We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Coronavirus Read our latest advice

Endorsed by

Which

?

Trusted Traders

JPM Independent Surveyors

Profile thumb jpm

4.9

38 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–18:00
  • Sunday 08:00–18:00

What is a Which? Trusted Traders Islington Trading Standards Approved Endorsement?

Which? Trusted Traders has partnered with Islington Trading Standards to create an Islington Trading Standards Approved endorsement. In addition to our standard trading standards assessment, this trader has had a DBS check and is subject to a Trading Standards intelligence check.

About

INDEPENDENT DAMP AND TIMBER SURVEYOR.
I provide specialist damp investigation and timber reports with solutions to fix the problems.

Dampness is often misdiagnosed by contractors.
Quite often the correct solution is simple and inexpensive.

I AIM TO RESPOND TO EMAILS WITHIN TWO HOURS. -

I am not a contractor, I am a surveyor. I do not carry out remedial damp proofing or building works so you can rest assured that my reports are competently impartial.

Experienced qualified independent damp and timber surveyor.
: Dampness
: Condensation
: Mould
: Timber decay
: Woodworm
: Ventilation

I am CSRT qualified and member of;
: Property Care Association (PCA)
: Institute Of Specialist Surveyors and Engineers.
: Expert Witness Institute

20+ years experience and fully insured, I provide for home owners, tenants, estate agents, landlords, architects and property pre-purchase.

Covering areas of London; North, West, East, North West, North East and Central London.

What we do

  • Damp proofing and timber preservation services

    • Condensation and humidification control
    • Timber treatment services
    • Woodworm treatment
    • Injection damp courses
  • Mould

    • Mould investigation
    • Mould survey
  • Surveyors

    • Building Surveyors
    • Damp proofing surveyors
  • Builders

  • Specialised building trade contractors

  • More Services

    • independent
    • timber
    • rot
    • water damage

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
38 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Extremely good report and quick!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason provided a thorough, clear report which explained all of the problems in layman's terms. It was thorough, easy to read and with images throughout. It has everything I need to instruct a builder to take out the works. The report was provided within hours of the survey taking place, he was easy to communicate with and good value for money. Would definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/02/2021 , work completed 22/02/2021
Top class damp surveyor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was able to rearrange on short notice due to a mess up from my estate agent. He was extremely knowledgable and thorough in his search and provided clear communication around the damp causes and solutions to fix these. I would 100% recommend getting an independent damp survey from Jason if you have been told you have damp. I was quoted five times the amount I should be spending on damp treatment by cowboy "damp specialists" offering a free survey. Definitely use a surveyor that is not connected to any contractors, saves money and time in the long run.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/12/2020 , work completed 16/12/2020
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service from Jason/JPM Independent Surveyors. Having had 3 different contractors look at my property and each come up with a different schedule of works and varying costs, I contacted JPM online to arrange an independent survey (I wish I had done this to begin with). Jason responded to my initial enquiry very quickly with plenty of information about JPM and the service offered. Jason arrived promptly for our survey appointment (with facemask, shoe coverings, gloves) was professional, courteous and helpful during the survey. We received the survey report promptly after the visit, it was thorough included photographs, yet is straightforward and easy to understand. Highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/12/2020 , work completed 07/12/2020
Highly professional and detailed service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was incredibly helpful both when requesting information about his services and explaining the final report. He answered all my questions with detailed answers and fast-tracked the report getting it to me several days ahead of expectation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/12/2020 , work completed 07/12/2020
Professional, thorough and reassuring recommendations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Jason to complete a damp survey and give us a second opinion following a very scary quote we received from a so called "damp expert company" which recommended us to damp proof all rooms for the cost of 60,000 pounds!!!! We had just bought the flat less than 3 months prior and during our general building survey as part of the purchase process, no damp had been identified so we were terrified with this quote and the huge work recommended!. Since the same company who completed the "assessment" would also carry out the work, we decided to get an independent second opinion by a trusted person registered with PCA. I am so happy that we found Jason from JPM Independent Surveyours. He was professional from start to end completing a thorough investigation, explaining the process and then advising of achievable life style and other affordable recommendations. His verbal recommendations at the end of the survey were followed by a clear report at the end of the same day I would higly recommend Jason to anyone that having discovered condensation and mould in their house want to understand the cause of these and receive trusted and effective recommendations so that it does not spread and deteriorate further.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/12/2020 , work completed 03/12/2020
Detailed damp survey, easily contactable and great advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I hired Jason for a damp survey on a property I suspected there was damp in. Jason gave very quick responses and acted in a professional manner. If there were any emergency issues with the booking, he would let me know immediately and suggest alternative times which was very impressive. He turned around the report in a short amount of time and gave detailed advice to me to fix particular issues as well as advise on how to look after the property and prevent damp. Would highly recommend to anyone looking for a surveyor. One of the most professional experiences and would certainly use again in future when required. Thanks Jason.
H in Greater London Posted on 13/11/2020 , work completed 12/11/2020
Excellent service, highly recommended.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have had an offer accepted on a property and asked Jason to do a damp and timber inspection for us. From the first communication Jason was extremely responsive and was even willing to offer weekend dates to accommodate our timelines. He inspected the property and produced a highly thorough and professional report on the same day. He noted all issues identified and helped us prioritise what to fix based on the severity of the defects. After submitting the report, Jason continued to respond to all our follow-up questions in a very timely manner. Couldn't be happier with the service, we highly recommend JPM.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/10/2020 , work completed 26/10/2020
Damp survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was prompt, professional and efficient. His report was very detailed and with clear recommendations and independent. I would recommend him highly as these traits are difficult to find in a tradesman who was found without any personal recommendation. Definitely recommend highly.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 26/10/2020 , work completed 24/10/2020
Fast responsive service and comprehensive work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was able to do a damp and timber inspection for us quickly and we got the report back within 2 days. He gave a very comprehensive report with a lot of specific recommendations about what to do. Compared with a damp report from a nationwide vendor Jason's report was a lot more comprehensive. Definitely recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/10/2020 , work completed 22/10/2020
Damp survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was on time and set out clearly what he would be doing. He was wearing the relevant Covid kit. He covered all the areas I needed checking and when relevant explained the issues thrown up and possible solutions, showing me photos where access was difficult. The detailed report came back within 24 hours.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/10/2020 , work completed 13/10/2020
Professional and polite.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The survey work carried out was very swift and professional. Jason answered all my questions and observed C19 protocols. I would highly recommend him.
Cres in Greater London Posted on 18/08/2020 , work completed 16/08/2020
Endorsement Reference Damp assessment
Customer Service
Quality
Value
assessment of damp
LW, Endorsement Reference Posted on 23/07/2020 , work completed 18/07/2020
Endorsement Reference Very happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason responded quickly to my request for a damp survey. He listened to the issues we were having and completed his surveys. He was familiar with our area and the type of building we are in. He quickly diagnosed the issue and talked us through his findings and made recommendations for fixing the issue. He then sent through a thorough report with pictures and also a list of products he recommends that we use. We were very happy with his work and explanations and solutions he provided. We would highly recommend Jason.
Dsburns, Endorsement Reference Posted on 23/07/2020 , work completed 17/07/2020
Endorsement Reference Knowledgeable and thorough specialist damp surveyor services
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My husband and I are in the process of purchasing a property and following a general building survey of the property, damp was detected. To help us fully understand the extend of the issues present, the remedial process and costs etc., we decided that we would instruct a specialist damp surveyor to carry out a specialist survey of the property. We contacted 3 different surveyors enquiring about their availability to conduct a damp survey for us - one of which was JPM Independent Surveyors. Jason replied to us within the hour confirming he could conduct an impartial specialist damp survey for us and he explained his services clearly and in a friendly, approachable manner. In our initial emails to the different surveyors, we expressed urgency with having the survey conducted as soon as possible. Jason picked up on this and fitted our damp survey in for the next day despite being fully booked. By comparison, the 2 other surveyors took 1 week plus to even respond to our initial enquiries! Jason attended the property to conduct the survey on the evening of 9 July 2020 and by mid afternoon on 10 July 2020, we had received from him an in depth report detailing the issues he found at the property together with pictures of those parts of the property were damp issues were identified. In addition details of the remedial works required to address the issues were included in the report. Jason also provided a whole suite of additional documents giving additional information on the works required at the property and detailing the remedial products he recommended in the report itself. The report was extremely well written and easy for a lay person to understand. Since receiving the report, Jason has been on hand to assist us with answering our questions about the remedial works and breaking down which tradesperson is best placed to pick up each aspect of the remedial works required. The whole experience with Jason has been seamless, from the initial enquiry through to the aftercare we have received following receipt of the report. Jason is thorough, professional, reliable and can meet tight timescales. We would thoroughly recommend his services to anyone looking to instruct a pre purchase specialist damp or timber report and will definitely instruct him again in the future should the need arise.
Mrs Thomson, Endorsement Reference Posted on 23/07/2020 , work completed 09/07/2020
Endorsement Reference Damp Survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Complete Damp Survey Jason was quick to reply and was able to get the survey done in short order. The damp survey covered all areas he could access and a complete report as provided with a quick turnaround (under 24 hours) A few follow up queries were quickly answered This is the second time we have used JMP and would do again.
mulligjr, Endorsement Reference Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 09/07/2020
Endorsement Reference Damp Survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I commissioned JPM to undertake a survey to determine the potential causes of damp in a property I own. The property is currently tenanted and I live in Singapore - as such I need to use vendors that are professional, reliable and trustworthy. JPM were all of these things. The communications from JPM were first class and I was impressed that they went the extra mile to keep me informed and liaise directly with the tenants for access. JPM also took numerous steps to protect both themselves and my tenants from potential impact of COVID-19. Finally, the final report was excellent and contained a number of clear recommendations to fix the issue.
Darrell, Endorsement Reference Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 08/07/2020
Endorsement Reference Fast and thorough damp and timber survey
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JPM carried out a damp and timber survey for me on the advice of my RICS Home Buyer's report. My wife and I are buying our first home and wanted to have the peace of mind. JPM was fast to respond, quote, and managed to carry out the survey and turn around the report all inside of a week's time. The recommendations on how to fix any issues were also very clear and super helpful.
ryanriley33, Endorsement Reference Posted on 16/07/2020 , work completed 07/07/2020
Professional, trust worthy and experienced
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason inspected my flat for damp and produced a reliable, evidence-based report which highlighted causes of damp and offered solutions. I wish I had contacted Jason earlier! It would have saved a lot of stress. I have no hesitation in recommending Jason. I will certainly call on his expertise in the future for damp problems.
S. Kumar Posted on 02/07/2018 , work completed 02/07/2018
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt response, and delivery. Professional approach and detailed report understandable to a layman.
Joanne, London Posted on 17/05/2018 , work completed 17/05/2018
Prompt, Professional, Comprehensive Report.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JPM were incredibly fast in replying to my email, visiting the property (on a weekend) and in sending me my reports. The report was more comprehensive than others which were twice the price! I would recommend JPM to anyone who wants a professional damp survey conducted.
Jessamy, Essex Posted on 06/01/2018 , work completed 06/01/2018
Fast and easy to work with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Jason's services for a damp survey after calling a few firms for quotes. He was responsive and very easy to work with and managed to book me in with just a few days notice. The report was clear and arrived the following day (Sunday) which was enormously helpful. I would definitely recommend Jason and would not hesitate to use his services again.
Anthony Posted on 15/08/2017 , work completed 15/08/2017
Speedy and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason Mahoney was extremely responsive and helpful in answering my queries both pre and post survey. He phoned straight away to give me a quick summary and turned around the report in the same day. Overall great service.
Camille, London Posted on 15/06/2017 , work completed 15/06/2017
Very helpful report
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have damp in our flat. Jason did a survey for us which told us exactly what the problems were; their extent; what should be done; and gave us a shortlist of firms who could deal with it. His report was clear and arrived the next day. We would be glad to recommend him.
John, London Posted on 03/05/2017 , work completed 03/05/2017
Good & reliable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
JPM Independent surveyors provided us with a very thorough & detailed report and delivered the report promptly. He was also happy to answer any queries we had after he had carried out the survey, which was very helpful & particular appreciated as first time buyers of a property.
Tessa, London Posted on 02/05/2017 , work completed 02/05/2017
Very pleased
Customer Service
Quality
Value
He provided a damp proofing survey - first time we had used him and definitely willing again as he did everything right. He turned up on time and produced an excellent support and provided great follow up advice
Roots, London Posted on 01/05/2017 , work completed 01/05/2017
Professional & approachable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was prompt and efficient. He was professional and informative and was tolerant of my many questions. His comprehensive report was with me in a matter of days.
Maggie, London Posted on 10/04/2017 , work completed 10/04/2017
Efficient and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason undertook timber and damp survey. He provided the report promptly with clear pictures, descriptions, instructions and estimated costs. Very helpful.
Solomon, London Posted on 23/03/2017 , work completed 23/03/2017
Clear, reliable & prompt.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Easy to contact & set up appointment. All advice explained clearly & written report, with pictures returned promptly.
Sheila, London Posted on 18/11/2016 , work completed 18/11/2016
Surveyor of property for damp
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used JPM for a survey and found them to be polite, prompt and thorough. From the initial callout in late Oct 2016 to the report being emailed to me, it has been a very easy process. (I phoned quite a few companies initially and not all are so easy to deal with). All individuals concerned were polite and great to work with. I would definitely recommend without hesitation.
1255647 Posted on 11/11/2016 , work completed 11/11/2016
Very quick and understandable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason managed to turn around the detailed report within a couple of days of the survey, and the report itself was very easy to understand – not full of jargon, and the bits which are more technical are explained thoroughly. Even after the report was given, Jason made himself available to answer any questions, which he did so very quickly.
whyceecee Posted on 30/09/2016 , work completed 30/09/2016
Efficient and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason returned his report very quickly and it was detailed without jargon. Saved us some heartache after the home buyer report highlighted "potential damp problems". I would definitely recommend Jason.
Yufan, London Posted on 28/09/2016 , work completed 28/09/2016
Thorough, professional & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason provided a proper contract and details of the work to be done. He arrived when promised. Easy to talk with. He comprehensively inspected our damp wall and tested it as expected. His full report with advice arrived by email within 48 hrs his fee was as advised initially.
Keith, London Posted on 09/09/2016 , work completed 09/09/2016
Knowledgeable and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason did a great job providing advice to fit some damp problems in my house, both sensible and cost effective. He was understanding in moving the agreed appointment at late notice which was much appreciated.
Tom, Surrey Posted on 17/05/2016 , work completed 17/05/2016
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Completed the inspection and provided the report in great time. Would highly recommend.
Samuel, Surrey Posted on 05/04/2016 , work completed 05/04/2016
Fantastic professional service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very knowledgeable, professional service. Easy to understand layout for the report. This survey ended up saving me a lot of money on unnecessary damp proofing works.
Courtney, London Posted on 02/03/2016 , work completed 02/03/2016
Professional and concise
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason was personable and professional. He gave good clear advice and delivered an in depth report on time.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/02/2016 , work completed 02/02/2016
Very helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Jason provided a range of advice, and a very useful and easy to follow report.
Tom, London Posted on 02/02/2016 , work completed 02/02/2016
Damp survey for a commercial business
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Enjoyed working with Jason, great support to our business needs, customer service skills were excellent. The format of reporting was easy to read and understand and also used as a tool for follow up works.
Nadine, London Posted on 01/11/2015 , work completed 01/11/2015