We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

K Barnard Brickwork

Profile thumb keith
4.9

132 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–18:00
  • Monday 08:00–18:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–18:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–18:00
  • Thursday 08:00–18:00
  • Friday 08:00–18:00
  • Saturday 08:00–13:30
  • Sunday 09:00–13:00

About

A family run building firm with 40 years experience in the building trade, we pride ourselves on delivering our services to a high standard.

Some of the services we provide are as follows:

General Building
Bricklaying
Pointing
Patio's
Walls

Please call to arrange a free no obligation quotation today!

What we do

  • Bricklayers

  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Plastering
  • Building construction contractors

    • Building construction management
  • Stonemasons

  • Painters and decorators

    • Exterior decorating
  • More Services

    • brickwork
    • pointing
    • brick matching
    • archwork
    • grade 2

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
132 reviews
Customer Service
4.9
Quality
4.9
Value
4.8
Sort by
Always Reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had leaks in my bathroom this autumn with the sudden downpours. Keith and Ben came the following day to diagnose the problem and came subsequently to fit a deeper gutter and replace some flashing around the velux window. I also asked them to clean the gutters while they were up there. I have used them once or twice before and they have always responded rapidly and are very professional and friendly. I'm very happy with their work, and delighted to have such good roofers in my neighbourhood. I've also recommended this company to my neighbours, who have also been pleased with their work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 10/11/2021 , work completed 14/10/2021
Great work, expertise and helpful
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The work was itty bitty: pointing, reinforcing, repairing cracked sills. Issues were pointed out to me that I hadn’t noticed before. My house is late Victorian so obviously has some wear and tear. Keith and Ben spotted where the window sills had weaknesses which would contribute to or be the cause of interior dampness. Their remedies, which included introducing small steel reinforcing bars deep in the sills, were creative, unexpected and a great idea. They took great care to match the colour of pointing and brickwork to my requirements. And they did a couple of extras, all within timescale and budget. And they tidied up each day. All in all a very satisfied customer.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/11/2021 , work completed 08/11/2021
Excellent work replastering, repointing, replacing guttering, and putting in a new side gate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We moved into the new house in Brixton in late June. We realised we had problems with a patch of damp affecting the front wall of our living room. The damp specialist we instructed indicated that we need to remove a large proportion of the plaster in that room, re-point external brickwork and fix defective guttering, and then re-plaster. We wanted the side gate replaced too. Of all of the builders we spoke to Keith and Ben (Keith’s son in law) were the most straightforward, they understood precisely what we needed to have done, and promptly sent a quote. The quote was very reasonable and having met Keith and Ben I felt confident that the work would be done to the requisite standard. Keith’s team started the work on 20 October and finished on 26 October. The workmanship is excellent. Keith and his team were utterly lovely to deal with and extremely considerate. They were extremely friendly and very approachable. It was clear from discussions that Keith is very knowledgable about his trade and he is happy to explain what he is doing. I really cannot recommend these guys enough. We are already planning to get Keith and his team to deal with other works that need to be done to our house. It is difficult to find good and trustworthy builders. We feel confident that we have found them in K Barnard Brickwork. My only hesitation in recommending Keith is that if too many people realise just how good he is, he’ll get too busy. :- )
Customer in Greater London Posted on 27/10/2021 , work completed 26/10/2021
Brilliant company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and colleague arrived as agreed to repair a decorative external architrave that another large company had quoted a huge amount of money to repair. The team clearly have many skills from lots of years of experience and just got on with the job. They were prompt, tidy, friendly, and completed the job beautifully at a much more reasonable price. Truly a pleasure to employ.
Kate in Greater London Posted on 14/10/2021 , work completed 08/10/2021
Good reasonably priced repair work on garden wall and roof parapet
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and the other two family members did a good job repairing our garden wall, which had lost much of top few layers and coping stones. It took them a few hours one day and the whole of the next. They were able to reuse many of the bricks and stones that had come off, which I appreciated, and finished it well. They also did good repair work on the roof parapet wall where rendering had come off. Cost was reasonable. They were reliable turning up to quote and start the work. Communication was generally good, and friendly. We had to wait quite a while until they quoted, and then until they could do the job when had a gap between larger jobs. But that was understood from the beginning, and I preferred that they were realistic about timing. They were generally quick at replying to emails about the quote and work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/07/2021 , work completed 07/07/2021
Very good work on back of house and garden
Customer Service
Quality
Value
K Barnard did really good work on the back of our house and garden. There was re-pointing and painting of walls, installation of a fence and trellises and work on paving stones. The communication was good throughout. The whole team seemed reliable and trustworthy.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 11/07/2021 , work completed 09/06/2021
Renovate brickwork, pointing, paint windows pipework & doors, seal window frames
Customer Service
Quality
Value
100% satisfaction. Highly recommended. Professional advice on the job, detailed accurate contract, agreed price & invoicing, highly-skilled execution of all work, pleasant & co-operative attitude.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/03/2021 , work completed 01/03/2021
Rebuilding Gate Post
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just before Xmas 2020 my neighbour's car accidentally went into one of the 7 brick piers (posts) in my front garden wall. I collected a number of quotations from various local brick layers. All came in at around £950. But none were known or reputable. I got K Barnard off here. They provided a written quotation within a day. 5 weeks later they came and rebuilt the pier using the same old bricks. They meticulously cut the 60 or so bricks out of the knocked over pier and got rid of the concrete centre. It took around 9 hours to do the job. No break, all three working very hard. The pier restored and looking better than before it was knocked over. The quality of workmanship is top notch. The 3 guys are really good - no mess, they kept clear of the garden bushes, cleared up all the dust from cutting etc. Washed the road and path where they worked. They also made sure that the iron gate could be hung - all fitted and measured very nicely. I would definitely use K Barnard again. Great work, tidy, polite, quiet, job done with minimum of fuss. And they reused ALL the old bricks, so no waste at all. My neighbour paid up. In the end, K Barnard came in at £250 cheaper than the other 7 quotations, so his pain was not as bad as it could have been.
Kuljeet in Greater London Posted on 08/02/2021 , work completed 02/02/2021
Repair and rebuild bay window piers and arches and repoint where needed.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben stood out from the rest of the builders who came to quote for the work as it was obvious from the start that they are craftsmen who know their craft inside-out. We were not disappointed when the work began as Keith and Ben, joined by Gary and Justin worked like Trojans, fuelled by cups of coffee, biscuits and Pot Noodles! They were a real pleasure to have around - always polite, and careful if they had to come into the flat. They have an old-school approach to their work and obviously take pride in what they do - a rare quality these days. They completed the work on time and on budget and we are so glad that we chose them for the job. We were actually sad to see them go when they finished and have already recommended them to two neighbours who have asked for quotes.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/01/2021 , work completed 25/01/2021
Re-instating of Victorian Bay window, and restoration of front of house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben oversaw a big project at our property, re-instating a Victorian bay window which had been completely removed in the 60s. This involved rebuilding the bay from scratch to match the others on the street, commissioning stone masons to match exactly the designs of the period, replacing all windows to the front of the house and cleaning/repointing all brickwork. Also they completely renovated the front garden, building a new London stock brick wall with York stone coping stones, laid a victorian mosaic path, and put down reclaimed York stone flagstones. This was a huge project and we struggled to find people who had the skills and confidence to oversee everything. From the outset Ben and Keith made us feel that they could manage the project and that proved to be the case. The quality of their work is excellent and they were also a pleasure to have in the house, we missed them after they were gone to be honest. There may well be slicker and bigger contractors out there, but the personable way Ben and Keith handled us throughout the project was so valued and the end result looks absolutely great. All work was completed on agreed budget. We can't recommend them highly enough.
Ben in Greater London Posted on 23/12/2020 , work completed 01/03/2020
Honest advice and excellent work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We contacted Keith and Ben after reading the reviews here and are very glad we did. We thought a lot of our terraced house needed repointing, but when they came to inspect they said most of it was in good condition and only needed patching. They also noticed that one of our gutters was too short, potentially damaging the brickwork. We also wanted repairs done to several cracked stone windowsills and to have our patio repointed. Gary and Sean did most of the work and did so meticulously, finishing it all in three days. We are delighted with the results, which included a new gutter and redoing some previous repair work that wasn't up to their high standards. Keith, Ben, Sean and Gary were all very pleasant to deal with, and as well as doing a great job of work, did a fantastic job clearing up afterwards.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/12/2020 , work completed 26/11/2020
Professional, skilled, punctual, honest and hard working
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had Keith, Ben, Gary and Sean working on our house, doing extensive repointing as well as removing a defective chimney stack. We were extremely impressed with their knowledge and skills, they were fully versed in the appropriate techniques and materials for conversation of old victorian houses like ours. When we got quotes from other builders they had various concerns of 'this could go wrong', 'that could go wrong', but with Keith and team, their attitude was much more refreshing. They were clear on what the challenges could be, but had the attitude of just knuckling down and getting the job done. I would highly recommend them for any brickwork, repointing jobs big or small. These proper skills are hard to come by and if I learnt anything, it's that people who have learnt these skills over decades really know their stuff.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/12/2020 , work completed 04/11/2020
Quick Advice
I had to make a journey from Oxfordshire to London to visit my property and Keith was able to meet me at my required time, though I understand he was busy. No work needed on this occasion but Keith gave me his advice freely and seems knowledgeable.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 22/11/2020 (Reviewer did not use service)
Rebuild pier supporting garden gate
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his mate completed the rebuilding and strengthening of a brick pier partly displaced by the roots of a holly tree to a very high standard and in less than the allotted time, and on budget. They left everything neat and tidy both overnight and upon completion. They were a pleasure to deal with, and my neighbours commented unasked on how friendly and polite they were. They were helpful and communication was the optimum.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 19/11/2020 , work completed 19/11/2020
Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben recently helped fix a damp problem at our flat. They were quick to respond to our enquiry, very knowledgeable and professional. Would definitely recommend!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 14/11/2020 , work completed 14/11/2020
Repair of garden wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Dealing with this company was a pleasure. They came on time, they were efficient, and tidy and they completed the work to a very high standard. They were friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the building trade. I would highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 28/10/2020 , work completed 28/10/2020
I didn't think craftsmen like these existed any more
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith's guys rebuilt a small brick wall and sorted out the walls on either side of the steps up to my front door. This involved removing the old, blown render, filling in holes, fixing metal strengthening on the outside corners and re-rendering. They also spotted 2 loose bricks and a crack in another place which I had overlooked and repaired them for me without asking. They were unfailingly punctual, good humoured and professional. They tidied up at the end of each working day and the bags of rubble were promptly removed. Excellent professional workmanship and good value for money.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 13/08/2020 , work completed 12/08/2020
Reliable, professional, great work.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben repointed the walls and chimney stacks on our Edwardian terrace house. They were very reliable and the work was completed quickly to a really high and professional standard. They also did additional small jobs like repairing render and re-sealing external door. They left everything tidy. Would definitely recommend them and would use them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 07/08/2020 , work completed 06/08/2020
happy customer
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My 6-foot high garden wall had a crack extending from top to bottom. On the basis of a photo, Keith provided a very reasonable quote. Once he was here and the vegetation was cleared away, further significant cracks were revealed which Keith dealt with for a very modest increase on the original quote. The workmanship was excellent. Keith matched the original bricks and on completion, it is extremely difficult to see where the repairs have been made. The site was left clean. This is the second time I have used Keith and I recommend him without reservation.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 06/08/2020 , work completed 06/08/2020
Excellent quality work and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have used Keith's team for several jobs now: repointing a 30 foot stretch of garden wall, rebuilding a garden wall, pointing external walls on our Victorian terrace, and building gate pillars. Their work has been consistently excellent in all weather conditions, and they are sensitive to what types of mortar/bricks are appropriate for period properties.
Jonathan, London Posted on 29/02/2020 , work completed 06/12/2019
Front of house
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Great job repointing the brickwork and laying blocks at the front. Easy to communicate with these guys and they did what my they promised to do to the budget they agreed. I’d use them again.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/02/2020 , work completed 17/01/2020
Professional, helpful and tidy.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben offered considered advice about the strengthening of the brickwork on my Edwardian maisonette. They carefully engaged in repointing, replacing various bricks, and strengthening the brickwork structure. They are specialists in brickwork and left me feeling confident that they had addressed my concerns. At all times they were courteous and I was impressed by their care and cleanliness. I can happily recommend them for their skill, experience and helpful attitude.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 09/01/2020
Quality service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Keith and Ben and the guys a number of times over the years to fix various problems that have come up with our old house. They respond quickly to the initial query, they come round promptly to take a look and they get the job done as soon as they can. This time some brickwork at the top of the property needed some attention.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 29/01/2020 , work completed 24/01/2020
Fantastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith & Ben did an amazing job in the summer repointing the external walls of my flat, plastering the bedroom and repainting my bathroom ceiling. They were fast, reliable and very thorough. Ben kept me up to date daily via pictures and texts to show the progress of work. I had full confidence in them. The work completed has made such a difference to my bedroom/bathroom and the damp problems i was having for so long. I highly recommend Keith & Ben and will definitely use them again. Such great work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 18/12/2019 , work completed 07/08/2019
Great company to work with
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ben, Keith, Gary and Charlie are a professional, trustworthy and honest group of people to work with. They re-rendered the front of my house, finishing with a great paint job. They approach work in a straightforward manner and always with a sense of humour. Their work is of a high standard, they clean up as they go along and they are time efficient. Nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 25/09/2019 , work completed 10/04/2019
Polite and honest
I asked this firm to have a look at some of the pointing on my house. We agreed that there was nothing substantial to be done at present, but impressed with the punctuality and honesty of the firm.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/09/2019 (Reviewer did not use service)
Excellent company
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and the team rebuilt a brick shed. They are trustworthy, conscientious and very hard working. Nice team to have working on your property. There was great care to detail of the work and care of the surrounding garden. Any issues that cropped up were resolved very satisfactorily. They cleaned up thoroughly and removed all rubbish. No hesitation in using them again and would highly recommend them. A happy customer.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 08/08/2019 , work completed 08/08/2019
Would use again
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Really nice guys, easy to have around and really good communication. Work looks great and they came back after job was done to fix any niggles and knew we could trust them to do this. Have already had them do another job since. Also did us a favour and removed a blockage in our gutter as we didn’t have a ladder big enough. Thanks Keith and Ben!
Customer in Greater London Posted on 17/06/2019 , work completed 26/10/2018
New Flat Roof
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and their team installed a new felt/wood roof and guttering to replace an irregular shaped corrugated roof covering an open area and potting shed adjacent to the side of our Victorian house. They came up with an elegant but simple design to deal with the different levels of the previous roof and water run off problems. The result exceeded our expectations. They always listen to our concerns, offer good advice and are very friendly to work with. In addition to the above, they also replaced some pointing around doors, windows and walls. This is the 4th time we have used them since 2015 and we have always been very pleased with their work.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 23/01/2019 , work completed 17/08/2018
Fantastic service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team did a great job replacing a marble piece on our front steps and repairing the cement foundation under our front fence in South Kensington. They were fast, efficient and friendly, and scheduled the work to be completed right before the holidays, which we very much appreciated. We highly recommend them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 02/01/2019 , work completed 22/12/2018
Superb workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Used Keith, Ben and a colleague to repair water damage in my bathroom and kitchen caused by leaking pipe in upstairs flat. Hard to fault them: high standard of workmanship, prompt and speedy service, reasonable price, tidy and great attention to detail. Very courteous and helpful. Clean up thoroughly when finished. Job involved partially replacing ceiling, replacing cracked tiles, making good walls and repainting. They also sorted out a damp chimney breast. I would have no hesitation in recommending them.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 15/12/2018 , work completed 14/12/2018
Knowledgeable and reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
No problem recommending Keith and Ben. Easy to deal with. Good suggestions/recommendations. Brick and stone work looks very good.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 03/12/2018 , work completed 01/11/2017
Trustworthy, efficient and a pleasure to do business with.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This is the second time Keith and Ben have done pointing on different walls on our property which is in a Georgian terrace. We are benefiting from work on the house wall which was done earlier this year - there is no further risk of damp and there is visible enhancement. They listen, their diagnosis, advice and work is trustworthy. They do not suggest unnecessary additions. They offer a prompt service, keep appointments, bring all their materials and get on with the job efficiently and clear up as they go. Their costs are reasonable I have no hesitation in highly recommending them. They are well established, with a portfolio which they invite you to see before you engage with them. It is a pleasure to do business with them. J. Woods.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 24/11/2018 , work completed 22/11/2018
Garden wall repair
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben recently repaired my front garden including rebuilding two brick piers that had become unsteady. They came to assess what needed to be done immediately I contacted them and provided a quote and timescale for the work to which they adhered throughout. They were at all times professional, reliable, pleasant and helpful.
Customer in Greater London Posted on 16/11/2018 , work completed 08/11/2018
Great quality work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben did a fantastic job replacing our front door and doing all the brickwork around the door. We had a UPVC door in a 1930s house and wanted to replace it with a wooden door with side lights. We sourced a door and stained glass, and Keith fitted it and found bricks which matched our house and installed the new doorway and brickwork for the different shape of the door and windows, restoring it to an appearance which matched the original style of the house. All the work they did was very high quality and the end result looks 100% better than before. I had wanted to post some photos to demonstrate this but I don't think I can on this site. However I can thoroughly recommend Keith's work, we were really pleased with the quality and attention to detail.
Catherine Posted on 10/11/2018 , work completed 10/11/2018
High quality service and work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've used Keith and Ben a couple of times over the years to sort out the brickwork on our Victorian terrace. This time the job was internal and was completed entirely to my satisfaction. They also sorted out some other work that was required and co-ordinated with other tradesmen. Keith answered my initial request promptly and came round the same day to give me a quote. Honest, efficient and high quality.
Chris Hyde Posted on 29/10/2018 , work completed 29/10/2018
Garden wall build
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The second time Keith and Ben have worked on our property in East Dulwich. Again they did not disappoint; knowledgeable, friendly, trustworthy and nice to have around. Great to be able to work with a small family business where you know you're not going to be disappointed.
JamieMcCall Posted on 27/10/2018 , work completed 27/10/2018
Fabulous work, tidy and easy to work with!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and team have done a number of projects for us on our 5 bed Victorian house in Clapham. They built a gorgeous 6 ft brick wall around our extensive garden, paved in front of our Summer house, repointed the entire house, repair parts of our conservatory, renovated wood floor and decorated throughout. They did a very high quality job and were a pleasure to have around. They cleaned up each day conscientiously and were very good about turning up on time and regularly. Communication was very easy, pricing was transparent and they are scrupulously honest. I would highly recommend.
Blunts Posted on 21/10/2018 , work completed 21/10/2018
Friendly, straightford, honest
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith Barnard has worked on my house twice. The first time was to do some repointing and the second time was to fix lead flashing around the boiler flue on the roof. They also helpfully spotted a loose tile and fixed that and advised me that my gutters were clear while they were on the roof. They are very friendly, no BS and honest guys. I can highly recommend them. Jo
Duane Cleaver Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They repointed and rendered my grade 2 listed house. The work was on schedule and on budget. Good simple communication. I was very pleased with having stress free building work, will use them again and highly recommend.
Mrs campbell Posted on 19/10/2018 , work completed 19/10/2018
Good work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and the team repaired and replaced some brickwork, installed new flashing, and organised the painting of my house. There were several unforeseen delays before starting work at my end but they were very patient. The work was eventually done at a very fair cost and I'm very pleased with the result. Everyone was friendly and polite and easy to get on with. They were also efficient and tidy. There was a small snagging problem after but they sorted it out quickly without any problem.
Sylvia Posted on 18/10/2018 , work completed 18/10/2018
Another good job done!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben recently re-boarded and plastered ceiling number 3 in my house. As with the previous two ceilings, the work was carried out to an excellent standard and I’m delighted with the results. The coving company I used also commented on the high standard of plastering. I will definitely use them for any future building work and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to others.
2011-05-25 09:18:24.623 Posted on 17/10/2018 , work completed 17/10/2018
Fantastic craftsmen - would highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and the team rebuilt the bay window on my mid-terrace Victorian property. Their attention to detail was amazing, recreating the original design and sourcing matching bricks for both the bay window and front garden wall. From quote to finish there were no problems and they were happy to give me advice on additional materials I needed to source (e.g. cast iron columns and key stones). They were friendly and tidy and finished ahead of schedule! Will use them again for any future work and would highly recommend.
Simone R Posted on 17/10/2018 , work completed 17/10/2018
Good job done to repair botch by previous contractor
Customer Service
Quality
Value
from initial contact to completion of the job, we have been so happy with Keith and Ben's inspection, quotation and work. Render and mesh had fallen from the chimney stack following re-roofing by another company. They were clear about the work needed, (which did not include rendering - but re-pointing the stack) and quoted a price we were more than happy to accept. The work was done today - by Keith, Ben and Sean. They were cheerful, considerate and tidy. They explained what they had done and why, and we are delighted with the outcome. We have already got more work lined up for a quotation!
Angela Nicholson Posted on 25/09/2018 , work completed 25/09/2018
Spot Re-pointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team did some re-pointing on our house a few days ago. I didn’t realise how much dust would be generated! They worked solidly, did a great job and even did some areas I hadn’t expected. They tidied up behind them and I just need some rain to wash away some of the lingering dust! They were pleasant, polite and had a great work ethic. We’re happy to recommend them .
Monaghan Posted on 21/07/2018 , work completed 21/07/2018
Great job done at short notice
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben came round at short notice, as my buyer would not exchange contracts without work done to stop the probability of water seeping through from my roof terrace, in my Victorian flat, to bathroom below. They were a lovely, friendly pair. Very knowledgeable, and did a great job of doing preparatory work, before applying lead flashing to the offending wall. A truly great looking job, that I am very pleased with. I highly recommend them, and would definitely use them again if we were staying in London.
John Scholefield Posted on 11/07/2018 , work completed 11/07/2018
Repair and Rendering for pest control
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repairs needed to external wall and rendering, to prevent rats entering flats and communal area (yes nice !). Great communication and help from Keith, works appear to be undertaken to a good standard and with minimal disruption. Area left clean and tidy. Thank You - Dave -
D20182018 Posted on 16/05/2018 , work completed 16/05/2018
Rebuilding Wall and Pier
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I engaged Keith and Ben to rebuild part of a yard wall and pier with a new foundation, then to rehang the gate. There was an urn cemented onto the pier I was anxious to preserve but I need not have worried. They had it off the pier and back again without a scratch. An excellent job executed to a professional standard taking just over two days. Site left really clean and tidy. Nothing too much trouble. Very pleasant people. I definitely recommend them and without hesitation will re-engage them myself for any further jobs..
Mr N, Wapping Posted on 29/03/2018 , work completed 29/03/2018
Great service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben have done previous work for us to a very high standard. Unfortunately we had water damage in our flat. We phoned and they came round the same day to assess the damage. They did not charge us for the visit or advice. First class service!
James Grant Posted on 05/03/2018 , work completed 05/03/2018
Repointing, repairing and decorating
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and team raked out all the pointing at the back and side of my Victorian terrace house, repointed in weather struck style, repaired broken bricks, flashing and painted the rear including all windows, fascias and doors and repointed at the front and painted and decorated the front as well. They had to start later than originally planned (not their fault) in mid-November in the end and the weather was stormy, very wet and dark which made a big job protracted and more difficult but any problems that arose were taken seriously and addressed promptly. No alterations were made to the initial quote. The whole team were quick, polite and pleasant to deal with throughout the job and responses to emails and texts were also very prompt. Keith and Ben take a great interest in their work and offered useful advice. The final appearance of the house has been admired by a number of neighbours and the various sources of damp seem to have dried up. I would use them again and plan to do so.
Karin Greenhead Posted on 18/02/2018 , work completed 18/02/2018
Rebuild and recap front and side wall of drive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Read all the reviews on here and went for Keith, Ben and the guys - proved to be a brilliant decision. Rebuilt garden wall to high quality, provided really useful updates on where they had go to every day (brilliant customer service). Polite, and excellent chaps - pleasure to have around. Happy to explain in layman terms the issue with the wall, stuck to the quote and timing - left in better condition than before (brilliantly cleaned up). Quality of work was superb. Two very happy customers - absolute confidence in them from the start. Would recommend them to anyone - if you are worried about finding high quality builders (these are you guys). Thanks so much for a fantastic job chaps!
James Ayres Posted on 04/09/2017 , work completed 04/09/2017
Re-pointing & Guttering Fix
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team did a fantastic job on re-pointing the side of my house and fixing a poorly installed piece of guttering. After an initial visit, a written quote was provided which they stuck to. Polite, clean, quick and professional. Will definitely use them for more pointing work and plan to use them to install a patio.
Jason Allan Posted on 08/08/2017 , work completed 08/08/2017
Great team - walls and more
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and the team have just finished a job for us, comprising a 100ft wall and a new patio. They have done a fantastic job (what these chaps don't know about building walls - with some quite intricate details - is, i suspect, not worth knowing). One of the other things that has impressed us most is that they turned up on time every day (including Saturday) with a full team of 5, to get a job others had quoted us two months for done in half the time - important as we wanted the garden back for the summer. They have also been a delight to have around (not something you often hear about builders), and have made the best of difficult access conditions. All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend them, and in fact we are already thinking about other jobs they might be able to do for us. If in doubt, use them.
Richard Blunt Posted on 18/07/2017 , work completed 18/07/2017
High standard of work from a reliable team
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben quoted for repair works to the communal area of our block of flats and despite us taking a very long time to get the agreement of all the leaseholders to do the works they honoured their quote. Part way through the works it became clear that additional repairs were required and Keith and Ben were able to advise us of the options available and organise for these to be done in a very short space of time. The team were very conscientious, clearing up at the end of the day so residents weren't inconvenienced and also at the end of the job making sure no waste was left on site. The residents are all very pleased with the work that has been done.
Highview Residents Association Posted on 09/04/2017 , work completed 09/04/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and his team have just finished tying in a structurally damaged rear wall for me. From getting a quote to them carrying out the work to a really high standard, there was no fuss; they just got on with the work. It's a tight-knit, family-run business and they clearly know their stuff. Polite, industrious and tidy - I hardly knew they were there. They will definitely be on my list of contacts to both use again and recommend. A real find.
swelteruk Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben and their team have just completed the re-pointing (and cleaning) of our garden patio. The quotation was lower than competitors', but the standard of work excellent. The team arrived on time every day, Keith supervising closely the work, and were cheerful throughout. The quality of their workmanship was very high, and they spared no effort to achieve the best possible result. Without being asked, they cleared all our pots and garden furniture and put them back at the end. We are delighted with the result, and would have no hesitation using them again and recommending them to others.
David & Elaine Posted on 28/03/2017 , work completed 28/03/2017
Great external building work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and their team re-rendered a garden wall, installed 4 new gate posts and removed and re-fixed gates, rebuilt a front step, removed old and installed new driveway threshold paving, built new step from reception room into back garden to match a design. In addition they cleaned off existing front paving and large rear patio, which they re-grouted. They were quiet and respectful, removed all rubbish and left the place much better than they found it. Great job and would use again. You get what you pay for, so I think they offer good value.
Which? consumer Posted on 22/03/2017 , work completed 22/03/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We hired Keith and his team to rebuild a garden wall that was about to fall over, to fix a roof between the house and an outbuilding, and to do extensive repointing work. Dealing with them was incredibly pleasant. They always made sure that their work is done to the highest standard. They made good suggestions to solve little problems and always went the extra mile. (In case of sourcing matching bricks for our garden wall, quite literally) They were on time every day and always kept us informed about what they were doing and if there were any decisions to be made. I would not hesitate to hire them again. Their quote was very reasonable and the work speaks for itself.
Nasibald Posted on 31/01/2017 , work completed 31/01/2017
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
K Barnard completed a number of projects for us in early 2015 and we're currently planning for them to carry out some more jobs (in Nov 2016) because they were so good. Reliable, good quality work, nice fellas and a good price. They carried out some roofing repairs, re-pointing a chimney stack, removed a built-in cupboard, soundproofing, plastering the ceiling and walls, and made and fitted a window casement in a fixed glazed window in our summer house. Our neighbour has subsequently used them and was also very happy.
joj3 Posted on 07/11/2016 , work completed 07/11/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Keith and Ben and his team for a relatively quick (~1 day) repointing and reflaunching job on the chimneys at high level. They were good at communicating and turned up at the agreed times. They worked a long day 8am - 6pm with 3-5 people to get it 99% done in one day. When I mentioned a couple of areas that needed finishing touches they came round the next morning to sort them out. Good standard of work, nice people to deal with. I would definitely recommend.
tommy_60 Posted on 27/10/2016 , work completed 27/10/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith built a low perimeter brick wall around my front garden and laid a new path. His team did a great job. I'd definitely use him again.
StanJere Posted on 19/09/2016 , work completed 19/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith has been twice to our property. The first time for a re-pointing and re-plastering job a couple of years ago. The second time, a couple of weeks ago, to fix new gutters and a new plinth. We were really impressed both times. He is very knowledgeable, spotted the exact problem on both occasions and offered the best solutions, at very competitive prices. The work was done on both occasions to perfection and without delay. Plus, he is really nice to deal with. We feel really lucky we've found him: we've had several bad experiences with builders, but Keith is absolutely trustworthy, knows what he's talking about, as he has a lot of experience and keeps up to date with the latest techniques. Strongly recommended
BillandLeri Posted on 18/09/2016 , work completed 18/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team re-pointed the back of my house. I was happy with the quote and the work went smoothly. They made every effort to prevent dust getting into the house and the work finished on time. Whilst apologising to my neighbour for the dust and noise during the work they commented how pleasant the team had been and that they had hosed down their side as well. I was very happy with the whole process and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Keith.
Pomejanet Posted on 16/09/2016 , work completed 16/09/2016
Professional. Hard working. Efficient.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I called Keith in to have a look at the wall at our church which was in dire need of repair. A very nice man who quickly sized up the job and provided a quote which I found really reasonable. He and his team not only had the crumbling bricks to deal with but also the elements as for many days we had torrential rain. Didn't seem to bother them much and they got on with the job which was soon finished. The result is amazing. Would recommend the company and will use them again.
CWarden Posted on 09/09/2016 , work completed 09/09/2016
Gutter and plinth
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This was the second time Keith did some work at our property, and we were extremely pleased on both occasions. This second time, he fixed a new gutter and replaced a plinth. Just like the first time, he came round immediately to give us a quote, carried out the work without delay and to perfection, left everything tidy and was really nice to deal with. In short, great workmanship for a competitive price. We strongly recommend him.
William Posted on 07/09/2016 , work completed 07/09/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I contacted Keith Barnard on behalf of my client Helen. I work for her in the capacity of P.A.. I contacted Keith initially because he was identified as a trusted trader on the Which? Local. He came with his son in-law,Ben to view and discuss the extensive repairs needed to the outside of my client's shared freehold building. This include pointing damp work: prevention and removal of . Guttering repairs and also the configuring of the existing the guttering for damp prevention, replacement of rotten window frames and untold many other issues. He prepared a quote and e-mailed it to my client very quickly. Getting the work started was delayed due to the many other freeholders of the property not being able to agree on what to do, how to do it,and when! Keith stuck with us and the work was finally done in late winter/spring of 2016. He also did the repairs to the inside of my client's home where the damp had come in. This was done in proper form and procedure. Very pleased with all the aforementioned work and would not hesitate to recommend him. His patient in dealing with the other property owners was awesome.!
Jansen Posted on 03/08/2016 , work completed 03/08/2016
Good service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I employed Keith to do some re-pointing to the paving slabs in our front garden. He responded quickly to our inquiry, sent his quote and was able to complete the job efficiently and in good time. The slabs look very good and we are pleased with the work.
329620 Posted on 26/07/2016 , work completed 26/07/2016
Quality Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I live in a building comprised of 5 flats. We needed some work done to the rear of the building which included urgent repairs to the underside of the roof, repointing work, gutter repairs, window redecoration and other minor items. I found K Barnard easy to deal with, very responsive, competitively priced and the quality of the workmanship was excellent. I would happily recommend them and have since used them again for some minor interior decoration work. Overall, very pleased.
Leelondon37 Posted on 07/07/2016 , work completed 07/07/2016
Chimney slab replacement and repointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Keith and his team to be professional, reliable and thorough overall (from initial inspection to job completion). We had a penetration damp problem due to a leaky chimney; we had visits from numerous builders and received a wide range of quotes - but in the end we found Keith's quote to be the most fair (also, he did not deviate from his initial estimate). He and his team were polite and well-mannered, and kept us informed of their progress throughout (complete with photographic evidence). We asked about an additional job (repointing and waterproofing a 2nd chimney), and he was able to carry it out the following day, at what I thought was a very reasonable extra cost. They were also careful inside the property (e.g. placing carpet protector where necessary). They tidied up well at the end of the job.
Mrs_C_SE4 Posted on 09/05/2016 , work completed 09/05/2016
Outdoor step replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The step outside back door was breaching the damp proof course. Keith understood the problem and gave excellent advice to remedy the issues correctly rather than recommending a bodged solution. He arrived as promised, neatly removed the slabs and bricks, placed a waterproof membrane and sealed the edges with bitumen. He also pointed out that there were no air bricks in the outside wall and recommended placing some. His work was neat, efficient and tidy on completion. Excellent job done correctly first time without fuss. Thoroughly recommended.
Philip Posted on 08/05/2016 , work completed 08/05/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team did a fantastic job on repairing our roof and fitting in two skylights, one of which was extremely awkward, and installing a new pvc window. They were really honest about the work that needed to done compared to some of the other quotes that we had had. The work was finished to a really high standard and you could see that they took a lot of pride in what they did. Would definitely recommend them.
velmate Posted on 13/03/2016 , work completed 13/03/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his colleague bricked up and plastered a hole left in my living room wall after a redundant gas fire had been removed. He was professional and competent and completed the job at short notice before my new carpets were fitted. Would use the firm again.
anncaledon Posted on 20/02/2016 , work completed 20/02/2016
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and team came back to do the rest of the work for us, as posted in March '15. We had booked them to: repoint the flank and back walls of the house, repair an alarming 4-inch bulge in the chimney-stack brickwork, renew the fascia boards, renew the guttering, paint the facade and external woodwork, reconstruct the roof of the side passageway, repair vent pipes, and make the forecourt brick wall. We are very pleased with the final result. As noted by Robert of Ladywell in July'15, one has to 'wait a while at times as good traders are much sought after', and the work may take a bit longer than predicted, which is worth it if the job is done right first time. Costs stayed within the reasonable budget. Inevitably in a multiple project, unforeseen opportunistic tasks, like capping the chimneys, become unmasked en route, which were flexibly adopted by Keith and his team, and modestly priced. The workmanship is excellent. The team were totally trustworthy, respected our property, including minding it when we were both out at work. The photos show the repair of the chimney stack, with the repointing done in lime and mortar (in old style) which allows the house to 'breathe'. The rest of the repointing was long and tough, especially in the awkward area over the conservatory, and looks great. The new fascia boards and guttering work well, having been put to the test with recent wet and very windy weather. Highly recommended.
old kent road local Posted on 20/02/2016 , work completed 20/02/2016
Excellent builder
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith re-built our front brick fence including coping stones and pier caps. He and his team have done a first-rate job, it looks superb. They are a very nice team to have around too. I'm getting them back to do some more building work in the back. Definitely recommended.
2011-04-22 13:01:05.623 Posted on 28/01/2016 , work completed 28/01/2016
Very good workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A brick wall was built and finished to a high standard. The site was cleared and left clean and tidy. A job well done.
Raymond, Kent Posted on 04/01/2016 , work completed 04/01/2016
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A job conscientiously done. Very polite and helpful. Work men of the old school, so refreshing.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 23/12/2015 , work completed 23/12/2015
Replacing weather damaged bricks, repointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Many of the bricks on the front of my house were weather damaged, blown and flaking (75-100). . and needed careful colour matching. The facade needed repointing and the coping stones on the walls separating my tiled roof from the neighbour's, needed replacing. Keith and his team successfully achieved these objectives within a very competitive price; they found the exact match of the bricks some way out of London which was key to a good job, and found a firm that could cast copies of the original coping stone profiles, and installed them efficiently. They found a firm to put a new bitumen and lead roof capping over the bay, and all in all, were nice people to work with and hard working. I was not aware of how much dust grinding the original pointing out would generate. Luckily Keith's team had requested plastic sheeting on the scaffold to save the street, but to any who go down this route, I strongly recommend sealing your windows from inside with a thick polythene and masking tape, as it can be fairly dusty.
Site User Posted on 02/12/2015 , work completed 02/12/2015
Infilling in air vents and mastic work
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team worked very efficiently and took their to complete a job to a high degree of quality. All the team were friendly and provided solution to problems quickly. Would definitely use them again.
Richard Posted on 20/10/2015 , work completed 20/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good work including repair to brickwork and repairs and decorating of stairwells. Friendly good workers, and all done in good time. I would definitely use this firm for further work. Thanks to Ben and Danny for all their hard work
Annaking Posted on 12/10/2015 , work completed 12/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, his son and builders did an excellent job repairing a flat roof and re plastering two ceilings. They were efficient, friendly and completed the job in good time with little disruption. Their price was competitive and we felt that they had done a thorough job.
vicky woollard Posted on 21/09/2015 , work completed 21/09/2015
Happy customer.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Further work to replace bricks in another section of wall, repair a concrete plinth and replace the water damaged bricks beneath it, and install air bricks in 2 chimney stacks. Keith and his team of Sean,Danny and Ben did an excellent job. Once again we are a very happy customer.
James, Crystal Palace Posted on 18/09/2015 , work completed 18/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have been meaning to review Keith and his teams work on our house for a little while. Its been two years since Keiths team repointed our house. It took us a while to find the right people as we were very fussy about the appearance and finish of the house. Keith was the only person I spoke to in my search who seemed to know what he was talking about. He took us through the many different options and what he thought would be best. We were not too sure what we wanted, but keith was very patient pointing sections of our walls in diifferent styles and mixes (so we could decide on colour tone). This in itself took a few days but Keiths patience and understanding was wonderful. His team then went about putting up scaffolding and repointing. They did a wonderful and thorough job, sticking to schedule and budget. So much so that I asked keith to fix the ridge tiles on our roof as well as other bits and pieces whilst the scaffolding was up. Again his team did a very thorough job and the house then and now (two years on) looks beautiful. They were a wonderful bunch, enthusiastic and friendly . For example whilst they were working on the house we had a storm one night that brought a tree down across our garden and onto a neighbours car. The next day they helped to saw and remove the tree from the site . This was all above and beyond and all done with a smile . Highly recommend
brixtonite Posted on 02/09/2015 , work completed 02/09/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith did a small job for me which involved cutting out a few crumbling bricks in a wall and replacing with something similar. Keith found some bricks that were a good match (which is not that easy) and did a fine job at reasonable cost.
macppr Posted on 28/08/2015 , work completed 28/08/2015
Roof & window repairs & decorationing bathroom
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I have lived at my house for 30 odd years and Keith and his team are up there with the very best tradesmen I have used. They are very professional but friendly and did an excellent job. I will certainly use him again when a problem occurs.
Site User Posted on 20/08/2015 , work completed 20/08/2015
Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I wanted a snaking curved path and an irregularly shaped patio seating area built with a curved dwarf wall in a small London garden. The potential contractors seemed to fall into the CAD drawing swish category or the old school ‘tell me what you want and we’ll work together to achieve it’ category. I chose, and Keith Barnard fell into, the latter category. I thought a bricklayer would have a better ability to adapt to issues that might be encountered along the way due to the irregularity of shape. I am glad of the choice. Keith is a highly experienced and practical builder/bricklayer. He leads a family team of Sean and Ben who both have their virtues of fastidious attention to detail and aesthetic foresight/skill, respectively. They all had a straightforward and industrious approach to the project and were accommodating and understanding of my rather unspecific design wishes. Keith does not hold back in indicating practical hurdles but also comes up with a solution as to how to work around them, which I appreciated. The team was also very responsive to certain settling in problems which will only surface after the project is, on the face of it, complete. If there is a con, it would be a common builder problem in that, whilst hard landscaping in a very small mature garden, there will be some plant casualties along the way – quite often under a size 11 boot print! However, I am very pleased with the end result. Thank you Keith, Ben and Sean
Ribster Posted on 11/08/2015 , work completed 11/08/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed the steps from our conservatory completely rebuilt. It was complicated by the ducting for the air circulation under the house passing through the steps. Keith and his very personable and helpful colleagues advised on the measurements, number of steps and choice of materials. We had to wait a while as good traders are much sought after but the work was carried out with pride and you could see their experience in the quality of their work. We are very pleased with our steps and would both use them again and recommend.
Robert of Ladywell Posted on 19/07/2015 , work completed 19/07/2015
Repair of brick wall
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and Ben did an excellent job replacing 20 weather damaged bricks and the coping on our ground floor extension at the front of our Victorian house. From when they first came to inspect the wall, we were impressed with their knowledge and attention to detail in wanting to get an exact match for the replacement bricks and blend the finish with the existing brickwork. This made us feel confident they would do a proper job – and they certainly did. We would not hesitate using them again as we cannot imagine finding anyone better experienced or more reliable with their skills. We fully agree with all the other positive comments made on this website.
James, Crystal Palace Posted on 14/06/2015 , work completed 14/06/2015
Excellent Job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Further work to replace bricks in another section of wall, repair a concrete plinth and replace the water damaged bricks beneath it, and install air bricks in 2 chimney stacks. Keith and his team of Sean,Danny and Ben did an excellent job. Once again we are a very happy customer.
James, Crytal Palace Posted on 01/06/2015 , work completed 01/06/2015
Repairs to external brickwork
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith came yesterday to do some repairs to the external brickwork of my house. He arrived at the agreed time with Ben and Sean. They worked all day on the repairs and I am delighted with the results, what a difference! Keith pays great attention to detail which I loved and his knowledge and skills are obvious, as are those of his colleagues. I will definitely ask Keith again to do work in my house and would be more than happy to recommend him to my friends.
Blanca Posted on 12/05/2015 , work completed 12/05/2015
Paving stones
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith cut and removed existing paving stones in my front garden and removed rubble to create planters. Keith and his team were reliable, efficient and did a very good job.
2010-12-05 16:20:37.203 Posted on 20/03/2015 , work completed 20/03/2015
Repairing Brick Lintel and Cills
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had the bathroom window replaced and as a consequence some of the bricks that formed part of the lintl were dislodged. I contacted KBarnard Brickwork after another builder let me down and they were quick to respond and be on site. Keith, Ben and Sean did a sterling job in repairing the brickwork. They erected a tower in a tight spot in order to access the lintel (first floor) completed the work, removed the tower, and cleaned up after themselves within a day. They were also mindful of my neighbour's pot plants and creeper which were all left intact. They did an equally good job in repairing two cills. I found them to be friendly, efficient and courteous.
CMR400749564 Posted on 17/03/2015 , work completed 17/03/2015
repointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team did a repointing job on a wall of my house. The quality of their work is excellent. They were friendly, efficient and tidy. Their fee was very reasonable. I cannot recommend them highly enough and would not hesitate to use them again.
CMR402360348 Posted on 09/03/2015 , work completed 09/03/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith, Ben and the guys did a first glass job for me - repointing the house, repairing cracks and building a new garden wall. They came when they said they would, they worked hard to complete the job as quickly as possible in the run-up to Christmas, and they were on budget. I couldn't be happier with the work they did. Highly recommended.
chrishyde74 Posted on 24/12/2014 , work completed 24/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team did a great job re-pointing brickwork front and back, repairing stills and steps and rebuilding the front wall. All this and the external painting has given our house a complete face lift so it looks younger, smarter and brighter. The team clearly know brick work inside out. They are professional, prompt, cleaned up every day and good value all round. I'm very happy to recommend them.
Sir Nick Partridge Posted on 12/12/2014 , work completed 12/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We were absolutely delighted with the quality and standard of work provided by Keith and his son-in-law. We had a complicated guttering problem at the back of our house and they found a solution which they put in efficiently. When there were minor problems they immediately returned to rectify them at no additional cost. They also found and dealt with another related problem to do with our conservatory windows, which they also rectified at no cost. The final cost was the same as their original quote and was very reasonable, given the amount of time and effort they had put in to sorting out our guttering problem. We would definitely use them again and we have already recommended them to friends.
B&CFine Posted on 23/11/2014 , work completed 23/11/2014
Pleasant, efficient & professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith provided a quote promptly and came to do the job as soon as he could after completing jobs already in the pipeline. He and his pleasant family team members quickly erected tower scaffolding and repaired damaged brickwork at a front top corner and the lower part of my victorian house. All who have seen what he did are impressed and I would certainly use him again and recommend him.
Hazel, London Posted on 31/10/2014 , work completed 31/10/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very pleased with the service. Arrived promptly, carried out the work quickly and efficiently in friendly manner and at a very reasonable cost. WIll have no hesitation in using them again.
arimus Posted on 24/10/2014 , work completed 24/10/2014
Repointing and replastering.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a dampness problem about the causes of which several builders gave us misleading advice. Keith was the only one correctly to identify the kind of wall involved (solid rather than cavity). His recommendations for the correction of the problem were by far the best ones: he knows his trade far better than any other builder we have talked . He and his team carried out the work efficiently and well, and whenever a slight problem arose, they were always very anxious to respond. Outstanding!
William Posted on 04/07/2014 , work completed 04/07/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his co workers were a pleasure to have around and produced a beautiful new front garden wall for us based on our original Edwardian one which was falling down combining new bricks with some of our old materials.We thoroughly recommend them.
Patrick W Posted on 22/06/2014 , work completed 22/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
As a surveyor I see a great deal of varied work when inspecting residential property on behalf of various mortgage lenders. I found Keth and his team's workmanship good. Keith undertook repointing works to my garden and rebuilt a brick pillar. The cost was reasonable . I am happy to recommend him and will be using Keith/team again.
anthony britton Posted on 21/06/2014 , work completed 21/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used this firm for some external painting to the top parapet on the front of our house. They were professional, reliable, courteous, cleaned up afterwards and were good value for money. I would have no hesitation in using them again.
Kathy2 Posted on 18/06/2014 , work completed 18/06/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team were totally reliable, excellent workers and did a very good job on replacing a window sill and render. Good value too. Recommended.
Richard, Crouch End Posted on 28/03/2014 , work completed 28/03/2014
French drain
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Came promptly for consultation. Started with little delay. A fairly straightforward job, but it wasn't rushed. Tidied up satisfactorily
CMR400189834 Posted on 16/01/2014 , work completed 16/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his 2 guys did a variety of jobs on the exterior of my house, including rebuilding a collapsing garden wall, re-pointing the whole front face, brickwork repair, coping and decorating. All were carried out to a high standard and with minimal supervision on my part. Good communication, clean, prompt and tidy, would use again
Benswann Posted on 07/01/2014 , work completed 07/01/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his young assistant retiled our front steps and everyone is very pleased with the work done.
JB2 Posted on 13/12/2013 , work completed 13/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team removed the remains of our brick built front garden wall which had been hit by a car and built a new wall in its place - just above waist height - as well as replacing a low wall in the driveway which was retaining a flower bed using a mix of garden slabs. He also put in granite set edgings on the two driveway entrances. This job had to be approved by an insurance company and Keith gave us the necessary estimates and was patient while we got them agreed. He completed the work in early September and we were very happy with how it was carried out and the finished job. He discussed with us the materials and other aspects of the work in advance and while he was doing it. We are very happy to recommend him.
Beachy Posted on 02/12/2013 , work completed 02/12/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team have just finished doing a variety of work on my sons' flat. Following the initial quote, which they have stuck to, they have been prompt, flexible, helpful and thorough taking on roofing, coping stones, sourcing and fitting windows, internal repairs, provision of a plumber and other tasks as they arose ... Overall it has been a very positive experience and we have no hesitation in recommending them.
shuttz Posted on 25/11/2013 , work completed 25/11/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New to New Cross I found Keith Barnard via Which Local. He and his team were very prompt and they got the work done in the few weeks slot that I needed it done. They were very tidy whilst working and did exactly what I asked of them keeping to the quote. Their work was very sympathetic to the building style of the flat re using the original mouldings in the room or making new to fit exactly. I am very pleased and would certainly approach them to do more work.
annahall Posted on 25/10/2013 , work completed 25/10/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith repointed my side wall as half the mortar was falling off good price turned up on time and did a good job recommended
anthonyrooke Posted on 15/09/2013 , work completed 15/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team recently repaired brickwork under the soffit of our Victorian house where a cement corbel had come away and checked and repaired others. He was prompt in estimating, helpful in discussing how to tackle the problem and efficient in arranging and carrying out the work. I would have no hesitation in using him again
Martin Cox Posted on 13/09/2013 , work completed 13/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team rebuilt our Victorian house chimney stack that was leaning badly, and repointed some brick work at the rear of the house. Keith was very quick to respond to the initial contact, and after inspecting the leaning chimney he gave us clear and reasonably priced estimates for two options to repair or rebuild it. We opted for rebuilding and Keith and his team were on site the following week. They undertook the work in a very professional manner, working quickly and with minimum disruption, on time and on budget. I would happily use Keith again for house building or repair work.
Bob Longworth Posted on 09/08/2013 , work completed 09/08/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his guys recently laid a patio for us in our back garden and concreted the front to level it out for a bike shed. The quote was good, the work was done to a high standard and their cheery disposition made it all that much easier. On the one minor fault we found, Keith was back at our front door within 12 hours of letting him know (i.e. 8.30am the next morning) to fix the job. I'd definitely recommend him for any similar work.
handyhan Posted on 25/07/2013 , work completed 25/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team arranged scaffolding and re-pointed my grade 2 listed building plus replaced a roof light window. They delivered a really professional and high quality service with exellent attention to detail. The whole team are really professional, delivering excellent results. They cleared away at the end of each day and left the site in good order at the end of the job. Couldn't fault them at all. The overall cost was reasonable and the advice given by Keith is really helpful. I am happy to recommend Keith and his team as it was truly a superb job well done
Mullally Posted on 16/07/2013 , work completed 16/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team just completed raking out and repointing a large area of the brickwork to our Victorian house. From the written quote, the work itself and the clean up I had the feeling that they were taking the project seriously and that their main concern was to provide me with a quality job, rather than rushing or worrying about the fixed fee, which turned out to be very reasonable.
Anshu Posted on 04/07/2013 , work completed 04/07/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith recently rebuilt part of our front brick wall. He and his team were pleasant and polite, worked hard, finished the work in a week and left the site clean and tidy. The job was reasonably priced and completed to a high standard. I would certainly employ Keith again and have no hesitation in recommending him.
gdwyer Posted on 06/06/2013 , work completed 06/06/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team carried out extensive repairs to brickwork on my Edwardian house. This involved repointing, the replacement of window arches and brickwork that had spalled. The work was carried out in an expert manner; the team worked fast and hard and kept to the budget quoted. They were all easy to work with and clearly knew their trade. All the damaged brickwork has been fully restored to what it must have looked like when the house was originally built.
David Yelding Posted on 25/03/2013 , work completed 25/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team built a front garden wall, and front boundary wall at my property. Once they started the job, they were very quick at constructing the walls and also painting the front gate posts. He was very helpful in choosing the bricks and the railings that went with the wall design. He returned to paint the railings, once attached and clearly takes pride in his work. Very pleased overall with the walls with finished railings and at a reasonable price.
J(udge) Posted on 16/03/2013 , work completed 16/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his team arranged scaffolding and re-pointed our entire house within 2 weeks. Excellent job, lovely people and cleared away at the end of each day. Couldn't fault them at all and a competitive price as well. Would recommend this trader to everyone as it was truly a superb job well done.
lalahobbit Posted on 02/03/2013 , work completed 02/03/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repaired and repointed flashing on my roof after it came adrift in bad weather. Very helpful in terms of visiting, managing the erection and removal of scaffolding and liaising with my insurance company. Very pleased with the work.
philip62 Posted on 08/02/2013 , work completed 08/02/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith recently rebuilt steps down onto our patio and constructed a course of bricks to support a small timber building. Excellent job on both, precisely what was on our drawings. Kept to agreed programme and quote. I can recommend.
Kate Waldron Posted on 10/12/2012 , work completed 10/12/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith recently completed brickwork repairs, repainting, re-slating and re-asphalting of the exterior of my house. He managed the whole project including lining up the scaffolding and keeping the subcontractors on task and responded to all requests input from me promptly and effectively. He kept to his estimates, including those for extra work which emerged during the job and was straightforward to deal with.
Gafotti Posted on 03/11/2012 , work completed 03/11/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith recently built a small brick wall for me in my front garden. It looked exactly how I wanted it to be. He offered a competitive rate and out of several tradesmen (from Which Local), was actually the only one who got back to me with a quote. We booked a date to do the work. He arrived on the day with a couple of colleagues. They were punctual, polite and hardworking. On the second and last day of the job, they completed the wall by around lunchtime, more than within the time specified. What I liked and appreciated about Keith, is his attention to detail. I'm a perfectionist and have very high standards. Keith didn't disappoint. I can thoroughly recommend him.
Midsummergirl Posted on 15/09/2012 , work completed 15/09/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith provided a competitive quotation and did a good job laying our patio at back and front. He worked over the weekend to get the job done and kept in touch at all times. I am happy to recommend him and his work.
Helen Williams Posted on 02/08/2012 , work completed 02/08/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We found Keith through Which local. Keith travelled across London to give us a quote and then every day for a week to complete the job on time. We were looking for a traditional bricklayer craftsman; who knew his trade and was not a rip off. Keith is that. Keith requested a Stage payment after the scaffolding went up and then only after we were satisfied and the job was complete. We found Keith had fixed additional small areas of bricks out of goodwill which we appreciated. Thank you Keith.
amita Posted on 25/07/2012 , work completed 25/07/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith levelled the floor in the kitchen of our first floor flat. The floor had sunk about two-three inches, and Keith visited us several times prior to doing the work to try and help us work out what the problem was! Keith and a workman got the job done within 1 day and were very reasonable priced. They cleared up after themselves and we now finally have a level floor!
acrock Posted on 20/06/2012 , work completed 20/06/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I found out about Keith from Which Local, and he certainly lived up to the recommendations given under the bricklayer category. I needed to have the front door steps and porch of my early Victorian house rebuilt and tiled. Keith's quote was the most reasonably priced and thought out that I received. He carried out the work with great expertise, thoroughness and care. The result is excellent, and Keith was immediately asked to do a similar job for a neighbour in the road. I have no hesitation in recommending him, and will certainly use him again if the need arises.
callyg49 Posted on 21/05/2012 , work completed 21/05/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith repaired our courtyard garden by taking down and repairing 3 metres of capping stones and repairing brickwork to the wall. He is a very skilled bricklayer, and we recommend him highly.
fdk Posted on 16/04/2012 , work completed 16/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I needed a brick pillar re-building as it had been knocked down by a car, I contacted Mr Barnard and he came round the following day to give me a quote and had the pillar built within 5 days of making the call. He did a brilliant job, I would certainly recommend him.
supergel Posted on 02/04/2012 , work completed 02/04/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith and his assistant Sean did an excellent job repointing the inside of our back attic. He came around at short notice to examine and quote competitively for the job, worked very quickly and on a Saturday to meet our timescales, and took care to put everything back in place when completed. No hesitation recommending and using again.
A C Posted on 25/03/2012 , work completed 25/03/2012
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith undertook re-pointing work on the rear of a high Victorian terraced house in Brixton, as well as some roofing repairs that we also found to be necessary. He was prompt and competative with his quotations, took great care to examine what was really needed and gave good advise. He always called back if I could not contact him immediately, and made a good and tidy job at a reasonable price.
henrygoodfellow Posted on 06/12/2011 , work completed 06/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith did a fantastic job with a brick wall in our garden that needed rebuilding from scratch. He was prompt in his quote, which was good value and had the job done in less than a day and a week after I first contacted him. He re-used as much of the brick as possible and kept costs down. Highly recommended will use again.
Zonia Posted on 04/12/2011 , work completed 04/12/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith responded quickly to enquiry, competitively priced, helpful with suggestions and ideas to problems, excellent job done, kept things tidy, knowledgeable in his profession, would recommend.
liz04 Posted on 19/11/2011 , work completed 19/11/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Keith has provided exsellent service to our tenants asociation last year and this - front pathways, replacing and repointing brickwork and installing air bricks to the whole block. Prompt, hardworking and endlessly patient, we have no hesitation in recommending his work.
fdk Posted on 10/04/2011 , work completed 10/04/2011
My Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Acceptable
Mr, London Posted on (undated) , work completed 28/04/2015