We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

I Hodgson & Co

Logo on white
Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–20:00
  • Monday 08:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–20:00
  • Thursday 08:00–20:00
  • Friday 08:00–20:00
  • Saturday 08:00–20:00
  • Sunday 08:00–20:00
Profile thumb ian

4.9

51 Reviews

About

Ian Hodgson & Co is a painter and decorator firm based in Edinburgh, Scotland. Established in 1980, we are an experienced company who offer a complete decorating business in our local area.

We will undertake both private and commercial work. No job is too small.

We pride ourselves on offering a reliable, honest and professional service at a reasonable price. We believe quality counts and we will always leave a first class job.

During consultations with our clients, we will ensure we understand the clients requirements and will offer expert advice when required.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
  • Plastering

    • Coving
    • Skimming
    • Plastering
  • Tile fitters and showrooms

    • Bathroom tiling
    • Floor tiling
    • Kitchen tiling
    • Tile showroom
  • More Services

    • varnishing
    • wallpaper hanging specialists
    • sign writing

Customer reviews

4.9
51 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A main bedroom was repapered & painted within 3 days. Great care was taken to match colours & the whole job was completed to a very high standard. I'm delighted with the result. Fast, efficient, honest, maybe not the cheapest but definitely value for money. I most certainly would recommend.
Yvonne, Midlothian26/11/2019
Highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable workmen. Excellent job. Arrived when they said they would and completed the job on schedule. Reasonably priced and I would certainly use them again.
Brenda, Midlothian18/11/2019
Extremely happy with total redecoration of 3-story hallway
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have a 3 story Victorian townhouse in Edinburgh and the hallway was in need of complete redecoration including plastering, smoothing walls, applying lining paper and top paper, sanding and painting of woodwork and ceilings. The job can't have been an easy one due to high ceilings awkward stairs, but Ian and his team worked effortlessly to get the job done within time. They were a pleasure to have working in our house, and even cleaned their tea cups after themselves. We couldn't be happier with the quality of the work. I just wish we had known about Ian earlier and used him for all our previous work. Highly recommend.
Customer in Edinburgh21/02/2019
Helpful, reliable and good end product
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Ian through Trusted Traders as our previous decorator had retired. The first job we asked him to do was to paint the outside of the house. That was done well, with good attention to detail. Also mentioned at the time was the possibility of another job should we renovate the kitchen - long overdue. All was going well with that, including painting of ceiling and woodwork in the dining room. Then, in run up to Christmas, and visiting families, the shock to discover a bad case of rising damp and so all schedules put on hold for the completion of the kitchen and the flooring. Ian was very reassuring that he would ensure that all would be done in time. And it was. The end product is a very splendid kitchen - fitted by Alasdair Morrison - made complete with excellent decoration (with the renewed kitchen ceiling that Ian arranged with a skilled plasterer).
Customer in Edinburgh27/12/2018
Recommended Painter & Decorators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Ian & his team recently to paper & decorate our hall and stairs. we were pleased with the results. Ian was response and answered all the questions we had. Ian and his team were friendly and easy to deal with and were punctual. We found them through Trusted Trader & were reassured by the reviews. Would use again and recommend to others
Customer in Edinburgh15/12/2018
Outstandingly professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We asked Ian Hodgson and his team to take on a bedroom and dressing room which have the problems of a typical New Town flat - high ceilings, plaster work cornices, original shutters, all showing traces of their age and all requiring skilled professional attention – as well as to repair a section of bathroom paintwork. They did an all-round excellent job and we should particularly mention Ian’s expertise in hanging a technically very difficult wallpaper with superb results. Ian and his team are not only highly skilled decorators but professional in other ways too. Considerate, punctual and tidy, they really powered through the job and created the least possible disruption. We are very happy we found Ian through this site and very happy to recommend his work.
Baron30/10/2018
Excellent job and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian is the kind of tradesman you dream of! Totally reliable, he fitted me in quickly to his very busy schedule and did a superb job. He was punctual, arrived right on time and finished the job when he said he would. He did an excellent job painting the walls, skirting and surrounds and ceiling and left everything immaculate. He was hard working and a pleasure to deal with, he was so positive and nothing was too much trouble. He is great value for money. I would not hesitate to recommend him and will certainly be asking him to do any jobs in the future. June Midlothian 29/8/18
Logan29/08/2018
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was very pleasant and a pleasure to deal with. The 2 painters that completed the job were easy to get on with and professional in their work, very punctual and cleaned up well after they had finished. The quote for the work was realistic and competitive and the quality of work complete was excellent. I tend to fear the worst when employing tradesmen I have not used previously but Ian and his team put my mind at rest, were punctual, did a first-rate job and I would not hesitate to use them again - highly recommended.
Hunter29/06/2018
First class job again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has done work for us many times and is always helpful in choosing materials, careful to protect furnishings, prompt in getting the work done as planned, and providing an excellent finish. He is our "painter of choice!"
William, Midlothian23/05/2018
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Hodgson delivered exactly as he said he would. He did a beautiful job in a very pleasant manner. He arrived on time and cleared after him. I am very happy.
Pat, Midlothian18/12/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very pleased with the work which has been done. The two tradesmen who did the painting were very pleasant and tidy and did a good job. The timetable was amended to fit in with our needs and the work was completed on time. We would be happy to use this trader again.
Robert, Midlothian18/09/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've used Ian before - once again, we were delighted with the completed job. He is a true professional - not only is the quality of his work first class, but he arrives when he says he will, finishes the job on time, very clean & tidy. Would happily recommend to anyone.
Valerie17/09/2017
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
2 very pleasant tidy painters took under 3 days to emulsion 3 rooms, 2 bathrooms, hall, and stairs, walls and ceilings. Reasonable price. Have recommended to neighbour.
Alan, Midlothian14/08/2017
brilliant job very efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Hodgson completed his work in my lounge to my complete satisfaction. His work is of a very high standard and he was so helpful by doing other work I was unable to do. He put my furniture in place, fitted my curtain rail and hung my curtains. He did all of the work at very short notice. I would highly recommend him.
Mary, Midlothian14/08/2017
John Duddingston
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his men did a very good job of painting the outside of my house I was impressed by the whole experience and would recommend him.
Thornton21/07/2017
Perfect result.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He did a good check on what to do before starting. Arrived consistently on time and worked thoroughly. We chose a local independent trader and were not disappointed.
Alison, Midlothian28/06/2017
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been using this trader for 25+ years! Always found him to be friendly, cheerful and reliable. He is happy to give practical advice.
David, Midlothian19/06/2017
Fantastic job - great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Ian was communicative, sought feedback, turned up exactly on time and completed a great professional job. You wouldn't know they were around. Tidy, prompt with a very high standard of finish. The papering job was very tricky but has been completed to a high standard. Totally recommend and will use again for sure.
Una, Midlothian05/06/2017
First Class Painter.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the quality of Mr Hodgson's work which was of a high standard. I have dealt with him before and he has never let me down. His attitude is exemplary and he is very accommodating taking great pride in his work. He is always punctual. He is a pleasant person and totally trustworthy. Definitely value for money.
Helen, Midlothian10/04/2017
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A truly 1st class service. I would have no hesitation about recommending Mr Hodgson to anyone. In fact I have booked him for another job.
Manson, Midlothian07/04/2017
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt in commencing work and carrying out work undirected. Mr Hodgson has carried out many painting jobs and at no time have I been dissatisfied by the quality of work.
Elizabeth, Midlothian22/03/2017
Professional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No hesitation in recommending this painter and his team - efficient, tidy and friendly. Will use again.
Joan, Midlothian08/03/2017
Prompt, professional, first class job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Hodgson gave us an accurate quotation for redecoration of our sitting room. I engaged a subcontractor to fit a cornice prior to decoration. Both tasks were completed professionally. We would highly recommend Ian Hodgson for a quality & professional job.
Colin, Midlothian07/03/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the first time he has worked for us and he could not be faulted. He was thoughtful and he was able to let us into the kitchen when it was essential.
George, Midlothian02/03/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian very kindly fitted us into his tight work schedule, redecorating the stairs, hall and landing just before Christmas. The job took seven working days and included painting all the woodwork, including doors, skirting and spindles. He lined and painted the walls. He was punctual, tidy and his work was of a very high standard at a fair and competitive rate. An honest hardworking professional that we have no hesitation in recommending.
cl508/01/2017
Great job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the job. Ian arrived on time and work was completed quickly. Would definitely use again.
Maggie08/12/2016
Excellent job - extremely pleased!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has done work on both the interior and exterior of my house over the last few months. On both occasions he did an excellent job: turned up when he said he would, completed the job when he said he would, followed up a few days later to check everything was still OK and the quality of his work was superb. Great value for money. Absolutely recommended!
Brian P02/12/2016
The best decorator I've used to date
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot speak highly enough of this decorator. I recently moved into a new flat and found quite a few odd decorating jobs that were hard for me to tackle due to being high up. Ian was really flexible and fitted me in quickly, arrived on time, communicated brilliantly and best of all did an excellent job. He left the place tidier than when he arrived. I will definitely use him again for any decorating needs. Highly recommended.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer18/11/2016
Excellent workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the finished job. Would definitely use them again.
Lilian, Midlothian12/09/2016
Highly recommend: great company, reliable and at a reasonable price
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian's company decorated my flat in the past year. It was a large job that involved skimming and painting the walls and wood work. The flat looks excellent and I cannot recommend him enough. He is reliable, committed and a highly skilled professional. The flat was always left tidy after a day's work and, overall, it was completed within the time-frame assigned. The estimates were supplied promptly and the end cost was reasonable. Ian has continued to carry out work in the flat and I am always pleased with the quality provided and his commitment to the job. He provides excellent advice and I am looking forward to working with him again on the flat.
Olwyn G07/09/2016
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Hodgson has done work for us many times over about 10 years. He has redecorated interior rooms and repainted the outside of the house. Recently he repainted our bathroom. We wholeheartedly recommend his work.
George, Midlothian02/08/2016
Good job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has just painted my hall, stair, landing and bedroom. I am extremely pleased with the quality of work. He is pleasant to deal with and I felt comfortable to give him a key. He completed ahead of schedule and left the house clean and tidy. I would definitely recommend him.
Moira27/05/2016
Very happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have been very impressed with Ian's work. He came when he said he would, did what he was asked, gave good advice, and was extremely professional and pleasant. He worked tidily and cleaned up after wards leaving us very little to do at the end. His workmanship is excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend him to any of our friends.
Lyn, Midlothian15/04/2016
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used this company twice now and will certainly use them in the future. Professional, clean and tidy and friendly too. Brilliant job. Thank you.
Sandra, Midlothian07/03/2016
Excellent!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was very kind, patient with my busy schedule and unplanned commitments, cheaper than other painters/decorators I spoke with and did an excellent job as quickly as it could possibly be done! Furthermore, he came across honest and diligent. I recommend his service hands down and I will definitely be referring to him in the future.
2011-07-03 22:08:07.406/03/2016
You can't go wrong with Ian
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a number of rooms and windows painted by Ian Hodgson some months ago. He was very reliable and thorough and did an excellent job. He fitted in with our request to have the work done while we were on holiday. We have never dealt with a better tradesman.
2011-08-12 19:47:36.8922/02/2016
John W Edinburgh
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good timekeeper,keeps in touch,tidy.Pleased with work done.
2011-07-18 17:31:17.89314/02/2016
Reliable, tidy and professional job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would have no hesitation in recommending Ian Hodgson.
Anne, Midlothian22/01/2016
Professional and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has always done a fantastic job for us. He is reliable and always gives great value for money. He is not the cheapest in the area but you get a professional job done. Very pleasant to deal with and always gets back to you
Louise, Midlothian05/11/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has just completed painting my house exterior to his usual high standard. Despite the dubious weather this summer, he was able to do the work before autumn set in. He is reliable, trustworthy and tidy.
caeramon02/10/2015
Great job, on budget and on time
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian turned up on time for prepared job. He gave good advice and finish. He worked around my time constraints and produced a high quality job on time and on budget. Not cheapest quote but good value for money.
Jocelyn, Midlothian23/07/2015
Which, Local Review - AE, Edinburgh
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Ian due to recommendations on Which. He responded promptly to my enquiry. He was very flexible as I was able to choose which days suited me best to have the work done. There was no problem working around or moving furniture out of the room. The job was completed on time and there was no mess to clear up afterwards. I would have no hesitation in using Ian in the future as I was very satisfied with the end result.
CMR40216778207/06/2015
Delighted!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I chose Ian's firm because of the Which? recommendation. I found the whole process, from initial contact to quote to completion of the work, was very professional. Ian arrived exactly on time every day and carried out the work efficiently and tidily. All in all having work done in private home caused minimal impact which was a great relief! I would certainly use Ian's firm again and recommend him to others. Thank you, Ian.
WMoody05/06/2015
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian has decorated four rooms for us in the past year. He is highly skilled professional who gives excellent advice. He is reliable in keeping appointments and prompt in sending estimates. He gives accurate estimates of starting dates and length of time the job takes and sticks to dates given. Ian is extremely hard working and works in a clean organised way ensuring the least description. We are absolutely delighted with the high standard of the finished work.
Megan, Midlothian02/02/2015
Very satisfactory workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Could not be faulted. First class workmanship, completed on schedule and perfect cleanliness on completion. Will certainly employ him for future work.
De'Arne, Midlothian27/01/2015
Recommended without a doubt
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Papered and designed almost the entire house. He is brilliant, punctual and extremely trustworthy, I give him a key. Highly recommended.
Dorothy, Berkshire12/01/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just had 2 rooms decorated by Ian - extremely pleased with his work. He arrived at the times he stated and carried out very good quality of work in a pleasant, clean and tidy manner. His price was reasonable. I'll be very happy to use him for more rooms next year.
JBEdinburgh22/11/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian just decorated our bedroom at very short notice given i was asking if it could be done on a week's notice before our baby arrived. He was prompt, efficient and very flexible in terms of timing given the other work he had on. Price was reasonable and room done really quickly. My calls and texts were always answered promptly and he did not reschedule which was a problem I had with a previous decorator. Friendly and helpful and would have no hesitation in recommending.
Big Juan30/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Hodgson has just painted my wooden porch which has many small panes of glass. His quotation was promptly given and very reasonable. He has provided a very professional service, and has done an excellent job. He is pleasant and helpful and I shall certainly ask him to undertake future painting work on my property.
Grandpa Pumpkin12/05/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have just had our first job completed by Ian and will be using him again. The quality of work was good, it was done when promised and it was not cheap but good value for money.
David Tweedie23/03/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Hodgson does an excellent job at reasonable cost. He is extremely reliable, conscientious and tidy. He has been working for me for about 12 years.
caeramon31/10/2011