We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

J Biggs Electrical

Profile thumb jbiggs final
5.0

39 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday 08:00–18:00

Organisations and Awards

Apr 2019

About

J Biggs Electrical provides domestic and commercial electrician services across East Kent and beyond.

We provide anything from simple electrical changes to full rewires and new installations and everything in between.

Services undertaken include (but are not limited to):

- FREE quotations;
- Installations big or small;
- Inspection and testing, including landlord and condition reports;
- Portable Appliance Testing (PAT);
- Fault-finding.

We pride ourselves on being responsive, reliable, honest and easy to communicate with.

We are registered with the electrical trade body NICEIC, and fully qualified City & Guilds 17th edition electrician.

What we do

  • Electricians

    • Electrical emergency services
    • Electrical installations
    • Electrical testing services
    • Landlord safety certificates
    • Outdoor electrical wiring
    • Fuse boards
    • Rewiring
  • Lighting contractors

    • Emergency lighting
    • Emergency lighting annual testing
    • LED lighting
    • Lighting LED upgrades
    • Outdoor lighting
    • Security & Emergency lighting installations
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • Intercom systems
  • More Services

    • pat testing

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
39 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
New lights, sockets and switches.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon Biggs responded quickly to my request for various electrical work to be done and provided us promptly with a detailed invoice, which represented good value for money. He arrived promptly when he said he would and completed the job within the estimated time, ensuring power was off for a minimal period. He is very polite and courteous and works in a very clean and tidy fashion. We are very pleased with the results and have recommended Jon to family and neighbors.
Customer in Kent Posted on 15/11/2021 , work completed 03/11/2021
Garage conversion, new consumer unit and detached garage electrical upgrade
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After Jon stepped in and fixed a mess a previous electrician had left us in for an extension. When we wanted to convert a garage to an additional bedroom with ensuite, replace our consumer unit and upgrade the electrics in another garage we had no hesitation to turn to Jon and we were not to be disappointed. The work was carried out professionally and he made a number of suggestions to improve the job. This included a remote timer for the external lights which works a treat. The little additional jobs were done without impacting the overall timing of the job and apart from materials didn’t increase his price He is a very meticulous worker, always cleaned up and left every job as if it were his own home. He delivered on time and on price I would highly recommend anyone to use Jon, from simple to very complex jobs
Customer in Kent Posted on 26/10/2021 , work completed 21/10/2021
Pleasant , helpful and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jonathan carried out a full electrical survey and resulting remedial work (consumer unit replacement ) plus some helpful advice. He was available within my time frame, punctual and unobtrusive. This house in East Kent is new to me and I certainly hope he will work here when needed.
Sara in Hertfordshire Posted on 21/09/2021 , work completed 10/09/2021
New Sockets
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very happy with the work carried out - all very neatly done and working fine! So pleased to have such a reliable and friendly electrician to call upon. At least for this job the weather was kind - last time it was freezing snow and the work was outdoors! Highly recommended.
Julie in Kent Posted on 15/09/2021 , work completed 17/08/2021
New Conservatory light fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted a new light in conservatory, came to house at the time arranged and completed the job quickly and at a fair price. I rated him highly and will have him again without hesitation.
David in Kent Posted on 03/06/2021 , work completed 26/05/2021
Brilliant!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I'd become disenchanted with my old sparks; he was good but surly, completely uncommunicative and his prices were always climbing. So I gave Jonathan a call to check some outdoor lighting problems causing power outs. He came round asap for an investigatory look, fixed the outages, then came back two days later to complete the job, which was not easy, as it was more electronics than electrics. Can't recommend the guy enough, he's brilliant!
Customer in Kent Posted on 25/02/2020 , work completed 22/02/2020
Professional, Tidy, Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are really pleased with the work Jon has undertaken. From start to finish it’s been an easy process. Jon is friendly, polite extremely work tidy which makes a nice change and made helpful suggestions to improve the installation. There wasn’t a single issue and we would definitely recommend and will use him again. Good, reliable tradesmen are very hard to find.
Customer in Kent Posted on 26/12/2019 , work completed 23/12/2019
Great work - friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon spent a lot of time sorting out the installation of our new oven which required both a new circuit board and a new isolation switch! Very friendly and very good workmanship... he was in that cupboard under the stairs for quite a while and I'm sure his knees were grateful when he surfaced! Would thoroughly recommend him.
Customer in Kent Posted on 30/09/2019 , work completed 09/04/2019
Another great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time we have asked Jon to carry out electrical work at our home. On this occasion we asked him to replace all our sockets and light switches. They look great and we are delighted with them. Jon is extremely reliable and professional; we were very happy with the cost to have this work completed.
Customer in Kent Posted on 15/08/2019 , work completed 08/08/2019
Great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon was very professional and he clearly understood what was required. He replaced four exterior car park lights which were in a poor condition, not an easy job. We were very happy with his work and the lights look great. We are delighted to have found a good, reliable electrician.
Customer in Kent Posted on 14/04/2019 , work completed 09/04/2019
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The trader moved a light switch , installed an additional socket and re-wired a light in a shower (which had defeated a previous electrician). We were really pleased with everything he did - plus he was courteous and very tidy and efficiently issued the necessary paperwork including the Works Certificate . We heartily recommend this trader and we will use him whenever the need arises.
Customer in Kent Posted on 01/03/2019 , work completed 18/02/2019
New smoke alarms
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used J Biggs Electrical for many jobs at our home. He has recently fitted new smoke alarms and fixed a few other issues in the process. Previously we have used Jon to wire up the husbands new workshop and install lighting on the decking. Reliable, trusthworthy and comes highly recommended. Full of useful ideas and recommendations at a reasonable price.
Customer in Kent Posted on 28/01/2019 , work completed 20/11/2018
Replacement of lights to LEDs / outside security
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon has replaced many lights at our work premises and has also completed a full electrical light check throughout. He has also recently installed a complete new set of dusk to dawn security lighting in the grounds. He is reliable, trustworthy, and his work is the highest quality at a reasonable price. Highly recommended
Customer in Kent Posted on 28/01/2019 , work completed 19/12/2018
Very tidy work, completed on time.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon has done a couple of jobs for me now: (i) connecting up three new-style storage heaters, including installing wiring for their 24-hour supply (for fans etc) for each one of them, replacing old-style ones which were around 20 years old; & also (ii) replacing two consumer units (in my 2-bedroom flat) and also undertaking an electrical safety check on the same property. The new storage heaters are a big improvement on my old ones, and they keep their heat well into the evening, after a charge the night before. I am very pleased with the standard of Jon's workmanship, His quote was not cheap, but when I received his invoice, the final bill turned out to a bit less than I was expecting. I have now booked Jon to do some more electrical work at a second property.
Customer in Kent Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 16/01/2019
electrical supply to boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon responded quickly to my request for help in restoring the electrical supply to my boiler. He came exactly when he said he would, diagnosed and fixed the problem in record time and charged me an extremely reasonable price. He even replaced a tricky light bulb for me without additional charge. I have no hesitation in recommending his service, and will definitely approach him again with any electrical problems.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/12/2018 , work completed 29/11/2018
Extremely professional, and great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon visited us to fit a plug socket in our airing cupboard to enable us to use our new shower pump without trailing an extension cord across the landing. He quickly assessed the best options for us and presented them clearly. Once agreed, installation of a new socket was carried out extremely quickly, fully tested and even labelled up appropriately; a really professional and tidy touch. Overall, Jon was punctual, extremely tidy and ensured I was happy with the work before leaving. The work was also extremely competitively priced. I would recommend to anyone.
EdS_88 Posted on 07/11/2018 , work completed 07/11/2018
Great work as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Helpful professional and polite. I have used his services before and will again.I strongly recommend this excellent electrician.
P biggs Posted on 29/10/2018 , work completed 29/10/2018
Couldn't recommend more highly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon is really helpful, super friendly and very tidy! Our uplighters were replaced with no fuss and no mess and for a very reasonable price. He was meticulous in getting them level in spite of our wonky 15th century ceilings! Will absolutely be using him again as we progress through decorating our house
Alice H Posted on 25/10/2018 , work completed 25/10/2018
Friendly, honest, quick, tidy and good value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced downlights and fixed faulty ring circuit. Came very promptly, always helpful polite and very good at explaining problems and options for solution. Very neat results. Excellent value for money. Delighted with the results. Many thanks!
Jitterian Posted on 14/10/2018 , work completed 14/10/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class cannot fault his professionalism or his work. A small job in updating three smoke alarms that are wired into the electrics and sorting out one of our down lighters in the kitchen diner. I would not hesitate in recommending him to friends and neighbours and he will certainly be our go to electrician in the future for any work either small or larger projects. Finally he is friendly and approachable.
Laurence Davies Posted on 27/09/2018 , work completed 27/09/2018
Great Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable and tidy worker. Polite and professional. He is happy to do small jobs and I would definitely use him again.
Hodgson Posted on 14/09/2018 , work completed 14/09/2018
Indoor light and outdoor lamp post and plug installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very reliable. His work was carried out to a high standard to the specifications agreed on. He was a very tidy worker, approachable and professional. We would have no hesitation in employing him again for future electrical work.
Cunard Posted on 01/09/2018 , work completed 01/09/2018
The trader replied (on 15/09/2018)
Thank you. Really enjoyed this job. Lighting installations are always very satisfying.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chose this electrician to install a replacement built-in oven that I had bought for my elderly sister because he was a Which Trusted Trader. I was not disappointed. Could not have asked for a better service. Returned my initial call message immediately. Arranged to come the next day, and did so. Friendly, courteous and helpful. Fitted the oven in no time and it’s working fine. Very reasonable charge. Would definitely use again and recommend to others.
Margaret Noakes Posted on 21/08/2018 , work completed 21/08/2018
The trader replied (on 15/09/2018)
Always happy to help. It was lovely to meet you both also.
Efficient Electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a pleasant change to find such a professional and personable man. Jonathan was efficient and extremely competent and happy to attend the smallest of jobs. I can highly recommend him and shall definitely call on him again.
Sue B Posted on 18/07/2018 , work completed 18/07/2018
The trader replied (on 15/09/2018)
No job too small! I have definitely been called out for smaller :)
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon has replaced some lighting for us and carried out our electrical safety report. He is friendly and helpful and I highly recommend him.
Suzanne M Posted on 18/07/2018 , work completed 18/07/2018
The trader replied (on 15/09/2018)
Electrical safety is a key component to any dwelling; whether domestic or commercial. I can do both.
Best electrician I've had
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What a relief to have found a conscientious, friendly and professional electrician. Will definitely be using again.
1196225 Posted on 25/06/2018 , work completed 25/06/2018
The trader replied (on 15/09/2018)
Thank you. Always glad to help.
Tripping electricity
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came out at short notice. Called to let me know when he would arrive. Friendly and professional. Carried out all the necessary checks to my satisfaction. Plan to employ him again soon.
A. Cunard Posted on 04/06/2018 , work completed 04/06/2018
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
Happy I could help. I always like to keep my clients informed of ETA wherever possible.
Replacement of outside lights
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jonathan replaced 5 exterior lights for us. We had to postpone the work once because of torrential rain, but Jonathan came very soon after the initial appointment. He did a careful, tidy job for us, and was very friendly and professional.
James H Posted on 08/05/2018 , work completed 08/05/2018
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
Rain and electrics tend not to mix. At least not that well from my perspective! Lovely lights in the end, worth the slight delay I hope.
Fantastic service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
What amazing service. Jonathan was friendly and polite but professional. He quoted for the work requested and stuck to it. His work was very neat and he left the property clean and tidy. I couldn't rate him higher. I will definitely be using him again and have already recommended him to a friend.
A very happy customer Posted on 10/04/2018 , work completed 10/04/2018
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
A clean and tidy job is a good job in my eyes. All part of the service.
Excellent job done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jonathan was very friendly, efficient and did a fantastic job. I would recommend him to everyone.
Carolyn Posted on 20/03/2018 , work completed 20/03/2018
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
Thank you. I'm glad I could help.
Domestic lighting and consumer unit - Very Pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon added and modified several lighting scenario for us and provided power and a consumer unit to our bike shed. He was prompt, communicated well and performed a clean, professional job. Fully recommend.
Stuart Posted on 22/01/2018 , work completed 22/01/2018
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
Thank you. A very interesting job, pleased to be a part of the project.
Thoroughly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Electrical safety check for business and residential. Replacement of integrated lighting and addition of external lighting.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
Electrical Safety Checks are always good fun. Glad I could help.
Would Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
One of our bedroom lights would not work. John Biggs came around and fixed it. All checks necessary were made for it to be safely done. I had complete confidence in him. Would highly recommend.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
Thank you. Lighting is one of the most satisfying parts of the job. Glad i could help.
Excellent and eff
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a faulty dimmer switch replaced, and now our lights work perfectly. Jon Biggs was helpful, communication with him was easy, he understood the problem, attended punctually when he said he would attend. He was polite, efficient and undertook the work meticulously. We were delighted with his work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
The trader replied (on 14/10/2018)
All part of the service. Thank you.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Additional power points and led lighting installed in kitchen conversion including alterations to existing lighting switches
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Glad i could help. The kitchen looks great too!
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon is friendly and honest. Changed out my old consumer unit and a few other electrical issues to get me ready to rent my property. Would highly recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Thanks for the review and recommendation. I'm always happy to help where I can. If theres anything further you need, just let me know.
Very pleased/ satisfied customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had electrics put out to my shed. Jon Biggs was tidy and all was completed on time. Very conscientious and emailed about a month later to make sure all was ok and no problems that needed sorting. Would definitely recommend him.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/05/2017 , work completed 22/05/2017
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Thanks for the review and the recommendation. If theres anything you need in the future, please just let me know.
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon came and helped me out when I was short for time. Replace my consumer unit, helped install 2 radiators and signed off all my electrics after some helpful pointers. Easy to talk to, honest and didn't charge me a fortune. Highly recommend him.
Jon Neame Posted on 18/05/2017 , work completed 18/05/2017
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Thanks Jon. Always happy to help. Anything you need in the future, just let me know.
Excellent, efficient and reliable electrician
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon helped resolve a longstanding problem with our lights. Communication with him was easy and clear. He is a polite, pleasant and trustworthy individual. He was punctual, and completed his work efficiently and effectively. I would have no hesitation in recommending him to others. He will definitely be my first port of call with any future electrical work.
Tony Tasou Posted on 14/05/2017 , work completed 14/05/2017
The trader replied (on 26/06/2018)
Thanks for the review Tony. I'm glad you are pleased with the work done. Anything you need in the future, just let me know.