We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

J W Scudder Roofing Ltd

Profile thumb roofing2
4.9

166 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–13:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

A Family business that prides itself on high quality workmanship, and a friendly service, which has been Established for 38 years in the Roofing Industry.

We do Construction and Domestic Roofs including Slating, Tiling, Flat Roofs and Pitched Roofs, and offer:
- an Insurance Backed Guarantee
- Liquid System
- Green Roofing Systems
- Repairs
- Lead work
- Chimney Stacks
- Upvc Fascia, Soffits and Guttering
- Roof Lights
- Velux Windows
- EPDM Rubber Roof Covering

All Work is Guaranteed. For a Free Quote, Free Advice and a Competitive Price ring free on 0800 44 88 053.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Roof and skylights
    • Emergency roofing service
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Flat roofing
    • Rubber roofing (EPDM)
    • Chimneys
    • Cladding
    • Lead work
    • Tiled conservatory roofs
  • More Services

    • velux windows

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
166 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
New Roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We are very pleased with the new roof installed, all works were completed within a week and the team were cheerful and polite and explained at the end of each day what would happen the following day. After completion, all window sills etc. were brushed down and the drive swept. We would recommend this company to anybody requiring a new roof or based on our experience of their competence any other type of works that they carry out.
Peter in Greater London Posted on 24/11/2021 , work completed 18/11/2021
Replacement house and Garage roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent team of people who explain very thoroughly what they were going to do, how much it would cost and how long the job would take. They were a pleasure to have working for me and they worked to schedule and on budget. I was always kept informed of progress and they worked hard and consistently. Nothing was too much trouble and they did a lovely job both roofs look very professionally done. I would not hesitate to recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/10/2021 , work completed 15/10/2021
New Roof tiles, guttering and downpipes
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John Scudder visited me on my request for a quotation. He sat down with me and explained every aspect of the work needed. In particular and most importantly, he explained the importance of using a roofer that was a registered ‘Competent Roofer’ and that was authorised to self-certify the finished work. The quotation given was very pleasing. John and his team communicated well, were punctual in starting work and were very courteous and tidy. I have left my review late, so that I was sure that there were no snags found. I have no hesitation at all in recommending this company for roofing work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 30/09/2021 , work completed 10/03/2020
Excellent job and all round service!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Had new soffit, facia, guttering and downpipes as original ones not in a good state. Right from the start Mr Scudder stood out from the rest we approached: from first contact, site visit and quote which were were professional, timely, honest and straightforward. In the current difficult nationwide circumstances re: materials shortages/delays in being able to get materials/prices rising, I feel it is a real testament to them the job was completed as per the original quote and agreement. The actual work/finish is of the highest standard compared to what I’ve observed locally and the whole team were professional, polite, very helpful (fixed an aerial fitting which came loose during the process of the works) and tidy. Couldn’t ask for anything more. Already had a follow up/aftercare call and I’m in no doubt should there be any issue down the line they will be back to sort it as per the guarantee. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend if you want a top-quality job at a fair price. Can’t quite believe the difference it’s made to the look of the house either.
Alison in Greater London Posted on 29/09/2021 , work completed 25/09/2021
Fantastic work!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John and the team were super friendly, helpful and informative. They left no stone unturned and clearly take pride in what they do. They redid our entire roof and fitted two veluxes - the difference it has made is incredible! I would highly recommend them!
Charlotte in Greater London Posted on 13/09/2021 , work completed 10/09/2021
Complete roof refurbishment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
If you are looking for perfection, look no further than John and his incredible team. From our very first meeting right through to the end of the refurbishment, John kept me well informed of the process and explained all the costs involved. The standard of work carried out was exceptional. They are genuinely a really nice team of guys... punctual, hardworking, reliable and trustworthy. Nothing was too much trouble for them and any concerns I had were explained well. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this company!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/08/2021 , work completed 05/08/2021
Outstanding!!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
J W Scudder Roofing first did a new flat roof and fascia boards for us on our garage last summer in 2020. We were so impressed by John Snr, John Jnr and Jay’s workmanship and overall professionalism on it all, that we had absolutely no hesitation asking them to do a second, much larger job for us this summer in 2021. John Snr is a great communicator, keeping you informed and reassuring you of every step of the job along the way and is a consummate professional. John Jnr and Jay are a real pleasure to have around your house and nothing is a problem for them both. Our second job was to fit new soffits, fascia boards, gutters and downpipes all around our 1930's house. It was not an easy job and very labour intensive, but nothing was too hard or too much trouble for John Jnr and Jay and they tackled it each day with lots of communication and big smiles, even when we asked for some extra bits to be done. Their attention to detail is beyond meticulous and they go over and above to give you outstanding results and we have very high standards! If there was a Michelangelo of soffit work, John Jnr is the one, as parts of our job involved intricately cut, angled soffit work under the eaves of our front apex and underneath a bay window. We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this family run business – do yourself a big favour and book them for your job/s – you really won’t be disappointed.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/07/2021 , work completed 13/07/2021
I would highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John senior was very professional from the very beginning when he gave us out quote. Once the work started it was so organised the skip, scaffolding, building supplies all arrived when he said. His son John Junior and apprentice were very hard working, friendly and efficient, they kept us updated the whole time. Even when we asked for extra work to be done nothing was to much trouble. I would recommend JW Scudders we are more than satisfied with our new roof.
Wendy in Greater London Posted on 02/07/2021 , work completed 26/06/2021
In safe hands, flat roof replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John knew what needed doing, the best way to go about it, kept us informed throughout the process showing us photos of the roof what had been done and suggesting ways forward. He conducted the work in a most efficient way, with skip and scaffolding, supplies and a very hard working team seamlessly working together to get the job done in 2 days, they came on time, worked non stop, were polite, tidy and friendly. Even the skip was loaded neatly and with care. John was clear about the quote and possible additional costs, which were very reasonable. I would recommend his services, he has given a 10y guarantee for workmanship and 20y for materials used. Relieved to have the job done, and for it to have been a very positive experience.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/03/2021 , work completed 09/03/2021
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional and friendly service from quote to completion. We were kept up to date with progress throughout the job. Both John Snr, John Jnr and Jay, the apprentice were really friendly, polite and considerate to ourselves as well as our neighbours. We are extremely happy with our complete new roof and bay tiling. No hesitation to recommend to anyone!
Sue in Greater London Posted on 07/03/2021 , work completed 05/03/2021