We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

K Spencer Building & Maintenance Ltd

Default profile image
4.6

24 Reviews

About

This business has not added a description yet.

What we do

  • Builders

    • Extensions
    • Loft conversions
    • Building services
    • Garage conversions
    • Guttering repair services
    • Conservatories
    • Curtain walling
    • Plastering
    • Porches
    • Log cabins and homes
  • Conservatories

    • Hardwood conservatories and orangeries
  • Bricklayers

    • Re-pointing
  • More Services

    • house building

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.6
24 reviews
Customer Service
4.6
Quality
4.6
Value
4.7
Sort by
Excellent job, done on time and within the budget
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin did some sealing works on the roof, repaired a wooden door, applied sealant to windows and fixed some leaks, removed and replaced base boards on a door and tiled an upstairs balcony. He worked quickly and quietly with no fuss. I cannot recommend Kevin highly enough.
Customer in West Midlands Posted on 17/02/2022 , work completed 16/09/2021
Highly Recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kev took out the shower unit in my bathroom and installed a bath. He did a fantastic job and I'm so pleased with the result. He was punctual, friendly and efficient and did over and above the agreed work - always going the extra mile. He knew exactly what he was doing, with no problem being too great. He has great ingenuity and was able to deal with any unforeseen issues, taking everything in his stride. He did all of this with good humour and kindness. I will certainly use him for any future jobs I have.
Customer in Worcestershire Posted on 17/03/2021 , work completed 17/03/2021
Very conscientious, hard working and competent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I used Kev (and Neil) to re-landscape my garden, including removal of lawn and slabs, levelling ground, laying 70m squared artificial lawn, about the same of porcelain slabs. As in most cases there were Issues found that weren’t included in the original estimate (which was very clear, detailed and laid out) such as additional, unplanned drainage works. Kev spoke to me at the time, gave me a list of options and this was additional to the estimate - all very reasonable and fair. They arrived shortly after 7am most days, were very hardworking despite adverse weather, both rainy or very hot and I couldn’t fault their work ethic. I think it helped Kev that I was very clear on what I wanted and how and provided plans that Kev kept in his folder and referred to constantly. Quality of works has been excellent And I would happily share photos for anyone who asks. Would definitely use again.
Pete in Worcestershire Posted on 22/07/2020 , work completed 10/07/2020
First class workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From 1st request for quotation to carry out the work, Kevin and workmen were totally professional, prompt and left premise tidy each day. Refurbishment of church toilets, insulation and refurbishment of school room. Completed on time, on budget as per quotation agreed.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 20/01/2019 , work completed 20/01/2019
Great quality job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Kevin twice to fit our kitchen including knocking walls down, plastering, brickwork and plumbing. Did a great job both times. Will definitely use him again for more work. Very clean and tidy and friendly.
BeckyM Posted on 08/11/2018 , work completed 08/11/2018
Excellent, prompt.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin is excellent, prompt. Listens to your needs/requirements. Communicates well kept informed if issues with delivery dates/stock of items needed. Totally trustworthy. Does an excellent job. Will most definitely use Kevin in the future (I'm in rental, work was all agreed with Kevin and my landlord present). Nothing to much trouble. Kitchen makeover. New front door.
Mary, West Midlands Posted on 22/10/2018 , work completed 22/10/2018
Top class job, great value
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin worked on our house when we moved in. He did a great job, quick, thorough, tidy and always available to talk through issues. Was 1st call for garage and roof & has done a great job again.
Spencer, West Midlands Posted on 29/05/2018 , work completed 29/05/2018
My review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Professional and polite. Tidy service, did what was said, on time.
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 15/01/2018 , work completed 15/01/2018
skilled tradesman
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We have used Kelvin Spencer for approximately 6 years. From jobs of a few hundred pounds to jobs of many thousands of pound. Kevin has a wide skill base and is an excellent joiner and bricklayer. Jobs are always were organized with port-a-loos and scaffold and the norm, areas are always left swept and tidy each evening.
Alan, West Midlands Posted on 19/06/2017 , work completed 19/06/2017
Excellent work and service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did an excellent job re-roofing our flat roof. Recommended a top quality replacement product at a reasonable cost. Carried out the work in a timely and friendly manner.
Andrew, West Midlands Posted on 21/04/2017 , work completed 21/04/2017
Excellent
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very good service, friendly & sincere & prompt would recommend to anyone.
Keith, West Midlands Posted on 04/04/2017 , work completed 04/04/2017
Trustworthy & reliable
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very trustworthy and flexible in his approach. Accommodated a couple of last minute requests for additional work. Good attention to detail and pride in his work with a good level of finish. Great guy and we would definitely use him again.
Daniel, West Midlands Posted on 01/08/2016 , work completed 01/08/2016
Happy and trustworthy
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Excellent builders. It was a pleasure to have Kevin and Neil convert our garage to an office - conscientious, hard working and well mannered!
Graham, West Midlands Posted on 01/10/2015 , work completed 01/10/2015
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We experienced alot of problems with this builder. Materials were fitted which were not as specified in the quotation and alot of the work was poor quality and rushed, so had to be done again. We had been attracted by their impressive quotation but once work started the builder did not refer to it.
Briton Posted on 01/08/2012 , work completed 01/08/2012
The trader replied (on 26/11/2017)
I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with the job
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin is a friendly guy with a laid-back attitude. Unfortunately this latter quality causes problems. He tends to guess materials required (usually over-ordering). The excess is left on site or spirited away to his lockup; either way you end up paying. Time needed to complete the job is under estimated. This results in the job being rushed towards the end, corners are cut and mistakes creep in. Beware the 'quote' which turns out to be an estimate and a bill for 'extras' after you thought you had paid for everything. May be ok for small jobs but for larger works you will be better off hiring a professional builder.
H888 Posted on 21/11/2011 , work completed 21/11/2011
The trader replied (on 26/11/2017)
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with the job
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and his team are professional, courteous and extremely knowledgeable. They worked very efficiently and with excellent attention to detail. Biggest plus point was that he listened to what we wanted and delivered on it consistently. The team also worked in a clean and tidy way and kept disruption to an absolute minimum. We used them to build internal walls [both block work and stud/plasterboard], put in a separate shower room in a large roof space bedroom [soil pipe routing was very cleverly executed!] and generally change wiring/lighting and cosmetic plastering in our house. I can recommend them for this type of work without question. Everything was completed to a very high standard and the overall price was reasonable. He came back to snag the bits I discovered after they had finished without question and to a standard that satisfied me. I can confirm that we will be re-employing him for the kitchen and the cellar when funds allow. I really canÍt recommend him highly enough.
professorib Posted on 24/06/2010 , work completed 24/06/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin knocked the wall down between the toilet and bathroom to make a large shower/toilet, He replaced the plastic fascia and led flashing around the dormer, organised a complete replacement and fitting to the central heating system and much more all at a reasonable price. The downside is that his mate messed up twice. I was not very happy about that and had to call him back, Kevin apologised and finished the job himself to my satisfaction.
lane Posted on 25/05/2010 , work completed 25/05/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We used Kevin to build an extension to our house. He and his team were superb throughout. They always turned up when they said they would, they always tidied up after themselves, they went to a great deal of trouble to ensure we were inconvenienced as little as possible and they stuck to the timetable Kevin provided. You may find a cheaper builder (not that he was expensive) but I would be very surprised if you will find a better builder
PBCox Posted on 18/03/2009 , work completed 18/03/2009
Reliable & professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
K Spencer has done a number of renovations and extensions on our home over the last decade, he is reliable and thorough and a hard worker.
Helene, West Midlands Posted on 10/12/2008 , work completed 10/12/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin re-pointed a chimney [replaced a broken brick which was not in the original quote], fixed/positioned a new Arial and fitted an dryer vent. Came on time and cleaned up afterwards. Nice friendly, helpful builder.
gromit Posted on 21/08/2008 , work completed 21/08/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin and his team did a lot of work for us in our living room and kitchen, including bricking up a window, boarding and skimming a ceiling, repairing plaster and skimming the whole living room and laying ceramic tiles in the kitchen. The whole job was done to a high standard. The work was completed quickly and with the minimum of mess. I'll be asking them back to do more work in the future and would be happy to recommend them to anyone.
Carole Posted on 12/02/2008 , work completed 12/02/2008
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Added a utility room, an en-suite bathroom as well as relocating an exisitng bathroom. Offered advice and solutions to problems as they arose. Kevin is coming back to fit a kitchen and downstairs toilet. Highly recommended.
Jules Posted on 18/06/2007 , work completed 18/06/2007
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Gave detailed quote and stuck to the price. No hidden extras. Did a good job, tidying up as he went along. Friendly and helpful and even provided advice on works he wasnt undertaking. Would happily employ again
KevnBec Posted on 04/06/2007 , work completed 04/06/2007
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Kevin Spencer provided us with a comprehensive quote with time estimates and delivered a high quality service right on schedule. Alterations that we made to the initial plan were charged at a reasonable rate. The job was significant: we extended our house by reinforcing the garage (including the foundations) and built a room on top of it, as well as loft conversion. He and his team also fitted and tiled the kithen and two bathrooms. He was recommended to us and we are delighted to recommend him on.
Inigo Posted on 22/10/2006 , work completed 22/10/2006