We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Just Carpentry & Locks

Profile thumb master locksmith 4
4.9

61 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 07:00–19:00
  • Monday 07:00–19:00
  • Tuesday 07:00–19:00
  • Wednesday 07:00–19:00
  • Thursday 07:00–19:00
  • Friday 07:00–19:00
  • Saturday 07:00–19:00
  • Sunday - Closed

About

A trusted Cheltenham Locksmith (Daniel Herbert DV Security Cleared) covering Gloucestershire.

Just Carpentry & Locks is an approved company member of The Master Locksmiths Association. We specialise in Locks (fitting/opening/upgrading), Doors (supply & fitting) & Security (CCTV/Grilles/Security Gates) including Safes (installation/opening).

Free security surveys are available in Cheltenham with no obligation.

Established in 2004.

Also Trading Standards Approved (Buy With Confidence Scheme).

What we do

  • Locksmiths

    • Emergency locksmith service
    • Access control
    • Safes
  • Security equipment suppliers and manufacturers

    • CCTV & video equipment
  • Doors

    • Fire doors
    • Timber doors
  • More Services

    • security solutions safes access control free surveys

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
61 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.9
Sort by
Committed and Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel Herbert was engaged to repair a door that had stuck shut. He took a look and offered a written quote. The job turned out to be tricky as the lock had disintegrated in the door. He stuck with it and tried all sorts of ways to open the door before replacing the lock. Many others would have given up but he persevered and eventually, after many hours he fixed the door completely. I have no hesitation in recommending him for his diligence his professionalism and more importantly his positive attitude. It gave me confidence and I will definitely be using him again.
Richard in Worcestershire Posted on 20/09/2021 , work completed 20/09/2021
The trader replied (on 22/09/2021)
Thank you for your kind words Richard, glad to help and also open this door for your cat!
Helpful and upfront advice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Upon contacting Just Carpentry and Locks via their website, from a link on Which. Daniel asked questions via email to assess issue I had and gave advice to try before incurring costs. Arrived on time. Used a protective mat and and wore face mask without asking if needed. (I have had some trades ask if needed). Gave initial written quote of job. Then once lock taken apart gave two options in writing with cost for me to decide before work completed. Work completed efficiently and professionally, taking time to check and adjust the lock and door. Work guaranteed for 12 months. I would use Daniel again and highly recommend him.
Simon in Gloucestershire Posted on 16/05/2021 , work completed 15/05/2021
Door Lock Broken
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Just Carpentry & Locks with a problem this afternoon and after establishing what the fault was and its remedy, to replace the locking mechanism, (and price quote, £165) Daniel has been and gone and done the job as promised. Daniel was efficient and courteous. He explained what he was doing at each step. I am very happy with Daniel's work.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 23/04/2021 , work completed 23/04/2021
Secure again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lost my keys and therefore felt insecure, had someone picked them up? Daniel came and changed my locks, both front door and garage. Very professional, very swift and very friendly, excellent job. Many thanks will recommend to the world!!!!!
Beryl in Gloucestershire Posted on 23/03/2021 , work completed 23/03/2021
Dealt with lock changes, and made a new door for me
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Superb, excellent in every way. reasonably priced.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 18/03/2021 , work completed 20/02/2021
Professional and friendly
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fitted new front door handles. Good job done, fairly quickly and as per quote. Very friendly and good communication.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 10/03/2021 , work completed 10/03/2021
Replace garage lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan was very helpful and advised me what I need to need, took a couple of photos of the lock to see what needs replacing. After giving a fair price, he fitted the locks a couple of days later. Was pleased with his work and gave him more work the following week. Would recommend to everyone.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 05/04/2020 , work completed 04/03/2020
Key stuck externally in bespoke oak front door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Normal methods for removing a stuck key had failed so I decided to try a member of the Master Locksmiths Association. Daniel responded quickly and from the start clearly had excellent knowledge and experience of the unusual key wind up security mechanism. He approached the situation with thought, care and skill and patiently resolved the problem. I am not easily impressed by tradesmen today and seldom feel a recommendation is justified but my experience was that Daniel's work is outstanding.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 29/09/2019 , work completed 27/09/2019
All good
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Lock fitted to internal door, all as requested, good job left tidy and neat, arrived at expected time, would recommend.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 03/07/2019 , work completed 03/07/2019
Very knowledgeable and excellent quality of service
I contacted Just Carpentry and Locks to assist with replacing/correcting door handle fittings that a different company had previously fitted. They responded promptly, visited the house and provided excellent quality of information as to what was wrong and what needed to be done to correct the situation. I would not have been able to get the original work issues resolved without their assistance and helpful provision of information. At all times, they were very courteous and communicated promptly. I would be very happy to recommend their services. Martin, Cheltenham
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 28/05/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel sorted out a lock which we had lost the keys for. He was able to give me a next day appointment. Excellent service would high recommend.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 10/04/2019 , work completed 09/04/2019
Great work and fast
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent service. Cost agreed up front, turned up when he said he would, did the job, all very professional. Highly recommended!
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 08/04/2019 , work completed 05/04/2019
Broken front door lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
So happy with the work completed and the communication. Very quick and efficient. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 13/03/2019 , work completed 12/03/2019
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Aftercare service was done very professionally. Trader was courteous and very helpful and arrived on time as planned. I would highly recommend the company to anybody.
Maxin, Gloucestershire Posted on 14/02/2019 , work completed 14/02/2019
Extremely helpful, Quick, and Polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan was very helpful, efficient, fast working and fair priced. We would recommend him and will use him again in future.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 11/02/2019 , work completed 28/01/2019
Prompt, efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned back after I'd left a message. Came when they said they would and repaired a broken lock. Did a quick and efficient job. Would highly recommend.
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 31/01/2019 , work completed 31/01/2019
Superb service / communication
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dan was very professional from the start. I approached him by phone, he was couteous and polite, taking time to ensure I understood all options. For the appointment he was delayed, but sent a message to let me know new eta (10 mins later than originally planned). He proceeded to sort out our problem very quickly. Extremely pleased and would have no hesitation in recommending!
Customer in Gloucestershire Posted on 24/01/2019 , work completed 23/11/2018
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Certainly knew his job. Very helpful and efficient. Would strongly recommend him and use him again.
Barbara, Gloucestershire Posted on 13/11/2018 , work completed 13/11/2018
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repaired a UPVC broken lock - came out the same day as our call for help. We had no idea what was causing the issue and originally thought the whole door locking system would need to be replaced. However after a thorough inspection Daniel said the lock could be repaired and wouldn't need replacing after all, therefore a cheaper bill for us . Very prompt and polite and would highly recommend.
Fay Holmyard Posted on 17/09/2018 , work completed 17/09/2018
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A very quick response and good communication. Daniel has great problem-solving skills and I am no longer afraid of using our front door!
Jackie Buscombe Posted on 19/08/2018 , work completed 19/08/2018
Great work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very polite Daniel came out the day I called as our back door wouldn't lock. Gave me a quote and completed the work the same day. Very efficient and reasonably priced. Would certainly recommend .
Mrs Brown Posted on 30/05/2018 , work completed 30/05/2018
Very polite
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My call was answered promptly, my door lock was not working and returned to check it out. He fixed the lock and was very polite. So grateful.
Joyce, Gloucestershire Posted on 23/04/2018 , work completed 23/04/2018
Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel was the only locksmith who replied to my email. Whilst it wasn't an emergency, he still came round within a few days and sorted my problem very quickly with no fuss. He arrived at the time he said he would. Would recommend to anyone.
Helen Jones Posted on 06/04/2018 , work completed 06/04/2018
Great work and great individual
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ended up being locked out our new home. Dan was recommended to us by the first locksmith we called, who was unavailable. Dan was able to give us a time line on when he would be able to get there. Arrived, was courteous, provided a quote that was competitive, stating we were under no obligation if uncertain. On agreement, was able to get us in the house quickly and then continued to check the other locks to make certain we would be OK in the future. Would highly recommend!
Graeme Bull Posted on 04/03/2018 , work completed 04/03/2018
Quick, efficient, good price and excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel was very friendly and extremely efficient at replacing our locks. He did an excellent job and we are very happy with the final result. We would recommend him to anyone who requires their locks to be changed.
Lewis Brooks Posted on 09/02/2018 , work completed 09/02/2018
Great work, very efficient, very personable, great quality!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel came to do an emergency lockfitting on our property and did the job in double-quick time on a Sunday morning; the new lock is a significant upgrade on the previous one and we are exceptionally happy with it. Excellent service all round.
Scarlett_Five Posted on 07/01/2018 , work completed 07/01/2018
Amazing Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
When I got my key stuck in my lock these guys were there. They replied to my early morning message within 1/2 an hour and we’re able to come and deal with it later in the day. Within in 5mins off them turning up I was back in he house. I can’t thank these guys enough
Jenny B@H Posted on 10/11/2017 , work completed 10/11/2017
Knowledgeable & efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel, was very efficient & certainly knows his craft. He arrived when he said he would, offered advice when needed. We chose the new door & fittings & on the day of installation arrived, got on with the job & tidied up on completion. We are still very pleased with our choice. Daniel was very personable & efficient & I wouldn't hesitate in recommending him to anyone who needed this kind of work. Peter JOHN, Cheltenham. 10 October 2017
John Posted on 10/10/2017 , work completed 10/10/2017
Carpentry
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used this company to free a jammed lock and replace it with an improved method of access
Taylor Posted on 14/08/2017 , work completed 14/08/2017
Excellent workmanship.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleasant person. A very good job. Prompt, efficient, tidy.
Sandra, Gloucestershire Posted on 18/06/2017 , work completed 18/06/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Changed the lock on my door. Very quick good quality and good value
Gregory Posted on 05/02/2017 , work completed 05/02/2017
Knowledgeable, thorough and good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I came across Daniel as he was doing some work on behalf of the Management Company of my block of flats. I was having problems with new door handles coming away from the door. Daniel quickly diagnosed and explained the problem (its too easy for a novice to buy smart new handles and to have them installed without understanding what is required to fix modern handles). He ordered the necessary parts, and quietly and competently reinstalled all the door handles - and they now work without coming off in your hand! Prompt, tidy and good workmanship. Excellent job.
BarbaraF Posted on 02/01/2017 , work completed 02/01/2017
Replace door lock
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a bad experience with a local locksmith two weeks ago ,who left me with an unusable lock. I was recommended Daniel Herbert. He arrived promptly, worked efficiently and professionally, replaced the lock. I would definitely use him again and recommend him. Thank you Daniel
Kim Stevens Posted on 09/11/2016 , work completed 09/11/2016
Good job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Prompt and professional. Daniel gave me a quote over the phone and explained the procedure. He gave me a time for the visit, turned up when he said he would. Clean job. I would definitely recommend him.
Christine, Gloucestershire Posted on 31/10/2016 , work completed 31/10/2016
Excellent job and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Called for help with problematic front door lock. Received prompt attention and a new lock fitted same day. Personable, professional service. Highly recommended.
Mary, Gloucestershire Posted on 17/10/2016 , work completed 17/10/2016
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A broken UVPC window lock required unlocking and replacing. Daniel was on time and carried out the work efficiently with no mess. Would highly recommend Daniel Herbert.
Dave H, Gloucestershire Posted on 16/08/2016 , work completed 16/08/2016
Generous Gentleman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On previous Monday morning, I was looking a specific part, a split spindle which are hard to track down but I met this gentleman at Cheltenham town when he parked his van and I politely asked him if he can help me to search the part which I need urgently. He was very happy to help and gave me the part, I was over the moon. I have a lot of respect for this firm and will use their help in future. Highly appreciated and won't forget this.
Johichi Posted on 03/08/2016 , work completed 03/08/2016
Brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found this trader very polite and pleasant, and his work well done. He also cleaned up afterwards which not everyone does.
A, Gloucestershire Posted on 20/06/2016 , work completed 20/06/2016
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Phoned at 8.30am. Called at house at 10.15am. Problem: unable to lock patio door. Solved quickly - alignment problem. Only charged £10. Fully recommend Daniel Herbert.
T, Gloucestershire Posted on 16/06/2016 , work completed 16/06/2016
Highly efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
An excellent job promptly and efficiently carried out. Good value as well.
Colin G, Gloucestershire Posted on 02/06/2016 , work completed 02/06/2016
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very quickly responded to my call and sorted out the problem with the door mechanism very professionally. I would not hesitate using their services again.
Paul Wakefield Posted on 24/03/2016 , work completed 24/03/2016
Outperformed expectations
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel was prompt in carrying out the survey and quoting for work required and installed the locks required promptly. Very pleasant personality and good value for money.
Copjam Posted on 07/01/2016 , work completed 07/01/2016
Prompt & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very helpful - suggested things I could do to keep my home safe from intruders. Felt very confident to have him in my house. Very nice man, approachable & pleasant.
Rita, Gloucestershire Posted on 06/01/2016 , work completed 06/01/2016
Locks Replacement to British Standard
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After being burgled, we rang Just Locks & Carpentry for replacement of five household door locks. We received prompt and friendly advice, a decent estimate and our new locks were fitted within four days of measurement and survey. Our final invoice for the work matched the original estimate.
H0ndavfr Posted on 22/11/2015 , work completed 22/11/2015
Superb after care service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Daniel regarding a problem with being able to secure a door, which he had fitted nearly 2 years ago and the fault did not lie with his previous work. Within 2 hours he was here and remedied the problem in his own time, exceptional aftercare service coupled with most courteous manner.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 02/11/2015 , work completed 02/11/2015
Accidentally locked myself out
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I accidentally locked myself out of my house on Monday 5th October 2015. Went to the police-station who put me in touch with Daniel at jclock who picked me up close to the station, drove me home and got my door open to let me in. Service was friendly, courteous and efficient. Good value for money too - I locked myself out last Christmas but was charged about twice as much for the same service by a different locksmith.
KevinR Posted on 26/10/2015 , work completed 26/10/2015
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A prompt and efficient response to my enquiry. The problem was quickly diagnosed and rectified.
Hazel, Gloucestershire Posted on 07/10/2015 , work completed 07/10/2015
Very professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
On time. Very good knowledge of job. Done in under an hour. Very friendly. I would recommend him to anyone.
Martin, Gloucestershire Posted on 08/09/2015 , work completed 08/09/2015
Helpful and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Although this was a very small job "Just Carpentry & Locks" dealt with it efficiently and I would recommend their company without hesitation.
Megan, Gloucestershire Posted on 02/09/2015 , work completed 02/09/2015
Excellent Service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just Carpentry & Locks were extremely professional, polite and prompt. They were able to source difficult to find keys and ensure that the locks worked properly once found. Excellent communication throughout and always arrived at exactly the pre-arranged time - highly recommend.
Alison, Gloucestershire Posted on 24/07/2015 , work completed 24/07/2015
Faultless
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Well, what can I say? A small job, but important that we got it sorted quickly, within a very narrow window of opportunity. Dan was brilliant. Efficient, patient and generous. You don't find many like him nowadays, and I so wish that you did. So, well done Dan. You win the prize for absolute professionalism as far as I am concerned.
Jon Hill Posted on 23/07/2015 , work completed 23/07/2015
Brilliant chap.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic service, couldn't have been more helpful! Recommended to all.
Andy, Gloucestershire Posted on 15/07/2015 , work completed 15/07/2015
Locksmith
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Took a great deal of trouble to locate necessary replacement parts. Prompt and efficient visits to review the job and do it.
Louis, Gloucestershire Posted on 02/07/2015 , work completed 02/07/2015
Polite and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Daniel was prompt and polite and worked quietly and professionally. I would use his services again.
Rachel, Gloucestershire Posted on 01/07/2015 , work completed 01/07/2015
Prompt, courteous & well done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Texted before to let me know when he would arrive. Fitted a new door lock, cleaned up afterwards! Brilliant!
Nitin, Gloucestershire Posted on 13/05/2015 , work completed 13/05/2015
First class workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I would give the highest approval and recommendations. The knowledge and skills were first class.
Patricia, Gloucestershire Posted on 27/04/2015 , work completed 27/04/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good and efficient service.
Mary, Gloucestershire Posted on 27/04/2015 , work completed 27/04/2015
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Reliable and efficient service, highly recommended.
Michael, Gloucestershire Posted on 19/03/2015 , work completed 19/03/2015
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have used this trader a few years previous and again, very efficient, professional and trusted on this occasion.
Stephen, Gloucestershire Posted on 05/02/2015 , work completed 05/02/2015
Astonishingly great - again!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the 2nd time I have had the need to use Just Carpentry & Locks and I remain totally impressed with every aspect of their service provision. From an initial voicemail, I received a prompt call back, agreed an appointment time, a quotation and a brilliant job completion all inside 1 day. I am genuinely impressed and am happy to recommend them unreservedly. Thank you!
Mark, Gloucestershire Posted on 30/12/2014 , work completed 30/12/2014
Absolutely brilliant job.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Just Carpentry & Locks several times. They are prompt, efficient, friendly, professional & very trustworthy. I would definitely recommend them unreservedly. Wonderful company.
Susan, Gloucestershire Posted on 17/12/2014 , work completed 17/12/2014
Would definitely recommend and use again.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
100% satisfied! Daniel dealt with our various requirements, last minute changes and modifications in a highly professional and courteous manner. He provided a high quality, safe and secure front door, taking extra time to ensure the job was to an exceptionally high quality and at a very reasonable price (considerably lower than other suppliers we approached). In short, I cannot recommend him highly enough.
TWLangford Posted on 20/11/2014 , work completed 20/11/2014