We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

JPM Independent Surveyors

Profile thumb jpm
4.9

59 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday 08:00–18:00

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Islington Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Islington Trading Standards to create an Islington Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check.

About

INDEPENDENT DAMP AND TIMBER SURVEYOR.
I provide specialist damp investigation and timber reports with solutions to fix the problems.

Dampness is often misdiagnosed by contractors.
Quite often the correct solution is simple and inexpensive.

I AIM TO RESPOND TO EMAILS WITHIN A FEW HOURS -

I am not a contractor, I am a surveyor. I do not carry out remedial damp proofing or building works so you can rest assured that my reports are competently impartial.

Experienced qualified independent damp and timber surveyor.
: Dampness
: Condensation
: Mould
: Timber decay
: Woodworm
: Ventilation

CSRT Qualified.
Property Care Association.
Expert Witness Institute.
PCA Qualified Technician in Structural Waterproofing.

20+ years experience and fully insured, I provide for home owners, tenants, estate agents, landlords, architects and property pre-purchase.

Covering areas of North London, East London and West Essex.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
    • Timber treatment services
    • Woodworm treatment
    • Injection damp courses
  • Mould

    • Mould investigation
    • Mould survey
  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors
    • Damp proofing surveyors
  • Builders

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • independent
    • timber
    • rot
    • water damage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
59 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Damp survey - great job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason did a great job for us. He dug around everywhere and came back with a very thorough report, recommendations of solutions and what bits of tech etc to buy and approximate costs for the work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/01/2022 , work completed 14/01/2022
Excellent and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was recommended by somebody who had used his services. He was very good at communicating in difficult pandemic times. His inspection and report were done very efficiently and I could easily understand his assessment of the problem. The paperwork was sent promptly. Everything was very good indeed
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/01/2022 , work completed 11/01/2022
Thorough and fast survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was an excellent service that I'd recommend to anyone. JPM was fast in responding and scheduling a survey, was very thorough and well informed. I really appreciated that the survey was completely independent.
Elizabeth in Greater London Posted on 20/12/2021 , work completed 08/12/2021
very thorough and helpful, detailed report and recommendations provided
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted JPM because of a problem with damp on the wall and ceiling of a room in my flat. I wanted to discover the true source/s of the problem before finding a builder or roofer to do the necessary repairs, as I was concerned about being ripped off with unnecessary repairs being undertaken. While the survey seemed a little expensive, it has proved to be worth every penny. JPM did a careful inspection of the whole flat, taking photos and using a moisture meter to detect problems. He also inspected the communal areas and external walls and went out onto the flat roof to take photos and check for problems. The following day he sent me a very clear and detailed report, including photographs and a detailed list of recommendations for repairs. In addition he added files advising on types of extractor fan, damp course and mortar etc. to be used in a repair. He was friendly and helpful and turned up on time. All in all, an absolutely excellent service!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2021 , work completed 10/12/2021
Independent, professional, fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My partner and I hired Jason for a damp survey on a house we're buying. Jason provided a thorough report on the same afternoon as his inspection, with easy-to-understand practical tips on how to mitigate any problems. We had a few follow-up questions on the report, which he answered promptly. Jason is keen to stress his independence - he's not tied to any damp-proofing firm, so he has no interest in selling any unnecessary products or damp-proofing. All in all, we'd recommend him for anyone looking for a professional, fast and non-invasive damp survey.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 09/11/2021 , work completed 02/11/2021
Comprehensive and thorough survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were very impressed by Jason's work. It was easy to arrange a visit, the date and time were kept to, the survey itself was extensive and Jason answered all of my questions with enough detail to make it clear what our options were without drowning in jargon. The report was produced quickly and was comprehensive, giving us a clear steer on the remedial work needed and which areas were of most importance.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 01/11/2021 , work completed 21/10/2021
Excellent pre-purchase damp survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were buying a Grade II listed Victorian house and were initially concerned about getting a pre-purchase damp survey as there are so many bad reports of operators in the industry. Of the people we contacted Jason stood out for his responsiveness and helpfulness, the survey was arranged and the report turned around quickly, it was clear and detailed with cost estimates for the work and extremely helpful recommendations. The price was also reasonable. We were very impressed and would highly recommend Jason to others.
Karl and Hannah in Greater London Posted on 12/09/2021 , work completed 11/09/2021
Efficient and thorough
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason arrived on time and carried out a thorough investigation of the flat. He was friendly and explained some of the issues we had been concerned about while carrying out the survey. He supplied the full report on the same day and for such a great service, charged much less than we had been quoted by competitors.
Evie in Greater London Posted on 03/09/2021 , work completed 02/08/2021
Prompt and efficient attention
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I required a building survey to be carried out on inadequate work done by a roofing contractor. I contacted Jason Mahoney on the recommendation of Which Trusted Traders. He replied promptly, fixed a date and provided me with a full scope of the proposed survey. On the day he arrived promptly, undertook a very thorough survey and a full and very detailed report with a comprehensive list of recommendations was provided the following morning. I can thoroughly recommend his services.
Eric in Greater London Posted on 18/07/2021 , work completed 18/07/2021
Brilliant service, fast report, thorough survey. Would highly recommend.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was highly responsive and professional from our first contact, and liaised with our estate agent to enter the property. Despite being very busy at the moment, Jason performed the survey in a very short time frame for us and returned the report on the day of the survey. The report is thorough, and the advice was clear and reasonable. I would highly recommend Jason and couldn't have expected any better service.
Harvey in Oxfordshire Posted on 16/07/2021 , work completed 10/07/2021