We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

I Hodgson & Co

Profile thumb ian

4.9

55 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–20:00
  • Sunday 08:00–20:00

About

Ian Hodgson & Co is a painter and decorator firm based in Edinburgh, Scotland. Established in 1980, we are an experienced company who offer a complete decorating business in our local area.

We will undertake both private and commercial work. No job is too small.

We pride ourselves on offering a reliable, honest and professional service at a reasonable price. We believe quality counts and we will always leave a first class job.

During consultations with our clients, we will ensure we understand the clients requirements and will offer expert advice when required.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
  • Plastering

    • Coving
    • Skimming
    • Plastering
  • Tile fitters and showrooms

    • Bathroom tiling
    • Floor tiling
    • Kitchen tiling
    • Tile showroom
  • More Services

    • varnishing
    • wallpaper hanging specialists
    • sign writing

Customer reviews

4.9
55 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Excellent job - extremely pleased!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has done work on both the interior and exterior of my house over the last few months. On both occasions he did an excellent job: turned up when he said he would, completed the job when he said he would, followed up a few days later to check everything was still OK and the quality of his work was superb. Great value for money. Absolutely recommended!
Brian P Posted on 02/12/2016 , work completed 02/12/2016
The best decorator I've used to date
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot speak highly enough of this decorator. I recently moved into a new flat and found quite a few odd decorating jobs that were hard for me to tackle due to being high up. Ian was really flexible and fitted me in quickly, arrived on time, communicated brilliantly and best of all did an excellent job. He left the place tidier than when he arrived. I will definitely use him again for any decorating needs. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2016 , work completed 18/11/2016
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the finished job. Would definitely use them again.
Lilian, Midlothian Posted on 12/09/2016 , work completed 12/09/2016
Highly recommend: great company, reliable and at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian's company decorated my flat in the past year. It was a large job that involved skimming and painting the walls and wood work. The flat looks excellent and I cannot recommend him enough. He is reliable, committed and a highly skilled professional. The flat was always left tidy after a day's work and, overall, it was completed within the time-frame assigned. The estimates were supplied promptly and the end cost was reasonable. Ian has continued to carry out work in the flat and I am always pleased with the quality provided and his commitment to the job. He provides excellent advice and I am looking forward to working with him again on the flat.
Olwyn G Posted on 07/09/2016 , work completed 07/09/2016
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Hodgson has done work for us many times over about 10 years. He has redecorated interior rooms and repainted the outside of the house. Recently he repainted our bathroom. We wholeheartedly recommend his work.
George, Midlothian Posted on 02/08/2016 , work completed 02/08/2016
Good job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has just painted my hall, stair, landing and bedroom. I am extremely pleased with the quality of work. He is pleasant to deal with and I felt comfortable to give him a key. He completed ahead of schedule and left the house clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend him.
Moira Posted on 27/05/2016 , work completed 27/05/2016
Very happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been very impressed with Ian's work. He came when he said he would, did what he was asked, gave good advice, and was extremely professional and pleasant. He worked tidily and cleaned up after wards leaving us very little to do at the end. His workmanship is excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend him to any of our friends.
Lyn, Midlothian Posted on 15/04/2016 , work completed 15/04/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this company twice now and will certainly use them in the future. Professional, clean and tidy and friendly too. Brilliant job. Thank you.
Sandra, Midlothian Posted on 07/03/2016 , work completed 07/03/2016
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was very kind, patient with my busy schedule and unplanned commitments, cheaper than other painters/decorators I spoke with and did an excellent job as quickly as it could possibly be done! Furthermore, he came across honest and diligent. I recommend his service hands down and I will definitely be referring to him in the future.
2011-07-03 22:08:07.4 Posted on 06/03/2016 , work completed 06/03/2016
You can't go wrong with Ian
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a number of rooms and windows painted by Ian Hodgson some months ago. He was very reliable and thorough and did an excellent job. He fitted in with our request to have the work done while we were on holiday. We have never dealt with a better tradesman.
2011-08-12 19:47:36.89 Posted on 22/02/2016 , work completed 22/02/2016