We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Humphries Stonemasons

Profile thumb humpries web logo
4.8

28 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–16:00
  • Saturday 09:00–12:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Humphries Stonemasons have been supplying fine, hand-crafted stonework for over 40 years and can offer:

Hand carved stone fireplaces and hearths
Gas and solid fuel fires and stoves
Marble & Granite worktops
Limestone, Sandstone and Slate flooring
Bath surrounds and wet rooms
Engineered composite stone
Architectural stonework
Stone restoration

What we do

  • Stonemasons

  • Fireplace and stove installers

  • Chimney builders, liners and specialists

  • More Services

    • hard flooring
    • stone flooring

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
28 reviews
Customer Service
4.8
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
An excellent job done by the team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphries Stonemasons knocked out an existing fireplace, swept and lined the chimney and installed a freestanding stove in my home. This is the first time I've used them and right from the start, the team were friendly and welcoming. I even met the boss himself who has a wealth of knowledge and answered all my questions. We scheduled two days for the job which was completed on time and on budget. I couldn't ask for more than that. The onsite team were friendly, reliable and even helped me to move a heavy piece of furniture. They went over and above to clean up once the job was done, including wiping down my window sills. First class service!
Abi in West Berkshire Posted on 06/11/2021 , work completed 01/11/2021
Fitting and supply of log burner
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Service was first class from start to finish. They helped select the right log burner, supplied at a competitive price and fitted on time and budget. A friendly fitting team that were knowledgeable, friendly, efficient and left no trace of having been in the house. Great to have such a good local company on our doorstep.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 18/04/2021 , work completed 08/04/2021
Wood burner installation and chimney sweep
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have had Humphries install a wood burner in our house and the service is just as good as the last time. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 30/03/2021 , work completed 26/03/2021
Professional and experienced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Barry and his team removed an open fireplace and installed a wood-burning stove and new flue liner to the chimney. They also made us a new limestone fire surround and granite hearth. This was all arranged through a difficult period of persistent lockdowns which made it difficult at times to source materials. The process of scoping and pricing the project was very accurate and the work was completed to budget and in the time stated. It was all done remotely as we couldn't travel to the house due to the latest lockdown. Thanks to Chris for managing remotely and keeping me updated via photographs and phone calls during the installation. Thanks also to Christine in the office who fielded many phone calls and kept me informed on progress with sourcing the wood-burner and other items. We are very pleased with the results even though we haven't yet been able to travel and try it all out.
Customer in Shropshire Posted on 06/03/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Fantastic Fire Place/Wood Burner
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We wanted to create a False Chimney Breast to house a Wood Burner in our Lodge as the property had no chimney. We contacted Humphries who came out and listened to what we wanted and we have ended up with exactly the outcome we wanted to achieve. It has been an exceptional level of service and workmanship. We would have no hesitation in recommending or using Humphries for this type of work in the future
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 05/03/2021 , work completed 22/02/2021
Install inset stove for wood in lounge
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphries (Stonemasons) Ltd removed my Jetmaster open fire they had fitted in 1990 and installed a new Jetmaster inset stove for wood. From the enquires stage they were very helpful and assisted us in making an informed decision. The on-site assessment and subsequent ordering process was very efficient. The quote was competitive, fully inclusive and they did the work to budget. The workmen arrived as agreed and were very courteous. They worked efficiently and the job was completed within a day and with the minimum of disruption or mess. The final result looked excellent and there have not been any subsequent problems. Throughout the process all enquires were courteously and promptly responded to. I am entirely satisfied with the work carried out.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 03/03/2021 , work completed 17/02/2021
Great company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphries Stonemasons' team did a wonderful job for us five years' ago providing us with three new wood burners. We have since moved house and they have once again transformed two inefficient and problematic fireplaces into good-looking, problem-free and efficient ones. Barry and Chris were able to investigate our old fireplaces (we live in a very old property with thatch), identify the worrying issues, rectify the problems and insert two fantastic Burley wood burners providing excellent heat. I cannot recommend this company enough due to their extensive knowledge, willingness to go that extra mile to ensure that everything is safe and compliant with regulations, hard-working ethic, speed and reasonable prices. Thank you and especially to the lovely Chris!
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 04/02/2021 , work completed 29/01/2021
Pleased with end result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphries were patient in helping us choose a wood burner, hearth and shelf. The work was carried out when agreed and to a high standard. All those involved were courteous and knowledgeable.
Robert in West Berkshire Posted on 14/11/2020 , work completed 11/11/2020
Overhaul of memorial headstone
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had work carried out by Humphries in the past and we had no hesitation in asking them to clean and re-letter a family headstone in the Hungerford cemetery. They fitted this work into their busy schedule and collected the headstone, carried out the work and re-installed it back in the cemetery within a week. The work was excellent and the headstone looks like new again and they even replaced the flower vase with a new one free of charge. If you want a job carried out by a family firm at the right price and to a very high standard with excellent customer service you need look no further than Barry and Chris Humpries and their team of Masons and support staff.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 11/11/2020 , work completed 06/11/2020
Great fire place, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really great company to deal with. They obviously care very much about the quality of the work they do. The work was completed to a high standard, on schedule and on budget, with excellent advice given. Clear technical drawings which were followed exactly. Very good communication.
Customer Posted on 12/10/2020 , work completed 01/10/2020
Great care and quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had granite kitchen worktops and a stone fireplace surround installed by Humphries. The are very approachable to talk through requirements and give expert holistic advice to achieve best result. Christine provided a prompt and fair quote (unlike their competitors) which didn’t get increased. They were keen to make sure the best stone was used. We’re very happy with the cut, installation and finished look.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 30/09/2020 , work completed 28/09/2020
I have a dream fireplace!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The whole experience of using Humphries Stonemasons has been brilliant. My builder suggested I contacted Barry re a surround for my new open fireplace. I have ended up with a dream fireplace with a neat double skinned flue and saved a large amount of money in the process! Barry's design is perfect for me and my lounge - it is just beautiful. Chris & Oleg installed the flue, the Jetmaster and then the Branco Cabuca surround. They were excellent too, making sure that the finished result was exactly what I was expecting. Friendly, trustworthy and very skilled - nothing was too much trouble. And Emily in the office - so so helpful, patient and understanding - cheerfully answering all my phone calls & emails and so again, I understood the whole process, what to expect & when. And I know that should any issue arise with the Jetmaster, flue or surround, I only have to contact them and they will do what they can to help.
Customer in West Berkshire Posted on 24/09/2020 , work completed 23/09/2020
So professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a fireplace and stove installed by Chris and Oleg I cannot praise them enough for there excellent workmanship, cleanliness, politeness thank you so much the fireplace is admired by all our family, also Emily and Barry Humphries for good customer service.
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 16/02/2020 , work completed 13/02/2020
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good job.
Roger, Wiltshire Posted on 03/02/2020 , work completed 03/02/2020
Fantastic Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time I have used Humphries to supply and fit a woodburning stove. The first time they supplied and fitted a wood-burning stove and a granite hearth. On both occasions, 5 years apart, Barry came out completed survey and quoted a fair price. Emily and Alison took care of the admin and Chris arrived to complete the fitting. Always punctual, always tidy and unfailingly polite i cannot recommend this Company enough. Knowledgeable people providing a great service using good quality products at a fair price. I shall be using them again
Customer in Wiltshire Posted on 16/12/2019 , work completed 16/12/2019
Professional workers, excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Workers polite and respectful to me and my home. Clean dustsheets used. Worked to a very high standard. When job finished all left in tidy manner i.e.. hoovered rooms affected by brick dust. Fire surround and stove fitted to a very high standard.
Sue, Berkshire Posted on 03/09/2019 , work completed 03/09/2019
Excellent service and quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had two fire place hearths refurbished and stones replaced. The experience from first contact through the survey and finally the work being done was superb. Extremely helpful, knowledgeable and responsive. The guys who fitted the stone on site were fantastic. The end result looks brilliant. I would highly recommend. We are very pleased.
Paul Posted on 11/06/2019 , work completed 07/06/2019
Wonderful professional job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I am delighted with the installation of my wood burning stove. The team was polite, very pleasant, arrived on time, were sensitive to the surroundings and kept everything immaculate during the installation.
Robina, Oxfordshire Posted on 31/01/2019 , work completed 31/01/2019
Very polite and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Instillation of new fireplace and inset stove. Very polite and helpful. Worked carried out on schedule. Very pleased with end result.
Cynthia, Wiltshire Posted on 21/01/2019 , work completed 21/01/2019
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We ordered a jet master fire and surrounding slate and hearth. From the initial survey and specification by Barry, to the completely successful installation by Chris and Mustafa, the service and product has been excellent. Thank you.
Michael, Wiltshire Posted on 04/01/2019 , work completed 04/01/2019
Excellent Work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Contacted Humphries to undertake cemetery stone for our parents. Very kind and understanding from the word go. Helpful, informative, nothing was too much trouble. Staff excellent. Workmanship superb. Everything went without a hitch. If a stone can be called "beautiful" this is the one! Would recommend without any hesitation.
Brenda, Berkshire Posted on 13/12/2018 , work completed 13/12/2018
Great efficient job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphries fitted my granite worktops, not only were they were very helpful with picking the colour, they did a great job and made great suggestions, which I used, to complete the job, making it look fab. I then got them to fit a Victorian fireplace surround which they refurbed and had to tweak as well as a new hearth. Such a professional job, very pleased with the results.
Debbie Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very good service from Mr Humphries and all his staff. I would use them again.
Victoria, Oxfordshire Posted on 08/10/2018 , work completed 08/10/2018
Excellent Work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Cannot recommend them more highly. We have had a fireplace restored with a new wood burner and a new Bath stone fireplace installed with a Jetmaster. Extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff. The craftsmanship of the stone mason is superb. The whole project was completed within the time frame given when we accepted the quote and during the install there was minimal mess, clear instructions provided at the end and details of their Guarantee. An all round excellent job.
Mrs R - Pewsey Posted on 28/07/2018 , work completed 28/07/2018
Personable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Humphries Stonemasons installed a woodburner for us and we have been very happy with the excellent results. We will be using them again and would recommend them to others.
Virginia, Wiltshire Posted on 10/06/2016 , work completed 10/06/2016
Very Good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just finished building 2 fires, very thorough work with great accuracy in the finish. Really nice bloke who knows his stuff and is always on time
Mr Bucknell, Berkshire Posted on 05/01/2016 , work completed 05/01/2016
Happy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Talked me through everything before hand, very helpful and also very tidy when doing the work
Mrs Chmielewski, Berkshire Posted on 04/01/2016 , work completed 04/01/2016
Great Quality
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Brilliant finishing detail on the job, overall quality was great and the place was tidy
Mr Ashe , Berkshire Posted on 03/01/2016 , work completed 03/01/2016