We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

James Rae Heating LTD

Profile thumb james rae avatar

5.0

22 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–20:00
  • Monday 07:00–20:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–20:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–20:00
  • Thursday 07:00–20:00
  • Friday 07:00–20:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

At James Rae Plumbing and Heating, we take pride in the service we provide for our customers in Glasgow and the surrounding area. Our experienced team, competitive prices and trusted advice will help guide you through any heating project no matter what size.
We can offer you the whole package, from advice on what boiler suits your home and needs best, a quality installation, and great aftercare that includes at least a five-year warranty. Working only within Glasgow and the surrounding areas also means that we can be there if you need further help with your installation.
We offer:
Glow-worm boilers suplied and fitted with a 5 year warranty.
Vaillant boilers supplied and fitted with a 7 year warranty.
Worcester boilers with up to 12 years guarantee.
We can fit any other boiler if you have a preference for another brand.
All our boilers come with a system flush, central heating filter, a programmable thermostat and a carbon monoxide alarm as standard.
All our new installation quotes are free of charge.

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Boiler repair
    • Boiler servicing
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Power flushing
  • Plumbers

    • Unvented cylinder installation and maintenance
    • Water softener installation and maintenance
    • Emergency plumbing services

Customer reviews

5.0
22 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
5.0
Sort by
Replacement boiler installation
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Like all other reviews, I only have positive things to say about the work carried out by James. He arranged everything in a timely manor. He arrived on time, removed the old boiler, had the new boiler delivered and then installed all in the morning. He cleaned up and removed the old boiler and fixings. I will be recommending him to family and friends.
Customer in South Lanarkshire Posted on 09/09/2020 , work completed 07/09/2020
Boiler service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James carried out the annual service on our combi gas boiler yesterday. He was courteous & friendly & arrived bang on time . The service was carried out efficiently . Would certainly recommend James for any heating / boiler work.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Council Posted on 17/07/2020 , work completed 16/07/2020
New boiler installed
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James installed a new boiler for me in my sons flat in Glasgow replacing the old one. His work is of a very high standard and everything was left neat and tidy. His costs were very reasonable and he took time to explain to my son how to operate the new appliance. He also gave me options on different Boilers and costs so I could choose what suited me best. On completion he registerd the installation with the relevant authorities and with Bosch for the Guarantee and issued the Gas Safety Certificate.I would definetly recommend him and I will have him back to do the yearly service.
Customer in Fife Posted on 12/07/2020 , work completed 12/05/2020
Replacing broken thermostats on radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James carries out this work for me and has also carried out work before, including fitting a new boiler and servicing. He is friendly, trustworthy and provides excellent customer service. He is very professional and I would highly recommend him.
Customer in South Lanarkshire Posted on 18/06/2020 , work completed 18/06/2020
Boiler Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James Rae fitted our new boiler 1 year ago and serviced it today 02/06/2020. He is very reliable and has done a first class job. Our heating and hot water system is excellent. A very tidy worker and can't praise his work enough.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Council Posted on 02/06/2020 , work completed 02/06/2020
Boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James installed a new boiler for me. I used his services again after he installed a boiler in my previous property. His work is of a very high standard, his fees are very reasonable and he takes time to explain how to operate new appliances. I plan to call on James for all my future heating and plumbing needs.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Council Posted on 22/05/2020 , work completed 22/05/2020
Professional & Efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional, efficient, knowledgeable and friendly from requesting the quote to the final install. Great communications. Can't recommend highly enough.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Council Posted on 10/03/2020 , work completed 10/03/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James serviced the boiler in my home today, and was very friendly and knowledgeable. He was running late but called well in advance to warn me, and to give me an idea of when he would arrive. He was thorough and very helpful. He also emailed me a copy of the gas service record, as well as a copy of the invoice - really excellent bonuses that I didn't expect. Thanks!
Customer in South Lanarkshire Posted on 20/01/2020 , work completed 20/01/2020
Reliable, friendly and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We've asked James to service our gas fire and boiler for the 2nd time now and plan to continue using his service in future. There's not a great deal to say; he arrived in good time, completed the work leaving everything clean and tidy, and gave some good advice on placement of our CO detector. The only thing I would say is to book early if you require a service, as James is understandably very busy.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 14/10/2019 , work completed 14/10/2019
Great work, good guy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As you have seen from other reviews, with James you are seeing someone who arrives on time, does the job and leaves no mess. I thoroughly recommend him for any heating jobs you may have. His pricing is fair and direct to him- it doesn’t pass through an office full of suits taking a cut which is why it is so fair. And, more importantly, he’s a happy chappy.
Customer in East Ayrshire Posted on 17/09/2019 , work completed 06/09/2019
Friendly and highly efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James installed hew boiler for us 2 years ago and has carried out annual services since. We have recommended him to family and they also have been delighted with his work. Cannot recommend him highly enough
Suzanne Posted on 09/09/2019 , work completed 09/09/2019
Great work, as always
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used James many times and have always found his work to be great. He's very easy to work with and good value. I have recommended him to friends and family.
Customer in Glasgow City Posted on 25/06/2019 , work completed 25/06/2019
New Boiler
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James fitted a new boiler at my property. Works were carried out when they said, efficiently with no fuss and no mess. Great job. Thanks James/Bill
Customer in East Renfrewshire Posted on 04/06/2019 , work completed 04/06/2019
Friendly and effective service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time that James has serviced our boiler and I would recommend him. He is friendly, turns up at the agreed time, carries out the work promptly, and leaves the place tidy. Reasonably priced too.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Posted on 30/05/2019 , work completed 30/05/2019
Great work, highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James completed the installation of our new gas boiler when requested and as usual was here at 830am as agreed. Highly recommended.
Customer in East Renfrewshire Posted on 01/05/2019 , work completed 01/05/2019
Very Professional and Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James has just completed the installation of a replacement gas boiler in a slightly different location thereby involving plumbing alterations. James arrived bang on time to provide a quotation and also on both days it took to complete the work. In addition he sorted out some other long standing plumbing problems associated with other aspects of the central heating system. All work was executed in a very professional and tidy manner. James was also very helpful in giving advice on how technical aspects of the planning of the alterations could be improved. I am very pleased with the outcome of James’ work and would thoroughly recommend him to any new customers!
Mitchell Posted on 23/10/2018 , work completed 23/10/2018
Good local Plumber and heating engineer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James fitted a new boiler for us. After having done extensive research we had decided on the boiler to suit our needs. James arrived on time to both quote and fit the job. Advised where pipework would need changed or upgraded. Gave honest advice on filtering and service requirements. Work was carried out to a good standard and on time.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 29/05/2018 , work completed 29/05/2018
trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James gave me a quote to supply and fit a new flu to my Vokera boiler. He gave me a time of arrival which meant I was not sitting in all day. He arrived on time carried out the work and cleaned up after himself. He then emailed me an invoice.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 25/05/2018 , work completed 25/05/2018
Excellent trades person
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James arrived when he said he would & was very helpful on the phone before he even visited the house.His work was done professionally & completed on time at a reasonable price.He even offered to return & show me how my new boiler controller works..I have no hesitation in recommiending him to future customers.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 04/05/2018 , work completed 04/05/2018
A worthwhile find
Customer Service
Quality
Value
James Rae is a responsive, qualified and trustworthy contractor. His work is always carried out in a professional, clean and tidy manner, with the minimum of fuss. James has installed my central heating boiler and provides annual maintenance. He has also installed my dishwasher and washing machine, as well as plumbing upgrades - again with the minimum of fuss and entirely to my satisfaction. I would have no hesitation in recommending him, as I have done on many occasions and all with positive feedback.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 03/05/2018 , work completed 03/05/2018
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used James for a variety of heating and plumbing repairs over recent years and always found his services to be excellent. We operate a rental business and its important to have a reliable, cost effective, first time fix.....and we get this from James.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 22/04/2018 , work completed 22/04/2018
James Rae Heating and Boiler work - 100% recommended!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used James Rae Heating and Plumbing at least a dozen times for residential work over the last couple of years on several boiling and heating systems, along with radiator repairs and a new boiler installation. Some of this work has been planned, and others on an emergency basis. James is a courteous, pleasant tradesman who always cleans up after himself leaving no mess. His work is first class and is one of the most reliable workmen I have encountered. Nothing is too much trouble for him and he has a nice easy-going nature. I would struggle to find another professional like him and hope I never have to. Would recommend him 100% for any heating or boiler work.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/03/2018 , work completed 15/03/2018