Which? Trusted Traders, he came round very quickly to have a look at the job and we received a quote soon after. The work was done very efficiently, everything kept very clean and tidy walls plastered, new radiator plumbed in and hung on wall, new coving, architrave and skirting and all painted to a very high standard we will definitely use him again.
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 18/04/2023 , work completed 16/03/2023
New doorway and laminate flooring laid
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really impressed by Simon and Luke, who I found on Trusted Traders. They were friendly, helpful, good value for money, tidy and took real pride in their work. They supplied skirting, doorway and door, and fitted the laminate flooring I picked out. They worked hard and I'm looking forward to using them for more jobs. They also recommended me a window fitter and gave me a cream egg. Now that's service!
Becky in North Somerset Posted on 01/02/2023 , work completed 01/02/2023
Complete refurb
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and team did a complete refurb for us on a rental property and did a very good job. Plasterboarded and plastered throughout, new skirting, architraves and doors,painted throughout, new kitchen, new bathroom, electrics, plumbing, roofing and general building work all done on budget and to a high standard. Very pleased with the work and already have him lined up for constructing a wall to the front of the property in the near future
Customer in Avonmouth Posted on 10/01/2023 , work completed 07/12/2022
Recommended - GSOH always helps
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home Improvements worked on my house before I moved in. It was a new experience for me and I was learning as I went along. Simon was great with advice and ideas, and adding finishing touches which have become admired centrepieces and talking points. I would not have thought of removing the chimney breast - what a triumph! I would not have thought of a hardwood, bees waxed bannister (rather than painted) - a beautiful addition. We had to learn each other's ways of communicating but this worked fairly well overall. Best of all was learning about his sense of fun and (almost ) endless optimism. Nothing came as an unexpected shock and he was honest about potential work involved. He's not one to take short-cuts. The team go the extra mile, often staying late to finish a task, and being hands on themselves for most of the work. They helped me work within a budget and always kept me informed about potential changes to costs etc. He is a precision worker and perfectionist, doing each job meticulously and with attention to detail, including finishing and clearing up. I would recommend Home Improvements and indeed hope to be re-employing them again in the near future, for the next bit of the project.
Clare in Bristol City Posted on 10/01/2022 , work completed 21/12/2021
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work carried out to very high standards from plastering to tiling. We had a complete kitchen replaced as well as a partition wall removed. All mess cleared up as they go along, all rubbish removed and disposed of could not wish for a better result would highly recommend.
Karen in South Gloucestershire Posted on 12/08/2021 , work completed 06/08/2021
Garden room and decking
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and Justin have recently completed our garden makeover. They have installed new decking to level our garden. We have also had an old garage removed and a playroom built in its place for our children. Simon has great ideas, he incorporated a slide and a swing which our children love. Simon and Justin were very efficient, worked smartly and always kept the area tidy. The finish has been great and they offer very competitive prices.
Customer in Bristol City Posted on 16/03/2021 , work completed 04/01/2021
AMAZING FANTASTIC BRAND NEW KITCHEN
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Home improvements did a complete re fit of my kitchen from walls to ceiling to the floor and all the kitchen units and plumbing too. Simon and Justin were very punctual and professional. Always kept me informed of things that were happening. They are lovely guys and I will definitely have them back to tile my living room (as my kitchen tiled floor is amazing) when Coronavirus is over and I'm back to work full time. I had quotes before I chose home improvements and they were very competitive.
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
Update of Lounge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Third time using Simon and his troops. Yet again a very professional job and more. Totally gutted our lounge, removed a redundant chimney, plastered, painted and even put up the new curtains. Simon should be proud of the reputation he is getting and it's all down to the level of service, competitive pricing and his eye for perfection. Already booked for more work in September.
Customer in South Gloucestershire Posted on 10/05/2019 , work completed 01/05/2019
Great job done on house and garden renovation.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and his team have recently undertaken a fairly extensive complete house and garden renovation for me. The guys have done a brilliant job and the end result is amazing. They are a friendly, reliable and professional team. Communication is excellent and they are very clean and tidy. Quality of workmanship is excellent. The project was very daunting but Simon managed the whole project which made it easy and stress free for me. I am very happy to recommend them. Happy customers
Customer in Posted on 08/04/2019 , work completed 06/04/2019
11 Cross St Kingswood
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Wow fantastic workmanship top quality finish no mess no fuss great project management Simon and the lads have done a wicked job thanks again so pleased with how the job has gone taken all the stress out of the last few weeks. Brilliant time scale full refurbishment and garden in 5 weeks. Thanks again Dave Lear
Customer in Bath and North East Somerset Posted on 06/04/2019 , work completed 06/04/2019
Excellent and quick
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and his team came to complete work on our property after being let down by a cowboy builder! They rectified problems, including roof rafters, leveling and screeding a concrete floor, exterior rendering, stud wall partitioning and plastering our 50 square foot extension to a high standard. Simon is very hardworking, punctual and left our premises tidy. Completed the work quickly and thoroughly and I would have no hesitation in recommending him and using him again in the future.
LisaS Posted on 28/08/2018 , work completed 28/08/2018
Efficient and pleasant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After two quotes followed by 'no show' from other builders Simon and his team did an excellent job. His supply chain was efficient. The work was high quality and on budget. They will be my only choice in the future. They erected an 8ft brick wall with pillars and gate posts topped with a picket fence and replaced two areas of damaged concrete.
Elizabeth, Avon Posted on 28/08/2018 , work completed 28/08/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had a fair amount of work done by Simon and his team, Justin and Simon......knocking down an inside wall, building another, loads of plastering and painting, a new ceiling and lights, new flooring laid, French doors put in. The team were polite, helpful, humorous, kind and very hard working: they hardly even stopped for a cuppa! Their work was excellent: well finished, tidy and to a very high specification. They also cleaned up well at the end of each day! (Who says men can't use a vacuum cleaner?!) I am really pleased with what they did: it is exactly as I imagined! I would thoroughly recommend them and would use them again without hesitation.
Ms A Posted on 15/08/2018 , work completed 15/08/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Bedroom ceilings down and rooms completely plastered. Work was excellent. They were highly professional, reliable & polite. Upon finishing & during work site is left clean and tidy. What more can you say. Thank you for a job well done. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 19/02/2018 , work completed 19/02/2018
Great job, thank you
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is second time I've used home improvements. Both times to they did a good job. Both were relatively small jobs but nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Simon.
Denise Posted on 14/10/2017 , work completed 14/10/2017
Building base for shed and assembling shed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We now have a shed in the garden which we are very pleased with. Home Improvements gave us some interesting ideas so the shed blends in very well and looks quite grand. We would not hesitate to use Home Improvements again.
Canner Posted on 31/07/2017 , work completed 31/07/2017
Complete Property Refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Simon and his team at Home Improvements for the first time for a full refurbishment project. I must say I was very impressed with their professionalism and communication at all times. They made good suggestions where required and the quality of their work is first class. I am very happy with the final finish and they even cleaned the place to a very high standard also. I would not hesitate to use them again or recommend them to anyone else. Top job guys and thank you. I look forward to working them again.
Paul Roberts Posted on 13/04/2017 , work completed 13/04/2017
RSJ inc new ceiling & fully plastered
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had an RSJ supplied and fitted by the guys at Home Improvements, they did a great job so I asked them back to supply and fit a complete new ceiling aswell as boxing in the RSJ and completely plastering the kitchen head to toe, they did an amazing job. Which is why for any other work I require I wouldn't ask anyone else, friendly atmosphere and great finish to their work. Excellent value & service. A*
Robert Posted on 24/02/2017 , work completed 24/02/2017
Plastering
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and Justin have recently replastered our small shower room. We cannot praise them enough, they worked really well and very clean and tidy. Would certainly use them again and recommend them to anybody.
Jill Posted on 21/01/2017 , work completed 21/01/2017
Good Job done well and cleanly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did a really good job decorating various rooms and tiling the kitchen worked very cleanly would recommend good customer service and prices reasonable
janszi Posted on 19/12/2016 , work completed 19/12/2016
Job well done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New roof with Velux windows and insulation. Plastering kitchen and dining area. Job speedily done by Simon and Justin and their team, reliable, efficient, clean and polite.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2016 , work completed 18/11/2016
Patio and walls
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Simon and Justin did a first class job of demolishing a fishpond, building a retaining wall, paving a patio and building an ornamental wall. They were pleasant, helpful, cleaned up and worked efficiently. The price was reasonable, and I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Happy Customer Posted on 02/11/2016 , work completed 02/11/2016
Helpful, fast, friendly and eye for detail
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I know that finding a builder can be a challenge. I needed urgent works done on the house that I just bought as a first-time buyer. I sought 3 quotations from different traders. But the reviews on Which for Home Improvements, their competitive rates and Simon's quick and knowledgeable responses to my questions made me decide to go with Home Improvements. They were really terrific and understood my limited budget and helped me to find the best solutions to what I needed to do. They worked really hard and were always good natured - it was a pleasure making them coffee! And I was pleasantly surprised to find that the final invoice was as I expected it to be. I recommend Home Improvements without hesitation and my friends who've been helping me all week on other tasks have said they'd contact Home Improvements for their next building jobs. For my next job, I will definitely work with them again. Really lovely people to work with on my new home!
Happy Customer Posted on 11/08/2016 , work completed 11/08/2016
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Simon on a number of occasions from replacing garden fences, re-landscaping the garden, plastering ceilings unblocking kitchen sinks and fitting new taps. Each time Simon has been extremely efficient, polite and exceptionally clean and tidy. I would highly recommended Simon for any type of job around the home both inside and out.
Jane & Bill Posted on 24/07/2016 , work completed 24/07/2016
Polite, clean and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
These guys worked on my bathroom refurbishment as subcontractor to our plumber. They prepared the walls, erected stud partitioning and did the re-plastering. They did a great job - were always on time, polite and cleaned up after themselves at the end of each day. The preparation and plastering was of a high standard. A real pleasure to have in the house and I would not hesitate to recommend Home Improvements for plastering work.
Julia Smith Posted on 13/07/2016 , work completed 13/07/2016
My new garden
Customer Service
Quality
Value
True professionals Clean and tidy Great job Thanks guys
Justin 1979 Posted on 04/07/2016 , work completed 04/07/2016
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Both Simon & Justin were extremely professional, polite and a good laugh too! Nothing was too much trouble and during incredibly hot weather they never wavered. Very pleased & would definitely use again.
Tim, Avon Posted on 07/06/2016 , work completed 07/06/2016
Good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Clean, tidy and on time. Finished to a good standard
Mrs Came, Staple Hill Posted on 01/01/2016 , work completed 01/01/2016
Great Finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the work, everything was perfect. Clean and tidy and have recommended already
Mrs Evans, Hartcliffe Posted on 12/01/2015 , work completed 12/01/2015
Brilliant
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the service, good advising throughout to work out what was the best way.
Customer , Bristol Posted on 11/01/2015 , work completed 11/01/2015