We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

I Hodgson & Co

Profile thumb ian
4.9

59 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–20:00
  • Sunday 08:00–20:00

About

Ian Hodgson & Co is a painter and decorator firm based in Edinburgh, Scotland. Established in 1980, we are an experienced company who offer a complete decorating business in our local area.

We will undertake both private and commercial work. No job is too small.

We pride ourselves on offering a reliable, honest and professional service at a reasonable price. We believe quality counts and we will always leave a first class job.

During consultations with our clients, we will ensure we understand the clients requirements and will offer expert advice when required.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
  • Plastering

    • Coving
    • Skimming
    • Plastering
  • Tile fitters and showrooms

  • More Services

    • varnishing
    • wallpaper hanging specialists
    • sign writing

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
59 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Prompt, professional, first class job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Hodgson gave us an accurate quotation for redecoration of our sitting room. I engaged a subcontractor to fit a cornice prior to decoration. Both tasks were completed professionally. We would highly recommend Ian Hodgson for a quality & professional job.
Colin, Midlothian Posted on 07/03/2017 , work completed 07/03/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the first time he has worked for us and he could not be faulted. He was thoughtful and he was able to let us into the kitchen when it was essential.
George, Midlothian Posted on 02/03/2017 , work completed 02/03/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian very kindly fitted us into his tight work schedule, redecorating the stairs, hall and landing just before Christmas. The job took seven working days and included painting all the woodwork, including doors, skirting and spindles. He lined and painted the walls. He was punctual, tidy and his work was of a very high standard at a fair and competitive rate. An honest hardworking professional that we have no hesitation in recommending.
cl5 Posted on 08/01/2017 , work completed 08/01/2017
Great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the job. Ian arrived on time and work was completed quickly. Would definitely use again.
Maggie Posted on 08/12/2016 , work completed 08/12/2016
Excellent job - extremely pleased!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has done work on both the interior and exterior of my house over the last few months. On both occasions he did an excellent job: turned up when he said he would, completed the job when he said he would, followed up a few days later to check everything was still OK and the quality of his work was superb. Great value for money. Absolutely recommended!
Brian P Posted on 02/12/2016 , work completed 02/12/2016
The best decorator I've used to date
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot speak highly enough of this decorator. I recently moved into a new flat and found quite a few odd decorating jobs that were hard for me to tackle due to being high up. Ian was really flexible and fitted me in quickly, arrived on time, communicated brilliantly and best of all did an excellent job. He left the place tidier than when he arrived. I will definitely use him again for any decorating needs. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/11/2016 , work completed 18/11/2016
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the finished job. Would definitely use them again.
Lilian, Midlothian Posted on 12/09/2016 , work completed 12/09/2016
Highly recommend: great company, reliable and at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian's company decorated my flat in the past year. It was a large job that involved skimming and painting the walls and wood work. The flat looks excellent and I cannot recommend him enough. He is reliable, committed and a highly skilled professional. The flat was always left tidy after a day's work and, overall, it was completed within the time-frame assigned. The estimates were supplied promptly and the end cost was reasonable. Ian has continued to carry out work in the flat and I am always pleased with the quality provided and his commitment to the job. He provides excellent advice and I am looking forward to working with him again on the flat.
Olwyn G Posted on 07/09/2016 , work completed 07/09/2016
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Hodgson has done work for us many times over about 10 years. He has redecorated interior rooms and repainted the outside of the house. Recently he repainted our bathroom. We wholeheartedly recommend his work.
George, Midlothian Posted on 02/08/2016 , work completed 02/08/2016
Good job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has just painted my hall, stair, landing and bedroom. I am extremely pleased with the quality of work. He is pleasant to deal with and I felt comfortable to give him a key. He completed ahead of schedule and left the house clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend him.
Moira Posted on 27/05/2016 , work completed 27/05/2016