We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

J C Neal

Profile thumb logo  jc neal
5.0

31 Reviews

About

The business has been a family business, trading since 1970, started by my father, I joined him as a partner in 1996 and took over the business as a sole trader when my father retired 8 years ago.

I hold the relevant certification with Gas Safe, OFTEC and Un vented hot water systems, enabling me to install both Gas and Oil heating systems, I am also a member of The Institute of Plumbing.

What we do

  • Heating contractors

    • Oil fired heating equipment
  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Underfloor heating
    • Boiler installation
  • Bathroom fitters

    • Wet rooms
    • Bathroom refurbishment
  • More Services

    • boiler replacement
    • full gas and oil installation

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

5.0
31 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Replacement gas boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The initial quotation was competitive but they later discovered a simpler and cheaper solution which we approved. There was some delay to the initially agreed date but with good reason and communication was good throughout. On the day the work was carried out efficiently and speedily in a friendly manner and to a high standard. The area was left in a clean and tidy condition. Throughout the whole process they have been very cooperative and a pleasure to work with.
John in Essex Posted on 03/12/2021 , work completed 01/12/2021
Oil Boiler change
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My boiler was replaced on the day stated, left running with the system balanced after refilling. My utility room was left clean and tidy with all waste removed from site. Chris and Jamie provided a hassle free service, I have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Essex Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 09/12/2020
Great detective work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We live in a 500 year old house with too much plumbing. Jamie and Chris took the time to track down using their sleuthing skills a blockage that had stopped water reaching our top floor. All fixed in time for Christmas. Thank you.
Customer in Essex Posted on 13/12/2020 , work completed 10/12/2020
Excellent job completed quickly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie and Chris fitted our new gas central heating system 13 years ago and made an excellent job. We called on him again as we needed a new boiler we got an estimate and within a week Jamie installed it. He works immaculately and explains all the things to you. Leaves things very clean and tidy. Would recommend him.
Customer in Essex Posted on 24/10/2020 , work completed 20/10/2020
new boiler tank
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Put in my new boiler tank. Was quite a tricky job but. They did it brilliantly job, cleaning up as they went along. Im very pleased. On top of that they didn’t charge the earth, so im happy to recommend them
Jim, Roxwell, Posted on 03/08/2020 , work completed 21/07/2020
Excellent - highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent. No hesitation in recommending. Jamie fitted new boiler, cylinder & radiators plus other additional work all to the very highest standard. Thank you, Chris & Jamie.
Jason is Essex Posted on 31/03/2020 , work completed 31/01/2020
First class
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Firstly having just read the previous half dozen five star reviews I agree with all that’s been said. We just installed an enormous boiler- quite a struggle to manhandle into a tight space. Sorted out spaghetti junction of pipes and left us fully operational. Chris first quoted 18 months ago & I knew this was a good firm when he said - here is the price, do it when your current one falls to bits! That time had almost come & Jamie & Chris attacked what is an awkward job with great skill. Recommend to anyone
Customer in Essex Posted on 05/03/2020 , work completed 05/03/2020
new build plumbing and fitting
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie Neal is a highly competent plumber who undertook an array of tasks and works for me that displayed knowledge, skill, problem-solving, orderliness and great timekeeping. Many can do an adequate plumbing job but few have the core of skills required to work around a varied series of tasks, especially on a new build property. He displayed an understanding of all that was required and then proceeded to undertake a range of plumbing work which included fitting pipework to join an underfloor heating system based on an air source heat pump, fitted two new bathrooms ( one with shower and one with bath) including sink units, a separate utility room sink and also redirected a water supply to a summer house, 60 feet from the new build property. Not only was all this done efficiently, but it was also done quickly and without time wastage. I was impressed at how smoothly he worked- he simply got on with it all pleasantly and cooperatively with other on-site contractors, not an easy task which requires a personable attitude. I have known Jamie's dad from past plumbing work done for me He set up this family business and am not surprised at the standard now maintained by his son who learned how to do things the right way and whose considerable training and qualifications now equip him with a constantly changing industry. There are fewer and fewer qualified plumbers these days whose efficiency still has that human touch. Look no further than Jamie Neal for all of the above.
M.S.H in Essex Posted on 13/01/2020 , work completed 07/01/2020
Excellent customer care
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler started leaking the day after Boxing Day. After seeing previous reviews I contacted Chris who was very helpful and came to inspect the boiler within the hour. Jamie fitted a new boiler, along with additional work we requested, a few days later. He carried out a brilliant job and nothing was too much trouble, as other things occurred along the way! Prior to the install Chris kept in touch with us and again after the install to check all was OK. They offered a professional, competent service and we will most definitely use them again. No hesitation in recommending.
Customer in Essex Posted on 13/01/2020 , work completed 02/01/2020
Excellent job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When these jobs where first looked at Chris was very helpful and the quotes came through quickly. Jamie has carried out two jobs for us now, new boiler, cylinder and radiators and most recently a bathroom. Both jobs have been done to a high standard, schedule and budget. Jamie is polite, efficient, and very helpful. We will most certainly recommend these guys to our friends and family. Thank you guys for making these jobs painless.
Customer in Essex Posted on 19/12/2019 , work completed 06/12/2019
Excellent job replacing oil fired boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie installed a new boiler for us when our old one packed up. The price for the job was very competitive and the work was carried out quickly, neatly and efficiently . He also installed a new power shower in the bathroom. Jamie is friendly, polite and a pleasure to deal with. I cannot praise him highly enough and have no hesitation in recommending him for any plumbing work.
S Page Posted on 03/12/2019 , work completed 15/11/2019
Install new pressurised hot water system
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had used Jamie a few years back to install a new boiler so did not hesitate to call upon him again. Jamie and his Dad are prompt, friendly, work tirelessly and tidy up when finished. They would always be my first port of call regarding plumbing and central heating issues. The work was completed in the timescale and budget quoted.
MD, Fyfield Posted on 26/07/2019 , work completed 23/07/2019
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed with the very efficient service. Would definitely recommend to others and would certainly call him again for any future plumbing work.
V, Essex Posted on 11/03/2019 , work completed 11/03/2019
Use this excellent worker
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Punctual, polite and always an excellent job done. Has worked for us on many occasions. Highly recommend this young man.
Jennifer, Essex Posted on 02/07/2018 , work completed 02/07/2018
Friendly and efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Chris and Jamie - father and son - were a pleasure to deal with, from the initial quote to the finished work. No problems at all and we now have a shiny new boiler
Rupert Miles Posted on 19/03/2018 , work completed 19/03/2018
Oil Boiler Move & new central heating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Tricky job performed well by Jamie. Lots of new pipework required & all installed to a high standard. Recommended friendly family business.
CarterFam Posted on 12/03/2018 , work completed 12/03/2018
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From start to finish Jamie consistently worked hard in order to achieve an excellent finish. We are extremely pleased with the outcome and will definitely use him in the future. Highly recommend.
Hannah, Essex Posted on 20/02/2018 , work completed 20/02/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good (Brilliant).
Merie, Essex Posted on 21/11/2017 , work completed 21/11/2017
Excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very efficient would recommend to anyone.
Valerie, Essex Posted on 18/09/2017 , work completed 18/09/2017
Prompt and technically professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He knew all about installing the new boiler and tidied up very well after. But was very good at explaining it working to customer and I am an architect! Post customer relationship.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/08/2017 , work completed 29/08/2017
New Shower.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time Jamie has done work for us. First time a complete new bath room, this time a new shower, screen & tiling. Jamie is hard working, trustworthy, friendly and good at what he does. He overcomes problems with ease and we are completely happy with his work.
Cliff, Essex Posted on 05/07/2017 , work completed 05/07/2017
Very good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Most impressed. Will certainly use them again.
John, Essex Posted on 27/03/2017 , work completed 27/03/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt, on time, clean, tidy, knowledgeable, completed on time. No problems at all.
Peter, Essex Posted on 01/03/2017 , work completed 01/03/2017
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Our boiler needed replacing at a particularly cold time of year. Mr Neal ordered the new boiler and installed the same very quickly. He cleared up after his work and we could not recommend him highly enough. Totally trust worthy.
Jenny, Essex Posted on 18/01/2017 , work completed 18/01/2017
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did what they said when they would do it, any follow up needed just call them anytime. Friendly business like approach.
Happy Customer Posted on 16/08/2016 , work completed 16/08/2016
Best thing since sliced bread
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie fitted a toilet and sink in my downstairs bathroom and gutted and bredid my whole upstairs bathroom. The work is always very good, I have used the compnay for years and would never think of using anyone else. He is a very clean worker, he tidies up after himself every day! He always gives a very reasonable price estimate, and he always sticks to the budget. I have recommended him to several people, he is excellent.
Anonymous, Essex Posted on 24/06/2016 , work completed 24/06/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie did two excellent jobs for me, he fitted a new en suite and redid the downstairs toilet. I was very happy with his work, her did more than was asked of him and we've had loads of comliments on how good it looks. He was punctual and always did a very good days work. We have recommended him to several people, who he has already done work for.
Mr Reynalds, Essex Posted on 24/06/2016 , work completed 24/06/2016
So pleased with the work done
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used to fit a shower and new hot water system. I was so pleased with the work and found that Jamie was very happy to come back once the job was completed to make adjustments for the system when needed. I would recommend him to anyone.
J, Woodham Walter Posted on 14/06/2016 , work completed 14/06/2016
Brilliant trader
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jamie has done lots of jobs for me over the years, which I am always very happy with. He is very pleasant to deal with and I would absolutely recommend him to anyone. His prices are resonable, his communication is great, and overall he is a brilliant and hard-working trader.
Peter , Essex Posted on 14/04/2016 , work completed 14/04/2016
Exceptional work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used to reinstall a bathroom and a downstairs cloakroom and found the work to be exceptional. There were no problems at all and in fact he was happy to fix a few pre-existing problems as he went along without any issue! I've already asked him back for more work.
BL, Heybridge Posted on 04/04/2016 , work completed 04/04/2016
A recommended plumber and heating engineer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
FULL CENTRAL HEATING, GAS & OIL & UN VENTED HOT WATER SYSTEMS ,PLUS GENERAL PLUMBING.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/12/2014 , work completed 15/12/2014