We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

Latent Heat Ltd

Profile thumb latent heat logo 150
4.9

27 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 09:00–17:00
  • Monday 09:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 09:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 09:00–17:00
  • Thursday 09:00–17:00
  • Friday 09:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

Latent Heat Ltd are Gas Safe registered, RECC & MCS accredited.

We install Air Source Heat Pumps and domestic Gas Boilers in Edinburgh and surrounding areas, proudly providing our customers with a top quality product and service without fuss and with an honest straightforward approach that you won’t find anywhere else.

We offer manufacturer parts and labour warranties of up to 10 years.

We also carry out annual safety checks to ensure your new ASHP or Gas Boiler is working safely. Our boiler engineers are registered with Gas Safe, meaning that you can rest assured that our work is of the highest standard, and compliant with all of the latest gas safety and MCS regulations.

Whether you are changing a Combi boiler in a one bathroom property or installing a full low carbon heating installation in the largest of houses, we have the skills to help you!

What we do

  • Boiler, central heating and gas engineers

    • Boiler installation
    • Radiators and central heating
    • Underfloor heating
  • Heating contractors

    • Central heating systems (installation and servicing)
  • Plumbers

  • Renewable energy

    • Air source heat pumps
  • More Services

    • mcs accredited
    • recc acreddited

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.9
27 reviews
Customer Service
5.0
Quality
5.0
Value
4.8
Sort by
Excellent, prompt service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We needed a new combo boiler - quick response to our initial query, followed by visit from David, prompt quote and then work completed the following week. Very pleasant workers - efficient, clean - all done in a day. Price quoted was billed - no hidden extras. So good to have a fully functional working boiler again! Would definitely recommend Latent Heat to anyone requiring a new boiler.
Jane in Edinburgh Posted on 04/10/2021 , work completed 27/09/2021
Excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We invited Latent Heat to tender for the replacement of our existing boiler which was playing up, on the basis of a word of mouth recommendation from friends who had been delighted with the boiler replacement project completed by Latent Heat on their behalf. David Forbes of Latent Heat attended at short notice in response to our request and spent considerable time with us explaining boiler model recommendations whilst also assessing all our existing hot water and central heating facilities including piping and efficiency of existing radiators. All aspects of the work were explained in detail and a clear costing provided. Being mindful of the urgency of boiler replacement, Latent Heat were able to accommodate us less than a week later, gas engineer Craig attended timeously and he worked very efficiently and tidily with David Forbes also popping in to check that all was going well. The bulk of the work was completed in one day and hence we had both hot water and central heating available overnight with the last of the finishing off completed on the morning of day 2. David spent time patiently explaining the controls of the new Vaillant boiler - we had opted for the Hive facility. All in all a highly professional service which was refreshingly stress free. We are already recommending Latent Heat to other friends and neighbours.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 06/02/2021 , work completed 19/01/2021
Excellent boiler replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
From his first visit to quote for replacing our boiler David Forbes of Latent Heat stood out from the other estimators. He was very friendly and helpful, checking out the existing system more thoroughly than anyone else. Their price, which was only slightly higher than others, included a new Vaillant Boiler and improvements to the existing system which others had not included. The job was completed on time with no additional charges, despite that fact that a few problems were encountered and fixed, and some extra work was done on the radiators while the system was drained down. On completion they showed me how to operate the new boiler, cleaned everything up and the new boiler has been working fine for several days now. The next day David called to check everything was working fine. They even went an extra 200 miles without question! When the new boiler was unpacked at our house the engineer saw that although the packaging was undamaged the boiler casing was badly bent. They immediately rejected it. The nearest new one to Edinburgh was in Stockton. To avoid delays to the work David arranged for it to be moved to Newcastle and immediately drove down to get it - a round trip of over 200 miles. Meanwhile the engineer prepared the piping and flue etc for the new boiler. David returned that evening with the new one and it was fitted the next day. We couldn't have had better service than that!! Good workmanship. Good Value. I highly recommend them!
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 25/10/2020 , work completed 21/10/2020
Excellent job
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replacement of gas boiler. Full explanation of changes required when estimate given. Unexpected flooring problem dealt with at no extra cost. Neat job. Immaculate clean up and carpet replacement. Full instructions in person on how to use the new system. Working perfectly and we are delighted. Charming and helpful trader.
Angus, Isle of Iona Posted on 12/11/2019 , work completed 12/11/2019
Highly recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My old boiler packed in and need a new combi boiler installed. Was very impressed by the quality and efficiency of the work at reasonable price. I would recommend these guys anytime. Thanks again.
Callum in Edinburgh Posted on 28/10/2019 , work completed 21/10/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Having had several recent bad experiences with various trades, it was great to have a company turn up on time, be courteous and actually bring their own hoover to clean up afterwards! We booked a boiler service and several faults were identified during this process. All were remedied by the next day and I would have no hesitation in using them again.
Customer in Midlothian Posted on 15/10/2019 , work completed 15/10/2019
Excellent professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Fantastic, professional service. I could not be more happy with the service I received. I would highly recommend to everyone.
Lisa, Midlothian Posted on 15/10/2019 , work completed 15/10/2019
Reliable and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
After an initial mix-up re our appointment (sorted out rapidly before the actual appointment thanks to Latent Heat's reminder call the day before the appointment) 2 very polite young workmen arrived a little before our appointment time. They were very professional and clean in their work. They carried out the boiler service efficiently and answered all and any questions I asked them. Will definitely use this company again. I paid on the day and received my receipt about 1 weeks later.
Gina, Midlothian Posted on 01/10/2019 , work completed 01/10/2019
Highly recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had my old boiler condemned and was recommended to Latent Heat. They were local and David the salesman was very prompt and knowledgeable. I live in an old house and his firm had experience of the problems that may occur. He gave me a good price and a date, stuff delivered day before and the workmen were able to start early. They were polite, clean and efficient, and had to put up with a complaining neighbour. Customer service and workmanship top notch.
Mary, Midlothian Posted on 24/09/2019 , work completed 24/09/2019
Excellent service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Good first impressions, David was knowledgeable and helpful. We agreed a specification and install date to suit us both. Work was carried out with respect for our home and it only took 3/4 of a day. Delighted to recommend.
John, Midlothian Posted on 23/09/2019 , work completed 23/09/2019
Would recommend
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Efficient, friendly and tidy - would recommend.
Tim, Midlothian Posted on 05/09/2019 , work completed 05/09/2019
Impressive work and care.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Did exactly what they promised, on time and to agreed cost. Great communication and care. Fitter did a very tidy job! Very happy customer.
Michael, Midlothian Posted on 15/08/2019 , work completed 15/08/2019
Prompt and professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Just had a new Vaillant boiler fitted to replace old one. The engineer was on time and courteous. The workmanship was 100 percent would definitely recommend this company its great to see a local company take care of your needs from start to finish.
Archie, Midlothian Posted on 12/08/2019 , work completed 12/08/2019
Outstanding
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Outstanding in all ways.
William, Midlothian Posted on 27/07/2019 , work completed 27/07/2019
Fantastic, friendly and efficient service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I recently had a new combi boiler fitted and replacement radiator. The whole experience was simple and efficient. During the consultation David explained everything clearly in a non-patronising way. Everything during the installation ran like clockwork and I am fully satisfied with the results. Nice to see a company that makes good on all their promises. I would thoroughly recommend Latent Heat to anyone.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 24/07/2019 , work completed 24/06/2019
1st rate professional service.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Stripped out old back boiler, gas fire, tanks, all radiators, replaced 5 radiators with new, moved and replaced bedroom radiator, new radiator in kitchen and filled dual fuel/added radiator in bathroom. New Vaillant boiler fitted and some electrical rejigging also. Quote was reasonable and David was extremely helpful and professional. Honest, said advice was needed as I am a part time house owner. Team were efficient, professional and adapted to job changes. 1st rate service, highly recommend!
Morag, Midlothian Posted on 22/07/2019 , work completed 22/07/2019
Highly Recommended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had a new combi boiler, radiator and heated towel rail fitted recently and was very impressed by the quality of the work and customer service provided at a competitive price. David and his team were excellent from start to finish and I am delighted to highly recommend Latent Heat for their friendly, professional and thoroughly reliable service.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 24/06/2019 , work completed 18/06/2019
The trader replied (on 22/07/2019)
Many thanks for your kind review, we are happy to hear that! Warm regards, The team at Latent Heat Ltd.
Boiler fitted
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The fitter was on time and was good at his job he was very informative about what he was doing and fast at fitting the boiler also the owner of the company came by to see how the job was going and to show us how to work the hive box which was really good.
Customer in Midlothian Posted on 05/05/2019 , work completed 30/04/2019
The trader replied (on 31/05/2019)
Many thanks for your kind review, we are happy to hear that! Warm regards, The team at Latent Heat Ltd.
Prompt and professional.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I've had a Combi Boiler installed. The work has been completed to high standard. Workmen arrived on time, were friendly and courteous and unbelievably unobtrusive. Timeline was adhered to.
Rosie, Midlothian Posted on 06/12/2018 , work completed 06/12/2018
Replacement of 4 Radiators
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Ian came at the agreed time and the work was done to an extremely high standard. I wasn't present whilst the work was carried out, my husband was. When I came home the placement of one of the radiators was not what I had envisaged. I contacted Latent Heat to ask if it could be moved. This was done at no extra cost. Both Dave and Ian were friendly and approachable and we have no hesitation in recommending them and the company.
Customer in Edinburgh Posted on 22/11/2018 , work completed 01/10/2018
Reliable service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I asked them to replace my boiler. It is very hard to find a truly trusted trader, but they are very informative, completed the work on time within the budget or the agreed price. Their after care is excellent, so I had no hesitation to recommend them to my friend who was looking for a trader to install central heating.
Kanako, Midlothian Posted on 12/10/2018 , work completed 12/10/2018
Highly recommended. Fantastic, professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
My mother who has dementia called in a panic because her boiler was broken. Due to us living 200 miles away we had to deal with all work via the telephone. The people at Latent Heat Ltd were fantastic, they reassured her (and myself), set everything up, were so efficient and quick at finding a replacement and were so well priced. I would recommend these guys anytime. Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Claire, Banffshire Posted on 01/10/2018 , work completed 01/10/2018
Good Results
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New Boiler fitted and we are very very happy They turned up when they were supposed to Would recommend to anyone
Mr and Mrs Kennedy, . Posted on 04/09/2018 , work completed 04/09/2018
approachable, friendly & efficient
Customer Service
Quality
Value
We had a broken down boiler and had to replace it made a few calls to different traders but when we got in contact with David he came out almost straight away He was very approachable He looks the part he sounded the part and had all the answers to my questions He replaced our boiler to a combi one But there was a lot to be taken in consideration as it had to move it in a cupboard and pipework had to be replaced to go throughout the outside wall But David got it all sorted to great standard
Mr & Mrs McC, . Posted on 18/07/2018 , work completed 18/07/2018
First class workmanship
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The company installed a new condensing boiler, a new pressurised hot water system, renewed all thermostatic controls and a hive management system. Their work was competitively price and they carried out the work in a very well manged manner, completing the work on time and in terms of their estimate with no extra costs.
Fraser, Midlothian Posted on 16/07/2018 , work completed 16/07/2018
Excellent and Highly Recoomended
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Repaired and replaced cast iron external drain pipes Excellent friendly trademen Work carried out on date agreed and completed to a high standard
A McPherson, . Posted on 04/05/2018 , work completed 04/05/2018
Warm and Happy in Joppa
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Strip out existing boiler microbore pipework radiators hot water storage tank feed tank and cold water storage tank Install new system boiler and hot water storage tank radiators and pipework an external cold water tap and thermostatic valve under the wash hand basin My experience was that the trader turned up when they said they would worked to a tight deadline and did a great job They were friendly professional realistic and cost effective
PeterMcElroy, . Posted on 25/10/2017 , work completed 25/10/2017