We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

J Wood's Guttering & Property Repairs

Profile thumb jwgr
4.8

84 Reviews

About

J Wood's Guttering & Property Repairs was formed in 2001
by Jon Wood. Thank you for taking the time to look at our page

We repair and replace all types of guttering
Replace wooden barge boards & fascias, fit upvc fascias & soffits
Chimney repointing, leadwork, epdm flat roofing, exterior painting, roof tile replacement, dry verge capping

We also cover minor repairs & are storm damage specialists.

Commercial & Landlord work undertaken.

Scaffolding or high level access arranged.

References provided for previous work upon request.

Public liability insurance up to 1 million.

Call now for free quotation.

Small jobs specialists / undertaken.

What we do

  • Roofers

    • Emergency roofing service
    • Guttering, fascias and soffits
    • Rubber roofing (EPDM)
    • Chimneys
    • Lead work
  • Builders

    • Guttering repair services
  • Handyman and home maintenance services

  • More Services

    • masonry painting
    • chimney repointing
    • cast iron guttering

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.8
84 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.8
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent work, great price, and a lovely bloke!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My mum had a new flat roof fitted with all new guttering, soffits and fascia boards in March '21. Unfortunately, it became clear within weeks, that she had been scammed. We had to then find a new company to totally redo all the work. Luckily, we found Jon. Unfortunately though, due to my mum's health, we had to cancel the job. Thankfully, we were able to re-hire him for June '22. I was surprised (but pleased) that his new quote had just a slight price increase on last year's quote, considering recent inflation. First, Jon made right all the terrible guttering, fascia's and soffits, that had all been so badly installed by the cowboy. He then removed the so called new flat roof and Jon did a proper roof. Jon always gave me regular updates via text. He also helped me with a list of the problems he found (which went from bad to worse, by the hour) so I could take the cowboy firm to the Small Claims Court. Jon put up with my texts, often really long ones too (sorry), yet he always replied on the same day. And he always turned up when he said he would. I had a query once the work was complete, and Jon came over to check it within 24 hours. After my mum was scammed, we were both worried and totally non-trusting of roofers/builders/men. So Jon had to endure that too. But we couldn't have employed a better company or a nicer bloke. He has restored our faith in builders again, well, almost. If I ever need work done, I would definitely hire him again. Thanks Jon!
Sarah in Hampshire Posted on 26/07/2022 , work completed 23/06/2022
Gutter cleaning: very professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Jon Wood for the first time and was very pleased with his professionalism. Initial phone call was answered immediately and, my having explained the work required, Jon gave me a ball park figure which was spot on when the work was completed. Jon arrived slightly early and having completed the gutter clearing left the ground spotless. We intend to use him again for installing some additional guttering as we have confidence in his reliability and workmanship.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 09/05/2022 , work completed 09/05/2022
Repaired gutter.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the prompt response to my call for a quote to repair guttering. Jon agreed to come and have a look at the job the next day, which he did and at the time he said. Jon phoned me with what needed doing and gave me the cost of the job, which we agreed on and he did the job there and then.
Christine in Hampshire Posted on 24/03/2022 , work completed 24/03/2022
The trader replied (on 25/03/2022)
Thanks for your review
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon provided excellent service in repairing some tiles which had slipped on our roof. He worked quickly, efficiently and with no fuss. I would be happy to recommend him to friends and neighbours. In fact, he reduced the price originally quoted as the work was not as extensive as originally envisaged.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 29/12/2021 , work completed 17/11/2021
The trader replied (on 06/01/2022)
Thanks for your recommendation.
Very neat, quality job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon & his mate installed uPVC fascia, soffits & gutter He also refelted some flat roofing and installed uPVC cladding. The result has transformed our house. So neat & accurately installed. All waste was cleared and they left everything tidy. Communication was great and Jon’s final bill didn't deviate from his quote. We highly recommend them. Very trustworthy professional
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 30/07/2021 , work completed 21/07/2021
The trader replied (on 06/01/2022)
Thanks for your recommendation.
Dissappointing quality of work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon did some repairs to a few cast iron gutters and 1 downpipe on our property in February 2020. The gutters are good, but the downpipe is nothing short of a bodge-job. The downpipe was not properly sealed, some pieces not sealed at all, held in position with screws in between joints. It leaked heavily casing very damp walls and ultimately water ingress through a window casement. having sent text messages, whatsapps and phone calls from August 2020 to May 2021 Jon has failed to respond and correct the issue. We had another trader out last month, who took it all apart and refitted everything correctly. Disappointed with J Woods quality of work and service.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 28/07/2021 , work completed 02/03/2020
The trader replied (on 28/07/2021)
Sorry you felt the need to write this review, there was no mention of a problem with the work after it was done or even nearly a year down the line, when you contacted me, we spoke only about new work at a very busy period and I said I was reluctant to do this because of the slow payment with the last work I done for you, if you had made it clear that here was a problem with what had been done by myself then I would have returned to rectify this.
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mr Wood provided excellent service. Good communication, prompt and reliable and a good job done. Thank you. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 10/09/2020 , work completed 10/09/2020
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
John replied to my initial enquiry very quickly, and was able to visit within a couple of days. He arrived when he said he would and completed the job, quickly with no fuss. He maintained a social distance and was aware of safety measures. We paid what he quoted and we would have no hesitation is using him again or recommending him to others.
Tracy Posted on 11/06/2020 , work completed 11/06/2020
Good and prompt work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jon was prompt in his reply to me and communicated well. He kept me informed and fulfilled the work well. He was willing to extend the job by clearing gutters at an extra fair cost. I would recommend his company.
Customer in Hampshire Posted on 01/04/2020 , work completed 31/03/2020
Quick and friendly service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very prompt response to my enquiry. Arrived on time. Do not try to con me in to a bigger job than required. Friendly and explained what they were doing. Very pleased.
Emma-Jane, Hampshire Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 29/01/2020