We use cookies to allow us and selected partners to improve your experience and our advertising. By continuing to browse you consent to our use of cookies. You can understand more and change your cookies preferences here.

Endorsed by Which? Trusted Traders

M D Joinery (Southport) Ltd

Profile thumb dsc 9147
4.4

17 Reviews

Opening Hours
Today - 08:00–17:00
  • Monday 08:00–17:00
  • Tuesday 08:00–17:00
  • Wednesday 08:00–17:00
  • Thursday 08:00–17:00
  • Friday 08:00–17:00
  • Saturday - Closed
  • Sunday - Closed

About

We manufacture and install casement style windows and residential upvc doors from the Rehau total 70c range of profiles. We have been manufacturing since 1991 and are the only manufacture and installer in our local area. We have all our own installers so from the moment you ring to the moment the job is finished you only ever deal with M D Joinery staff. We are a Fensa registered installer and all windows and doors manufactured in our factory are CE compliant and meet all current building regulations.

As well as doing casement style windows we also supply and install a large range of vertically sliding sash style windows, Rock door composite doors, and Bi folding upvc doors. All items can be tailor made to meet you own custom specification.

We are approved installers of replacement roofline products and we carry out repairs to upvc and timber windows and doors. M D Joinery has a large portfolio of conservatories, structural alterations, joinery, and extension jobs we have carried out over many years

What we do

  • Double glazing

    • Double glazing installation
    • Double glazing repairs
    • Double glazing suppliers
  • Conservatories

    • Conservatory repairs
    • Conservatory maintenance
  • Builders

    • Building services
    • Extensions
    • Garage conversions
    • Guttering repair services
  • More Services

    • joinery works
    • roof line products
    • structual alteratons.

Customer reviews

Why you can trust these reviews

All reviews are verified as being genuine and a true customer of this trader.

How can we be so sure?

100% of the reviews we publish have been through our stringent moderation process.

4.4
17 reviews
Customer Service
4.4
Quality
4.5
Value
4.4
Sort by
Fabulous UPVC doors and windows, fitted by very professional and efficient team.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I had 3 new external doors and 2 rear windows replaced, including 2 misted panels from a bay window, in an older house. This company were extremely professional and efficient from start to finish. From measuring up, until the date of instalment, they were informative and courteous. The team who installed were extremely professional, fast, efficient and finished the work to a very high standard. I was amazed at what they achieved in the space of a day and a half. They were also polite and left my house far tidier than they found it! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this company. One of my rear doors is an awkward size but they made to measure a fabulous replacement door, far better than the original. I can honestly say my home is a lot warmer now with the new doors and I'm so glad I had the work done. Thank you so much to all the team at M.D. Joinery.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 23/05/2022 , work completed 23/04/2022
The trader replied (on 27/05/2022)
Thank you very much for your very kind words. I will pass them on to all the staff on Monday. I am really taken back by your very kind words. we all try really hard to make a good impression and i think its fair to say we have done. Thanks once again and am really glad you can see a big difference.
Top quality!
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The fitters from MD Joinery were great! They took time to protect my home whilst they carried out the installation of my new double glazing. The quality of the materials and fitting were first class and I was impressed by the way the lads tidied up after themselves. I would highly recommend MD Joinery and I would not hesitate to use this company again.
Customer in Lancashire Posted on 17/02/2022 , work completed 16/02/2022
The trader replied (on 18/02/2022)
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review. Our staff try very hard to keep the mess and disruption to a minimum when on site so it's very nice to read your kind words. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again. Thanks Mike
Fit new double doors.
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This review is not about the workmanship which was good. It about a complaint to my carpet which was left scuffed. I contacted MD windows about this matter and Mike called to my home to have a look. He said his fitters did not cause the fault as they worked outside. But they had to step inside to fit the plastic trims to fit the door surround. I had put a cover over the carpet but I did see them inside when I looked through the door. I am sure that they cut the trim to size on the inside because I saw work tools on the carpet. To say I am very disappointed with Mike's response, as no way would I damage my own carpet. We were going to ask MD windows to replace further outside doors but now I would have to watch them the whole time. Now I have to look for another double glazing company which I did not think I would need to.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 06/02/2022 , work completed 12/01/2021
The trader replied (on 11/02/2022)
This is a copy of the final email we exchanged which I am putting as a reply to this clients feedback. We have had meetings about this and also exchanged emails and letters. You called up to let us know about the issue, I called out and looked at it and discussed it with you. I have spoken with the guys who were there. I have replied back to you explaining in great detail what Information I have, I have explained that I cannot understand how it could have been caused by the work we carried out. I have gone over and over it trying to figure out how we could have possibly caused the issue, I have explained it to you in detail. If you can explain to me how we could have done it I am willing to listen and I genuinely mean that as I have no idea what could have caused the issue. As I have said it makes no sense to me how this could have been caused by the work we carried out. If it had a mark on it or a cut from glass I could understand but for the life of me I cannot see how we could have caused this. I am giving you my honest feedback based on what I have been told/worked out and I am very sorry you feel how you do. I do not like having this type of situation, if we have done something wrong we sort it out. By all means leave a review but I would ask that you include all the facts that I have sent to you and also the feedback you have sent in previous correspondence informing us how pleased you were with the work etc. Thanks Mike
3 part roof replacement
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A leaking 3 part conservatory roof requiring replacement. M D Joinery were helpful in responding to a request for help and were very thorough in their assessment, advice on what was required, preparation of the job and its execution. Mr Durkin attended regularly throughout the week to ensure satisfactory progress. The staff, particularly Paul, Johnny and Carne were friendly, helpful, respectful, obliging and efficient throughout the project which was completed on time.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 17/07/2021 , work completed 11/07/2021
New front door
Customer Service
Quality
Value
New front door fitted today Paul and Johnathan arrived early very pleasant and polite. Explained everything right throughout the job were clean tidy very hard working and they know the job inside out. Would recommend the firm. A job well done.
John in Merseyside Posted on 08/06/2021 , work completed 08/06/2021
M D Joinery excellent service
Customer Service
Quality
Value
They fitted 1 new double glazed bedroom window and several replacement units for misted up double glazed windows. Excellent efficient fitting. Polite and cleared up. Aftercare was also excellent. They came out immediately to sort a minor problem. I would use them again and recommend them.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 22/01/2021 , work completed 14/08/2020
The trader replied (on 27/01/2021)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review as well as those kind words. Brilliant feedback. Thanks Mike
Are all double glazing installers Bodgers?
Customer Service
Quality
Value
The promises of a perfect product and installation fell at the last hurdle when their installation employee (of 30 years) decided it was unnecessary to fit a load bearing support correctly and then after I alerted them to the problem they sent the same person back to implement a bodged repair to correct the error, then to make matters worse their rep never bothered to keep their promise to call later that day so I wasted my time waiting for them.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 17/12/2020 , work completed 10/12/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 13/01/2021)
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to receive this as we felt the matter was taken care of in a very prompt professional manner. We did not ignore your situation when you contacted our office. A member of staff was with you within a few hours, the same experienced person who did the work both for continuity and to understand if a mistake with the work had been made. You explained your issue to this member of staff, and also with a member of staff back at the office. A resolution was agreed and the work to install a support beam above the porch completed the same day. The contracted works we were requested to carry out were to replace the windows and door on the porch which we did on time, for the price quoted, within the time scale agreed, in a clean and tidy manor. The roof structure support, subsequently fitted, was not part of these contracted works. The support beam was installed and you verbally confirmed you were happy with the outcome, we have nothing in writing for this work as it was done as a gesture of goodwill to assist you with completing the separate roof works which were also ongoing at your property. We do all we can to protect our business reputation and act professionally and not do a 'bodged' repair.
Disappointing
Customer Service
Quality
Value
I purchased a set of double porch doors for my house and despite assurances from the owner of MD Joinery that they could deliver my exact requirements and from a member of the owners family who came to measure the sizes (twice) MD Joinery fitted a door that stuck on my carpet. To their credit MD Joinery were prompt to respond when I complained and adjusted the door to its maximum tolerance (+4mm) but wanted to leave (job done) when the door was still catching the carpet. They offered to buy me a new thinner carpet or "rip out" the door frame and re position it with a sill at a higher level or £90 discount on a £1390 bill. Re-positioning the frame which was securely sealed would have created more mess and left me with a worse finish. The discount offered was a joke so I asked if they could ask the owner to contact me about the problem. They refused to involve the owner in the process and I eventually settled on a discount of £190. However my biggest concern was the pressure applied on me to accept a deal with them at the time or they would send a team to "rip out" the door. When accepting the discount I made it clear that I am not a satisfied customer and that is why I leave this feedback.
Customer in Merseyside Posted on 22/02/2020 , work completed 21/02/2020
A Which? Trusted Traders staff member replied on behalf of the trader (on 10/03/2020)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your carefully worded review. As the Director of the company and your first point of contact throughout the job I feel that I should take the time to reply to and clarify some of your comments. We installed a set of porch doors which open into a tiled porch area. We had worked on getting the threshold height as low as possible to reduce any trip hazard. After the doors were installed you said that you were very pleased with the job. Later on that day you informed us you had placed your door mat onto the tiles and one door was catching against it on the bottom. We called round within 10-15 minutes of the call and looked at the door. We lifted the door up by roughly 4mm but it was still brushing your mat. The other door misses the mat by roughly 5mm and works perfectly. You were not happy with the door brushing over the mat after we had altered it and we started to discuss what options we could offer you. We offered to remove the frame fixings and lift the doors up 5mm which would have taken us 30 minutes maximum to do and would not have altered the finish of the job. We offered to purchase you a thinner door mat (not lesser quality just thinner) and a small discount of £90, again this was not suitable. We offered to remove our products from your home at an agreed time and date to allow you plenty of time to get another contractor set up ready to carry out the works. Eventually, we settled on a discount of £190.
Highly recommened
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Have had windows & doors fitted by M&D No hard sell, quality product, professional approach & great aftersales
Julesab Posted on 26/09/2018 , work completed 26/09/2018
positive
Customer Service
Quality
Value
First class service from a firm that values its reputation. The fitters were polite, helpful and respectful of my furnishings, fixtures and fittings.
E010417698 Posted on 13/03/2016 , work completed 13/03/2016
86 Gleneagles
Customer Service
Quality
Value
This firm has recently built a new porch to my bungalow and new clading to front and rear ,first class job and neighbours have commented how smart it loks .After taking my instructions I was supplied a written detail of proposed work and the final cost ,not an estimation .Work started on agred start date and completed two weks later as agreed betwen me. and the firm .Every day the site was cleared of rubbish and left neat and tidy , Highly recommend these builders
Which? Trusted Traders Consumer Posted on 08/05/2015 , work completed 08/05/2015
100% Professional
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Mostly recently I used them for front door repairs, but they've also looked after my windows previously. I gave him a tip as I thought he did a great job. Their level of workmanship is ridiculously high!
Howard Posted on 10/12/2014 , work completed 10/12/2014
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
A long-standing local (Southport) family firm. Appointments were kept and on time. The crew were very friendly and the job went exactly as planned leaving no mess at all. This company manufactures, fits and maintains their own products so they are not just a contractor fitting other peoples products. The company seemed passionate about doing an excellent job and give a written/signed warranty which they say covers you "down to the last screw" Not the cheapest quote but you often get what you pay for with Glazing firms. Ignore the start date (the calendar didn't go back that far) as the work was completed on 6 May 1999 and has stood the test of time. I would certainly use MD again for other work. They didn't take the payment or leave the site until I was 100% happy with the work done. A minor problem arose (letterbox cover) after 9 years of use and was replaced and fitted free under the warranty!
Hightowner Posted on 19/09/2013 , work completed 19/09/2013
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional attitude. Turn up on time. Stay on the job until finished. Any minor problems sorted quickly. Written guarantee.
Peter Neild Posted on 10/05/2011 , work completed 10/05/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Replaced all windows and replaced a window with french doors. Very quick and tidy. Not the cheapest quote we had but provided the style of windows we wanted, where other firms couldn't.
pw56 Posted on 12/02/2011 , work completed 12/02/2011
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional service. Value for money. Recommended to friends and they were also very satisfied.
Fujinon Posted on 25/02/2010 , work completed 25/02/2010
Which? Local Review
Customer Service
Quality
Value
Very professional chap, kept to all appointments. Value for money. No issue with coming back for a couple of minor problems.
Di&By Posted on 28/04/2009 , work completed 28/04/2009