We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies as per our policy which also explains how to change your preferences.

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

Ian Day Decorators Limited

Logo on white
Profile thumb ian day logo whichtrustedtraders

4.9

55 Reviews

About

Ian Day Decorators Ltd. is run by Ian Day, 4th generation painter / decorator, established since 1986. Ian Day Decorators Ltd. offer all types of painting & decorating including interiors, exteriors & commercial properties in London and Surrey. If you believe in good old-fashion values, we are the company for you.

We want our customers to feel comfortable with us, to come back in the future and to recommend us to friends and business colleagues. Our rating on Checkatrade is 9.8 out of 10.

We shall be happy to provide a written quotation on request. Our rates are extremely reasonable and competitive, so why not give us a try? If you would like to get in contact or request a no obligation quotation please give us a call, email or use the form here.

What we do

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
    • Interior decorating
    • Painting contractors
  • Interior designers

  • Kitchen fitters

    • Kitchen refurbishment
    • Kitchen installation

Customer reviews

Reviews summary

4.9
55 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.9
Sort by
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Day and his team redecorated our spare room, stripping the wallpaper and then painting after it was re-plastered. Ian was professional throughout and had a good idea to put a border round a large built-in mirror when he came to quote. The work is neat and to a good standard. I'd definitely recommend to use them.
Anda Gregory11/11/2018
Efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After an excellent experience with Ian, we asked him back at short notice to complete some additional works. Ian managed to fit us in and Anthony completed the works efficiently, and to excellent standard. Thank you for your brilliant service!
Charlotte Grattan02/11/2018
Decoration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great work. Great attention to detail and impeccable time keeping. It was a pleasure to have Ray work on my property. He made sure everything was done to a high standard and done to last. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
Suzanne L02/11/2018
Very professional and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I cannot recommend Ian Day's services enough. We have been let down a few times in the past, so were wary using a new decorator, but Ian was so professional, and very reliable. He managed to do the job with short notice. Our painter, Anthony, was polite and very clean and tidy. We are so impressed with the work carried out and will definitely be using Ian Day's services again. It's so reassuring to have found an excellent decorating company, who take pride in their work. Thank you.
Charlotte Grattan21/09/2018
Good quality decoration work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his team carried out the work of decorating our church hall and adjoining rooms. The work was done to a high standard, within the original estimate. All was done efficiently, and quickly. The workmen were courteous and we were kept in the picture as to how the work was progressing. The work was done within the timescale we specified and they kept the relevant areas tidy so access to the main church as still possible.
Haddow17/08/2018
Excellent work, friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I quickly completed on a flat and needed someone to decorate every room so we could move in ASAP. Ian came round to view the place the same day I called him (a Saturday, no less) and work started on Monday. Paul, Adam and Luke made a great job of the place in just three days and were a pleasure to have around. Work was completed quickly to a high standard and we couldn't be happier with how the place looks now. Would recommend them to anyone.
George Martin14/08/2018
Very good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Small wallpapering job (2 walls in a bedroom). Very neat job, mess kept to a minimum. Good communications, arrived on time, polite and tidy. Painless!
Ej Jaques20/06/2018
Great Quality, turned around quickly.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Following a tenancy several walls in the house needed repainting to make right a very messy repair in the wrong color made by the previous tenant. These included bedroom walls, landing and stairs. Ian provided a very good quality service. The quality of the paint finish was excellent and the painter Paul worked in a very tidy manner. From estimate to finished job the work was turned around very quickly which matched very well my needs. The cost of the work was reasonable and compares well against other painting firms in the area that I have used previously.
Richard Bird12/06/2018
Fantastic job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had 2 large rooms painted which were newly plastered and the skirting boards. The lads were very friendly and helpful and did a very good job. Time keeping was excellent. I would most definitely use them again and would recommend them to anyone.
Tracy Woodhouse29/05/2018
Painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent job painting my flat. Work was done efficiently and to a high standard.
Zoe___27/03/2018
Excellent Finish
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian recently decorated (which included wallpapering) our kitchen/diner/living room and hall area. The finish was excellent and Ian and his guys were very hardworking and professional. Strongly recommend.
Andrew24/03/2018
Another great result
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Yet again Ian and his team of decorators (specifically Anthony) have again achieved a great result. The standard of finish is excellent and it is a well run and efficient company.
Rebekah, London06/11/2017
Excellent work, reliable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As I have said above - excellent work, reliable, pleasant and professional. I have been having work done by them for more than 20 years.
Amanda, London02/11/2017
Delighted with the job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
House exterior painting. Arrived promptly on the first day, and every day until the work was completed on schedule. Careful and thorough making good before painting. Steady and careful, painting professional and proficient throughout. Really helpful and kind with advice on detail, e.g. door furniture. Would certainly recommend them whole-heartedly, and will use them again myself.
Brenda, London18/09/2017
Kitchen Repainting and Re-plastering of Damaged Skylight
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very positive experience. Work completed to a high standard by a punctual and polite decorator. Reasonably priced and responsive. Only slight issue was trying to organise a date to get work completed. Overall, an extremely positive experience.
NCH50017/09/2017
Great job decorating Bedroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian provided an estimate within two days of his visit and kept me informed about a start date. The work was completed quickly and to a high standard. After the job was started it became apparent that some additional work would be necessary and this was quickly sorted out and completed. Ian visited after the work was completed to check that we were happy with the work.
Vincent19/07/2017
Kitchen extension
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleased with the service provided by Ian and Ray, one of his team. Work started promptly each day and everything was tidied away in the evening. The painting looks great. Ray took great care care to fill any holes on the new skirting board so the finish is superb. I would have no hesitation in recommending this firm.
Ian Rondeau 09/07/2017
Exterior of house painted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Right from the start, Ian was extremely helpful and patient. Ian and Paul did a great job and I am very pleased with the final result. I will definitely use/recommend Ian in the future.
Yim Longkumer25/06/2017
Great job after water ingress from flat roof.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Day's decorators did a great job treating the stained walls and ceiling and then repainting them. After redecoration, there was no trace of any leak stains or damaged plaster work. They covered all the furniture and floor and also passed the hoover at the end. I am really happy with the job they did and have recommended them to friends.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer21/06/2017
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Day's decorator Ray has just finished my hall landing and stairs, also my lounge which I added on afterwards. Ray arrived around 7.45 every day, and left the house clean and tidy at the end of each day. He was courteous and I felt happy to leave him in the house, the work has been completed on time, is of a very high standard, and Ian has been very helpful with advice. I would recommend him to anybody. Debbie Weavers
debbie.w08/05/2017
Fast work & very tidy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient emailing back and sorting a date for the work. It was quite a small job and Ian completed it very promptly and I am pleased with the result. I got another quote for this job that came in at a lot more so I think Ian was good value.
Imogen Clowes09/04/2017
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his son painted our bedroom and living room. They were quick, tidy, courteous and got the job done ahead of time. I would use them again and recommend them to friends.
mr.andrew.murray29/03/2017
A very happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his team repainted our kitchen and den. They were meticulous in their work which involved painting over 30 cupboards and drawers and were very accommodating when we changed our minds about one of the colours. They turned up between 7.30 and 8 every day and left the house clean at the end of each day. I am really happy with the job they did and have recommended them to friends already. A great team.
Shefalee22/02/2017
Superb Job decorating our home.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Day and his team have proved to be a very capable, honest and reliable firm of decorators. Ray, who was assigned to our job was ready to start work at 8 am every work day and took the utmost care with the quality and tidiness of his work, and decorated our home like it was his own. He also brought a treat for our German Shepherd, everyday, without fail, which meant he got a friend for life with this job! My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending Ian Day' s decorating services to those requiring a competent company that specialise within their field of work.
2011-07-29 19:47:28.84320/02/2017
Fantastic work decorating our home
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 3rd time we have used Ian Day Decorators. This time, Ian and his skilled team decorated (painted and wallpapered) our home in South West London from top to bottom. The work was completed to a high standard with multiple colours in most rooms. The team happily worked around other concurrent home improvement projects (new bathroom, carpentry and carpets). Ian's team all worked hard, kept the house tidy and were polite and professional. I have already recommended Ian Day to friends.
Which? consumer 14/01/2017
Commercial property decorated and re-styled - first class job!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The decorator we've used for 30+ years has retired from 'big' jobs, so we found Ian's firm on Check-a-Trade and he visited promptly and provided a competitive quote to redecorate our office interior across 3 floors. His team worked promptly, and to a very high standard. They were super flexible in working over the Christmas holiday period - and came up with some really creative ideas to brighten our offices with feature walls and pillars. We've found a great local supplier, who we won't hesitate to use again - both commercially, and personally. Nothing was too much trouble! Thanks guys!
J Keeler05/01/2017
A perfect finish after a horrible flood
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian Day Decorators restored our top landing after a disastrous flood had pulled down all the wallpaper and soaked the plaster. It was not just the perfect finish, though it was perfect - it was the attitude of Ian and his team that made it all a pleasure - they were cheerful, impeccably polite, punctual and very tidy, the house was left immaculate every night. In 30 years of living in our house we have never had better painters and decorators - I heartily recommend them.
Elfreda01/11/2016
Great job and great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are in the process of renovating our property and Ian and his team have done a very professional job. Ian's team work professionally and have been very flexible in terms of helping us complete our project. Paul has been particularly good in terms of doing work for us that fitted around the other trades at the property. I'm very happy to recommend Ian Day Decorators Ltd.
David, Wimbledon 26/10/2016
External redecoration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is a family run business with loyal employees who have worked for the company for many years. We found their standard of workmanship to be of very high quality and the external decoration of our house was carried out with great care, thoroughness and professionalism. The work was not rushed and the quality of the finish was extremely good. Communication was excellent, for example, we were told when scaffolding was to be erected and removed and this was done promptly. Pricing was competitive. We would highly recommend Ian Day Decorators and would use them again.
Kevin B10/09/2016
Exterior house painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This firm was a great find, friendly, reliable and very efficient. Paul, who did the work, worked hard and was meticulous - he even cleaned the windows when the job was completed. We were impressed that Ian, the boss, came around while the work was in progress to check things. Altogether a stress free experience - despite the weather - that left us with a beautifully painted house.
Ernest04/07/2016
Really good quality and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our exterior paintwork (windows, front door, porch, wall etc) was in a bad state and Ian's team have completely transformed it. After a number of problems finding and dealing with local tradesmen, I couldn't recommend Ian's team more highly. They were on time, kept to the quote and the quality of what they have done looks great. They also haven't cut corners and it has all been done to a high standard. Many thanks.
Liz (Balham)16/06/2016
Painted house exterior, front & back
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his team are friendly, polite and punctual. Everything was left clean and tidy. Excellent finish from painters who obviously take pride in their work. Would highly recommend these honest, reliable traders. Great job, thank you.
S Nassim03/06/2016
Refurbishment of terraced house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found Ian Day Decorators on the which trusted trader site, while looking for a reliable company to carry out the refurbishment of my property. In addition to the redecoration and painting of the entire property (including painting new cabinetry and windows). Ian was able to organise additional works required to my house including, re-plastering and repairs due to recent water damage with James. Ian and his team were happy to accommodate electrical and plumbing work being carried out at my property and organize the purchase and installation of new flooring at a very reasonable cost. It was a pleasure to work with Ian and James. They completed all works on schedule and to a high standard. I would recommend them and will be using them again in the future.
Cmkirwan10/05/2016
A Great Job Done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Extremely pleased with the workmanship - the attention to detail in terms of the preparation, filling, sanding etc. and renewal of the doors in particular was very impressive and far exceeded my expectations. A thoroughly professional job and no shortcuts taken and a job done that will last many years to come. Have requested a further quote for the main bedroom now as very impressed with the quality of workmanship, reasonable cost for what was involved and would thoroughly recommend ...
Patrick18528/04/2016
Great work and a very high standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They did a Bedroom, Bathroom, Hallway and two flights of stairs
p0139709918/02/2016
Decoration of Hall/Stairs/Landing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Work completed to a very high standard. On time and on budget. Very polite & friendly
Bladesman01/02/2016
Prompt, professional, tidy & good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He was recommended by our neighbour when we were looking for a painter. Ian has been very good - he was punctual, polite, respectful & tidy, he finished on time & the quality of his work is of a high standard.
Sarah, London01/02/2016
Brilliant job - very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and his team Paul and Luke have done a fantastic job on our apartment. All the work has been of a very high standard and we are very pleased!
V, Surrey01/02/2016
Ian Day Decorators Ltd
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good quality and value. Would use again.
andysmith27/01/2016
Complete internal decoration of 4 bed house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
“Ian and his team did a really great job and took great pride and attention to detail. We did additional work after the initial quote, but were kept well informed throughout and were very pleased with the outcome. Work completed includes redecoration and painting of the entire property including cupboards/woodwork, addition of new doors, ceiling coving, tiling in the kitchen and woodwork including a new cupboard and skirting boards. We also had a some old fireplaces removed and general maintenance. We are so pleased and happy with the work, our house looks brand new!”
JonnyW18/01/2016
Very precise and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used them before and will use them again. Their work is very professional and accurate. They take pride in the quality of their work.
Roy, London04/12/2015
Carshalton
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent Job , very clean and tidy. Completed on time .
Davids28/11/2015
Courteous, reliable, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Always arrived on time. Did exactly what we wanted to a very high standard. Communication was excellent. Would be very happy to recommend them and will certainly use them again. Anthony, who did the work, is a top quality, painstaking craftsman and we were very happy to have him in the house.
Paul, London26/11/2015
Exterior house painting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with quality of work, courteous and approachable, also undertook minor interior work on wet days which was much appreciated Will use for any further interior/exterior work
Wimbledon 25/11/2015
Great Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian was hired to decorate the master bedroom and he and his team provided a very efficient and first class service, as a result we have asked him to decorate the hall, landing and stairs.
Kim, Surrey13/11/2015
Brilliant & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They arrived on time and prepared the site with covers. Kept me informed as they went along with what they were doing. I would certainly use them again, and would recommend them highly!
Marilyn, Surrey09/10/2015
Commercial - new stud wall & complete redecoration
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional and efficient - a pleasure to work with. Everything was carried out to an excellent standard, very happy!
SewOverIt04/09/2015
Excellent work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The job (exterior redecoration of our house) was carried out efficiently, competently and conscientiously. Customer care was excellent, as was value for money.
Chris, Surrey28/07/2015
Really pleased with the work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really pleased with the work. Job done on time and to a professional standard. Thank you.
Nicola, London31/05/2015
Immaculate work, reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They painted the outside of the house. A very high standard of work, which should wear well. Reliable, trustworthy worker & considerate & courteous. Boss slightly mis-calculated final invoice.
Marian, London30/05/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer11/05/2015
Excellent job, very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful & on time. Fantastic job. Very happy with the result.
H, London27/04/2015
Prompt, efficient, clean
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Competitive quote, turned up promptly and worked non-stop, giving a quality finish on ceilings, walls and woodwork. Pleasant and friendly. Will certainly use again.
John, Surrey13/04/2015
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I was very pleaded with the entire service. A prompt and fair quote followed by excellent workmanship. Would highly recommend and I have already scheduled another job with them.
Caroline, London10/04/2015
Professional & friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian and the team provided a professional & quality service. The overall finish was to a high standard. I wasn't able to stay at home due to work commitments and felt completely comfortable leaving my home in their care. Price paid was as agreed and expected.
Daren, Surrey30/03/2015